Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/4/2024 and 3/31/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements
are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25, 35-36, 38 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20170223163 (hereinafter Li), in view of CN 111031433 A (hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 25, Li teaches A method, applied to a first device (Li [0009] a Bluetooth
communication method, where a Bluetooth headset is a detachable Bluetooth device installed on a wearable device.),
wherein the first device comprises a first subdevice and earphones (Li [0009] a Bluetooth communication method, where a Bluetooth headset is a detachable Bluetooth device installed on a wearable device.
Note: The wearable device with the Bluetooth headset is the first device. The wearable device is the first subdevice. The Bluetooth headset is the earphones.),
the first subdevice establishes a first communication connection to a second device (Li Fig. 4
[0090] S401: A wearable device establishes a Bluetooth pairing with a communications device.
Note: the communication device is the second device.),
the first subdevice establishes a second communication connection to the earphones (Li [0105] S404: The wearable device establishes a Bluetooth pairing with a Bluetooth headset.),
and the method comprises:
receiving, by the first subdevice based on the first communication connection, a first message sent by the second device, wherein the first message indicates that the second device receives a first incoming call (Li [0093] S402: After receiving an incoming call message, the communications device sends a new alert notification to the wearable device.); and
displaying, by the first subdevice, a first incoming call interface based on the first message (Li [0097] S403: The wearable device sends a prompter message in a preset notification manner, to prompt a user that the communications device receives the incoming call message.)
Although Li teaches the first subdevice, the earphones, the second communication connection, Li does not explicitly teach the earphones establish a third communication connection to a third device, receiving, a second message sent by the earphones, wherein the second message indicates that the third device receives a second incoming call, and the second message is sent by the third device to the earphones based on the third communication connection; displaying a second incoming call interface based on the second message.
Wu in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the earphones establish a third communication connection to a third device (Wu [0053] the terminal device may be a device with audio and video playback functions, including but not limited to mobile phones. The wearable device may be a device with a display function, including but not limited to smartwatches. The wireless earphone can wirelessly communicate with the terminal device and the wearable device through various short-range wireless communication technologies, including but not limited to Bluetooth communication technology.
Note: the terminal device (i.e. mobile phone) is the third device. The wireless earphone is the earphones. the wearable device is the first subdevice. The communication between the wireless earphone and the terminal device is the third communication.),
receiving, a second message sent by the earphones (Wu [0054] The wireless earphone is used to receive the audio data sent by the terminal device and play the audio data after receiving it. Simultaneously, the wireless earphone also forwards the received attribute information to the wearable device, so that the wearable device can output the attribute information. ... when the audio data is an incoming call ringtone, the wireless earphone sends the corresponding incoming call information to the wearable device for display, making it convenient for the user to view.),
wherein the second message indicates that the third device receives a second incoming call, and the second message is sent by the third device to the earphones based on the third communication connection (Wu [0054] the terminal device sends audio data to be played and attribute information of the audio data to the wireless earphone … The audio data may also be audio data used by the terminal device to provide a notification. For example, when the terminal device is a mobile phone, the audio data may be a text message ringtone or a call ringtone. The attribute information corresponding to the audio data may be text message information or call information such as the caller's name and number.);
displaying a second incoming call interface based on the second message (Wu [0054] when the audio data is an incoming call ringtone, the wireless earphone sends the corresponding incoming call information to the wearable device for display, making it convenient for the user to view.
[0059] the user can input control commands through the display interface or physical control buttons of the wearable device…. On the incoming call information display interface, the user can use touch to input control commands such as answer the call, hang up the call, and mute.).
By modifying Li’s teachings of the first subdevice, the earphones, the second communication connection with Wu’s teachings of the earphones establish a third communication connection to a third device, receiving, a second message sent by the earphones, wherein the second message indicates that the third device receives a second incoming call, and the second message is sent by the third device to the earphones based on the third communication connection; displaying a second incoming call interface based on the second message, the modification results in
the earphones establish a third communication connection to a third device,
receiving, by the first subdevice based on the second communication connection, a second message sent by the earphones, wherein the second message indicates that the third device receives a second incoming call, and the second message is sent by the third device to the earphones based on the third communication connection; and
displaying a second incoming call interface based on the second message.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Wu’s above teachings. The motivation is improving the convenience when the user is away from the terminal device (Wu [0055]).
