DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In the amendment filed on November 25, 2025, claim 6 has been canceled, claims 1, 5, 7-9, 16-18 and 20 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-5 and 7-20 are currently pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 18 recites the broad recitation “functions”, and the claim also recites “such as current time, alarm time …”which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7-9, 14, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN207232633U, see attached machine translation) in view of Carlucci et al. (Carlucci: US 7009119 B2) further in view of Schaenen (US 4043413).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches a pressure-sensitive floor mat alarm clock system (Fig. 2 and par 35, user stands on the device) comprising:
a sheet form pressure-sensing mechanism for detecting pressure applied thereto by a human foot placed thereon (Par 31, pressure sensing switch and Par 7, the pressure sensing switch is arranged on the turntable); and
a control unit (Par 31, alarm clock control circuit board) cooperative with the pressure-sensing mechanism to receive an input signal from the pressure-sensing mechanism when pressure is applied to the pressure-sensing mechanism by a human foot (Par 33, The control circuit of the alarm control circuit board, the pressure sensing switch, the control circuit of the weighing control circuit board and the pressure sensor are all electrically connected to the input end of the microprocessor, and the buzzer and LCD touch screen of the alarm clock component are electrically connected to the output end of the microprocessor. ), the control unit configured to terminate output of an audible (Par 31, buzzer) and/or a visual alarm signal in response to receipt of an input signal from the pressure-sensing mechanism (Par 37).
Wang does not explicitly disclose a cover which overlays the pressure-sensing mechanism with the control unit extending upwardly into and being accommodated within an aperture of the cover to enable a user to view a display of the control unit; or wherein the cover comprises a separate replaceable product to a combination of the control unit and the pressure-sensing mechanism.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of pressure sensing devices. Carulucci teaches a weight sensing device having a control unit/system that prompts users for their identity and then displays any one or more of: present weight (abstract) and further teaches a cover (top pad 26) which overlays the pressure-sensing mechanism with the control unit (Fig. 2, pressure sensing mechanisms (30s) with the control system having display 29, input 18 ) aligned with an aperture of the cover (27) to enable a user to view a display of the control unit (Fig. 2, pad 26 overlays the scale 10 and pad display window 27 enable the suer to view display 29 and Col. 2 lines 57 – Col. 3 lines 13);
wherein the cover comprises a separate replaceable product to a combination of the control unit and the pressure-sensing mechanism (Col. 3 lines 1-13: pad 26 can be removably connected for easy replacement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Carlucci for the benefit of easy, efficient cleaning (Carlucci: Col. 3 lines 5-7).
Wang or Carlucci does not explicitly disclose the control unit extending upwardly into and being accommodated within the aperture of the cover.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of pressure sensing devices. Schaenen teaches a weighting device (abstract) having a removable cover plate (Fig. 2-3, 14) having an opening/aperture (26) and further teaches the control unit extending upwardly into and being accommodated within the aperture of the cover (Col. 2 lines 28-40; he upper or platform plate 14 is provided with an opening 26, the dimensions of which correspond to the cross-sectional shape and dimension of the upper portion 20 of the weighing unit 16. The upper portion 20 projects upwardly into the opening 26 … dial and pointer are visible from above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Schaenen in order to provide a weight read-out visible from above the upper plate (Schaenen: Col. 1 lines 50-55).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Wang, Carlucci and Schaenen teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to discriminate between foot pressure applied to the pressure-sensing mechanism by the user and other means of pressure being applied by the user to the pressure-sensing mechanism (Wang: Par 37, after the alarm rings, the user needs to stand on the alarm device and turn off the alarm by pressing the pressure sensing switch with both feet.).