DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kolhatkar (US 2017/0264101).
Regarding Claim 1, Kolhatkar discloses a controller [110] to control a generator set [20] to provide a voltage at an output port [outport port at 10] based on a load condition [when utility power system 20 is operating normally (i.e., providing power to load 10), UPS system 100 is configured to provide the auxiliary power output to load 10 to maintain a continuous, predetermined quality of power] (FIG. 1-2, ¶ [0021-0023]), the controller comprising:
a. one or more processors [processor] (¶ [0006]; In another aspect, a controller for a UPS system coupled to a load is provided. The controller includes a processor and a memory in communication with said processor) configured to:
determine the load condition [UPS is uninterruptable] at the output port [outport port at 10] of an alternator [106] coupled to an engine [108] (Abstract, Claim 1-2, 7; extract alternating current (AC) real power from said DFIG), and
generate, based on the load condition [maintain a continuous, predetermined quality of power], a control signal causing the engine to change a speed of the engine to adjust a frequency or a phase of the voltage (Claim 3; control said first inverter to adjust a frequency of the excitation input based on the adjusted rotor speed, wherein the auxiliary power output has a frequency substantially equal to a frequency of a utility power output of the utility power source).
Regarding Claim 2, Kolhatkar discloses the controller of claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
wherein the one or more processors [refer to element “a” in rejected Claim 1] are configured to:
detect an amplitude of the voltage, detect a current through the output port, and determine the load condition, based on the amplitude of the voltage and the current (Claim 3; control said first inverter to adjust a frequency of the excitation input based on the adjusted rotor speed, wherein the auxiliary power output has a frequency substantially equal to a frequency of a utility power output of the utility power source).
Regarding Claim 3, Kolhatkar discloses the controller of claim 2 [see rejected Claim 2],
wherein the load condition includes an impedance [by 26] at the output port [outport port at 10], wherein the one or more processors [refer to element “a” in rejected Claim 1] are configured to:
determine an electrical load demand, based on a function of a target amplitude of the voltage and the impedance (¶ [0021]; Utility power system 20 includes a utility power source 22, a switch 24, an inductor 26, and a static bypass 28 serially coupled to each other. Utility power source 22 generates a utility power output for one or more loads (including load 10). In the exemplary embodiment, the utility power output is a three-phase alternating current (AC) power output. For example, the utility power output is a three-phase, 60 hertz (Hz), 208 volts root-means-squared (Vrms) phase-to-phase voltage. In another example, the utility power output is a three-phase, 50 Hz, 400 Vrms phase-to-phase voltage. Alternatively, the utility power output may include a different number of phases, frequency, and/or peak voltage).
Regarding Claim 4, Kolhatkar discloses the controller of claim 3 [see rejected Claim 3],
wherein the one or more processors [refer to element “a” in rejected Claim 1] are configured to generate, based on the electrical load demand, another control signal causing the alternator to change the amplitude of the voltage (¶ [0021]; Utility power system 20 includes a utility power source 22, a switch 24, an inductor 26, and a static bypass 28 serially coupled to each other. Utility power source 22 generates a utility power output for one or more loads (including load 10). In the exemplary embodiment, the utility power output is a three-phase alternating current (AC) power output. For example, the utility power output is a three-phase, 60 hertz (Hz), 208 volts root-means-squared (Vrms) phase-to-phase voltage. In another example, the utility power output is a three-phase, 50 Hz, 400 Vrms phase-to-phase voltage. Alternatively, the utility power output may include a different number of phases, frequency, and/or peak voltage).
Regarding Claim 5, Kolhatkar discloses the controller of claim 3 [see rejected Claim 3],
wherein the load condition further includes a phase offset between the voltage and the current, wherein the one or more processors [refer to element “a” in rejected Claim 1] are configured to:
determine an adjusted electrical load demand, based on the electrical load demand and the phase offset (¶ [0021]; Utility power system 20 includes a utility power source 22, a switch 24, an inductor 26, and a static bypass 28 serially coupled to each other. Utility power source 22 generates a utility power output for one or more loads (including load 10). In the exemplary embodiment, the utility power output is a three-phase alternating current (AC) power output. For example, the utility power output is a three-phase, 60 hertz (Hz), 208 volts root-means-squared (Vrms) phase-to-phase voltage. In another example, the utility power output is a three-phase, 50 Hz, 400 Vrms phase-to-phase voltage. Alternatively, the utility power output may include a different number of phases, frequency, and/or peak voltage).