Regarding claim 36, Li teaches An electronic device, wherein the electronic device is a first
device, and the first device comprises (Li [0147] a wearable device 60, where a Bluetooth headset is a detachable Bluetooth device installed on the wearable device 60.
Note: The wearable device with the Bluetooth headset is the first device. The wearable device is the first subdevice. The Bluetooth headset is the earphones.):
a first subdevice, comprising one or more first processors and one or more first memories, the
one or more first memories are coupled to the one or more first processors, the one or more first memories are configured to store first computer program code, the first computer program code comprises first computer instructions (Li [0148] As shown in FIG. 6, the wearable device 60 in this embodiment of the present disclosure includes a processor 61 and a communications module 62.
[0156] Further, based on the wearable device 60 that is shown in FIG. 6 and that includes the processor 61 and the communications module 62, as shown in FIG. 7, the wearable device 60 in this embodiment of the present disclosure may further include a sensor 63 and a storage 64.
[0159] The storage 64 is configured to store functional modules in the wearable device 60 and an application program, and the processor 61 runs the application program and the modules that are stored in the storage 64, to execute functional applications of the wearable device 60 and implement data processing. ... In a specific implementation manner of the present disclosure, the storage 64 may include a nonvolatile memory such as a nonvolatile random access memory (NVRAM), a phase change random access memory (PRAM), or a magetoresistive random access memory (MRAM); and the storage 64 may also include a non-volatile memory such as at least one magnetic disk storage device, an electrically erasable programmable read only memory ( ), or a flash memory device such as a not-or flash memory (NOR flash memory) or a not-and flash memory (NAND flash memory).); and
earphones, comprising one or more second processors and one or more second memories, the one or more second memories are coupled to the one or more second processors, the one or more second memories are configured to store second computer program code, the second computer program code comprises second computer instructions (Li [0174] As shown in FIG. 8, the Bluetooth headset 70 includes a processor 71 and a communications module 72.
[0187] Further, based on the Bluetooth headset 70 that is shown in FIG. 8 and that includes the processor 71 and the communications module 72, as shown in FIG. 9, the Bluetooth headset 70 in this embodiment of the present disclosure may further include a sensor 73 and a storage 74.
0191] Further, as shown in FIG. 9, the Bluetooth headset 70 may further include a storage 74, configured to store functional modules that are in the Bluetooth headset 70 and a software program, and the processor 71 runs the software program and the modules that are stored in the storage 74, to execute functional applications of the Bluetooth headset 70 and implement data processing. For the storage 74, reference may be made to related descriptions of the storage 64.
[0159] In a specific implementation manner of the present disclosure, the storage 64 may include a nonvolatile memory such as a nonvolatile random access memory (NVRAM), a phase change random access memory (PRAM), or a magetoresistive random access memory (MRAM); and the storage 64 may also include a non-volatile memory such as at least one magnetic disk storage device, an electrically erasable programmable read only memory ( ), or a flash memory device such as a not-or flash memory (NOR flash memory) or a not-and flash memory (NAND flash memory).); and
wherein earphone slots accommodating the earphones are disposed in the first subdevice (Li [0147] where a Bluetooth headset is a detachable Bluetooth device installed on the wearable device 60.); and
wherein when the one or more first processors execute the first computer instructions, the first subdevice is enabled to perform:
receiving, based on a first communication connection, a first message sent by a second device, wherein the first message indicates that the second device receives a first incoming call (Li Fig. 4
[0090] S401: A wearable device establishes a Bluetooth pairing with a communications device.
[0093] S402: After receiving an incoming call message, the communications device sends a new alert notification to the wearable device.
Note: the communication device is the second device.); and
displaying a first incoming call interface based on the first message (Li [0097] S403: The wearable device sends a prompter message in a preset notification manner, to prompt a user that the communications device receives the incoming call message.),
Li does not explicitly teach receiving, based on a second communication connection, a second message sent by the earphones, wherein the second message indicates that a third device receives a second incoming call, and the second message is sent by the third device to the earphones based on a third communication connection; displaying a second incoming call interface based on the second message.
