DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 14, filed 04/16/2026, with respect to the objection to claims 1, 2, and 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments to the claims. The objection of 01/16/2026 has been withdrawn. Similarly, the rejection of claims 5 and 8 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn in light of the amended claims.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/16/2026 with regard to the rejections of the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant makes the following arguments:
The technical elements recited in the claims are clearly identified in Figs. 1-11 and the specification, and thus the MPF construction of the claims is improper under 35 U.S.C. 112, 6th paragraph.
As the 112(f) interpretation of the claims is improper, the rejection of the claims under 112(a) for lacking sufficient structure is also improper.
The amendments to the claims overcome the rejections under 35 USC 112(b).
The claims are directed to patentable subject matter because they are directed to a system formed from physical devices and components along with software, which performs a novel and non-obvious function of social and economic significance.
Yao teaches detection of a diesel engine temperature, which requires entirely different technology compared to the detection of the temperature of an EV cell. Similarly, there is no ambient temperature in a diesel engine.
Schmidt teaches neither a cell temperature monitoring module nor a battery compartment ambient temperature monitoring module.
Regarding argument A: While the applicant argues that the interpretation of the claims under 35 USC 112(f) is improper, the evidence presented is that structure allegedly exists in the specification, as compared to said structure existing in the claim limitations themselves.
Regarding argument B: The applicant points to Figs. 1-11 as providing structure; while the figures show how the various units interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) are connected to one another, they do not provide any structure for the units themselves.
Regarding argument C: The amendments to the claims fail to address the stated reasons given in the rejection of the claim under 35 USC 112(b).
Regarding argument D: The units from which the system is formed are recited at so high a level of generality that the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims would be inclusive of instructions to perform the abstract idea of the claims using a computer. The alleged novelty and non-obviousness of the claims and the social and economic significance of the function of the claimed invention, meanwhile, have no bearing on whether or not the claimed invention recites patent-eligible subject matter.
Regarding argument E: Yao recites a system which is capable of monitoring an engine temperature in a diesel vehicle as well as monitoring leakage of a battery in an electric vehicle. Contrary to the applicant’s assertions, the fact that diesel engines and vehicle batteries operate at different temperature ranges does not create a requirement for “entirely different” technology in sensing the operating temperature. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a temperature of a vehicle battery could be determined in the same fashion as the temperature of a diesel engine, particularly in light of Schmidt, which teaches that a pressure change in a battery compartment could correspond to either a temperature change or a leakage in the compartment (Schmidt – [0030]).
Regarding argument F: Schmidt’s teaching of monitoring the temperature of an interior area of a vehicle battery compartment corresponds to at least the ambient temperature monitoring module.
Furthermore, the amendments to the claims necessitate a new ground of rejection under 35 USC 112(b), as discussed below. The amendments to claims 1 and 8 additionally necessitates rejections further made in view of Hong et al. (CN 103471735) and Lee et al. (KR 20210057278), respectively.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The amendments to page 18 of the specification include text which is simultaneously underlined, denoting an addition, and struck-through, denoting a removal. It is not clear if the text in question is meant to be understood as added to the previously-existing specification or removed from it.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations in claims 1-3 and 5-11 are as follows:
a tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit
a vehicle overheat detection and warning unit
an explosion prevention and control unit
an on-board gateway unit
an alarm prompt unit
a remote management unit
a tire leakage detection module
a low tire pressure detection module
a tire temperature monitoring module
a tire valve core leakage detection device
a tire pinhole leakage detection device
a tire foreign object detection device
a tire side and inner edge damage detection device
a hub flange deformation detection device
a hub fracture detection device
a direct tire pressure monitoring device
an indirect tire pressure monitoring device
a temperature sensing and monitoring device
an engine/motor temperature monitoring module
a differential lock system temperature monitoring module
an exhaust pipe temperature monitoring module
a cell temperature monitoring module
a cell deformation detection module
a cell air pressure monitoring module
a cell liquid leakage detection model
a battery compartment explosive gas detection model
a battery compartment ambient temperature monitoring module
a battery compartment smoke detection module
a battery explosion suppression module
an internal cell temperature sensing and monitoring device
an internal cell resistance tomography device
an internal deformation sensing and detection device
a cell surface variable resistance detection device
a battery bus insulation impedance detection device
a battery positive and negative bus current detection device
a VOC detection device
a CO explosion gas detection, sensing, and detection device
an H2 explosive gas detection, sensing, and detection device
a CH4 explosive gas detection, sensing, and detection device
a circuit controller
a lithium-ion battery compartment fire suppression device
an automatic fire extinguishing linkage control device
a network communication module
a data storage module
an edge computing module
a built-in data storage device
an external data storage device
a vehicle local alarm subunit prompt
a remote monitoring client software alarm prompt subunit
a communication center
“a direct tire pressure monitoring device” corresponds to the “integrated pressure temperature sensor” of [0026]
“a tire temperature monitoring module” and “a temperature sensing and monitoring device” each correspond to the “integrated pressure temperature sensor” of [0026]
“a battery compartment smoke detection module” corresponds to the further recited one or more smoke detectors of claim 4
“a battery explosion suppression module” corresponds to the further recited intelligent circuit breaker of claim 4; however, sufficient structure does not exist for the alternative “circuit controller”, “lithium-ion battery compartment fire suppression device”, or “automatic fire extinguishing linkage control device”
“a network communication module” corresponds to the further recited one or more communication devices of claim 5
“a data storage module” corresponds to the further recited built-in data storage device and external data storage device of claim 5
“a built-in data storage device” corresponds to “a built-in static random access memory SRAM, a built-in dynamic random access memory DRAM, and a built-in hard disk” of [0258]
“an external data storage device” corresponds to “an external mobile hard disk, a USB flash drive, a TF memory card, and a SD memory card” of [0258]
“an edge computing module” corresponds to the further recited “AI smart chip” and “terminal SDK” of claim 5
“a vehicle local alarm prompt subunit” corresponds to the acousto-optic alarm modules of [0089]
“a remote monitoring client software alarm prompt subunit” corresponds to the software of [0089]
“a communication center” corresponds to the cloud platform or local server of [0188]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Other than the limitations above for which corresponding structure has been identified (underlined in the list above), the disclosure fails to provide sufficient structure for any of the remaining limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The non-underlined limitations in the “Claim Interpretation” section above invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No structure is provided for these limitations Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 1 recites that the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit is “associated with an on-board gateway unit and an alarm prompt unit and is associated with a remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit”. It is unclear if these are meant to be the same on-board gateway unit, alarm prompt unit, and remote management unit recited in the last three limitations of the claim, or if they are meant to be different. For the purposes of examination, the limitations will be treated as referring to the same on-board gateway unit, alarm prompt unit, and remote management unit.
