DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 are hereby the present claims under consideration
Examiner’s Note: all references to Applicant’s specification are made using the paragraph numbers assigned in the US publication of the present application US 20260000363 A1.
Specification
The title of the invention appears to be entered twice and includes typos. The following title is suggested: “Portable device and method for non-invasive measurement of the level of physiological values”
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 1 it appears that “Portable” should read “A portable”
Claim 1 lines 2-4 it appears that “a unit central de processing” should read “a central processing unit”
Claim 1 line 8 it appears that “them” should read “the multiple signals”
Claim 1 line 17 it appears that “the device operations” should read “operations of the device”
Claim 1 line 18 it appears that “determining said processing unit” should read “determining, using said processing unit”
Claim 1 line 18 it appears that “based a” should read “based on a”
Claim 1 line 20 it appears that “bioimpedance, temperature, oxygen, and heart rate values” should read “training bioimpedance, training temperature, training oxygen in blood, and training heart rate” to better distinguish the values used for training from the values measured from the system.
Claims 2-5 line 1 it appears that “Device according to claim 1” should read “The device according to claim 1”
Claim 2 line 3 it appears that “bioimpedance” should read “bioimpedance”
Claim 3 line 5 it appears that “USB” should read “universal serial bus (USB)”
Claim 3 line 3 it appears that “fingers.” Should read “finger’s”
Claim 4 line 4 it appears that “sensors.” Should read “sensor;”
Claim 5 line 2 it appears that “NFC” should read “near field communication (NFC)”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
The following limitations lack sufficient antecedent basis in the claims:
Claim 1 line 1 “the level of physiological values”
Claims 1 line 2 “the glucose and cholesterol in blood”
Claim 1 line 5 “the skin”
Claim 1 lines 12-13 “the value of oxygen in blood”
Claim 1 lines 14-15 “the amount of glucose or lactate in these fluids”
Claim 1 line 17 “the unit”
Claim 1 line 18 “the estimated physiological values”
Claim 2 line 2 “the electronic circuit of the processing unit”
Claim 2 lines 5-6 “the algorithms of Self-learning”
Claim 3 line 3 “the continuous monitoring”
Claim 3 line 5 “the USB cable”
Claim 5 line 2 “the cell phone”
Claim 5 line 3 “the sides”
Claim 5 line 6 “the cloud”
Regarding claims 1 and 3, the phrase "such as", and claim 2 the phrase “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purposes of this examination, the limitations are interpreted as requiring at least one of the parameters following “such as”.
Claim 1 recites “a unit de central processing (1) incorporating connections to: -an emitter of signals … a digital optical sensor…. Enzymatic sensors… with a screen” but it is unclear if the claimed device includes each of these elements or merely requires the “connections to” these elements but does not encompass the various sensors and screen themselves. For the purposes of this examination, the limitations are interpreted as each of the sensors and the screen being required as part of the device.
Claim 1 recites “an emitter of signals through electrodes” but it is unclear what the “emitter of signals” comprises. For the purposes of this examination, the limitation is interpreted as a processor in communication with electrodes wherein the electrodes are configured to emit signals. It is noted that any reference which teaches electrodes that emit signals will be considered to implicitly teach some “emitter of signals” to generate the emitted signals.
Claim 1 recites “sensors (2, 3)” which collect the signals emitted through the electrodes. It is unclear if these sensors are the same as, related to, or different from the electrodes in contact with the skin. In particular, Applicant’s specification indicates that reference (2) denotes the electrode in paragraph 0053 and references (2, 3) are both referred to as the bioimpedance sensors in paragraphs 0091 and 0094 which appears to indicate that they are the same sensor. It is unclear if the sensors which receive the signals are different from the electrodes which provide the signals. For the purposes of this examination, the limitation is interpreted as requiring at least two electrodes where one emits signals and the other receives the signals to measure impedance.
Claim 1 recites “bone index” but it is unclear what the metes and bounds of a “bone index” value comprises or how such a value is calculated. The specification does not appear to describe what such an index entails nor how it is calculated. Such an index does not appear to be well known in the art unlike hydration and body mass index values. For the purposes of this examination, the limitation is interpreted as any measure of bone from impedance values.