Wu in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches receiving, based on a second communication connection, a second message sent by the earphones (Wu [0053] the terminal device may be a device with audio and video playback functions, including but not limited to mobile phones. The wearable device may be a device with a display function, including but not limited to smartwatches. The wireless earphone can wirelessly communicate with the wearable device through various short-range wireless communication technologies, including but not limited to Bluetooth communication technology.
Note: The wireless earphone is the earphones. The wearable device is the first subdevice. The communication between the wearable device and the wireless earphone is the second communication.
[0054] The wireless earphone is used to receive the audio data sent by the terminal device and play the audio data after receiving it. Simultaneously, the wireless earphone also forwards the received attribute information to the wearable device, so that the wearable device can output the attribute information. ... when the audio data is an incoming call ringtone, the wireless earphone sends the corresponding incoming call information to the wearable device for display, making it convenient for the user to view.),
wherein the second message indicates that a third device receives a second incoming call, and the second message is sent by the third device to the earphones based on a third communication connection (Wu [0053] the terminal device may be a device with audio and video playback functions, including but not limited to mobile phones. The wearable device may be a device with a display function, including but not limited to smartwatches. The wireless earphone can wirelessly communicate with the terminal device through various short-range wireless communication technologies, including but not limited to Bluetooth communication technology.
Note: the terminal device (i.e. mobile phone) is the third device. The wireless earphone is the earphones. The wearable device is the first subdevice. The communication between the wireless earphone and the terminal device is the third communication.
[0054] the terminal device sends audio data to be played and attribute information of the audio data to the wireless earphone … The audio data may also be audio data used by the terminal device to provide a notification. For example, when the terminal device is a mobile phone, the audio data may be a text message ringtone or a call ringtone. The attribute information corresponding to the audio data may be text message information or call information such as the caller's name and number.);
displaying a second incoming call interface based on the second message (Wu [0054] when the audio data is an incoming call ringtone, the wireless earphone sends the corresponding incoming call information to the wearable device for display, making it convenient for the user to view.
[0059] the user can input control commands through the display interface or physical control buttons of the wearable device…. On the incoming call information display interface, the user can use touch to input control commands such as answer the call, hang up the call, and mute.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Wu’s above teachings. The motivation is improving the convenience when the user is away from the terminal device (Wu [0055]).
Regarding claim 35, Li in view of Wu teaches The method according to claim 25.
Li teaches wherein the first device is a watch (Li [0045] Exemplarily, the wearable device in this
embodiment of the present disclosure may be any one of electronic devices having a Bluetooth function such as a Bluetooth watch.).
Claim 40 recites similar limitations of claim 35, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 38, Li in view of Wu teaches The electronic device according to claim 36, wherein the second incoming call interface is an incoming call interface corresponding to the second incoming call, and (See Wu [0054], [0059] cited above in rejection of claim 36.), when the one or more first processors execute the first computer instructions, when the one or more second processors execute the second computer instructions (See Li [0148], [0156], [0159], [0174], [0187], [0191] cited above in rejection of claim 36.)
Li does not explicitly teach the first subdevice is further enabled to perform:
detecting a second operation of a user, wherein the second operation instructs to answer the second incoming call; in response to detecting the second operation, sending a fifth message to the earphones based on the second communication connection; wherein, the earphones are enabled to perform: sending a sixth message to the third device based on the fifth message, wherein the sixth message indicates the third device connect to the second incoming call; and receiving and playing based on the third communication connection, call audio of the second incoming call from the third device.
Wu teaches the first subdevice is further enabled to perform:
detecting a second operation of a user, wherein the second operation instructs to answer the second incoming call (Wu [0054] when the audio data is an incoming call ringtone, the wireless earphone sends the corresponding incoming call information to the wearable device for display, making it convenient for the user to view.
