Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/22/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2025/0374122 by Yi et al. (Yi).
With respect to claim 1, Yi teaches a method, comprising:
processing a subset of protocol data units (PDUs) of a first PDU set; (Paragraph 66-71, 135-136 – processing of PDU sets includes processing of subsets of the set in relation to determinations such as upper limit value of a proportion of PDU Sets that have been processed and other criteria such as those related to delay and integrated indications which can correspond to a measure window over a period of time and different granularities).
receiving an indication to activate a PDU set importance (PSI)-based discarding mechanism; (Paragraph 77-78, 88-92 – indication may be based on configuration information such as through RRC messaging, Paragraph 115 – indication may be a response to detection of congestion or factors such as a transmitting side buffer, latency, and a PDU Set content criterion Paragraphs 166-179 – indication such as RRC signal indicates activation of PDU set discarding)
determining whether specified conditional criteria are met; (Criteria can include: Paragraph 77-84 – discard timer criteria, Paragraph 140-145 – pdu set content criterion; Paragraph 172-183 – importance value criteria)
in response to determining that the specified conditional criteria are met, processing the remaining PDUs of the first PDU set without applying the PSI-based discarding mechanism; and (Paragraphs 166-185 – following an example criteria of Importance value, if the importance value of the currently processed PUD Set is higher than the signaled Importance Value, discarding will not be applied)
in response to determining that the specified conditional criteria have not met, processing the remaining PDUs of the first PDU set according to the PSI-based discarding mechanism. (Paragraphs 166-185 – following an example criteria of Importance value, if the importance value of the currently processed PUD Set is equal or lower than the signaled Importance Value, discarding will be applied to all corresponding PDUs)
With respect to claim 2, Yi teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: after processing the remaining PDUs of the first PDU set, processing PDUs of a second PDU set according to the PSI-based discarding mechanism, regardless of whether the specified conditional criteria are met. (Paragraphs 166-185 following an example criteria of Importance value, if the importance value of a 2nd processed PUD Set is equal or lower than the signaled Importance Value, discarding will be applied to all corresponding PDUs of that 2nd PDU set regardless of an importance value of a previously PDU set)
With respect to claim 3, Yi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining whether the specified conditional criteria are met comprises determining whether a time remaining until expiry of a discard timer of the PDU set meets a particular threshold. (Paragraph 77-98 – determination of discard timer expiring with various configurations such as different timer durations corresponding to different importance groups)
With respect to claim 4, Yi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining whether the specified conditional criteria are met comprises determining whether a portion of PDUs of the first PDU set that has already been processed meets a particular threshold. (Paragraphs 143-147 – content ratio thresholds)
With respect to claim 5, Yi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining whether the specified conditional criteria are met comprises determining whether the first PDU set is identified as an important PDU set. (Paragraphs 166-185 – importance value)
With respect to claim 6, Yi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining whether the specified conditional criteria are met comprises determining whether a buffer size of a logical channel (LCH) or a LCH group (LCG) carrying the first PDU set is below a particular threshold. (Paragraph 133 buffered data amount, for example a certain logical channel)
With respect to claim 7, Yi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the PSI-based discarding mechanism includes using a first discarding timer value for PDU sets that are indicated by a PSI as important, and using a second, different discarding timer value for PDU sets that are indicated by a PSI as non-important. (Paragraph 77-88 – a PDU Set Importance can have a corresponding timer duration)
With respect to claim 8, Yi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the PSI-based discarding mechanism includes discarding PDU sets that are indicated by a PSI as non-important, without attempting transmission. (Paragraph 126, 226, 166-185- non important stored PDU sets are discarded, which would include those stored PDU sets awaiting initial transmission)
With respect to claim 9, Yi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein processing a PDU comprises loading the PDU into a transmit buffer. (Paragraph 14 – transmitting side buffer)
Claims 10-12 and 14-20 are similar in scope to claims 1-9 and are therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DAVID R LAZARO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455