Claim 1 further recites “a battery bus insulation impedance detection device and/or a battery positive and negative bus current detection device and/or a VOC detection device and a corresponding sensing and transmitting device”, where it is unclear whether the limitation is meant to be interpreted as “(A OR B OR C) AND D” or “A OR B OR (C AND D)”; the former interpretation has been selected for the purposes of examination. Similarly, it is unclear whether the limitation “one or more of an ion smoke detector, a photoelectric smoke detector, an infrared beam smoke detector, a video analytical smoke detector, a photosensitive fire detector, and a video analysis smoke detector and a corresponding sensing and transmitting device” is meant to be understood as “(A OR B OR C OR D OR E OR F) AND G” or “A OR B OR C OR D OR E OR (F AND G)”. While in the previous limitation, the former interpretation has been taken, the claim as worded herein appears to indicate the latter interpretation is the intended one.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of “the cell deformation detection module”, “the cell air pressure monitoring module”, “the cell liquid leakage detection module”, “the battery compartment explosive gas detection module”, “the battery compartment smoke detection module”, and “the battery explosion suppression module”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite a system (Step 1: Yes.) Independent claim 1 has been selected for further analysis.
The claim recites the following limitations (bolded text corresponds to the abstract idea):
A vehicle safety monitoring system based on the Internet of Things, comprising:
a tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit, wherein the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit is associated with an on-board gateway unit, an alarm prompt unit and a remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit, and the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit is configured to collect all information related to a tire pressure in real time, and based on the collected information, analyze, directly or in cooperation with the on-board gateway unit, whether a tire leaks, a pressure in the tire, a temperature in the tire, and a risk warning;
a vehicle overheat detection and warning unit, wherein the vehicle overheat detection and warning unit is associated with the on-board gateway unit, the alarm prompt unit, and the remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit, and the vehicle overheat detection and warning unit is configured to collect temperature information of a component directly related to a vehicle operating state on a current vehicle in real time, and determine, directly or in cooperation with the on-board gateway unit based on the collected information, whether the vehicle is overheated and a risk of explosion or damage exists;
an explosion prevention and control unit of a lithium-ion power battery of a new energy vehicle, wherein a sensor of the explosion prevention and control unit of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle is arranged in a cell of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle and in a battery compartment, is associated with the on-board gateway unit, and is associated with the alarm prompt unit and the remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit, and the explosion prevention and control unit of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle is configured to collect a cell temperature, a cell leakage condition, a battery compartment explosive gas concentration, a battery compartment ambient temperature, and a battery compartment smoke information of the current vehicle; and determine, through computing directly or in cooperation with the on-board gateway unit based on the collected information, whether there is an explosion risk of a combustion risk in a vehicle power battery, and enable a battery explosion suppression function when determining that a detection information analysis is higher than a relevant set threshold to trigger a power cell danger or a battery compartment danger alarm;
an on-board gateway unit, wherein the on-board gateway unit is arranged in a vehicle cab, and is respectively associated with the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit, the vehicle overheat detection and warning unit, the alarm prompt unit, and the remote management unit, and a communication channel is associated among the units to complete data exchange, and the on-board gateway unit is further configured to complete, in cooperation with the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit and/or the vehicle overheat detection and warning unit, risk warning processing based on the data collected by the corresponding unit;
an alarm prompt unit, wherein the alarm prompt unit is connected to the on-board gateway unit, and is configured to complete a local alarm on the vehicle and/or complete a remote alarm through the remote management unit associated with the on-board gateway unit;
a remote management unit, wherein the remote management unit is deployed in a manner of multi-level linkage, is associated with the on-board gateway unit, and is indirectly associated with the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit, the vehicle overheat detection and warning unit, and the alarm prompt unit through the on-board gateway unit, and is configured to receive a tire pressure alarm and/or a vehicle overheat alarm sent by the on-board gateway unit, and generate emergency response and emergency rescue management information according to requirements of an emergency plan when receiving a high-risk level alarm; and
wherein
the explosion prevention and control unit of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle comprises one or more of a cell temperature monitoring module and a battery compartment ambient temperature monitoring module, is directly related to the on-board gateway unit to monitor the cell temperature and the battery compartment ambient temperature in real time, warning information is sent when the detection result is higher than a set threshold or the leakage occurs, when a medium or low risk warning is triggered, a local warning acousto-optic or voice prompt is sent through the alarm prompt unit while the warning information is sent to the remote management unit, and when a high risk warning is triggered, an explosion suppression device is automatically started, and the local warning acousto-optic or voice prompt is sent through the alarm prompt unit while the warning information is sent to the warning management unit;
the cell temperature monitoring module comprises an internal cell temperature sensing and monitoring device, an internal cell resistance tomography device, and a corresponding sensing and transmitting device, and is configured to obtain real-time cell temperature information of the vehicle power battery, and transmit the obtained information to the on-board gateway unit or to the remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit;
the cell deformation detection module comprises an internal deformation sensing and detection device, a cell surface variable resistance detection device and a corresponding sensing and transmitting device, and is configured to obtain real-time cell deformation information of the vehicle power battery, and transmit the obtained information to the on-board gateway unit or to the remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit;