Claim 1 recites “a digital optical sensors (4) that emits a light signal … which collects the emitted signal in order to calculate …” but it is unclear if the sensors are collecting the emitted signal or a reflected signal. It would seem that in order to perform the recited calculations, the sensors would be required to not detect “the emitted signal” but would instead be required to detect “a reflected signal” or the like that indicates that the sensor detects light that has been reflected or scattered from the patient tissue. It is unclear how any patient parameters could be calculated if the sensors collected the emitted signal rather than a reflected signal. For the purposes of this examination, the limitation is interpreted as the optical sensors collected a reflected signal from the patient.
Claim 1 recites “the data obtained” but it is unclear if “the data obtained” is referring to each of the parameters determined by the various sensors previously recited, the raw sensors values, some subset of the collected/determined values, or some other form of data. For the purposes of this examination, the limitation is interpreted as any portion of the collected data.
Claim 1 recites “determining said processing unit (1) the estimated physiological values based a machine learning algorithm” but it is unclear what physiological values are being references by “the estimated physiological values”. Furthermore, it would seem that the values are “estimated” then the limitation should read “estimating, with said central processing unit, the physiological values” as it is unclear if the determination step and estimation step are meant to refer to two separate determinations of the values or require different modalities of determining the values. For the purposes of this examination, the limitation will be interpreted as determining the physiological values of glucose or cholesterol using a machine learning model.
Claims 2-5 are directed towards various “characterizations” regarding the form factor of the device. Each of these claims are indefinite as they do not address how or if each element of the device of claim 1 is included in the “characterized” form factor or if some elements are now external to the claimed form factor. In particular, none of the claims indicate whether the screen and/or interface of claim 1 are included in the claimed form factor and the form factors of claims 3 and 5 appear to be ill suited for the presence of these elements. As such, each of the claims are indefinite as it is unclear if the entire device of claim 1 is being included in the form factor or only certain elements. For the purposes of this examination, the claims are interpreted as only requiring the form factor to include the recited elements.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, the term “like” is a relative term of degree and it is unclear what requisite degree of similarity between the structure and a “smart bracelet”, or “an intelligent computer mouse” is required by the claim. For the purposes of this examination, the limitations are interpreted as the structure being in the form of a bracelet having a box attached thereto and a computer mouse respectively.
Claim 2 recites “some bioimpedance sensors (2,3), with a digital optical sensor (4), preferably a photoplethysmography sensor, and a connection for an enzymatic sensor (5)” but it is unclear if the various recited sensors are the same as, related to, or different from the sensors recited in claim 1. In particular, claim 2 appears to indicate different sensors of the same type are recited in claim 1 but uses the same reference numerals. It is unclear if the sensors of claim 4 are different from the sensors of claim 1. For the purposes of this examination, the claim is interpreted as incorporating the sensors of claim 1 into a structure “like” a smart bracelet having a box.
Claim 2 recites “that are updated and connected via wireless connection” but it is unclear what element of the claimed device carries out this function. The claimed device does not include any wireless communication element and thus it is unclear how the wireless communication is carried out. For the purposes of this examination, the limitation is interpreted as requiring some form of wireless communication circuitry.
Claim 3 recites “two sensors on both sides on which both fingers rest naturally” but it is unclear if the “sensors” are the same as, related to, or different from the sensors of claim 1. It is further unclear if the limitation is meant to recite that the mouse has two sensors on both sides (i.e. four sensors) or two sensors with one on each side. For the purposes of this examination, the claim is interpreted as incorporating the sensors of claim 1 into a computer mouse and having at least one sensor on each side of the mouse.