[0059] On the incoming call information display interface, the user can use touch to input control commands such as answer the call.);
in response to detecting the second operation, sending a fifth message to the earphones based on the second communication connection (Wu [0057] Receive control commands sent by the wearable device, wherein the control commands are obtained by the user inputting them into the wearable device.);
wherein, the earphones are enabled to perform:
sending a sixth message to the third device based on the fifth message, wherein the sixth message indicates the third device connect to the second incoming call (Wu [0059] On the incoming call information display interface, the user can use touch to input control commands such as answer the call. After receiving the control commands sent by the wearable device, the wireless earphone forwards the control commands to the terminal device so that the terminal device can perform the corresponding operation.); and
receiving and playing based on the third communication connection, call audio of the second incoming call from the third device (Wu [0030] The wireless earphone is used to play the received audio data.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li as modified by Wu with Wu’s above teachings. The motivation is improving the convenience when the user is away from the terminal device (Wu [0055]).
Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of CN 108901006 A (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 41, Li teaches A method, applied to a first device, the first device comprising a
first subdevice and earphones, earphone slots accommodating the earphones being disposed in the first subdevice, the earphones being located in the earphone slots (Li [0009] a Bluetooth communication method, where a Bluetooth headset is a detachable Bluetooth device installed on a wearable device.
Note: The wearable device with the Bluetooth headset is the first device. The wearable device is the first subdevice. The Bluetooth headset is the earphones.),
the first subdevice establishing a first communication connection to a second device, the first subdevice establishing a second communication connection to the earphones (Li [0090] S401: A wearable device establishes a Bluetooth pairing with a communications device.
[0105] S404: The wearable device establishes a Bluetooth pairing with a Bluetooth headset.
Note: the communication device is the second device.), and
the method comprising:
receiving, by the first subdevice based on the first communication connection, a first message sent by the second device, wherein the first message indicates that the second device receives an incoming call (Li [0093] S402: After receiving an incoming call message, the communications device sends a new alert notification to the wearable device.);
displaying, by the first subdevice, an incoming call interface based on the first message (Li [0097] S403: The wearable device sends a prompter message in a preset notification manner, to prompt a user that the communications device receives the incoming call message.), and
Although Li teaches the first subdevice, the earphones, the second communication connection, the second device (Li [0009], [0090] and [0105] cited above);
detecting, by the earphones, that the earphones are taken out of the earphone slots, and establishing, by the earphones, a third communication connection to the second device (Li [0113] S407: The Bluetooth headset detects whether the Bluetooth headset is detached from the wearable device.
[0115] S408: If the Bluetooth headset detects that the Bluetooth headset is detached from the wearable device, enable a Bluetooth function.
[0119] S410: The Bluetooth headset establishes a Bluetooth pairing with the communications device.);
Li does not explicitly teach sending a second message, wherein the second message comprises device information of the second device; based on the device information of the second device;
Zhang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches sending a second message, wherein the second message comprises device information of the second device; based on the device information of the second device (Zhang page 8, when the earphone box 25 and the corresponding mobile terminal have completed the pairing operation, the ID information (such as MAC address information, etc.) of the mobile terminal can be transmitted to the earphone according to the current Bluetooth transmission protocol, so as to realize the connection between the earphone and the mobile terminal.);
By modifying Zhang’s teachings of the first subdevice, the earphones, the second communication connection, the second device; detecting, by the earphones, that the earphones are taken out of the earphone slots, and establishing, by the earphones, a third communication connection to the second device with Zhang’s teachings of sending a second message, wherein the second message comprises device information of the second device; based on the device information of the second device; the modification results in
sending a second message to the earphones based on the second communication connection, wherein the second message comprises device information of the second device;
detecting, by the earphones, that the earphones are taken out of the earphone slots, and establishing, by the earphones, a third communication connection to the second device based on the device information of the second device;
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Zhang’s above teachings. The motivation is improving the pairing efficiency (Zhang page 8).