the cell air pressure monitoring module is configured to obtain real-time cell air pressure information of the vehicle power battery, and transmit the obtained information to the on-board gateway unit or to the remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit;
the cell liquid leakage detection module comprises a battery bus insulation impedance detection device and/or a battery positive and negative bus current detection device and/or a VOC detection device and a corresponding sensing and transmitting device, and is configured to obtain real-time cell leakage information of the vehicle power battery, and transmit the obtained information to the on-board gateway unit or to the remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit;
the battery compartment explosive gas detection module comprises one or more of a CO explosive gas detection, sensing, and detection device, an H2 explosive gas detection, sensing, and detection device, a CH4 explosive gas detection, sensing, and detection device, a VOC detection device, and a corresponding sensing and transmitting device, and is configured to obtain composition and real-time concentration information of an explosive gas in a vehicle power battery compartment, and transmit the obtained information to the on-board gateway unit or to the remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit;
the battery compartment ambient temperature monitoring module is configured to obtain ambient temperature information of the vehicle power battery component, and transmit the obtained information to the on-board gateway unit or to the remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit;
the battery compartment smoke detection module comprises one or more of an ion smoke detector, a photoelectric smoke detector, an infrared beam smoke detector, a video analytical smoke detector, a photosensitive fire detector, and a video analysis smoke detector and a corresponding sensing and transmitting device, and is configured to obtain information about whether there is smoke in the vehicle power battery compartment, and transmit the obtained information to the on-board gateway unit or to the remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit; and
the battery explosion suppression module of the battery compartment comprises a circuit controller and/or an intelligent circuit breaker and/or a lithium-ion battery compartment fire suppression device and/or an automatic fire extinguishing linkage control device, and is configured to cut off the power supply or perform fire extinguishing and explosion-proof treatment when explosion warning information of the lithium-ion power battery is received.
Under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this system uses collected data to diagnose potential risks in a plurality of vehicle systems, synthesizes the system diagnoses to determine an overall risk level for the vehicle (in part by monitoring a battery temperature in comparison to a threshold), and generates a plan for how to respond to a determined risk. This is a process which can be performed in the human mind; therefore, the claim falls within the mental processes grouping of abstract ideas. (Step 2A-Prong 1: Yes. The claim is abstract.)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application; limitations that are not indicative of integration include: (1) Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05.f), (2) Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05.g), (3) Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05.h). The claim recites a plurality of “units”, interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as discussed above. These amount to no more than instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, and generic sensing devices used for the insignificant pre-solution activity of gathering data. Additionally, the alarm prompt unit performs the insignificant post-solution activity of sending an alarm signal. Furthermore, there are several “units” recited at a high level of generality which do no more than perform the insignificant extra-solution activities of gathering and transmitting data. (Step 2A-Prong 2: No. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application.)
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as discussed above, the additional elements amount to no more than instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer or insignificant extra-solution activity. Furthermore, these elements are recited at so high a level of generality as to be well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art. (Step 2B: No. The claims do not provide significantly more.) Therefore, claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Claims 2 and 3 further define the types of data which are collected. However, the collection of said data remains the insignificant pre-solution activity of data gathering; therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim 5 further defines the computer components which make up the system. However, these elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional, and thus fail to provide significantly more. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 6 and 8-11 further define the abstract idea and are thus abstract for the same reasons. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim 7 further defines the alarm prompt unit; however, the components which comprise the alarm prompt unit are software which is well-understood, routine, and conventional; therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao (CN 205428125, previously cited) in view of Schmidt (US 2020335833, previously cited) in view of Hong et al.
Claim 1.
Yao teaches:
a tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit, wherein the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit is associated with an on-board gateway unit, an alarm prompt unit, and a remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit, and the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit is configured to collect all information related to a tire pressure in real time, and based on the collected information, analyze, directly or in cooperation with the on-board gateway unit, whether a tire leaks, a pressure in the tire, a temperature in the tire, and a risk warning
(Yao – [0019]) “the tire pressure monitoring module monitors the vehicle using a high-sensitivity miniature wireless sensor device fixed in the vehicle tire to collect vehicle tire pressure, temperature and other data while driving or stationary.”
a vehicle overheat detection and warning unit, wherein the vehicle overheat detection and warning unit is associated with the on-board gateway unit, the alarm prompt unit, and the remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit, and the vehicle overheat detection and warning unit is configured to collect temperature information of a component directly related to a vehicle operating state on a current vehicle in real time, and determine, directly or in cooperation with the on-board gateway unit based on the collected information, whether the vehicle is overheated and a risk of explosion or damage exists
(Yao – [0016]) “The engine/battery box safety monitoring module monitors the engine temperature of diesel vehicles and the smoke from battery leakage in electric vehicles.”
