DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jianping (US 2006/0228683).
Regarding claim 1, as broadly claimed, Jainping shows a device comprising a handheld housing (60, figures 1, 2, 3, paragraph [0041]), an extension extending from the handheld housing (note the spherical extension extending from the housing, figures 1, 2, 3 and paragraph [0041]), wherein the extension has an interior side defining a closed shape, a battery, wherein the handheld housing houses the battery (paragraphs [0018] and [0042]), and a microphone (30, 31) disposed along the interior side (figures 1-3, paragraph [0040]-[0041]), wherein the battery is configured to power the microphone (paragraphs [0018] and [0042]).
Regarding claim 2, Jainping teaches the handheld housing that has a compartment (60, 61) configured to store an accessory (the memory care 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, as interpreted in a different manner, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jianping (US 2006/0228683) in view of Kaiser (US 11,683,625).
Regarding claim 1, as interpreted in a different manner, Jainping shows a device comprising a handheld housing (60, figures 1, 2, 3, paragraph [0041]), an extension extending from the handheld housing (note the extension with the spherical extension extending from the housing, figures 1, 2, 3 and paragraph [0041]), wherein the extension has an interior side defining a closed shape, a battery, wherein the handheld housing houses the battery (paragraphs [0018] and [0042]), and a microphone (30, 31) disposed along the interior side of the handheld housing (figures 1-3, paragraph [0040]-[0041]), wherein the battery is configured to power the microphone (paragraphs [0018] and [0042]).
Jainping does not specifically disclose that the microphone (30, 31) is disposed along the interior side of the extension extending from the housing. However, providing a microphone disposed along the interior side of the extension extending from the housing is known in the art.
Kaiser teaches a microphone disposed along the interior side of the extension extending from the housing (102, 104, 106, 110, figures 1A, 1B, 1C, 2, col. 5, lines 20-40 in Kaiser).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide a microphone disposed along the interior side of the extension extending from the housing, as taught by Kaiser, in the device of Jainping for better receiving sound to the system.
Regarding claim 2, Jainping teaches the handheld housing that has a compartment (60, 61) configured to store an accessory (the memory care 13).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jianping (US 2006/0228683) in view of Kaiser (US 11,683,625) and further in view of Shaffer (US 2015/0245127).
Jianping in view of Kaiser does not specifically teach that the battery charges the accessory when the accessory is stored in the housing as claimed. However, providing a battery charging the accessory when the accessory is stored in the housing is known in the art.
Shaffer teaches an electronic device including a housing and a battery charging an accessory (note the accessory or the rechargeable earbuds 34, 35) when the accessory is stored in the housing (11, 12, note the earbud batteries 39, 27, figures 3A-3D and 4, and paragraphs [0040], [0042] and [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the battery charging the accessory when the accessory is stored in the housing, as taught by Shaffer, in the system of Jianping in view of Kaiser for better charging and providing power to the accessory.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jianping (US 2006/0228683) in view of Kaiser (US 11,683,625) and/or Harooni (US 10,108,083).
Jainping does not specifically teach a light source disposed along the interior side, wherein the battery is configured to power the light source such that the light source is activatable when the microphone is receiving a sound from a user talking or singing into the microphone as claimed. However, providing a light source disposed to a microphone device is known in the art.
Kaiser and/or Harooni teaches a light source disposed along the interior side of the extension (126, figures 1A, 1B, 2; col. 5, lines 41-67 through col. 6, lines 1-63 in Kaiser; and 120, 222, 620, figures 1a, 1b, 1c, 6 and see the text for the figures in Harooni), wherein the battery is configured to power the light source such that the light source is activatable when the microphone is receiving a sound from a user talking or singing into the microphone (figures 1A, 1B, 2; col. 5, lines 41-67 through col. 6, lines 1-63 in Kaiser; and 120, 222, 620, figures 1a, 1b, 1c, 6, and see the text for the figures in Harooni.
Since Kaiser and/or Harooni does not restrict to any location for the light source on the housing or the extension of the housing (note col. 5, lines 56-61 in Kaiser and figures 1a and 6 in Harooni); it therefore would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide a light source disposed in any location on the housing such as providing the light source disposed along the interior side of the extension, wherein the battery is configured to power the light source such that the light source is activatable when the microphone is receiving a sound from a user talking or singing into the microphone, as taught by Kaiser and/or Harooni, in the system of Jianping for better providing a light source allowing the user to know when the microphone is receiving a sound or active.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (US 6,025,553) teaches a portable music performance device comprising a hand-held device (70), wherein the device comprises a microphone portion (71), a controller portion (72) and a transmitter portion (73).
Cheng (US 8,243,974) teaches a wireless microphone including a grip that includes a barrel, wherein the barrel includes a barrel body that is configured with a battery receiving space and that has one side formed with a cutout for access to the battery receiving space.
/HUYEN D LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694 HL
September 9, 2026