Claim 3 recites “which is powered by the USB cable or its own batteries and communicates wirelessly or via USC with a computer” but it is unclear what element of the system is being referenced by the “is powered” limitation. It is unclear what element of the system is carrying out the wireless communication as no wireless communication component has been claimed. It is further unclear if “a computer” is the same as, related to, or different from the central processing unit of claim 1. It is unclear if claim 3 is meant to indicate that only the sensors are in the mouse and thus the processing performed by the CPU of claim 1 is executed on “a computer” which is the CPU of claim 1 or if claim 3 is meant to indicate that the CPU of claim 1 is included on the mouse and the computed parameters are communicated to a separate computer. For the purposes of this examination, the limitation is interpreted as all elements being power, the mouse requiring wireless communication circuitry, and including the CPU of claim 1 and thus communication with a separate, external computer.
Claim 3 recites “measure parameters such as …” but it is unclear if the measured parameters are the same as, related to, or different from the parameters measured in claim 1. For the purposes of this examination, the limitation will be interpreted as measuring the same parameters of claim 1.
Claim 4 recites “a wireless glucometer structure” but it is unclear what “structure” this limitation is meant to convey. In particular, a wireless glucometer is characterized by being able to wireless determine glucose levels in blood. Such glucometers take a variety of different shapes. It is unclear what “structure” satisfies this limitation. For the purposes of this examination, any device which wirelessly measures glucose is considered to be the structure of a wireless glucometer.
Claim 4 recites “bioimpedance sensors (2, 3)”, “a digital optical sensor”, and “an enzymatic sensors” but it is unclear if these sensors are the same as, related to, or different from the sensors of claim 1. For the purposes of this examination, the limitations are interpreted as referring to the same sensors.
Claim 4 recites “individualized for each user” but it is unclear what this limitation is meant to convey. It is unclear what is individualized for the user. For the purposes of this examination, any device which measures the recited parameters is considered “individualized for the user”.
Claim 4 recites “provided with means of data communication obtained wirelessly” but it is unclear what this limitation is meant to convey. It is unclear if the limitation is meant to convey that the device includes wireless communications means or if some form of data or “individualization” is provided wirelessly. For the purposes of this examination, the limitation is interpreted as the device including wireless communication circuitry.
Claim 4 recites that glucose is directly measured with the bioimpedance sensors. It is unclear how this direct measurement affects the machine learning estimation recited in claim 1. Claim 1 is interpreted as the machine learning model is configured to estimate the glucose or cholesterol in blood but claim 4 appears to indicate that glucose is measured directly. It is unclear if the glucose is still considered to be estimated by the machine learning model. For the purposes of this examination, the limitation is interpreted as the glucose being measured via impedance and/or estimated by machine learning.
Claim 5 recites the device has the structure of a cell phone case and is powered through an NFC antenna of the cell phone. It is unclear what element of the claimed device is receiving the power from the NFC antenna of the cell phone. It would seem that the cell phone itself is not part of the claimed device and thus it is unclear what element of the claimed device is responsible for receiving the power from the cell phone antenna. For the purpose of this examination, the limitation is interpreted as the device including a structure for receiving power from an NFC antenna.
Claim 5 recites “incorporates on the sides of the same bioimpedance sensors (2, 3)” but it is unclear if this limitation is meant to convey that the bioimpedance sensors are incorporated on the sides of the cell phone case or if something is incorporated onto the sides of the sensors themselves. For the purposes of this examination, the limitation is interpreted as the impedance sensors being incorporated onto a side of the cell phone case.
Claim 5 recites “to measure the glucose” but claim 1 appears to indicate that “the glucose” is seemingly estimated by a machine learning network rather than measured by the bioimpedance sensors. It is unclear if the bioimpedance sensors are measuring a separate glucose value or if the estimated glucose of claim 1 is being directly measured. For the purposes of this examination, the limitation is interpreted as the bioimpedance sensors being used to measure a glucose value.
Claim 5 recites “a computer application installed on the cell phone which is able to …” which appears to indicate that the cell phone is part of the claimed device. However, claim 5 lines 1-2 indicate that the device is characterized in being the cell phone case which is powered from the cell phone and seemingly does not include the cell phone itself. It is unclear if the claimed device is the system of a cell phone case or the cell phone case and the cell phone in communication with each other. For the purposes of this examination, the claim is interpreted as the cell phone case being the claimed device but being required to be in communication with a cell phone which includes a software application.