an explosion prevention and control unit of a lithium-ion power battery of a new energy vehicle, wherein a sensor of the explosion prevention and control unit of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle is arranged in a cell of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle and in a battery compartment, is associated with the on-board gateway unit, and is associated with the alarm prompt unit and the remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit, and the explosion prevention and control unit of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle is configured to collect a cell temperature, a cell leakage condition, a battery compartment explosive gas concentration, a battery compartment ambient temperature, and a battery compartment smoke information of the current vehicle; and determine, through computing directly or in cooperation with the on-board gateway unit based on the collected information, whether there is an explosion risk or a combustion risk in a vehicle power battery, and enable a battery explosion suppression function when determining that a detection information analysis result is higher than a relevant set threshold to trigger a power cell danger or a battery compartment danger alarm
(Yao – [0016]) “The engine/battery box safety monitoring module monitors the engine temperature of diesel vehicles and the smoke from battery leakage in electric vehicles. When it determines that there is a risk of spontaneous combustion, it issues an audible and visual alarm at the driver’s position, and transmits the alarm information in combination with the vehicle position information”
an on-board gateway unit, wherein the on-board gateway unit is arranged in a vehicle cab, and is respectively associated with the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit, the vehicle overheat detection and warning unit, the alarm prompt unit, and the remote management unit, and a communication channel is established among the units to complete data exchange, and the on-board gateway unit is further configured to complete, in cooperation with the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit and/or the vehicle overheat detection and warning unit, risk warning processing based on the data collected by the corresponding unit
(Yao – [0012]) “the outputs of the bus flammable volatile substance monitoring and alarm module, the engine/battery box safety monitoring module, the video monitoring module, the tire pressure monitoring module, the brake pad fault alarm module, and the vehicle positioning module are respectively connected to the on-board data transmission module”
an alarm prompt unit, wherein the alarm prompt unit is connected to the on-board gateway unit, and is configured to complete a local alarm on the vehicle and/or complete a remote alarm through the remote management unit associated with the on-board gateway unit
(Yao – [0012]) “the outputs of the bus flammable volatile substance monitoring and alarm module, the engine/battery box safety monitoring module, the video monitoring module, the tire pressure monitoring module, the brake pad fault alarm module, and the vehicle positioning module are respectively connected to the on-board data transmission module”
a remote management unit, wherein the remote management unit is deployed in a manner of multi-level linkage, is associated with the on-board gateway unit, and is indirectly associated with the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit, the vehicle overheat detection and warning unit, and the alarm prompt unit through the on-board gateway unit, and is configured to receive a tire pressure alarm and/or a vehicle overheat alarm sent by the on-board gateway unit, and generate emergency response and emergency rescue management information according to requirements of an emergency plan when receiving a high-risk level alarm
(Yao – [0012]) “Data between the bus on-board safety monitoring device and the command center is transmitted via a wireless communication operator network. The system is characterized in that: there are multiple bus on-board safety monitoring devices, and each bus on-board safety monitoring device includes a bus flammable volatile substance monitoring and alarm module, an engine/battery box safety monitoring module, an engine/battery box fire extinguishing module, a video monitoring module, a carriage water mist fire extinguishing module, a tire pressure monitoring module, a brake pad fault alarm module, a vehicle positioning module, and an on-board data transmission module”
the explosion prevention and control unit of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle comprises one or more of a cell temperature monitoring module and a battery compartment ambient temperature monitoring module
(Yao – [0016]) “The engine/battery box safety monitoring module monitors the engine temperature of diesel vehicles and the smoke from battery leakage in electric vehicles.”
[Examiner’s Note: While Yao does not explicitly teach measuring the temperature of a battery, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the temperature of a battery could be monitored by the same means as the temperature of a diesel engine. This would be a use of a known technique (temperature monitoring) to improve similar devices (power supplies for a vehicle) in the same way (detecting a potential overheat condition).]
the explosion prevention and control unit of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle … is directly related to the on-board gateway unit to monitor (conditions monitored by above modules) in real time, warning information is sent when the detection result is higher than a set threshold or the leakage occurs, when a medium or low risk warning is triggered, a local warning acousto-optic or voice prompt is sent through the alarm prompt unit while the warning information is sent to the remote management unit, and when a high risk warning is triggered, an explosion suppression device is automatically started, and the local warning acousto-optic or voice prompt is sent through the alarm prompt unit while the warning information is sent to the remote management unit
(Yao – [0016]) “When it determines that there is a risk of spontaneous combustion, it issues an audible and visual alarm at the driver’s position, and transmits the alarm information in combination with the vehicle position information”
(Yao – [0037]) “The engine/battery box safety monitoring module 12 uses scattered light smoke detection technology to detect smoke, which is not limited by the type of smoke and has a fast response speed.”
the cell liquid leakage detection module comprises a battery bus insulation impedance detection device and/or a battery positive and negative bus current detection device and/or a VOC detection device and a corresponding sensing and transmitting device, and is configured to obtain real-time cell leakage information of the vehicle power battery, and transmit the obtained information to the on-board gateway unit or to the remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit
(Yao – [0034]) “The bus flammable volatile mattery monitoring and alarm module 11 uses multiple semiconductor gas sensors to monitor the concentration of flammable liquid volatile gases in the bus compartment in real time.”
the battery compartment explosive gas detection module comprises one or more of a CO explosive gas detection, sensing, and detection device, an H2 explosive gas detection, sensing, and detection device, a CH4 explosive gas detection, sensing, and detection device, a VOC detection device, and a corresponding sensing and transmitting device, and is configured to obtain composition and real-time concentration information of an explosive gas in a vehicle power battery compartment, and transmit the obtained information to the on-board gateway unit or to the remote management through the on-board gateway unit
(Yao – [0034]) “The bus flammable volatile mattery monitoring and alarm module 11 uses multiple semiconductor gas sensors to monitor the concentration of flammable liquid volatile gases in the bus compartment in real time.”
