DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This action is in reply to Applicant’s Amendments and Remarks filed on 07/10/2027.
Claims 1-39 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/10/2026 with respect to claims 1-39 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant presented argument that claim 1 recites "a control circuit configured to ... use link layer (LL) signals to communicate to a remote device.", and it is improper to equate the MAC to the LL since Figure 2 of the Application as filed shows the LL layer and the MAC layer are separate. (REMARKS, Pages 7-8)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, and presents that “it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification”. See MPEP 2111.01.II.
The Examiner further presents that the claims requires only a link layer (LL) signal, does not disclose which specific LL signal, and it is common knowledge that MAC layer is a layer in layer 2 or data link layer under IEEE 802 standards which are freely available over Internet. Please note Gopalan also discloses –
Page 896 Right Column Paragraph 3:
UWB subsystem comprises of FiRa Consortium defined PHY and MAC. FiRa Consortium is developing PHY and MAC requirements specifications based on the IEEE 802.15.4 and 802.15 .4z specifications.
Accordingly claim 1 and similarly independent claim 29 are rejected.
Dependent claims 2-28 and 30-39, being dependent on claims 1 and 29, are also rejected for the same reason as above.
NOTICE for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 14-16, 29-31 and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Gopalan et al. (“Tracking Resurgence of Ultra-Wideband – A Standards and Certification Perspective”, of IDS, hereinafter 'GOPALAN').
Regarding claim 1, GOPALAN teaches an integrated circuit (IC) (
Page 896 Right Column Paragraph 2:
UWB chip) comprising:
an ultra-wideband (UWB) circuit comprising a control circuit (
Page 896 Right Column Paragraph 2:
UWB Subsystem which typically resides on the UWB chip) configured to:
communicate with an application layer through a universal command and control interface (UCI) command (
Page 896 Fig. 3 Simplified view of FiRa Device Architecture, UCI interface, Right Column Paragraph 2:
A simplified FiRa Device functional architecture is shown in Fig 3. …….To enable the FiRa Framework to communicate with the UWB subsystem, the UWB Command Interface (UCI) has been defined.); and
use link layer (LL) signals to communicate to a remote device (
Page 895 Fig. 1 Single Sided Two way Ranging,
A. IEEE 802.15.4z
1) Ranging enhancements
As shown in Fig 1, this method of ranging involves two transmissions. One packet is
transmitted from Device 1 to Device 2. Device 2 responds with another packet.
Page 896 Fig. 3 UWB Subsystem FiRa MAC, Right Column Paragraph 3:
UWB subsystem comprises of FiRa Consortium defined PHY and MAC. FiRa Consortium is developing PHY and MAC requirements specifications based on the IEEE 802.15.4 and 802.15 .4z specifications.
Page 897, Right Column, Paragraph 3:
Samsung has proposed a MAC scheme [16] for Narrow band coupling with UWB. We briefly discuss the proposal below. The proposal introduces a MAC scheme with NB tightly coupled to UWB to setup UWB ranging….. Fig 4 shows an example operation.
See Page 898 Fig 4. NB-UWB coupling MAC.
(Construed that MAC or Link Layer (LL) signal transmission is used for communication for UWB ranging, Connection Request, Connection Response between a device and a remote device)).
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, GOPALAN teaches the IC of claim 1, wherein at least one LL signal comprises a protocol data unit (PDU) (
Page 897 Right Column Paragraph 3:
Samsung has proposed a MAC scheme [16] for Narrow band coupling with UWB. We briefly discuss the proposal below. The proposal introduces a MAC scheme with NB tightly coupled to UWB to setup UWB ranging ….. .. Fig 4 shows an example operation. Device discovery happens with exchange of three messages in discovery channel. The device next moves to mirroring channel to identify and reserve a free slot. Post reserving a free slot in the mirroring channel, the device comes back to setup the connection in discovery channel.
Page 898 Fig 4. NB-UWB coupling MAC, C: Connection Request & Connection Response
(indicates MAC PDU for the MAC scheme for discovery, Connection Request & Connection Response)).