Regarding Claim 6, Kolhatkar discloses the controller of claim 5 [see rejected Claim 5],
wherein the one or more processors [refer to element “a” in rejected Claim 1] are configured to:
determine a mechanical power demand corresponding to the adjusted electrical load demand, determine an amount of fuel to provide to the engine, based on the mechanical power demand, and generate the control signal indicating the amount of fuel (¶ [0028]; prime mover 108 includes, for example, and without limitation, a diesel generator, a motor, or another component configured to generate a mechanical rotational torque that drives shaft 116. Shaft 116 drives rotor 114. A rotating magnetic field is induced within rotor 114 and a voltage is induced within stator 112 that is magnetically coupled to rotor 114. DFIG 106 converts the rotational mechanical energy to a sinusoidal, three-phase AC electrical energy signal (referred to herein as an “auxiliary power output”) in stator 112. ¶ [0036]; In at least some embodiments, controller 110 is configured to switch between the modes to optimize fuel usage of prime mover 108 or another operating characteristic of UPS system 100).
Regarding Claim 7, Kolhatkar discloses a method of controlling a generator set [20] including a controller [110], an alternator [106], and an engine [108], based on a load condition at an output port [when utility power system 20 is operating normally (i.e., providing power to load 10), UPS system 100 is configured to provide the auxiliary power output to load 10 to maintain a continuous, predetermined quality of power] of the alternator [106] (FIG. 1-2, ¶ [0021-0023]), the method comprising:
determining, by the controller [110], the load condition at the output port of the alternator, the alternator configured to generate a voltage at the output port, based on a speed of the engine coupled to the alternator (Claim 3; control said first inverter to adjust a frequency of the excitation input based on the adjusted rotor speed, wherein the auxiliary power output has a frequency substantially equal to a frequency of a utility power output of the utility power source); and
generating, by the controller based on the load condition, a control signal to adjust an amplitude of the voltage at the output port (Claim 3; control said first inverter to adjust a frequency of the excitation input based on the adjusted rotor speed, wherein the auxiliary power output has a frequency substantially equal to a frequency of a utility power output of the utility power source).
Regarding Claim 8, Kolhatkar discloses the method of claim 7 [see rejected Claim 7],
wherein the load condition includes an impedance [by 26] at the output port, wherein the control signal is generated by the controller based on the impedance (¶ [0021]; Utility power system 20 includes a utility power source 22, a switch 24, an inductor 26, and a static bypass 28 serially coupled to each other. Utility power source 22 generates a utility power output for one or more loads (including load 10). In the exemplary embodiment, the utility power output is a three-phase alternating current (AC) power output. For example, the utility power output is a three-phase, 60 hertz (Hz), 208 volts root-means-squared (Vrms) phase-to-phase voltage. In another example, the utility power output is a three-phase, 50 Hz, 400 Vrms phase-to-phase voltage. Alternatively, the utility power output may include a different number of phases, frequency, and/or peak voltage).
Regarding Claim 9, Kolhatkar discloses the method of claim 8 [see rejected Claim 8], further comprising:
dividing, by the controller, a value of the voltage by a value of a current through the output port to determine the impedance at the output port (¶ [0021]; Utility power system 20 includes a utility power source 22, a switch 24, an inductor 26, and a static bypass 28 serially coupled to each other. Utility power source 22 generates a utility power output for one or more loads (including load 10). In the exemplary embodiment, the utility power output is a three-phase alternating current (AC) power output. For example, the utility power output is a three-phase, 60 hertz (Hz), 208 volts root-means-squared (Vrms) phase-to-phase voltage. In another example, the utility power output is a three-phase, 50 Hz, 400 Vrms phase-to-phase voltage. Alternatively, the utility power output may include a different number of phases, frequency, and/or peak voltage).
Regarding Claim 10, Kolhatkar discloses the method of claim 8 [see rejected Claim 8], further comprising:
determining, by the controller, an electrical load demand based on the impedance, wherein the control signal is generated by the controller based on the electrical load demand (¶ [0021]; Utility power system 20 includes a utility power source 22, a switch 24, an inductor 26, and a static bypass 28 serially coupled to each other. Utility power source 22 generates a utility power output for one or more loads (including load 10). In the exemplary embodiment, the utility power output is a three-phase alternating current (AC) power output. For example, the utility power output is a three-phase, 60 hertz (Hz), 208 volts root-means-squared (Vrms) phase-to-phase voltage. In another example, the utility power output is a three-phase, 50 Hz, 400 Vrms phase-to-phase voltage. Alternatively, the utility power output may include a different number of phases, frequency, and/or peak voltage).