the battery compartment smoke detection module comprises one or more of an ion smoke detector, a photoelectric smoke detector, an infrared beam smoke detector, a video analytical smoke detector, a photosensitive fire detector, and a video analysis smoke detector and a corresponding sensing and transmitting device, and is configured to obtain information about whether there is smoke in the vehicle power battery compartment, and transmit the obtained information to the on-board gateway unit or to the remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit
(Yao – [0037]) “The engine/battery box safety monitoring module 12 uses scattered light smoke detection technology to detect smoke, which is not limited by the type of smoke and has a fast response speed.”
the battery explosion suppression module of the battery compartment comprises a circuit controller and/or an intelligent circuit breaker and/or a lithium-ion battery compartment fire suppression device and/or an automatic fire extinguishing linkage control device, and is configured to cut off the power supply or perform fire extinguishing and explosion-proof treatment when explosion warning information of the lithium-ion power battery is received
(Yao – [0037]) “When spontaneous combustion of the vehicle is detected, the engine/battery box fire extinguishing module 13 is activated to spray S-type aerosol to quickly extinguish the engine and battery box.”
While Yao teaches determining an engine temperature or a battery condition, Yao does not explicitly teach determining a battery deformation or pressure; however, Schmidt teaches:
the explosion prevention and control unit of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle is configured to collect a cell temperature
(Schmidt – [0016]) “the evaluation device is designed to monitor a temperature in the interior”
the cell deformation detection module comprises an internal deformation sensing and detection device,
(Schmidt – [0017]) “the evaluation device is designed to additionally identify a severity of the deformation on the basis of the pressure change”
the cell air pressure monitoring module
(Schmidt – [0009]) “the pressure sensor can monitor the pressure or gas pressure inside the battery housing by measuring the pressure in the interior of the battery housing continuously or at predetermined measuring times.”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the safety monitoring system of Yao with the damage detection device of Schmidt. Both Yao and Schmidt concern monitoring a battery for signs of damage; therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the teachings of Schmidt could be used in the safety monitoring system of Yao with predictable results, namely, a safety monitoring system which monitors a battery for smoke as well as signs of physical damage. One would have been motivated to do this in order to better ensure the safety of a monitored vehicle.
The combination of Yao and Schmidt further teaches:
the cell temperature monitoring module comprises an internal cell temperature sensing and monitoring device,
(Schmidt – [0016]) “the evaluation device is designed to monitor a temperature in the interior”
[Examiner’s Note: While Yao does not explicitly teach measuring the temperature of a battery, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the temperature of a battery could be monitored by the same means as the temperature of a diesel engine. This would be a use of a known technique (temperature monitoring) to improve similar devices (power supplies for a vehicle) in the same way (detecting a potential overheat condition).]
the battery compartment ambient temperature monitoring module is configured to obtain ambient temperature information of the vehicle power battery compartment, and transmit the obtained information to the on-board gateway unit or to the remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit
(Schmidt – [0016]) “the evaluation device is designed to monitor a temperature in the interior”
[Examiner’s Note: While Yao does not explicitly teach measuring the temperature of a battery, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the temperature of a battery could be monitored by the same means as the temperature of a diesel engine. This would be a use of a known technique (temperature monitoring) to improve similar devices (power supplies for a vehicle) in the same way (detecting a potential overheat condition).]
Neither Yao nor Schmidt explicitly teaches the use of an internal cell resistance tomography device; however, Hong et al. teaches:
the cell temperature monitoring module comprises… an internal cell resistance tomography device
(Hong – [0024]) “The resistance tomography technique established by this technology can intuitively and accurately detect the internal temperature of power battery packs”
the cell deformation detection module comprises… a cell surface variable resistance detection device
(Hong – [0024]) “The resistance tomography technique established by this technology can intuitively and accurately detect the internal temperature of power battery packs”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art to combine these teachings, modifying the battery monitoring system of Yao with the resistance tomography technique of Hong et al. Both Yao and Hong are directed towards identification of damage to a battery pack; therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that this combination could be made with predictable results. One would have been motivated to do this because the resistance tomography technique of Hong et al. is particularly well-suited to determining an abnormal temperature based on a short circuit (Hong – [0024]).
Claim 3.
The combination of Yao, Schmidt, and Hong et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Yao further teaches:
the vehicle overheat detection and warning unit comprises an engine/motor temperature monitoring module, a differential lock system temperature monitoring module, a tire temperature monitoring module, and/or an exhaust pipe monitoring module
(Yao – [0016]) “The engine/battery box safety monitoring module monitors the engine temperature of diesel vehicles and the smoke from battery leakage in electric vehicles.”
(Yao – [0019]) “the tire pressure monitoring module monitors the vehicle using a high-sensitivity miniature wireless sensor device fixed in the vehicle tire to collect vehicle tire pressure, temperature and other data while driving or stationary.”