Li teaches detecting, by the earphones, a first operation of a user (Li [0075] to ensure communication quality when a user transmits the voice message to the communications device by using the Bluetooth headset, the Bluetooth headset may detect, before exchanging data with the communications device by means of a Bluetooth connection, whether the user is wearing the Bluetooth headset (that is, whether the Bluetooth headset is in an attached state), establish the voice communication link only after the user is wearing the Bluetooth headset, and transmit the voice message to the communications device by using the voice communication link.);
in response to detecting the first operation, sending, by the earphones, a third message to the second device based on the third communication connection, wherein the third message indicates the second device to connect to the incoming call (Li [0074] a method for establishing the voice communication link between the Bluetooth headset and the communications device by the Bluetooth headset by means of Bluetooth may include sending, by the Bluetooth headset, a message listening command to the communications device by means of Bluetooth, where the message listening command is used to request to establish the voice communication link between the Bluetooth headset and the communications device.); and
receiving and playing, by the earphones based on the third communication connection, call audio of the incoming call from the second device (Li [0074] receiving, by the Bluetooth headset, a message listening response from the communications device, where the message listening response is used to indicate that the voice communication link is already established.).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Wu as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Zhang.
Regarding claim 30, Li in view of Wu teaches The method according to claim 25, wherein after
receiving the first message (See Li [0093] cited above in rejection of claim 25), the method further comprises:
Although Li teaches the first subdevice, the earphones, the second communication connection, the second device (See Li [0009], [0090] and [0105] cited above in rejection of claim 25);
detecting, by the earphones, that the earphones are taken out of earphone slots, and establishing, by the earphones, the third communication connection to the second device (Li [0113] S407: The Bluetooth headset detects whether the Bluetooth headset is detached from the wearable device.
[0115] S408: If the Bluetooth headset detects that the Bluetooth headset is detached from the wearable device, enable a Bluetooth function.
[0119] S410: The Bluetooth headset establishes a Bluetooth pairing with the communications device.);
Li does not explicitly teach sending a fourteenth message, wherein the fourteenth message comprises device information of the second device; based on the device information of the second device;
Zhang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches sending a fourteenth message, wherein the fourteenth message comprises device information of the second device; based on the device information of the second device (Zhang page 8, when the earphone box 25 and the corresponding mobile terminal have completed the pairing operation, the ID information (such as MAC address information, etc.) of the mobile terminal can be transmitted to the earphone according to the current Bluetooth transmission protocol, so as to realize the connection between the earphone and the mobile terminal.);
By modifying Li’s teachings of the first subdevice, the earphones, the second communication connection, the second device; detecting, by the earphones, that the earphones are taken out of earphone slots, and establishing, by the earphones, the third communication connection to the second device with Zhang’s teachings of sending a fourteenth message, wherein the fourteenth message comprises device information of the second device; based on the device information of the second device; the modification results in
sending a fourteenth message to the earphones based on the second communication connection, wherein the fourteenth message comprises device information of the second device;
detecting, by the earphones, that the earphones are taken out of earphone slots, and
establishing, by the earphones, the third communication connection to the second device based on the device information of the second device;
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li as modified by Wu with Zhang’s above teachings. The motivation is improving the pairing efficiency (Zhang page 8).
Li teaches detecting, by the earphones, a third operation of a user (Li [0075] to ensure communication quality when a user transmits the voice message to the communications device by using the Bluetooth headset, the Bluetooth headset may detect, before exchanging data with the communications device by means of a Bluetooth connection, whether the user is wearing the Bluetooth headset (that is, whether the Bluetooth headset is in an attached state), establish the voice communication link only after the user is wearing the Bluetooth headset, and transmit the voice message to the communications device by using the voice communication link.);
in response to detecting the third operation, sending, by the earphones, a fifteenth message to the second device based on the third communication connection, wherein the fifteenth message indicates to the second device to connect to the first incoming call (Li [0074] a method for establishing the voice communication link between the Bluetooth headset and the communications device by the Bluetooth headset by means of Bluetooth may include sending, by the Bluetooth headset, a message listening command to the communications device by means of Bluetooth, where the message listening command is used to request to establish the voice communication link between the Bluetooth headset and the communications device.); and
receiving and playing, by the earphones based on the third communication connection, call audio of the first incoming call from the second device (Li [0074] receiving, by the Bluetooth headset, a message listening response from the communications device, where the message listening response is used to indicate that the voice communication link is already established.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26-29, 31-34, 37, 39, 42-43 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418