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Wang, Carlucci and Schaenen teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to terminate output of the audible and/or the visual alarm signal upon a determination that the input signal from the pressure-sensing mechanism is indicative of a user applying foot pressure to the pressure-sensing mechanism for a preset or predetermined duration of time and/or by a predetermined pattern of applied foot pressure (Wang: Par 37, After the alarm rings according to the preset alarm time, the user puts on slippers placed in the shoe grooves of the turntable 23 and stands on the turntable 23 of the rotating assembly 2 of the alarm device for 5 to 10 seconds to trigger the pressure sensing switch of the alarm assembly. Only then will the alarm stop. ).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Wang, Carlucci and Schaenen teaches the system of claim 5, wherein, where the control unit is physically connected to the pressure-sensing mechanism (Wang: par 33, The control panel is arranged on the outer surface of the shell 1. The control panel includes a control circuit, a microprocessor and a liquid crystal touch display).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Wang, Carlucci and Schaenen teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the cover comprises a carpet and the aperture is sized to receive the control unit and form a friction-fit therewith (Fig. 2, 26, 27 and Col. 3 lines 1-23, Pad 26 can be appropriately shaped, sized and/or configured to complement scale 10 … formed of a viscoelastic material).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Wang, Carlucci and Schaenen teaches the system of claim 1, the cover comprises a carpet (Carlucci: Col. 3 lines 14-23) but does not explicitly disclose wherein a housing of the control unit is formed with a same color as the carpet or a translucent cover is provided for the control unit, the translucent cover having a same color as the carpet.
However, one of the ordinary skill in the art understands that the housing and the carpet/cover can be the same color or different colors and those elements will perform the same functions regardless of the color. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the same color for housing and the carpet/cover for the benefit of user preference/customization. Such an aesthetic design choice does not change or further limit the structure of the system, and does not make it patentably distinct over the prior art (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Wang, Carlucci and Schaenen teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the control unit is programmable by a user (Wang: Par 35, the user pre-sets the alarm time for the next morning through the control panel.).
Regarding Claim 16, Wang teaches a pressure-sensitive floor mat alarm clock system for facilitating a getting out of bed or wake up routine (Fig. 2 and par 35, user stands on the device), the system comprising:
a pressure-sensing mechanism capable of detecting touch input (Par 31, pressure sensing switch);
a control unit configured to receive a touch input signal from the pressure-sensing mechanism and to shut-off an alarm signal (Par 37, After the alarm rings according to the preset alarm time, the user puts on slippers placed in the shoe grooves of the turntable 23 and stands on the turntable 23 of the rotating assembly 2 of the alarm device for 5 to 10 seconds to trigger the pressure sensing switch of the alarm assembly. Only then will the alarm stop);
a display interface for displaying a clock time; and an input interface for allowing a user to adjust any of: a wake-up time (Wang, Par 33, LCD touch display Par 35, the user pre-sets the alarm time for the next morning through the control panel); a time required for the pressure-sensing mechanism to detect touch before the alarm signal is shut-off; selection of one or more alarm signals; a volume setting for an audible alarm signal; and overall navigation of the system's functions.
Wang does not explicitly disclose a cover which overlays the pressure-sensing mechanism with the control unit extending upwardly into and being accommodated within an aperture of the cover to enable a user to view a display of the control unit; or wherein the cover comprises a separate replaceable product to a combination of the control unit and the pressure-sensing mechanism.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of pressure sensing devices. Carulucci teaches a weight sensing device (abstract) and further teaches a cover (top pad 26) which overlays the pressure-sensing mechanism with the control unit (Fig. 2, pressure sensing mechanisms (30s) with the control system having display 29, input 18) aligned with an aperture of the cover (27) to enable a user to view a display of the control unit (Fig. 2, pad 26 overlays the scale 10 and pad display window 27 enable the suer to view display 29 and Col. 2 lines 57 – Col. 3 lines 13);
wherein the cover comprises a separate replaceable product to a combination of the control unit and the pressure-sensing mechanism (Col. 3 lines 1-13: pad 26 can be removably connected for easy replacement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Carlucci for the benefit of easy, efficient cleaning (Carlucci: Col. 3 lines 5-7).