Claim 5 recites “a machine learning algorithm” which determines glucose, heart rate, and oxygen but it is unclear if this algorithm is the same as related to, or different from the algorithm of claim 1. It is further unclear whether the machine learning algorithm of claim 5 determines the recited parameters using only the collected bioimpedance data or if other sensor input, such as from the sensors of claim 1, are also utilized. For the purposes of this examination, the limitation is interpreted as any machine learning model determining the recited parameters from any inputs including bioimpedance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the calculation of a “bone index” but the specification does not appear to describe what such an index entails or how it is calculated from the recited resistance and reactance data. MPEP 2161.01(i) recites the claims may lack written description when the claims define the invention in functional language specifying a desired result, but the specification does not sufficiently describe how the function is performed, or the result is achieved. For software, this can occur when the algorithm or steps/procedure for performing the computer function are not explained at all or are notexplained in sufficient detail (simply restating the function recited in the claim is not necessarilysufficient). In other words, the algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function mustbe described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand howthe inventor intended the function to be performed. See MPEP §§ 2163.02 and 2181, subsectionIV. In the instant case, the calculation of a “bone index” does not appear to be well known in the art. A bone index does not appear to be a particular known index or value in the art. The specification does not set forth the metes and bounds of such an index or describe how it is calculated from the resistance and/or reactance data. In particular, the term “bone index” is referenced in paragraphs 0042-0055 of the specification where the specification sets forth that the index is calculated from resistance and reactance but does not describe what the index entails or how the index is calculated. As such, the specification only sets forth the particular function of such a value being calculated without describing the particular steps/procedure for calculating such a value and thus lacks sufficient written description support for the calculation of such a value since it is not well-known in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Examiner’s Note: all prior art rejections are applied to the claims as best understood in light of the above presented 35 USC 112 rejections above.
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sada US Patent Application Publication Number US 20180333107 A1 hereinafter Sada in view of Martin US Patent Number US 11116448 B1 hereinafter Martin, in view of Cheatham US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170157430 A1 hereinafter Cheatham and further in view of Tran US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210212606 A1 hereinafter Tran.
Regarding claim 1, Sada disclose a portable device for the non-invasive estimation of the level of physiological values (Abstract: a wearable device for determining physiological characteristics), such as the glucose and cholesterol in blood (Paragraphs 0069 and 0082: the determination of glucose and cholesterol) which comprises a unit central de processing (1) (Paragraph 0009: the processor connected to the sensors) incorporating connections to:
- an emitter of signals through electrodes in contact with the skin, which are collected through sensors (2, 3) placed separately in contact with the skin (Paragraphs 0051, 0054-0055, 0063, and 0080: the electrodes used to deliver voltage or current to the skin to sense bioimpedance; the sensors may be tunable; the adjustment parameters can include frequency)
-a digital optical sensor (Paragraphs 0048-0049: optical sensing devices) (4) that emits a light signal in different colors (Paragraphs 0055, 0075 and 0080: the light sources; the sensors may take measurements in different wavelengths depending on the adjustment signals; the current operational parameters of the sensors include wavelength), placed in contact with the skin (Fig. 2B: the array of sensors (17) are in contact with the user’s skin.), which collects the emitted signal (Paragraph 0056: the photodetectors)
- enzymatic sensors (Paragraphs 0011, 0019, and 0053: electrochemical sensors which may be enzyme based) (5), which collect sweat or saliva samples (Paragraph 0052: the device may include compartments for receiving non-invasive fluid sampling including saliva); and
- with a screen (7) for displaying the data obtained and an interface (8) for entering instructions or commands in the unit to manage the device options (Paragraphs 0064-0065: the touchscreen display on the wearable device used to enter updates and operational instructions such as activity recognition and training process. The system may further display health-related notifications to the user which may optionally be displayed on an external display or on the touch-screen display of the device; Paragraphs 0068-0069: the physiological parameters are stored and analyzed for further display. An obvious variation of Sada would be to display the calculated parameter in addition to the notifications generated therefrom. Such a variation would be obvious because it would be obvious to try as there is a finite number of identifiable, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success with regards to what information to display. In particular, the device may display raw values gathered from sensors, the physiological parameters determined therefrom, the health-related notifications determined using the physiological parameters, or any combination thereof. Thus, it would be obvious to try displaying the calculated parameters in addition to the health-related notifications);
Sada further recites the use of machine learning in paragraphs 0083-0086, but fails to disclose the use of the machine learning algorithms being used to estimate physiological data. The machine learning algorithms are instead used for activity classification.
