DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barbut et al. (US 6,555,057; hereafter “Barbut 057”).
With respect to Claim 10, Barbut 057 teaches an indwelling catheter system configured to be implantable within a vein of a patient, comprising: a catheter 20 having a lumen (the interior of catheter 20) configured to accommodate passage of fluid therethrough (Figures 2A-3);
an inflow port 24 formed in a wall of the catheter;
a single selectively deployable restrictor 22 for creating a restriction in the vein (Figures 2A-2B and Column 13, Lines 8-22), the single restrictor coupled to the catheter at a location proximal to the inflow port, the restriction being effective to occlude the vein and to at least partially restrict blood flow within the vein so as to create a low-pressure zone downstream of the restriction; and
an activation lumen 23 associated with the catheter and configured to enable selective activation of the single restrictor.
With respect to Claims 11-14, Barbut 057 teaches that the single restrictor comprises a selectively deployable restrictor, specifically a selectively inflatable balloon 22. The balloon 22 is selectively inflatable via an inflation lumen 23 that extends alongside the withdrawal cannula 20. See Figure 3 and Column 13, Line 23 through Column 14, Line 19.
With respect to Claim 15, Barbut 057 teaches that the cannula has a lumen has a diameter of 2 mm to 4 mm, which falls within the claimed range.
With respect to Claim 16, Barbut 057 teaches that the system comprises at least one pressure sensor. See Column 7, Lines 39-56.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbut 057 in view of Barbut et al. (US 6,878,140; hereafter “Barbut 140”).
With respect to Claim 17, Barbut 057 teaches the system substantially as claimed, and further suggests that the balloon of the system may be either fully or partially occluded (Column 13, Line 23 through Column 14, Line 19). Barbut 057, however, does not explicitly teach a mechanism for adjusting a degree of restriction by the balloon based on information acquired by the at least one pressure sensor.
Barbut 140 teaches a catheter system comprising a catheter 1 having a lumen 10 configured to aspirate fluid therethrough, an inflow port 11, and a selectively inflatable balloon 60 coupled to an inflation lumen 61, and a pressure sensor 40 at the distal end of the catheter (Figure 7A). Barbut 140 teaches that the pressure differential (and accordingly, the flow rate) across the balloon may be controlled by controlling the degree of inflation of the balloon (Column 4, Lines 15-36). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to one of ordinary skill at the time of invention to modify Barbut 057’s catheter system to have a distal pressure sensor and means for adjusting the degree of inflation of the balloon, as suggested by Barbut 140, in order to provide a well-known means for optimizing the pressure and flow rate of blood flowing across the balloon
Additionally, with respect to Claim 18, Barbut 057 and Barbut 140 reasonably suggest use of pressure sensors for determining the differential pressure and/or flow rate across the balloon, but do not specifically teach a first pressure sensor located proximal to the restriction and a second pressure sensor located distal to the restriction. However, the examiner takes official notice that it is notoriously well known in the art to place pressure sensors on both ends of a flow system to accurately measure pleasure differential. Once pressure differential has been determined, the flow rate can be calculated. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the system suggested by Barbut 057 and Barbut 140 with proximal and distal pressure sensors, as doing so would provide a well-known means for accurately determining pressure differential and/or flow rate in a vessel.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-9 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,115,296. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
This is a continuation of applicant's earlier Application No. 15/471,842. All claims are identical to, patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with the invention claimed in the earlier application (that is, restriction (including lack of unity) would not be proper) and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application. Specifically, the instant claims are identical to those filed on 3/28/2017 and rejected in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 10/05/2018.
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP R WIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781