Wang or Carlucci does not explicitly disclose the control unit extending upwardly into and being accommodated within the aperture of the cover.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of pressure sensing devices. Schaenen teaches a weighting device (abstract) having a removable cover plate (Fig. 2-3, 14) having an opening/aperture (26) and further teaches the control unit extending upwardly into and being accommodated within the aperture of the cover (Col. 2 lines 28-40; he upper or platform plate 14 is provided with an opening 26, the dimensions of which correspond to the cross-sectional shape and dimension of the upper portion 20 of the weighing unit 16. The upper portion 20 projects upwardly into the opening 26 … dial and pointer are visible from above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Schaenen in order to provide a weight read-out visible from above the upper plate (Schaenen: Col. 1 lines 50-55).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Wang, Carlucci and Schaenen teaches the system of claim 16, wherein the control unit is programmable to implement any of the following:
set how long pressure must be applied to the pressure-sensing mechanism before the alarm signal is shut-off, ranging from 3 to 60 seconds;
changing a sound of the alarm from a selection of pre-set alarm sounds;
setting alarm clock functions such as current time, alarm time, alarm ON/OFF (Wang; par 35, the user pre-sets the alarm time for the next morning through the control panel);
changing alarm signal volume to over 100 decibels;
shutting-off the alarm signal before the alarm signal is initiated by touching the pressure-sensing mechanism a plurality of times in quick succession.
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Wang, Carlucci and Schaenen teaches the system of claim 16, wherein the display interface is activated by touch to display the current time (Wang: Par 17 and Par 33, LCD touch screen of the alarm clock component ) thereby allowing the system to function also as a night light.
Regarding Claim 20, Wan teaches a kit of parts comprising a pressure-sensing floor mat alarm clock system (Fig. 2 and par 35, user stands on the device), the kit of parts comprising:
a sheet form pressure-sensing mechanism for detecting pressure applied thereto by a human foot (Par 31, pressure sensing switch and Par 7, the pressure sensing switch is arranged on the turntable and par 35, user stands on the device );
a control unit (Par 31, alarm clock control circuit board) cooperative with the pressure-sensing mechanism to receive an input signal from the pressure-sensing mechanism when pressure is applied to the pressure-sensing mechanism by a human foot (Par 33, The control circuit of the alarm control circuit board, the pressure sensing switch, the control circuit of the weighing control circuit board and the pressure sensor are all electrically connected to the input end of the microprocessor, and the buzzer and LCD touch screen of the alarm clock component are electrically connected to the output end of the microprocessor. And Par 35, The pressure sensor arranged in the shoe slot converts the human body's gravity into an electrical signal, which is processed by the microprocessor of the control panel and displayed on the LCD touch screen so that the user can know his weight in time. At the same time, the alarm clock component starts working under the control of the microprocessor of the control panel, and automatically defaults to the alarm time for the next morning pre-set by the user through the control panel as the alarm start time. ).
Wang does not explicitly disclose a cover which overlays the pressure-sensing mechanism with the control unit extending upwardly into and being accommodated within an aperture of the cover to enable a user to view a display of the control unit; or wherein the cover comprises a separate replaceable product to a combination of the control unit and the pressure-sensing mechanism.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of pressure sensing devices. Carulucci teaches a weight sensing device having a control unit/system that prompts users for their identity and then displays any one or more of: present weight (abstract) and further teaches a cover (top pad 26) which overlays the pressure-sensing mechanism with the control unit (Fig. 2, pressure sensing mechanisms (30s) with the control system having display 29, input 18) aligned with an aperture of the cover (27) to enable a user to view a display of the control unit (Fig. 2, pad 26 overlays the scale 10 and pad display window 27 enable the suer to view display 29 and Col. 2 lines 57 – Col. 3 lines 13);
wherein the cover comprises a separate replaceable product to a combination of the control unit and the pressure-sensing mechanism (Col. 3 lines 1-13: pad 26 can be removably connected for easy replacement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Carlucci for the benefit of easy, efficient cleaning (Carlucci: Col. 3 lines 5-7).