Regarding claim 3, GOPALAN teaches the IC of claim 2, wherein the PDU comprises a connection create command (
See Page 897 Right Column Paragraph 3 cited for claim 2,
Page 898 Fig 4. NB-UWB coupling MAC, C: Connection Request & Connection Response
(indicates MAC PDU for the MAC scheme for discovery, Connection Request & Connection Response))).
Regarding claim 14, GOPALAN teaches the IC of claim 1, wherein the control circuit is configured to receive a signal over a signal bearer indicating that a connection is created (
Page 897 Paragraph 3:
Samsung has proposed a MAC scheme [16] for Narrow band coupling with UWB. …… An NB channel mirrors UWB usage, and another NB channel helps in discovery of UWB devices and ranging setup. Fig 4 shows an example operation. Device discovery happens with exchange of three messages in discovery channel. The device next moves to mirroring channel to identify and reserve a free slot. Post reserving a free slot in the mirroring channel, the device comes back to setup the connection in discovery channel.
Page 898, Fig 4. NB-UWB coupling MAC:
Connection Setup after Connection Request & Response).
Regarding claim 15, GOPALAN teaches the IC of claim 14, wherein the control circuit is further configured to notify an upper layer that a UWB logical connection is established (
Page 894 Left Column Introduction Paragraph 1:
Ultra-Wideband (UWB) is a wireless technology used for transmitting data over short distances and with a low power density.
See also Page 894 Right Column:
Use cases… services…. applications in multiple service verticals…
Page 896 Fig. 3, Right Column Paragraph 2:
A simplified FiRa Device functional architecture is shown in Fig 3. …….To enable the FiRa Framework to communicate with the UWB subsystem, the UWB Command Interface (UCI) has been defined. FiRa Framework AP is provide easy to use interface to allow FiRa-enabled applications on the device to use the UWB capabilities of the device in a standardized way.
See also Page 897 Paragraph 3 and Page 898, Fig 4. NB-UWB coupling MAC:
Connection Setup after Connection Request & Response cited for claim 14.
(Construed UWB controller reports to upper layer applications that connection logical connection is set up over MAC/PHY for application services)).
Regarding claim 16, GOPALAN teaches the IC of claim 15, wherein the control circuit is further configured to begin application data transfer after notification of the establishment of the UWB logical connection (
See citations above for claim 15: disclosing data transfer, communication between connection setup, FiRa-enabled applications on the device to use the UWB capabilities).
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 31, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 35, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 14.
Regarding claim 36, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 15.
Regarding claim 37, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopalan et al. (“Tracking Resurgence of Ultra-Wideband – A Standards and Certification Perspective”, of IDS, hereinafter 'GOPALAN') in view of Rha et al. (KR 20090015238 A, of record, hereinafter ‘RHA’).
Regarding claim 4, GOPALAN teaches the IC of claim 2.
GOPALAN does not explicitly disclose wherein the PDU comprises a connection delete command.
In an analogous art, LEE teaches wherein the PDU comprises a connection delete command (
Page 7 Paragraphs 3-4:
When the terminal 306 transmits the broadcast service request message selected through the UWB channel in the steps 330 and 332 on the server 300, in step 334, the server 300 receives the broadcast service selection information, and thus the UWB channel is received. The requested broadcast stream is transmitted to the terminal 306 through the terminal.
If the terminal 306 user wants to stop watching the broadcast service in step 336, … the terminal 306 ….. transmits a broadcast service termination request message to the server 300, and disconnects the connection from the server 300 in step 342).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of UWB request message for service termination of RHA to the system of UWB request and response messages for connection of GOPALAN in order to take the advantage of providing high-speed transmission technology of the UWB broadcasting using ultra-wideband in a wireless communication system to add a broadcast function profile to the UWB PHY / MAC structure to enable the multimedia data broadcasting to a plurality of UWB terminals including requesting UWB disconnection from the AP on demand and a process of receiving a UWB disconnection from the AP. (RHA: Page 3 Paragraphs 2, 4 –5, Page 7 Paragraph 4 ).
Regarding claim 32, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Claims 5 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopalan et al. (“Tracking Resurgence of Ultra-Wideband – A Standards and Certification Perspective”, of IDS, hereinafter 'GOPALAN') in view of Pirch et al. (WO 2021089195 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘PIRCH’).
Regarding claim 5, GOPALAN teaches the IC of claim 2.
GOPALAN does not explicitly disclose wherein the control circuit is configured to receive a quality of service (QoS) indication from the application layer.
In an analogous art, PIRCH teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to receive a quality of service (QoS) indication from the application layer (
Fig. 3, UWB Upper Layer with QoS Management function,
[0023] FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a layer model for a UWB enabled device. ….. Above the UWB MAC Layer is the UWB Upper Layer 314. The UWB Upper Layer 314 performs Discovery Service, Control and Configuration, and Quality of Service (QOS) management. Above the UWN Upper Layer is a Service Application Layer 316 implementing service profiles.
(It is obvious that UWB control circuit performs Quality of Service (QOS) management based on indication from Service Application Layer 316)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of QoS management of PIRCH to the system of UWB request and response messages for connection of GOPALAN in order to take the advantage of providing large bandwidth of UWB systems for a high level of resilience to frequency selective fading (PIRCH: [0017]).
Regarding claim 33, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Claims 6-7, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopalan et al. (“Tracking Resurgence of Ultra-Wideband – A Standards and Certification Perspective”, of IDS, hereinafter 'GOPALAN') in view of Pirch et al. (WO 2021089195 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘PIRCH’) with further in view of Choi et al. (US 20240015597 A1 with priority of PCT/KR2021/019590, of record, hereinafter ‘CHOI’).
Regarding claim 6, GOPALAN, in view of PIRCH, teaches the IC of claim 5.
GOPALAN and PIRCH do not explicitly disclose wherein the QoS indication comprises a guaranteed latency requirement.
In an analogous art, CHOI teaches wherein the QoS indication comprises a guaranteed latency requirement (
Fig. 1 Electronics Device 101, [0034] Referring to FIG. 1, the electronic device 101 in the network environment 100 may communicate with an electronic device 102 via a first network 198 (e.g., a short-range wireless communication network)….
[0084] Referring to FIG. 3, in operation 301, a processor (for example, the processor 120 of FIG. 1) of an electronic device (for example, the electronic device 101 of FIG. 1) according to various embodiments may configure a first service period and a first wake interval related to the first communication 250 on the basis of the QoS of the first communication ….. The first communication 250 may be ….. UWB.
[0085] the requirements of the QoS may vary depending on an application and a type of connected communication (for example, …. UWB ….). For example, in the case of a phone call application, a service period according to the QoS may be 10 ms, and in the case of a game application, a service period according to the QoS may be 3 ms. The QoS of an application may be configured by an application developer or configured by the electronic device 101 on the basis of an application type.
[0090] When the number of external devices connected to the AP 200 is larger than a preset number, latency required for transmitting data packets according to medium access control between devices may be additionally generated.
[0112] When the wake interval is changed to be larger than the wake interval configured by the QoS of communication, latency or the QoS may not be satisfied. When the wake interval is changed to be smaller than the wake interval configured by the QoS of communication, the electronic device 101 may frequently wake up, and thus power consumption may increase but data throughput and latency or QoS may not decrease).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of configuring a mode related to latency of CHOI to the system of UWB request and response messages for connection of GOPALAN and PIRCH in order to take the advantage of providing configuring service period on the basis of the QoS for satisfying the QoS which may have the highest priority (CHOI: [0084, 0090, 0112]).
Regarding claim 7, GOPALAN, in view of PIRCH, teaches the IC of claim 5.
GOPALAN and PIRCH do not explicitly disclose wherein the QoS indication comprises a guaranteed bitrate requirement.
CHOI teaches wherein the QoS indication comprises a guaranteed bitrate requirement (
[0085] the requirements of the QoS may vary depending on an application and a type of connected communication (for example, …. UWB ….). For example, in the case of a phone call application, a service period according to the QoS may be 10 ms ….. The QoS of an application may be configured by an application developer or configured by the electronic device 101 on the basis of an application type.
See also [0090, 0112]
(It is obvious that Phone call QoS 10 ms indicates an application for voice call which requires guaranteed bitrate requirement is well known in the art, and configuration based on corresponding phone call QoS requirement indicates a QoS indication comprises a guaranteed bitrate requirement)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of configuring a mode related to latency of CHOI to the system of UWB request and response messages for connection of GOPALAN and PIRCH in order to take the advantage of providing configuration for service period on the basis of the QoS for satisfying the QoS which may have the highest priority (CHOI: [0084, 0090, 0112]).
