DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant’s communication filed 17 September 2026. In view of this communication, claims 1-5 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 4-5 of the Remarks, filed 17 September 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5 under 35 USC §102 and §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Howard et al. and Capodilupo et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Capodilupo et al (US 2023/0106450 A1), hereinafter referred to as Capodilupo et al
Regarding claim 1, Capodilupo et al. teaches a system for communication of information related to emergency situations (abstract), wherein the system has a first printed circuit board (78), a second printed circuit board (80) and a third printed circuit board (para 0076)), and wherein the first printed circuit board (para 0076), the second printed circuit board (para 0076) and the third printed circuit board (para 0076) plug into each other to form a communication relay (para 0076 states the circuit boards are coupled together) and furthermore wherein the system comprises wearable IoT units (abstract states it is a wearable unit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Howard et al (US 20090227887 A1), hereinafter referred to as Howard et al., in view of Capodilupo et al.
Regarding claim 1, Howard et al. teaches a system for communication of information related to emergency situations, wherein the system comprises a first printed circuit board (78), a second printed circuit board (80) and a third module (28), and wherein the first printed circuit board (78), the second printed circuit board (80) and the third module (28) plug into each other to form a communication relay (Fig. 6 and paragraphs 17 and 52: circuit boards 78 and 80 are disposed on the base 28 and the base 28 comprises a wireless communication link), and furthermore wherein the system comprises wearable IoT units (paragraph 40: the monitor is wearable).
However, Howard et al. does not teach that this third module is a circuit board. Capodilupo et al. does teach that this third module may be a circuit board (Capodilupo et al. paragraphs 64 and 76: the processors, communication components, and sensors may be provided on three circuit boards).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the third module of Howard et al. could be a circuit board as taught by Capodilupo et al. because such an arrangement enables a higher processing capacity in a smaller volume (Capodilupo et al. paragraph 76).
Regarding claim 3, Howard et al. in view of Capodilupo et al. teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the second printed circuit board is a weather station comprising humidity and barometric pressure sensors (Howard et al. paragraphs 52, 57, and 71: the circuit board 78 may comprise a barometric pressure sensor 98 and humidity sensor 100).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howard et al. in view of Capodilupo et al., in further view of Armitage (US 20200232959 A1), hereinafter referred to as Armitage.
Regarding claim 2, Howard et al. teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first printed circuit board (78) is a communication platform comprising an AirTemp sensor and a CO2 sensor (paragraph 52: the circuit board 78 has an air temperature sensor and a carbon dioxide sensor), but does not teach that the first circuit board comprises GPS, Cellular, and LoraWan.
Armitage does teach that the first circuit board may comprise GPS (paragraph 100), Cellular (paragraph 85), and LoraWan (paragraph 101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first circuit board of Howard et al. with GPS, Cellular, and LoraWan as taught by Armitage because the GPS, Cellular, and LoraWan of Armitage enhance the device’s ability to communicate with a variety of devices that Howard et al. envisions the user using to monitor the parameters measured by the device (see Howard et al. paragraph 102 and Armitage paragraphs 100-101).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capodilupo et al (US 2023/0106450 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Capodilupo et al discloses Capodilupo et al the printed circuit board is a communication platform comprising GPS(para 0072). Capodilupo et al. does not disclose the printed circuit board is the first circuit board, since the numbering of the three circuit boards is random and can be assigned and number desired, it would have been obvious to number the circuit board with the GPS as the first circuit board.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howard et al. in view of Capodilupo et al., in further view of Hou (CN 218198813 U), hereinafter referred to as Hou.
Regarding claim 4, Howard et al. teaches the system of claim 1, but does not teach that the third printed circuit board is a wind sensor comprising ultrasonic wind sensors.
Hou does teach that the third printed circuit board is a wind sensor comprising ultrasonic wind sensors (Hou page 4, paragraph 4: ultrasonic wind sensor 24 is mounted to circuit board 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the third circuit board of Howard et al. with a wind sensor as taught by Hou because Howard et al. teaches that measuring the airflow of the subject is desirable but does not teach that the airflow sensor is on a separate board. Hou et al. shows that this modification would comprise mere rearrangement of the parts already present in Howard et al., which involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howard et al. in view of Capodilupo et al. and Armitage, in further view of Howard et al. and Hou.
Regarding claim 5, Howard et al. teaches the system of claim 2, but does not teach that the second printed circuit board is a weather station comprising humidity and barometric pressure sensors, and that the third printed circuit board is a wind sensor comprising ultrasonic wind sensors.
Howard et al. does teach a circuit board that is a weather station comprising humidity and barometric pressure sensors (Howard et al. paragraphs 52, 57, and 71: the circuit board 78 may comprise a barometric pressure sensor 98 and humidity sensor 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the second circuit board (80) of Howard et al. with the humidity and barometric pressure sensors as taught by Howard et al. because the barometric pressure and humidity sensors of Howard et al. are already present on the first circuit board (78) of Howard et al. and providing them on the second circuit board instead of the first would constitute mere rearrangement of parts already present in the device, which involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Hou does teach that the third printed circuit board is a wind sensor comprising ultrasonic wind sensors (Hou page 4, paragraph 4: ultrasonic wind sensor 24 is mounted to circuit board 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the third circuit board of Howard et al. with a wind sensor as taught by Hou because Howard et al. teaches that measuring the airflow of the subject is desirable but does not teach that the airflow sensor is on a separate board. Hou et al. shows that this modification would comprise mere rearrangement of the parts already present in Howard et al., which involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Braiman (US 20190051134 A1)
Relle Jr. (US 20080281528 A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN B FREAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847