Regarding Claim 11, Kolhatkar discloses the method of claim 10 [see rejected Claim 10], further comprising:
generating, by the controller based on the electrical load demand, another control signal to adjust the speed of the engine (¶ [0021]; Utility power system 20 includes a utility power source 22, a switch 24, an inductor 26, and a static bypass 28 serially coupled to each other. Utility power source 22 generates a utility power output for one or more loads (including load 10). In the exemplary embodiment, the utility power output is a three-phase alternating current (AC) power output. For example, the utility power output is a three-phase, 60 hertz (Hz), 208 volts root-means-squared (Vrms) phase-to-phase voltage. In another example, the utility power output is a three-phase, 50 Hz, 400 Vrms phase-to-phase voltage. Alternatively, the utility power output may include a different number of phases, frequency, and/or peak voltage).
Regarding Claim 12, Kolhatkar discloses the method of claim 11 [see rejected Claim 11], further comprising:
providing, by the controller, the control signal to an alternator controller [305], the alternator controller to adjust electromotive force provided to the alternator according to the control signal to adjust the amplitude of the voltage at the output port (¶ [0021]; Utility power system 20 includes a utility power source 22, a switch 24, an inductor 26, and a static bypass 28 serially coupled to each other. Utility power source 22 generates a utility power output for one or more loads (including load 10). In the exemplary embodiment, the utility power output is a three-phase alternating current (AC) power output. For example, the utility power output is a three-phase, 60 hertz (Hz), 208 volts root-means-squared (Vrms) phase-to-phase voltage. In another example, the utility power output is a three-phase, 50 Hz, 400 Vrms phase-to-phase voltage. Alternatively, the utility power output may include a different number of phases, frequency, and/or peak voltage).
Regarding Claim 13, Kolhatkar discloses the method of claim 12 [see rejected Claim 12], further comprising:
providing, by the controller, the another control signal to an engine controller, the engine controller to adjust an amount of fuel provided to the engine to adjust the speed of the engine according to the another control signal (¶ [0028]; prime mover 108 includes, for example, and without limitation, a diesel generator, a motor, or another component configured to generate a mechanical rotational torque that drives shaft 116. Shaft 116 drives rotor 114. A rotating magnetic field is induced within rotor 114 and a voltage is induced within stator 112 that is magnetically coupled to rotor 114. DFIG 106 converts the rotational mechanical energy to a sinusoidal, three-phase AC electrical energy signal (referred to herein as an “auxiliary power output”) in stator 112. ¶ [0036]; In at least some embodiments, controller 110 is configured to switch between the modes to optimize fuel usage of prime mover 108 or another operating characteristic of UPS system 100).
Regarding Claim 14, Kolhatkar discloses the method of claim 11 [see rejected Claim 11],
wherein generating, by the controller based on the electrical load demand, the another control signal includes: determining, by the controller, a mechanical power demand corresponding to the electrical load demand; and generating, by the controller, the another control signal according to the determined mechanical power demand (¶ [0028]; prime mover 108 includes, for example, and without limitation, a diesel generator, a motor, or another component configured to generate a mechanical rotational torque that drives shaft 116. Shaft 116 drives rotor 114. A rotating magnetic field is induced within rotor 114 and a voltage is induced within stator 112 that is magnetically coupled to rotor 114. DFIG 106 converts the rotational mechanical energy to a sinusoidal, three-phase AC electrical energy signal (referred to herein as an “auxiliary power output”) in stator 112. ¶ [0036]; In at least some embodiments, controller 110 is configured to switch between the modes to optimize fuel usage of prime mover 108 or another operating characteristic of UPS system 100).
Regarding Claim 15, Kolhatkar discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions [Memory device 310 may include one or more tangible, non-transitory, computer readable media] when executed by one or more processors cause the one or more processors to perform the method 7 (see rejected Claim 7, ¶ [0044]).
Regarding Claim 16, Kolhatkar discloses a generator set to provide a voltage at an output port based on a load condition (refer to rejected Claim 1 preamble above), the generator set including:
an engine [108] (FIG. 1-2);
an alternator [100 or 200] coupled to the engine [108], the alternator [100 or 200] configured to generate the voltage at the output port based on a speed of the engine (FIG. 1-2, Claim 1; control said first inverter to provide an excitation input to said rotor in response to the detected power disturbance, wherein said DFIG is further configured to provide the auxiliary power output to the load at least partially as a function of the excitation input.); and
a controller [110] coupled to the engine [108] and the alternator [106] (FIG. 1-2), the controller configured to:
determine an impedance [by 26] at the output port, generate, based on the impedance, a first control signal causing the engine to change a speed to adjust a frequency or a phase of the voltage, and generate, based on the impedance, a second control signal causing the alternator to change an amplitude of the voltage (Claim 3; control said first inverter to adjust a frequency of the excitation input based on the adjusted rotor speed, wherein the auxiliary power output has a frequency substantially equal to a frequency of a utility power output of the utility power source).