Sada fails to further teach the device comprising the electrodes receiving signals that are processed by a bioimpedance microcontroller that derives from them values of resistance and reactance, on the basis of which the processing unit (1) obtains values for hydration, body mass index and/or bone index; the optical sensors being used in order to calculate the value of oxygen in blood, heart rate and temperature; the enzymatic sensors being used in order to calculate the amount of glucose or lactate in these fluids; and determining said processing unit (1) the estimated physiological values based a machine learning algorithm that has been trained with a set of clinical history data from a group of patients for which at least bioimpedance, temperature, oxygen and heart rate values are available.
Martin teaches a multi-sensor smart patch is disclosed that can be worn by a user to monitor multiple physiological systems of the user (Abstract). Thus, Martin falls within the same field of endeavor as Applicant’s invention.
Martin teaches a device comprising electrodes for receiving signals that are processed by a bioimpedance microcontroller that derives from them values of resistance and reactance, on the basis of which the processing unit (1) obtains values for hydration, body mass index and/or bone index (Col 23 line 33 – Col 24 line 2: the impedance circuitry, or bioimpedance microcontroller, measures resistance and reactance; Col 39 lines 1-20: electrodes may be used for bioimpedance measurement at a single or series of frequencies. The bioelectrical measurement may be used to estimate hydration level, fat composition, body mass index (BMI) and other parameters from the user). Martin further teaches the device comprising optical sensors being used in order to calculate the value of oxygen in blood, heart rate (Col 12 line 13 – Col 13 line 29: the various types of optical sensors including PPG sensors for measuring blood oxygen and heart rate) and temperature (Col 38 lines 12-24: the system may further include infrared emitters and detectors, which are types of optical sensors, and the IR sensors measure temperature); Martin teaches that a variety of machine learning models can be utilized to enable high-accuracy detection of health conditions using multi-modal models that generate predictions or inferences from physiological data (Col 33 lines 18-56)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to implement the sensing capabilities of the electrodes and optical sensors taught by Martin into the device of Sada because already includes bioimpedance and optical sensors and including the capabilities to sense additional parameters with these elements would allow Sada to generate a more comprehensive profile of the user’s health condition which may be useful for generating more accurate and useful health-related notifications and feedback as contemplated by Sada (Sada: Paragraphs 0068-0069).
Sada in view of Martin fails to further teach the device comprising the enzymatic sensors being used in order to calculate the amount of glucose or lactate in these fluids; and determining said processing unit (1) the estimated physiological values based a machine learning algorithm that has been trained with a set of clinical history data from a group of patients for which at least bioimpedance, temperature, oxygen and heart rate values are available.
Cheatham teaches a garment system including a flexible compression garment, at least one sensor, and at least one therapeutic stimulation delivery device operable responsive to sensing feedback from the at least one sensor, effective to provide therapeutic radiation to a body part of a subject (Abstract). Thus, Cheatham falls within the same field of endeavor as Applicant’s invention.
Cheatham teaches that enzymatic electrochemical sensors may be configured to detect sugars or derivatives thereof including glucose and lactate from various fluids including sweat or saliva (Paragraphs 0111).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to configure the electrochemical sensors of modified Sada to be capable of detecting glucose and/or lactate from sweat and/or saliva as taught by Cheatham because Cheatham teaches that electrochemical sensors are readily configured for such a detection and the incorporation of such electrochemical sensors would provide modified Sada with a separate modality to measure certain critical analytes such as glucose which may be useful for calibration operations and/or to ensure good alignment between different measurement modalities for the same parameter.