Regarding claim 11, GOPALAN, in view of PIRCH, teaches the IC of claim 5.
GOPALAN and PIRCH do not explicitly disclose wherein the QoS indication comprises auxiliary information.
CHOI teaches wherein the QoS indication comprises auxiliary information (
[0003] the electronic device or the AP may configure a first wake time, a wake interval for determining the next wake time after the first wake time, and a service period (for example, service period duration) in which data is transmitted and received at each wake time.
[0011] The electronic device ….. to configure a first service period and a first wake interval related to first communication, based on a quality of service (QoS) of the first communication, in case that a connection of a second communication having a frequency overlapping a frequency of the first communication is detected, configure a second service period and a second wake interval related to the second communication, based on a QoS of the second communication.
[0085] According to various embodiments, the requirements of the QoS may vary depending on an application and a type of connected communication (for example, …. UWB, ….). For example, in the case of a phone call application, a service period according to the QoS may be 10 ms, and in the case of a game application, a service period according to the QoS may be 3 ms. The QoS of an application may be configured by an application developer or configured by the electronic device 101 on the basis of an application type. …. The processor 120 may configure the first service period and the first wake interval on the basis of the state of the electronic device 101 or the state of the AP (for example, the AP 200 of FIG. 2) while satisfying the QoS of the first communication 250.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of configuring a mode related to latency of CHOI to the system of UWB request and response messages for connection of GOPALAN and PIRCH in order to take the advantage of providing configuration for service period on the basis of the QoS for satisfying the QoS which may have the highest priority (CHOI: [0084, 0090, 0112]).
Regarding claim 13, GOPALAN, in view of PIRCH, teaches the IC of claim 11.
GOPALAN and PIRCH do not explicitly disclose wherein the control circuit is configured to use the auxiliary information to derive a transmission window.
CHOI teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to use the auxiliary information to derive a transmission window (
See [0003, 0011, 0085] Configuring service period … interval on the basis of the state of the electronic device 101 or the state of the AP …. while satisfying the QoS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of configuring a mode related to latency of CHOI to the system of UWB request and response messages for connection of GOPALAN and PIRCH in order to take the advantage of providing configuration for service period on the basis of the QoS for satisfying the QoS which may have the highest priority (CHOI: [0084, 0090, 0112]).
Claims 8-9, 17, 34 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopalan et al. (“Tracking Resurgence of Ultra-Wideband – A Standards and Certification Perspective”, of IDS, hereinafter 'GOPALAN') in view of Pirch et al. (WO 2021089195 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘PIRCH’) with further in view of Haartsen; Jacobus C. (US 20080182574 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘HAARTSEN’).
Regarding claim 8, GOPALAN, in view of PIRCH, teaches the IC of claim 5.
GOPALAN and PIRCH do not explicitly disclose wherein the QoS indication comprises a best effort requirement.
In an analogous art, HAARTSEN teaches wherein the QoS indication comprises a best effort requirement (
[0032] If the UWB device is communicating with several UWB devices, it can in some embodiments also rearrange its allocation of resources, for example by giving the services with QoS requirements most of the channel capacity and releasing or suspending the best effort services.
(It is obvious an Application QoS requirement indication comprises best effort requirement as detected by the UWB device controller)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of resource allocation for best effort service of HAARTSEN to the system of UWB request and response messages for connection of GOPALAN and PIRCH in order to take the advantage of providing a method permitting a UWB device to remain functional under various conditions (e.g., regardless of whether there are QoS requirements) and also to conserve energy (HAARTSEN: [0012]).
Regarding claim 9, GOPALAN, in view of PIRCH, teaches the IC of claim 5.
GOPALAN and PIRCH do not explicitly disclose wherein the QoS indication is a per connection indication.
HAARTSEN teaches wherein the QoS indication is a per connection indication (
[0032] If the UWB device is communicating with several UWB devices, it can in some embodiments also rearrange its allocation of resources, for example by giving the services with QoS requirements most of the channel capacity and releasing or suspending the best effort services.