[Examiner’s Note: As the claim recites these modules in the alternative, a reference which teaches at least one of said modules thus teaches the entire limitation. Because the other modules are not required, their structure is thus not required.]
the vehicle overheat detection and warning unit… is directly related to the on-board gateway unit, (relisting the modules above) are configured to assemble the detection data to the on-board gateway unit, and perform intelligent analysis through the on-board gateway unit, and when a temperature analysis result of a corresponding detected object triggers the vehicle overheat detection and warning, the on-board gateway unit sends a corresponding alarm and prompt to the alarm prompt unit through the on-board gateway unit, and uploads the alarm prompt information to the remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit
(Yao – [0016]) “The engine/battery box safety monitoring module monitors the engine temperature of diesel vehicles and the smoke from battery leakage in electric vehicles. When it determines that there is a risk of spontaneous combustion, it issues an audible and visual alarm at the driver’s position, and transmits the alarm information in combination with the vehicle position information”
the engine/motor temperature monitoring module is configured to obtain real-time temperature information of a vehicle engine/motor, and transmit the obtained information to the on-board gateway unit or to the remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit
(Yao – [0016]) “The engine/battery box safety monitoring module monitors the engine temperature of diesel vehicles and the smoke from battery leakage in electric vehicles.”
the tire temperature monitoring module is configured to obtain real-time temperature information of a vehicle tire, and transmit the obtained information to the on-board gateway unit or to the remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit
(Yao – [0019]) “the tire pressure monitoring module monitors the vehicle using a high-sensitivity miniature wireless sensor device fixed in the vehicle tire to collect vehicle tire pressure, temperature and other data while driving or stationary.”
Claim 7.
The combination of Yao, Schmidt, and Hong et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Yao further teaches:
the alarm prompt unit comprises a vehicle local alarm prompt subunit and a remote monitoring client software alarm prompt subunit
(Yao – [0014]) “When it is determined that there is a danger, it will issue an audible and visual alarm at the driver’s position, and transmit the alarm information in combination with the vehicle position information provided by the vehicle positioning module to the communication optical fiber transceiver of the command center through the on-board data transmission module”
Claim 9.
The combination of Yao, Schmidt, and Hong et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Yao further teaches:
the remote management unit is arranged on a cloud platform of a competent government industry department related to vehicle traffic management or operation management and/or a local storage server and/or a personal hand-held intelligent terminal of a relevant management person, a cloud platform and/or a local storage server of a transport enterprise to which the vehicle belongs and transport-related parties and/or a personal hand-held intelligent terminal of a relevant management person, and a personal hand-held intelligent terminal of a driver and passenger, is associated with the on-board gateway unit, and is indirectly associated with the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit, the vehicle overheat detection and warning unit, the explosion prevention and control unit of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle, and the alarm prompt unit through the on-board gateway unit
(Yao – [0013]) “the command center includes an audible and visual alarm, a TV wall, an APP client, an alarm server, and a communication optical fiber transceiver… the on-board data transmission module sends data to the communication optical fiber transceiver through the wireless communication operator network, and the communication optical fiber transceiver sends the received data to the alarm server.”
(Yao – [0020]) “the alarm server will send the number and location information of the faulty vehicle to the APP client of the maintenance and support department.”
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Yao, Schmidt, and Hong et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (CN 110481249, hereafter referred to as Li 249, previously cited) and further in view of Li et al. (CN 113538726, hereafter referred to as Li 726, previously cited) and further in view of Wittman et al. (US 20170124784, previously cited) and further in view of Notomi (US 20180072116, previously cited).
Claim 2.
The combination of Yao, Schmidt, and Hong et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Yao further teaches:
the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit comprises a tire leakage detection module, a low tire pressure detection module, and a tire temperature monitoring module
(Yao – [0019]) “the tire pressure monitoring module monitors the vehicle using a high-sensitivity miniature wireless sensor device fixed in the vehicle tire to collect vehicle tire pressure, temperature and other data while driving or stationary.”
the low tire pressure detection module comprises a direct tire pressure monitoring device corresponding to the direct tire pressure and monitoring device
(Yao – [0019]) “the tire pressure monitoring module monitors the vehicle using a high-sensitivity miniature wireless sensor device fixed in the vehicle tire to collect vehicle tire pressure, temperature and other data while driving or stationary.”
the tire temperature monitoring module comprises a temperature sensing and monitoring device in each tire and a corresponding sensing and transmitting device, and is configured to obtain real-time information of an internal temperature condition of each tire of the vehicle, and transmit the obtained information to the on-board gateway unit or to the remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit
(Yao – [0019]) “the tire pressure monitoring module monitors the vehicle using a high-sensitivity miniature wireless sensor device fixed in the vehicle tire to collect vehicle tire pressure, temperature and other data while driving or stationary.”
Yao does not explicitly teach a leakage detection device; however, Li 249 teaches:
the tire leakage detection module comprises a tire valve core leakage detection device, a tire pinhole leakage detection device,
(Li 249 – [0005]) “One part of the sensor is installed inside the tire and can be fixed on the wheel hub through the valve stem… The sensors installed in the tire can continuously measure the tire pressure and temperature, and through analysis can determine whether the tire is leaking”
[Examiner’s Note: A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that damage to the tire side and/or inner edge could be determined based on the detection of a leak.]
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the safety monitoring system of Yao with the slow leak sensing capabilities of Li 249. Both Yao and Li 249 are directed toward monitoring operating conditions of a tire; therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that they could be used together in this fashion with predictable results, namely, a safety monitoring system which determines the pressure of a tire as well as the presence of a potential leak. One would have been motivated to do this in order to better recognize the existence of a slow leak in a tire (Li 249 – [0005]).
Neither Yao nor Li 249 explicitly teaches a hub deformation detection device; however, Li 726 teaches:
the tire leakage detection module comprises
(Li 726 – [n0039]) “strain gauge sensor, used to collect wheel hub deformation and detect static and dynamic load data of the wheel hub”
[Examiner’s Note: A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a fracture condition can be determined by an examination of the stress and strain data obtained by the strain gauge sensor.]
