DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the product receiving position" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Caporali U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0272292.
Claim 1, Caporali teaches a transport apparatus Fig. 3, comprising: a frame of 400 Fig. 3; a conveyor 400 configured to convey discrete products P,100 to be sorted which conveyor 400 is drivable with respect to the frame in a direction of conveyance P0027; a loading unit 600 for configured to receive a product 100 which loading unit 600 is located at a position along the conveyor 400, wherein the loading unit 600 comprises a platform 602 for bearing a product 100, which platform 602 is mounted to the frame of 400 above the conveyor 400 and tiltable via 604 with respect to the frame of 400 about an axis of rotation between a lying product 400 receiving position and a downwardly directed product 100 releasing position P0033, which axis of rotation is angled with respect to the direction of conveyance of 400; a product transfer device 604 configured to transfer a product 100 from the loading unit 600 to the conveyor 400, wherein the product transfer device 604 comprises a driving system configured to tilt the platform 602 from the product receiving position to the product releasing position Fig. 3, hence allowing a product 100 to move downwardly with respect to the platform 602 to the conveyor 400 in a direction which has a component in the direction of conveyance of 400; a first product detector configured to detect a free location at the conveyor 400 for receiving a product P0064; a second product detector configured to detect a product at the loading unit 600 P0064; and a controller C having an input for receiving signals from the first and second product detectors, respectively, and an output for sending a control signal to the product transfer device 604, wherein the controller C is configured such that when the first product detector detects a free location at the conveyor 400 and the second product detector detects a product at the loading unit 600 the product transfer device 604 transfers the product from the loading unit 600 to the free location when the free location passes the loading unit 600 P0064-0066 Fig. 7.
Claim 2, Caporali teaches the conveyor 400 comprises a plurality of discrete carriers 100 located behind each other in the direction of conveyance 400, wherein the first product detector is configured to detect an empty carrier 100 being a free location at the conveyor P0064-0066.
Claim 3, Caporali teaches in the product receiving position at 600 an upper face 602 of the platform extends substantially horizontally Fig. 4.
Claim 4, Caporali teaches the axis of rotation of 600 is substantially perpendicular to the direction of conveyance of 400 Fig. 4.
Claim 5, Caporali teaches the platform 602 is mounted to the frame of 400 via a support which is mounted to the frame and tiltable with respect to the frame about the axis of rotation by the driving system 604, whereas the platform 602 is movable with respect to the support by the driving system 604 in a direction which has a component in the direction of conveyance of 400.
Claim 6, Caporali teaches the platform 602 is movable with respect to the support in a direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation P0049.
Claim 7, Caporali teaches the controller C is configured such that the driving system 604 tilts the support and moves the platform 602 with respect to the support synchronously P0045.
Claim 8, Caporali teaches the controller C is configured such that when the second product detector identifies more than one product at the loading unit 600 the product transfer device 604 is not activated P0064-0066.
Claim 9, Caporali teaches the platform 602 has a flat upper surface so as to allow a product 100 to slide or roll downwardly on the upper surface by gravity when the platform is tilted from the product receiving position to the product releasing position Fig. 4 P0049.
Claim 10, Caporali teaches the second product detector is configured to identify the location of a product 100 on the platform 602 in the direction of conveyance of 400 P0064-0066.
Claim 11, Caporali teaches the apparatus Fig. 3 is provided with a third product detector for identifying a location where a released product from the platform 602 arrives at the conveyor 400 P0036.
Claim 13, Caporali teaches the second product detector is configured to identify a product on the platform 602, for example by scanning a code on the product, dimensioning the product or weighing the product P0064-0066; P0068.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caporali U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0272292.
Claim 12, Caporali teaches the distance between the platform 602 and the conveyor 400 is larger than 50% of the length of the platform 602 as measured in the conveying direction when the platform 602 is in its product receiving position Fig. 3. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to specify the dimensional configuration of the segments which does not affect the use of the transport.
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caporali U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0272292 in view of O’Brien, Jr. U.S. Patent No. 6,220,330.
Claim 14, Caporali does not teach as O’Brien, Jr. teaches the apparatus Fig. 1 is provided with means 24 for labelling a product on the platform 10, for example by printing a code on the product C4 L10-20. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the transport disclosed in Caporali with the airfoil taught in O’Brien, Jr. with a reasonable expectation of success because
Conclusion
/KAVEL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651
KS