Sada in view of Martin further in view of Cheatham fails to further teach the device comprising determining said processing unit (1) the estimated physiological values based a machine learning algorithm that has been trained with a set of clinical history data from a group of patients for which at least bioimpedance, temperature, oxygen and heart rate values are available.
Tran teaches systems and methods for monitoring a user by calibrating one or more noninvasive sensors to track a user glucose level at one or more user physical activity conditions (Abstract). Thus, Tran falls within the same field of endeavor as Applicant’s invention.
Tran teaches that a system of non-invasive sensors, including optical and bioimpedance sensors, may utilize machine learning to estimate glucose values of the user and may be trained using known glucose values (Paragraphs 0089-0090). Tran teaches that neural networks learn correlations between input parameters and their desired output and uses these correlations to determine the desired output (Paragraph 0165). Thus, Tran teaches that an analyte of interest such as glucose may be estimated using machine learning by training a model with supervised learning which includes using the desired measured input parameters and a known desired output.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the machine learning estimation of glucose as taught by Tran into the device of modified Sada because Tran teaches that supervised machine learning is a useful tool for accurately and non-invasively estimating glucose. Furthermore, machine learning algorithms are known to be highly adaptable and able to produce accurate estimations of parameters by determining relationships between inputs and the desired output parameter as evidenced by Tran paragraph 0165 which described how the algorithm forms associations between input parameters and outputs and further evidenced by the teachings of Martin Col 33 lines 18-56 which broadly teach that a ML models can be configured for accurately predicting health conditions from multi-modal data. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to utilize a machine learning algorithm trained using supervised learning to determine an estimate for any given analyte of interest using the parameters measured by modified Sada.
Regarding claim 2, Sada in view of Martin in view of Cheatham, further in view of Tran teaches the device, according to claim 1. Modified Sada fails to further teach the device characterized in that it presents a structure like a smart bracelet that integrates in a box the electronic circuit of the processing unit (1) connected to some bioimpedance sensors (2, 3), with a digital optical sensor (4), preferably a photoplethysmography sensor, and a connection for an enzymatic sensor (5); as well as an internal memory in which it stores the algorithms of Self-learning that are updated and connected via wireless connection.
Martin teaches that wearable device may wirelessly receive updates for firmware, security, keys, machine learning models, settings, and other parameters (Col 39 lines 53-65)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the wireless update capabilities as taught by Martin into the device of modified Sada because such updates would allow the device to retain the most current prediction algorithms and improve accuracy of analyte detections.
Modified Sada in view of Martin fails to further teach the device characterized in that it presents a structure like a smart bracelet that integrates in a box the electronic circuit of the processing unit (1) connected to some bioimpedance sensors (2, 3), with a digital optical sensor (4), preferably a photoplethysmography sensor, and a connection for an enzymatic sensor (5); as well as an internal memory in which it stores the algorithms of Self-learning
Tran teaches that a non-invasive sensors system may take the form of a wristwatch type device having a case which may form a plurality of shapes. The case may include the processing circuitry, sensors such as electrodes and optical sensors, wireless communication circuitry, and memory. Tran teaches the wristwatch device being implemented into a mesh network where it may communicate information wirelessly. Tran further teaches that when the device is not in communication with the mesh network it may store information locally for later transmittal (Paragraphs 0018, 0099, 0233, 0239-0240, 0252: the wearable device includes a processor and memory and stores data locally when not in communication with the mesh network; the wristwatch device includes impedance sensing electrodes and optical sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to configure the device of modified Sada in view of Martin to have the form factor of a wristwatch type device as taught by Tran because it is a simple substitution of one known element (the form factor of modified Sada) for another known element (the form factor of Tran) with no surprising technical effect (the shape of the device is changed but all functionality remains). In particular, it would be obvious to incorporate all of the sensor types and modalities taught by modified Sada as presented in the above rejection of claim 1 into a watch type device because the specific form factor of the device does not alter its functionality. Thus, it would seem that any form factor is merely an obvious variation of the present device since no functionality is altered.