Wang or Carlucci does not explicitly disclose the control unit extending upwardly into and being accommodated within the aperture of the cover.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of pressure sensing devices. Schaenen teaches a weighting device (abstract) having a removable cover plate (Fig. 2-3, 14) having an opening/aperture (26) and further teaches the control unit extending upwardly into and being accommodated within the aperture of the cover (Col. 2 lines 28-40; he upper or platform plate 14 is provided with an opening 26, the dimensions of which correspond to the cross-sectional shape and dimension of the upper portion 20 of the weighing unit 16. The upper portion 20 projects upwardly into the opening 26 … dial and pointer are visible from above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Schaenen in order to provide a weight read-out visible from above the upper plate (Schaenen: Col. 1 lines 50-55).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Carlucci and Schaenen further in view of Huckestein et al. (US 11169017 B1).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Wang, Carlucci and Schaenen teaches the system of claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose a non-slip layer between the carpet and the pressure-sensing mechanism.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of pressure sensing devices. Huckestein teaches a weight scale having a flexible top cover (abstract) which is easily removed by pulling from the weight scale 30 and washed (Col. 5 lines 35-38) and further comprising a non-slip layer between the carpet and the pressure-sensing mechanism (Fig. 7, 130 and Col. 4 lines 48-65; A high-friction web 130 (FIG. 7) is preferably fixed below the absorbent web 120 of the top cover 100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huckestein in order to hold the flexible top cover to the weight scale (Huckestein: Col. 5 lines 5-10).
Claims 3-4 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Carlucci and Schaenen further in view of Bashore et al. (Bashore: US 2017/0118823).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Wang, Carlucci and Schaenen teaches the system of claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the control unit is configured to discriminate based on a predetermined or calculated pressure threshold whereby, if a detected touch pressure on the pressure-sensing mechanism is below the predetermined or calculated pressure then the control unit determines that the user has not applied foot pressure to the pressure-sensing mechanism.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of pressure sensing devices. Bashore teaches a mat (22) having a weight sensor (abstract) and further teaches wherein the control unit is configured to discriminate based on a predetermined or calculated pressure threshold whereby, if a detected touch pressure on the pressure-sensing mechanism is below the predetermined or calculated pressure then the control unit determines that the user has not applied foot pressure to the pressure-sensing mechanism. (Par 32; determining from them the value of the weight placed upon mat 22. In a particular embodiment, computer 44 compares that value to a preferred, minimum or other value (e.g. in electronic data storage in or associated with computer 44) to determine whether to send one or more signals to the communications modules. For example, computer 44 might compare the weight value received from the circuit to a minimum value representing a pet and only send signal(s) if the received value is greater than that minimum value. And see also Par 41, Oar 47 ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bashore in order to avoid unintentional input (Bashore: abstract and Par 32).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Wang, Carlucci, Schaenen and Bashore teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the predetermined or calculated pressure threshold is based on one or more inputted parameters to the control unit comprising the user's weight and/or the user's foot size (Bashore: Par 41, Computer 44 in particular embodiments converts the frequency change to a weight value and compares that weight value to a stored value, which may indicate a minimum or target value. And see also Par 47, When a person is detected (130), e.g. when a weight is detected that is sufficient to be a person or that correlates with a person's weight previously programmed into mat 22, ).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Wang, Carlucci and Schaenen teaches the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose a non-slip layer under the pressure-sensing mechanism.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of pressure sensing devices. Bashore teaches a mat (22) having a weight sensor (abstract) and further teaches a non-slip layer under the pressure-sensing mechanism (Par [0030] Mat 22 includes an external protective layer or cover 25, … the floor-facing surface can include reinforcing material, non-slip material or other floor-engaging material or features as are known.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bashore in order to engage with the floor (Bashore: 30).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Wang, Carlucci, Schaenen and Bashore teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the non-slip layer comprises a non-slip film applied to a bottom surface of the pressure-sensing mechanism (Bashore, Par [0030] Mat 22 includes an external protective layer or cover 25).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Carlucci and Schaenen further in view of Mullen et al. (Mullen: US 2010/0277328).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Wang, Carlucci and Schaenen teaches the system of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the sheet form pressure-sensing mechanism is foldable to reduce a packaging footprint thereof.