Regarding Claim 17, Kolhatkar discloses the generator set of claim 16 [see rejected Claim 16],
wherein the controller is configured to generate, based on the impedance, the first control signal indicating an amount of fuel to supply to the engine (¶ [0028]; prime mover 108 includes, for example, and without limitation, a diesel generator, a motor, or another component configured to generate a mechanical rotational torque that drives shaft 116. Shaft 116 drives rotor 114. A rotating magnetic field is induced within rotor 114 and a voltage is induced within stator 112 that is magnetically coupled to rotor 114. DFIG 106 converts the rotational mechanical energy to a sinusoidal, three-phase AC electrical energy signal (referred to herein as an “auxiliary power output”) in stator 112. ¶ [0036]; In at least some embodiments, controller 110 is configured to switch between the modes to optimize fuel usage of prime mover 108 or another operating characteristic of UPS system 100).
Regarding Claim 18, Kolhatkar discloses the generator set of claim 17 [see rejected Claim 17], further comprising:
an engine controller [305] coupled to the engine, the engine controller configured to: receive the first control signal indicating the amount of fuel, and provide the amount of fuel indicated by the first control signal to the engine to change the speed of the engine based on the impedance (¶ [0028]; prime mover 108 includes, for example, and without limitation, a diesel generator, a motor, or another component configured to generate a mechanical rotational torque that drives shaft 116. Shaft 116 drives rotor 114. A rotating magnetic field is induced within rotor 114 and a voltage is induced within stator 112 that is magnetically coupled to rotor 114. DFIG 106 converts the rotational mechanical energy to a sinusoidal, three-phase AC electrical energy signal (referred to herein as an “auxiliary power output”) in stator 112. ¶ [0036]; In at least some embodiments, controller 110 is configured to switch between the modes to optimize fuel usage of prime mover 108 or another operating characteristic of UPS system 100. ¶ [0042]; exemplary computing device 305 that may be used to monitor and/or control the operation of a UPS system such as UPS systems 100, 200 (shown in FIGS. 1 and 2)).
Regarding Claim 19, Kolhatkar discloses the generator set of claim 16 [see rejected Claim 16],
wherein the controller is configured to generate, based on the impedance, the second control signal indicating an amount of electromotive force of the alternator (¶ [0021]; Utility power system 20 includes a utility power source 22, a switch 24, an inductor 26, and a static bypass 28 serially coupled to each other. Utility power source 22 generates a utility power output for one or more loads (including load 10). In the exemplary embodiment, the utility power output is a three-phase alternating current (AC) power output. For example, the utility power output is a three-phase, 60 hertz (Hz), 208 volts root-means-squared (Vrms) phase-to-phase voltage. In another example, the utility power output is a three-phase, 50 Hz, 400 Vrms phase-to-phase voltage. Alternatively, the utility power output may include a different number of phases, frequency, and/or peak voltage).
Regarding Claim 20, Kolhatkar discloses the generator set of claim 19 [see rejected Claim 19], further comprising:
an alternator controller [305] coupled to the alternator (¶ [0042]; exemplary computing device 305 that may be used to monitor and/or control the operation of a UPS system such as UPS systems 100, 200 (shown in FIGS. 1 and 2)), the alternator controller configured to:
receive the second control signal indicating the amount of electromotive force of the alternator (¶ [0021]; Utility power system 20 includes a utility power source 22, a switch 24, an inductor 26, and a static bypass 28 serially coupled to each other. Utility power source 22 generates a utility power output for one or more loads (including load 10). In the exemplary embodiment, the utility power output is a three-phase alternating current (AC) power output. For example, the utility power output is a three-phase, 60 hertz (Hz), 208 volts root-means-squared (Vrms) phase-to-phase voltage. In another example, the utility power output is a three-phase, 50 Hz, 400 Vrms phase-to-phase voltage. Alternatively, the utility power output may include a different number of phases, frequency, and/or peak voltage), and
provide the amount of electromotive force indicated by the second control signal to the alternator to change the amplitude of the voltage based on the load condition (Claim 3; control said first inverter to adjust a frequency of the excitation input based on the adjusted rotor speed, wherein the auxiliary power output has a frequency substantially equal to a frequency of a utility power output of the utility power source).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH ORTEGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834