Regarding claim 4, Sada in view of Martin in view of Cheatham further in view of Tran teaches the device, according to claim 1. Modified Sada fails to further teach the device characterized in that it has a wireless glucometer structure to measure glucose directly through bioimpedance sensors (2, 3), a digital optical sensor (4) that calculates the value of oxygen in blood, heart rate and temperature, and also integrates an enzymatic sensor. (5) individualized for each user, provided with means of data communication obtained wirelessly.
Martin teaches a patch type device having an electronics module which includes optical sensors and electrodes (Col 17 line 54 – col 18 line 26; Fig. 5). The impedance sensors are configured for monitoring glucose (Col 23 lines 5-56) and the optical sensors may measure blood oxygen, heart rate, and temperature (Col 12 line 13 – Col 13 line 29; Col 38 lines 12-24). The device further includes wireless connection capabilities (Col 30 line 46 – Col 31 line)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to configure the device of modified Sada to have the form factor of a patch type device, or wireless glucometer, as taught by Martin and to further utilize the impedance sensors for direct sensing of glucose as taught by Martin because changing the form factor is a simple substitution of one known element (the form factor of modified Sada) for another known element (the form factor of Marton) with no surprising technical effect (the shape of the device is changed but all functionality remains). Additionally, utilizing the impedance sensors to measure glucose would provide the device with an additional modality of glucose sensing to compare with other modalities and use to help correct errors in sensing. It would be obvious to incorporate all of the sensor types and modalities taught by modified Sada as presented in the above rejection of claim 1 into the form factor of a wireless glucometer as taught by Martin because the specific form factor of the device does not alter its functionality. Thus, it would seem that any form factor is merely an obvious variation of the present device since no functionality is altered.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sada US Patent Application Publication Number US 20180333107 A1 hereinafter Sada in view of Martin US Patent Number US 11116448 B1 hereinafter Martin, in view of Cheatham US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170157430 A1 hereinafter Cheatham and further in view of Tran US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210212606 A1 hereinafter Tran as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Wei US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170347895 A1 hereinafter Wei.
Regarding claim 3, Sada in view of Martin in view of Cheatham further in view of Tran teaches the device, according to claim 1. Modified Sada fails to further teach the device characterized in that it has a structure like an intelligent computer mouse that integrates two sensors on both sides on which both fingers rest naturally and allows the continuous monitoring of the fingers. parameters such as glucose, hydration, temperature, oxygen and/or heart rate, which is powered by the USB cable or its own batteries and communicates wirelessly or via USB with a computer.
Wei teaches devices, methods and systems for estimating or monitoring the health condition of a subject (Abstract). Thus, Wei falls within the same field of endeavor as Applicant’s invention.
Wei teaches that a monitoring device may take the form of an instrumented computer mouse having electrodes on the left and right buttons where the fingers rest. The mouse may further include PPG sensors for measuring pulse rate and blood oxygen (Paragraphs 0218-0219; Figs. 19A-B). The mouse may be in wired or wireless communication with a terminal (Paragraphs 0218-0219 and 0223: connection via wireless communication implicitly teaches a battery for powering the sensors and connection via wired communication is considered to teach that the device may be powered from the wired connection)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to configured the device of modified Sada to take the form of a computer mouse as taught by Wei because it is a simple substitution of one known element (the form factor of modified Sada) for another known element (the form factor of Wei) with no surprising technical effect (the shape of the device is changed but all functionality remains). In particular, it would be obvious to incorporate all of the sensor types and modalities taught by modified Sada as presented in the above rejection of claim 1 into a mouse type device because the specific form factor of the device does not alter its functionality. Thus, it would seem that any form factor is merely an obvious variation of the present device since no functionality is altered.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sada US Patent Application Publication Number US 20180333107 A1 hereinafter Sada in view of Martin US Patent Number US 11116448 B1 hereinafter Martin, in view of Cheatham US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170157430 A1 hereinafter Cheatham and further in view of Tran US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210212606 A1 hereinafter Tran as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Cao US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170049395 A1 hereinafter Cao.