(It is obvious an Application QoS requirement is per connection for respective connection with several UWB devices having service QoS requirement)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of resource allocation for best effort service of HAARTSEN to the system of UWB request and response messages for connection of GOPALAN and PIRCH in order to take the advantage of providing a method permitting a UWB device to remain functional under various conditions (e.g., regardless of whether there are QoS requirements) and also to conserve energy (HAARTSEN: [0012]).
Regarding claim 17, GOPALAN, in view of PIRCH, teaches the IC of claim 5.
GOPALAN and PIRCH do not explicitly disclose, wherein the control circuit is configured to use multiple QoS indications across multiple connections, wherein each of the multiple QoS indications is received from the application layer.
HAARTSEN teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to use multiple QoS indications across multiple connections, wherein each of the multiple QoS indications is received from the application layer (
[0032] If the UWB device is communicating with several UWB devices, it can in some embodiments also rearrange its allocation of resources, for example by giving the services with QoS requirements most of the channel capacity and releasing or suspending the best effort services.
(It is obvious an service or application QoS requirement is per connection for respective connection with several UWB devices having service QoS requirement indicating multiple QoS indications across multiple connections, received for respective services or applications)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of resource allocation for best effort service of HAARTSEN to the system of UWB request and response messages for connection of GOPALAN and PIRCH in order to take the advantage of providing a method permitting a UWB device to remain functional under various conditions (e.g., regardless of whether there are QoS requirements) and also to conserve energy (HAARTSEN: [0012]).
Regarding claim 34, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 9.
Regarding claim 38, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 17.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopalan et al. (“Tracking Resurgence of Ultra-Wideband – A Standards and Certification Perspective”, of IDS, hereinafter 'GOPALAN') in view of Pirch et al. (WO 2021089195 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘PIRCH’) in view of Haartsen; Jacobus C. (US 20080182574 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘HAARTSEN’) and with further in view of Sachs et al. (WO 2020167222 A2, of record, hereinafter ‘SACHS’).
Regarding claim 18, GOPALAN, in view of PIRCH and HAARTSEN, teaches the IC of claim 17.
GOPALAN, PIRCH and HAARTSEN do not explicitly disclose wherein the control circuit is further configured to allocate UWB slots based on QoS requirements.
In an analogous art, SACHS teaches wherein the control circuit is further configured to allocate UWB slots based on QoS requirements (
[0387] Positioning latency requirements in manufacturing are relaxed for most use cases…
[0388] UWB or RFID may be more suitable ….
[0914] the network node can send, to the RAN, a request to allocate radio resources for communication of the data stream between the RAN and a user equipment (UE), wherein the request further comprises information related to the transmission schedule ….. includes ….. a QoS requirement associated with each of the QoS flows. In some embodiments, each QoS requirement can comprise one or more time windows during which the data stream is required to be transmitted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of time window or slot allocation of HAARTSEN to the system of UWB request and response messages for connection of GOPALAN, PIRCH and HAARTSEN in order to take the advantage of providing a method for using low cost UWB devices to provide support for mixed services in factory and manufacturing environments, including support for different service levels (SACHS: [0065, 0387, 0388, 0914]).
Claims 20 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopalan et al. (“Tracking Resurgence of Ultra-Wideband – A Standards and Certification Perspective”, of IDS, hereinafter 'GOPALAN') in view of Wang et al. (US 20200022194 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘WANG’).
Regarding claim 20, GOPALAN teaches the IC of claim 2, wherein the at least one LL signal is configured to use a predetermined identifier to convey control information of a logical connection to the remote device (
Page 895 Fig. 1 Single Sided Two way Ranging between Device 1 and Device 2
Page 898 Fig 4. NB-UWB coupling MAC, C: Connection Request & Connection Response
(indicates MAC/LL PDU for the MAC scheme for discovery, Connection Request & Connection Response, and it is obvious that the after discovery the MAC signaling for connection request includes the identifier of the already discovered device or predetermined identifier at that instant of time having a predetermined value or identifier indicating a connection request)).
GOPALAN does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one LL signal is configured to use a signaling bearer with a predetermined identifier to convey control information of a logical connection to the remote device.
