DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because “the border” should be --the curved border--. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters “23c” and “24c” has been used to designate both “flat edge portion” and “straight border”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, and 12-14 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wauhop (7,963,727) in view of Price (7,661,239).
1. Wauhop, figs. 1-15, abstract, col. 5, lines 34-66 to at least col. 6, lies 1-66, teaches a wall block having spaced-apart front and rear sections interconnected by two laterally spaced-apart side sections that jointly define a through-cavity extending in a top-bottom direction through the wall block from a top face thereof to a bottom face thereof, the front section having a panel (“panel 23”) on its front side, the panel surrounded around its entire perimeter by a curved border at its top and both sides and by a flat border at its bottom, col. 8, lines 57-66. Wauhop does not teach the panel is a raised panel having a beveled edge around its entire perimeter. Price teaches a panel is a raised panel (“generally planar surface 30 and marginal areas 32, 34, 36, and 38”) having a beveled edge (32, 34, 36, 38) around its entire perimeter. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the panel to be a raised panel having a beveled edge around its entire perimeter (to replace the Wauhop “panel” as described with the Price raised panel) to accentuate the look of the front by replacing the rough textured panel with a smooth front surface/beveled edge raised panel for a more uniform appearance and contrast with the Wauhop curved border and to “create a raised panel effect”, col. 3, lines 42-43.
2. Wauhop in view of Price teaches the block according to claim 1, Price further teaching the raised panel has a smooth texture (“planar”) front surface.
Examiner indicates that Applicant discloses the sole benefit of a smooth textured front face wall block finished article is that certain “applications prefer or even require blocks having smooth front faces”, no corresponding examples of such applications being disclosed.
3. Wauhop in view of Price teaches the block according to claim 2, Wauhop in view of Price further teaching the front face of the raised panel is raised with respect to the border an amount equal to the thickness of the beveled edge in a front- rear direction because the modification of Wauhop is to replace the non-raised Wauhop panel with the Price raised panel.
5. Wauhop in view of Price teaches the block according to claim 1, Wauhop, fig. 1, further including two or more protuberances 12 protruding outwardly from the top face of the front section frontward of the through-cavity, the protuberances being laterally spaced apart from one another and lying along a straight line, and a groove 20 extending laterally in the bottom face of the front section frontward of the through- cavity, the groove being located and dimensioned relative to the protuberances so that two wall blocks can be stacked one atop another in staggered relation with one or more protuberances of the lower wall block fitted in the groove of the upper wall block and the upper wall block set back with respect to the lower wall block.
6. Wauhop in view of Price teaches the block according to claim 1, Wauhop, fig. 7, further including a retaining wall structure comprising successive courses of wall blocks stacked one atop another with each succeeding course set back relative to its preceding course and with the wall blocks of each course staggered relative to the wall blocks of adjoining courses, each of the wall blocks being constructed according to claim 1.
7. Wauhop in view of Price teaches the block according to claim 1, Wauhop further teaching the wall block composed of a concrete mixture, col. 1, line 26.
8. Wauhop, figs. 1-15, abstract, col. 5, lines 34-66 to at least col. 6, lies 1-66, teaches a wall block having spaced-apart front and rear sections interconnected by two laterally spaced-apart side sections that jointly define a through-cavity extending in a top-bottom direction through the wall block from a top face thereof to a bottom face thereof, the front section having a panel 24 on its front side, the panel being divided into two smaller panels of different widths by a groove that extends in the top-bottom direction, each smaller panel having a beveled edge around its entire perimeter, and the beveled edge being surrounded around its entire perimeter by a curved border at its top and both sides and by a flat border at its bottom (figs. 1-7 all show such a panel). Wauhop does not teach the panel is a raised panel. Price teaches a panel is a raised panel (“generally planar surface 30 and marginal areas 32, 34, 36, and 38”) having a beveled edge (32, 34, 36, 38) around its entire perimeter. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the panel to be a raised panel having a beveled edge around its entire perimeter (to replace the Wauhop “panel” as described with the Price raised panel) to accentuate the look of the front by replacing the rough textured panel with a smooth front surface/beveled edge raised panel for a more uniform appearance and contrast with the Wauhop curved border and to “create a raised panel effect”, col. 3, lines 42-43.
9. Wauhop in view of Price teaches the block according to claim 8, Price further teaching each smaller raised panel has a smooth texture (planar) front face.
Examiner indicates that Applicant discloses the sole benefit of a smooth textured front face wall block finished article is that certain “applications prefer or even require blocks having smooth front faces” with no corresponding examples of such applications disclosed.
10. Wauhop in view of Price teaches the block according to claim 9, Wauhop, fig. 7, further teaching the front face of each smaller raised panel is raised with respect to the border an amount equal to the thickness of the beveled edge in a front-rear direction because the modification of Wauhop is to replace the non-raised Wauhop panel with the Pardo raised panel.
12. Wauhop in view of Price teaches the block according to claim 8, Wauhop, fig. 1, further including two or more protuberances 12 protruding outward from the top face of the front section frontward of the through-cavity, the protuberances being laterally spaced apart from one another and lying along a straight line, and a groove 20 extending laterally in the bottom face of the front section frontward of the through- cavity, the groove being located and dimensioned relative to the protuberances so that two wall blocks can be stacked one atop another in staggered relation with one or more protuberances of the lower wall block fitted in the groove of the upper wall block and the upper wall block set back with respect to the lower wall block.
13. Wauhop in view of Price teaches the block according to claim 8, Wauhop further teaching the wall block composed of a concrete mixture, col. 1, line 26.
14. Wauhop in view of Price teaches the block according to claim 8, Wauhop, fig. 7, further including a retaining wall structure comprising successive courses of wall blocks stacked one atop another with each succeeding course set back relative to its preceding course and with the wall blocks of each course staggered relative to the wall blocks of adjoining courses, each of the wall blocks being constructed according to claim 8.
Claims 4 and 11 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wauhop in view of Price and in further view of Pardo (4,993,206).
The Wauhop in view of Price border width as measured in the vertical plane of a front face of a raised panel is not expressly taught as being substantially (or considerably) greater than a thickness of an edge. Pardo teaches a border width bw as measured in the vertical plane of a front face of a raised panel is substantially or considerably greater than a thickness of an edge ew.
Annotated fig. 2 (Pardo)
11. Wauhop in view of Price does not expressly teach in each smaller raised panel, the width of the border as measured in the vertical plane of the front face thereof is substantially greater than the thickness of the beveled edge. Pardo teaches a border width bw as measured in the vertical plane of a front face of a raised panel is substantially or considerably greater than a thickness of an edge ew. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for in each smaller raised panel, the width of the border as measured in the vertical plane of the front face thereof to be substantially greater than the thickness of the beveled edge to highlight the Wauhop curve.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Amrein (10,513,834) teaches it is old in the art for a cast concrete architectural wall block front face textures to be either smooth or textured (“front surface 20 may include…a textured surface, a smooth surface…”, col. 5, lines 14-16, and “the face surface 75 is smooth with a uniform texture. It is foreseen, however, that the face surface 75 may have a non-flat surface and/or a non-uniform texture…the face surface 75 may be formed to have a natural-stone finish, a brick-wall finish, or other aesthetically-pleasing finish”, col. 8, lines 49-54).
Aaronson (1,086,975), fig. 1, teaches is old in the art for a cast concrete architectural wall block to have a raised front panel 10.
/DANIEL J KENNY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3633