However, Mullen teaches a force-sensitive presence detection system having a detector includes a substantially flat water-proof enclosure, having disposed therein an electrically isolating layer disposed between first and second conductive layers, (abstract) and further teaches wherein the sheet form pressure-sensing mechanism is foldable to reduce a packaging footprint thereof (Par 54, plastic sheet … that permits the enclosure to be thin, flexible and see also Par 57 ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mullen in order to be resistant to tearing, scratching or inclement weather (Mullen: Par 54).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Carlucci and Schaenen further in view of Schulman et al. (Schulman: US 5210528 A).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Wang, Carlucci and Schaenen teaches the system of claim 1, wherein, where the control unit is physically connected to the pressure-sensing mechanism, a part of the sheet form pressure-sensing mechanism extends into a volume defined by a housing of the control unit and is physically trapped or clamped between a main housing part and a cover of the housing.
However, the preceding limitation are known in the art of pressure sensing devices. Schulman teaches a floor mat includes a housing for containing a power supply, speech module and speaker. A grid-like switching mechanism is closed upon a person stepping on the mat (abstract) and further teaches wherein, where the control unit is physically connected to the pressure-sensing mechanism, a part of the sheet form pressure-sensing mechanism extends into a volume defined by a housing of the control unit and is physically trapped or clamped between a main housing part and a cover of the housing (Fig. 1-3: Col. 3 lines 5-30: reverse side of the carpet pile 130 is exposed and placed within a rectangular mold for pouring a thin layer of plastic thereon. The switching mechanism 300 or 400 can then be placed atop this first poured layer. Upon pouring a subsequent layer of plastic material thereon the layers are allowed to set so as to embed the switch mechanism 300 or 400 therein. Wire leads 310, 320 or 410 extending from the switch mechanism 300, 400 are then connected to the electrical circuitry (FIG. 7) ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Schulman in order to be impervious to the weather (Schulman: Col. 2 lines 8-10).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Carlucci and Schaenen further in view of Savor et al. (Savor: US 5847648).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Wang, Carlucci and Schaenen teaches the system of claim 16, and further teaches at least two power sources comprising a primary power source and a secondary power source comprising a battery compartment for receiving one or more batteries (Wang: Par 33, The power source of this embodiment is a high-performance lithium battery, but the power source is not limited to the lithium battery of this embodiment. It can also be an external power source connected through an external power interface provided on the housing 1.).
Wang does not explicitly disclose a USB cable or an audio speaker system for outputting an audible alarm signal at one or more selectable volumes with a highest volume of over 100 decibels.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of alarm clock devices. Savor teaches an alarm clock (abstract) and further teaches an audio speaker system for outputting an audible alarm signal at one or more selectable volumes with a highest volume of over 100 decibels (Col. 2 lines 35-40; A two-tone alarm device, whose sound level is adjustable from 60 dB to 100 dB, is electrically wired to the clock and sounds when the clock attains a predetermined time) and the alarm clock is powered by a cable from a power source (Fig. 1-2, 38, 39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Savor in order to permit one to clearly hear the alarm when it activates (Savor: Col. 4 lines 54-55).
The combination of Wang, Carlucci and Savor does not explicitly disclose the cable for powering is a USB cable. However, Examiner takes official notice that it is well known in the art that universal serial bus (USB) cable are used to power the electrical devices and it would have been desired to do so in order to provide electrical energy required by the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Steven Lim can be reached on (571) 270-1210. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Nay Tun/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688