DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-12, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seidler, US 2020/0262185 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Seidler teaches a composite glazing (Fig. 3) comprising a first and second transparent substrate (102 and 203 of Fig. 3) with an interlayer therebetween, said interlayer comprising a polymer resin ([0017], [0037]), a thickness ([0024]), and two sets of visible, light-reflecting bodies (302 and 303 of Fig. 3) arranged in two parallel layers on films 112 and 113 of Fig. 3, resulting in the light-reflecting bodies being in two different planes that are substantially parallel.
Regarding claims 2-4 and 10-12, Seidler teaches that the light-reflecting bodies on each layer may be arranged in a rectangular grid pattern ([0119], [0123]).
Regarding claim 17, Seidler teaches a method for forming the laminate composite glazing, the method comprising (a) providing a first and second interlayer component sheet (3001 and 3002 of Fig. 3), each interlayer component sheet comprising a substrate (112 and 113 of Fig. 3) and a plurality of visible, light-reflecting bodies (302 and 303 of Fig. 3), (b) assembling the first and second interlayer component sheets to form a multilayer interlayer precursor ([0091]), (c) assembling the laminated composite glazing precursors with the multilayer interlayer precursors therebetween (Fig. 3), and (d) subjecting the glazing precursor to laminating conditions to form a composite glazing ([0095]).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Seidler teaches the presence of various other sheets (e.g. 212, 202 of Fig. 3) positioned between the first and second interlayer component sheets, any of which may be regarded as corresponding to the claimed “optional interlayer component sheet” of claim 18 or the “spacer” sheet of claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seidler, US 2020/0262185 A1.
Regarding claims 5-8 and 13-16, Seidler teaches a glazing with an interlayer as discussed above. The teachings of Seidler differ from the present invention in that although Seidler teaches that the two patterned layers of light-reflecting bodies may be arranged to achieve spatial or optical effects ([0091]), Seidler does not teach any specific relative arrangement of the patterns (ie, does not teach whether the patterns are offset linearly or angularly). It would, however, have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange to two reflecting layers in the product of Seidler in whatever manner was necessary to achieve the desired spatial or optical effect, based on the intended appearance of the product and the specific effect desired.
Conclusion
/IAN A RUMMEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785