Regarding claim 5, Sada in view of Martin in view of Cheatham further in view of Tran teaches the device, according to claim 1. Modified Sada fails to further teach the device characterized in that it presents a structure of a cell phone case, which is powered through an NFC antenna (6) of the cell phone, and incorporates on the sides of the same bioimpedance sensors (2, 3) to measure the glucose, further comprising a computer application installed on the cell phone, which is able to collect bioimpedance data through said NFC antenna and to determine by means of a Machine Learning algorithm, implemented in the cloud or in the application itself, the values of glucose, heart rate and oxygen.
Martin teaches that impedance sensors may be configured for monitoring glucose (Col 23 lines 5-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to implement the glucose monitoring using impedance sensors as taught by Martin into the device of modified Sada as using the impedance sensors would provide an additional measurement modality for modified Sada to use to compare against other glucose measurements to help ensure accuracy.
Modified Sada in view of Martin fails to further teach the device characterized in that it presents a structure of a cell phone case, which is powered through an NFC antenna (6) of the cell phone, and incorporates on the sides of the same bioimpedance sensors (2, 3) further comprising a computer application installed on the cell phone, which is able to collect bioimpedance data through said NFC antenna and to determine by means of a Machine Learning algorithm, implemented in the cloud or in the application itself, the values of glucose, heart rate and oxygen.
Tran teaches that a monitoring device may take the form of a cellphone having vital sign sensors thereon to detect various parameters such as heart rate and blood oxygen. The cellphone may be in communication with other devices to form a wireless node network. The sensors on the cellphone may be incorporated into a case which incorporates electrodes to capture bioelectric signals form the user (Paragraphs 0010-0019). Tran further teaches that the monitoring device may be implemented into a mesh network of devices that may include a base station server (Paragraph 0167: the base server and one or more portable physiological transducers connected thereto. The patient monitoring device may have bi-directional communication with the server). Tran further teaches the use of machine learning algorithms to determine parameters (Paragraphs 0089-0090 and 0165).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to implement the device of modified Sada using a phone case having sensors disposed thereon as taught by Tran because such a modification is a mere change in form factor of the device and changing the form factor is a simple substitution of one known element (the form factor of modified Sada) for another known element (the form factor of Tran) with no surprising technical effect (the shape of the device is changed but all functionality remains). It would be obvious to incorporate all of the sensor types and modalities taught by modified Sada as presented in the above rejection of claim 1 into the form factor of a phone case as taught by Tran because the specific form factor of the device does not alter its functionality. Thus, it would seem that any form factor is merely an obvious variation of the present device since no functionality is altered. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to implement the machine learning algorithm taught by Tran to determine any number of parameters from the collected data and would further be obvious to have the algorithm executed on the mobile device and/or on a server as Tran teaches that the mobile device is part of a mesh network and thus the mobile device is in communication with the local server and either processing system is capable of executing the machine learning algorithms. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that various considerations may be made when determining which device executes the processing algorithms such as power requirements, speed of computation requirements, acceptable latency, connection quality, and a variety of other factors which may make performing the parameter determination on the local device or in the server more desirable.
Modified Sada in view of Martin further in view of Tran fails to further teach the device wherein the sensing phone case is powered by NFC and uses the NFC antenna to transmit data to the phone for evaluation
Cao teaches a contact lens that may comprise at least one sensor. An eye gear package may comprise an interface circuit configured to communicatively couple the eye gear package with the contact lens, a power source configured to power the eye gear package and the contact lens, and a processor configured to process data generated by the at least one sensor (Abstract). Thus, Cao is reasonably pertinent to the problem at hand.
Cao teaches that near field communication (NFC) may be used to power sensors such as impedance electrodes and to communication data with a smartphone (Paragraph 0016).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to configure the device of Modified Sada in view of Martin further in view of Tran to utilize NFC to power the sensors on the phone case and to communicate data with the phone for transmittal to the mesh network because such a configuration would remove the requirement for a battery or other power source in the phone case which would make it less bulky and easier for the user to use.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW ERIC OGLES/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791