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the safety monitoring system of Yao with the hub deformation monitoring of Li 726. Both Yao and Li 726 are directed toward monitoring systems which determine operating conditions of a tire; therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that they could be used together in this fashion with predictable results, namely, a safety monitoring system which determines the pressure of a tire as well as potential damage to the wheel hub. One would have been motivated to do this in order to assist in determining a particular reason for an apparent loss in pressure.
None of the aforementioned references explicitly teaches a foreign object detection device; however, Wittman et al. teaches:
the tire leakage detection module comprises obtained information to the on-board gateway unit or to the remote management unit through the on-board gateway unit,
(Wittman – [0168]) “cameras, as detailed above, are programmable to produce an output regarding foreign objects embedded in the tire tread or sidewall”
[Examiner’s Note: A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a foreign object embedded in the tire sidewall would be indicative of damage to the side and/or inner edge of the tire.]
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the safety monitoring system of Yao with the tire analysis system of Wittman et al. Both Yao and Wittman et al. are directed toward determining the condition of a tire; therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the teachings of the two references could be combined with predictable results, namely, a safety monitoring system which uses cameras to determine the presence of foreign objects embedded in a tire sidewall. One would have been motivated to do this in order to more specifically diagnose the health of a vehicle tire.
None of the aforementioned references explicitly teaches an indirect tire pressure monitoring device; however, Notomi teaches:
the low tire pressure detection module comprises
(Notomi – Abstract) “an estimated internal pressure transmitter that calculates and transmits an estimated internal pressure of a tire when a vehicle is travelling based on a wheel speed”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the safety monitoring system of Yao with the indirect pressure measurements of Notomi. Both Yao and Notomi are directed toward monitoring the pressures of tires; therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that these teachings could be combined in such a fashion with predictable results, namely, a tire pressure monitoring system which determines the pressure based on direct and indirect methods. One would have been motivated to do this in order to provide an alternative method of determining a pressure in a situation when the direct tire pressure sensor is damaged.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Yao, Schmidt, and Hong et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 110445836, previously cited).
Claim 5.
The combination of Yao, Schmidt, and Hong teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Yao does not explicitly teach particular components of the on-board gateway unit; however, Zhang et al. teaches:
the on-board gateway unit comprises a network communication module and/or a data storage module, and/or an edge computing module
[Examiner’s Note: As the claim recites these modules in the alternative, a reference which teaches at least one of said modules thus teaches the entire limitation. The underlined modules are discussed more in depth with reference to Zhang et al. below.]
the network communication module comprises one or more of a 5G communication device, a CAN bus communication device, a TCP/IP communication device, a piconet communication device, and another wireless communication device, and is configured for data exchange among the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit, the vehicle overheat detection and warning unit, the explosion prevention and control unit of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle, the alarm prompt unit, and the remote management unit
(Zhang – [0058]) “IoT communication methods mainly include ZigBee, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Z-wave, LoRa, SigFox, EC-GSM, LTE Cat-m, NB-IoT, 2/3/4/5G cellular communication technologies, etc.”
the data storage module comprises a built-in data storage device and an external data storage device, and is configured to store detection information uploaded by the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit, the vehicle overheat detection and warning unit, or the explosion prevention and control unit of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle
(Zhang – [0016]) “the cloud computing center is used to store the monitoring data”
(Zhang – [0161]) “The computer software product can be stored in a computer-readable storage medium, such as ROM/RAM”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the safety monitoring system of Yao with the safety monitoring system of Zhang et al. Both Yao and Zhang et al. are directed toward wireless safety monitoring systems; therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that these teachings could be combined with predictable results. One would have been motivated to do this because the system of Zhang et al. provides better real-time performance when monitoring a plurality of vehicles (Zhang – [0007]).
Claim(s) 8, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Yao, Schmidt, and Hong et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. and further in view of Lee et al.
Claim 8.
The combination of Yao and Schmidt teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Yao further teaches:
the remote management unit comprises a government industry management client software, an enterprise operation management client software, a driver and passenger client software, and a communication center
[Examiner’s Note: As discussed in detail below, Yao, Zhang et al., and Lee et al. teach these units.]
the government industry management client software is configured to receive and display high-risk level tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning information, vehicle overheat detection and warning information, and explosion warning information of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle forwarded by the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit, the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit, and the explosion prevention and control unit of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle through the on-board gateway unit and the communication center, send a relevant management command based on the received warning and alarm information, start an emergency management process, and issue a relevant emergency response command
(Yao – [0013]) “the command center includes an audible and visual alarm, a TV wall, an APP client, an alarm server, and a communication optical fiber transceiver… the on-board data transmission module sends data to the communication optical fiber transceiver through the wireless communication operator network, and the communication optical fiber transceiver sends the received data to the alarm server.”
(Yao – [0020]) “the alarm server will send the number and location information of the faulty vehicle to the APP client of the maintenance and support department.”
the enterprise operation management client software is configured to: receive and display tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning information, vehicle overheat detection and warning information, and explosion warning information of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle forwarded by the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit, the vehicle overheat detection and warning unit, and the explosion prevention and control unit of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle through the on-board gateway unit and the communication center, send a relevant management command based on the received warning and alarm information, start the emergency management processor, send an emergency alarm to a
(Yao – [0013]) “the command center includes an audible and visual alarm, a TV wall, an APP client, an alarm server, and a communication optical fiber transceiver… the on-board data transmission module sends data to the communication optical fiber transceiver through the wireless communication operator network, and the communication optical fiber transceiver sends the received data to the alarm server.”