WANG teaches wherein the at least one LL signal is configured to use a signaling bearer with a predetermined identifier to convey control information of a logical connection to the remote device (
[0023] According to a third aspect, an embodiment of the present invention provides a relay communication method. The method includes: generating a MAC PDU, where the MAC PDU includes a MAC CE, the MAC CE includes an identifier of a remote terminal, and the MAC PDU carries data of a signaling radio bearer SRB0 of the remote terminal; and sending the MAC PDU.
Fig. 13a, [0199] FIG. 13a is a flowchart of another relay communication method according to an embodiment of the present invention. Referring to FIG. 13a, the method includes the following steps.
[0200] S1301a: An access network device generates a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) PDU.
[0201] The MAC PDU carries SRB0 data sent to the remote terminal. The SRB0 is a signaling radio bearer, and is generally used to transmit signaling of setting up or resetting up an RRC connection between UE and a base station.
(It is obvious that SRB0 is a signaling bearer with predetermined identifier for carrying the MAC PDU which further includes a predetermined identifier for UE/Remote terminal which the Relay terminal recognizes and forwards and the UE/Remote terminal identifies the MAC PDU as a logical/RRC connection setup control message by another predetermined value or identifier for connection setup)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of using specific SRB0 of WANG to the system of UWB request and response messages for connection of GOPALAN in order to take the advantage of providing a method for control signaling for example logical connection setup (WANG: [0201]).
Regarding claim 39, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 12, 19, and 21-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and in intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 10, GOPALAN, RHA, PIRCH, CHOI, HAARTSEN, SACHS, WANG or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the IC of claim 5, wherein the QoS indication comprises a target delay between a request and a response.
Regarding claim 12, GOPALAN, RHA, PIRCH, CHOI, HAARTSEN, SACHS, WANG or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the IC of claim 11, wherein the control circuit is configured to use the auxiliary information to derive a maximum retransmission.
Regarding claim 19, GOPALAN, RHA, PIRCH, CHOI, HAARTSEN, SACHS, WANG or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the IC of claim 18, wherein UWB slot allocation is based on at least a maximum number of LL data retransmissions of the multiple connections.
Regarding claim 21, GOPALAN, RHA, PIRCH, CHOI, HAARTSEN, SACHS, WANG or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the IC of claim 5, wherein the control circuit is configured to:
determine a maximum number of LL data retransmissions from the QoS indication; and transmit the maximum number to a remote device in a control protocol data unit (PDU).
Regarding claim 22, GOPALAN, RHA, PIRCH, CHOI, HAARTSEN, SACHS, WANG or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the IC of claim 5, wherein the control circuit is configured to:
determine a transmission window of LL data from the QoS indication; and
transmit a size of the transmission window to a remote device in a control protocol data unit (PDU).
Regarding claim 23, GOPALAN, RHA, PIRCH, CHOI, HAARTSEN, SACHS, WANG or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the IC of claim 5, wherein the control circuit is further configured to:
determine a maximum lifetime of LL data from the QoS indication; and
transmit the maximum lifetime of the LL data to a remote device in a control protocol data unit (PDU).
Regarding claim 24, GOPALAN, RHA, PIRCH, CHOI, HAARTSEN, SACHS, WANG or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the IC of claim 9, wherein the control circuit comprises a LL configured to translate the QoS indication and the auxiliary information into LL configuration parameters.
Regarding claim 25, the claim being dependent on claim 24, is interpreted same as claim 24.
Regarding claim 26, the claim being dependent on claim 24, is interpreted same as claim 24.
Regarding claim 27, the claim being dependent on claim 24, is interpreted same as claim 24.
Regarding claim 28, the claim being dependent on claim 24, is interpreted same as claim 24.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Zhao; Deng (US 20230006711 A1), describing AUDIO TRANSMISSION METHOD AND ELECTRONIC DEVICE
Welborne et al., (US 20050185669 A1), describing Common Signalling Mode For Use With Multiple Wireless Formats
Robert F. Heile et al., (IEEE Std 802.15.4™-2006), describing Part 15.4: Wireless Medium Access Control (MAC) and Physical Layer (PHY) Specifications for Low-Rate Wireless Personal Area Networks (WPANs)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413