(Yao – [0020]) “the alarm server will send the number and location information of the faulty vehicle to the APP client of the maintenance and support department.”
the communication center is configured to communicate with the on-board gateway unit, receive and store the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning information, the vehicle overheat detection and warning information, and the explosion warning information of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle forwarded by the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit, the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit, and the explosion prevention and control unit of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle through the on-board gateway unit, and forward the information to the government industry management client software, the enterprise operation management client software, and the driver and passenger service client software respectively, and the communication center also serves as a computer system environment for the government industry management client software, the enterprise operation management client software, and the driver and passenger service client software, and is configured to support a related software application, and forward management commands or response commands of the government industry management client software, the enterprise operation management client software, and the driver and passenger service client software to the on-board gateway unit
(Yao – [0013]) “the command center includes an audible and visual alarm, a TV wall, an APP client, an alarm server, and a communication optical fiber transceiver… the on-board data transmission module sends data to the communication optical fiber transceiver through the wireless communication operator network, and the communication optical fiber transceiver sends the received data to the alarm server.”
Yao does not explicitly teach the remote management system prompting the driver; however, Zhang et al. teaches:
the driver and passenger service client software is configured to: receive and display tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning information, vehicle overheat detection and warning information, and explosion warning information of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle forwarded by the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit, the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit, and the explosion prevention and control unit of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle through the on-board gateway unit and the communication center, send an acousto-optic alarm, a vice prompt, and an emergency rescue guide corresponding to alarm and warning information based on the received alarm and warning information, to prompt the driver to stop nearby or stop immediately for inspection, and provide a corresponding emergency response guide
(Zhang – [0016]) “the cloud computing center is used to store the monitoring data; receive a query instruction sent by a user terminal, query the stored monitoring data according to the query instruction, obtain a query result, and send the query to the user terminal.”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings for the reasons given in discussion of claim 5.
While Yao teaches transmitting information to an industry management client, Yao does not explicitly teach a government industry management client. However, Lee et al. teaches:
send an emergency alarm to a government industry management client
(Lee – [0021]) “The control means (30) is based on IoT and can… transmit vehicle status information to nearby fire stations”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the safety monitoring system of Yao with the fire station alerting of Lee et al. One would have been motivated to do this in order to enable a quick response to an emergency (Lee – [0021]).
Claim 11.
The combination of Yao, Schmidt, and Zhang et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above. The claim is otherwise rejected by the same rationale as claim 9.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Yao, Schmidt, and Hong et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Thron et al. (US 10553046).
Claim 6.
The combination of Yao, Schmidt, and Hong et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Yao further teaches:
the on-board gateway unit is directly associated with the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit, the vehicle overheat detection and warning unit, the explosion prevention and control unit of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle, the alarm prompt unit, and the remote management unit
(Yao – [0012]) “the outputs of the bus flammable volatile substance monitoring and alarm module, the engine/battery box safety monitoring module, the video monitoring module, the tire pressure monitoring module, the brake pad fault alarm module, and the vehicle positioning module are respectively connected to the on-board data transmission module”
when the on-board gateway unit receives the detection information of the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit, the vehicle overheat detection and warning unit, and the explosion prevention and control unit of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle, and analyzes and determines that a related warning alarm such as the low tire pressure, the vehicle overheat, or the lithium-ion power battery explosion is triggered, the on-board gateway unit sends an alarm command to the alarm prompt unit and sends warning and alarm information and real-time monitoring data information to the remote management unit
(Yao – [0014]) “When it is determined that there is a danger, it will issue an audible and visual alarm at the driver’s position, and transmit the alarm information in combination with the vehicle position information provided by the vehicle positioning module to the communication optical fiber transceiver of the command center through the on-board data transmission module”
Yao does not explicitly teach receiving commands from the remote management unit; however, Thron et al. teaches:
when the on-board gateway unit receives an alarm command, a voice prompt command, or an alarm threshold setting adjustment, or circuit control information sent by the remote management unit, the alarm command and the voice prompt command information are sent to the alarm prompt unit, and alarm threshold setting adjustment command information and circuit control command information are sent to the relevant detection device of the tire pressure real-time monitoring and warning unit, the vehicle overheat detection and warning unit, and the explosion prevention and control unit of the lithium-ion power battery of the new energy vehicle, to adjust an alarm threshold of a detection sensor and cut off a circuit of the power battery
(Thron – Col. 27, lines 41-49) “the remedial action can include generating and sending a vehicle command to the vehicle 12. The vehicle command can instruct the vehicle to carry out a particular vehicle function, such as a vehicle function that is designed or tailored in addressing a particular problem or a particular VSM or vehicle subsystem generally. In one embodiment, the vehicle command can be automatically carried out at the vehicle when the vehicle command is received at the vehicle or at an appropriate time.”
(Thron – Col. 27, line 66-Col. 28, line 1) “The vehicle 12 can send a response message back to the remote facility 80 in response to receiving the remedial message (e.g., the warning message, the vehicle command).”
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings, modifying the safety monitoring system of Yao with the remedial response system of Thron et al. Both Yao and Thron et al. are directed towards systems for determining a vehicle failure; therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that their teachings could be combined with predictable results. One would have been motivated to do this in order to determine the best way in which a vehicle failure can be responded to.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Yao, Schmidt, Hong et al. Zhang et al., and Lee et al. as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Thron et al.
Claim 10.
The combination of Yao, Schmidt, and Zhang et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above. The claim is otherwise rejected by the same rationale as claim 6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669