DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected below.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Removing the numbers should made the abstract proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 8, 14, and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 states that first parameter and the second parameter of the same “type” of setpoint. It isn’t clear what this means.
Claims 8, 14, and 16 all use the relative term “bad” which renders the claim indefinite. The term “bad” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Furthermore, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of what a “bad start” are.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-17, and 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being (a)(2) by Kitagoh (U.S. PG Pub. 2023/0011915).
As to claims 1 and 9, Kitagoh teaches a method of rolling a metal substrate with a rolling mill, the method comprising: before rolling the metal substrate: receiving a historical parameter from a previous rolling operation[0011]; receiving substrate information about the metal substrate to be rolled[0105]; and predicting a start parameter for the rolling mill based on the historical parameter and the substrate information[0106]; and starting a rolling operation, wherein starting the rolling operation comprises initially receiving the metal [0084]substrate at the rolling mill and controlling the rolling mill to have the predicted start parameter at least while initially receiving the metal substrate at the rolling mill[0126, 0144]. Claim 15 is similar in nature, but includes a work stand which can be seen throughout the refer3ence [0076, 103, 0104, 0106, etc.]
As to claims 2, 10 and 17, Kitagoh teaches wherein predicting the start parameter comprises predicting a first start parameter and a second start parameter for a work stand of the rolling mill[0106].
As to claim 4 and 12, Kitagoh teaches wherein predicting the start parameter comprises predicting a first start parameter for a first work stand of the rolling mill and predicting a second start parameter for a second work stand of the rolling mill[0106].
As to claims 5 and 13, Kitagoh teaches wherein the first start parameter is a bending setpoint for a work roll of the first work stand or a tilting setpoint for the work roll of the first work stand, and wherein the second start parameter is a bending setpoint for a work roll of the second work stand or a tilting setpoint for the work roll of the second work stand [0266-0268].
As to claim 6, Kitagoh teaches wherein the first start parameter and the second start parameter are a same type of setpoint[0106].
As to claims 8, 14 and 16, Kitagoh teaches further comprising, before rolling the metal substrate, determining a probability of a bad start based on the predicted start parameter, the historical parameter, and the substrate information, and wherein starting the rolling operation comprises starting the rolling operation based on the determined probability being less than a predetermined threshold[0265 – finding the optimal].
As to claims 19, Kitagoh teaches wherein the work stand is a first work stand and the work roll is a first work roll, wherein the rolling mill comprises a second work stand comprising a second work roll, and wherein the start parameter comprises a first start parameter for the first work stand and a second start parameter for the second work stand [0106].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 7, 11, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagoh (U.S. PG Pub. 2023/0011915) in view of Martin (U.S. PG Pub. 2009/0249849).
As to claims 3, 11 and 18 Kitagoh teaches, wherein the first start parameter comprises a bending setpoint for a work roll of the rolling mill[0266-0268].
Kitagoh teaches most of the claimed invention, but does not explicitly teach all of claims 3, 7, 11, 18, and 20.
As to claims 3, 11 and 18 Martin teaches wherein the second start parameter comprises a tilting setpoint for the work roll of the rolling mill[0012].
As to claim 7 and 20, Martin teaches wherein starting the rolling operation comprises starting a cold rolling operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include the teaching of Martin in the system and methods of Kitagoh. The motivation to combine is that Martin teaches to avert or resolve problems of asymmetry between the two sides of the strip, it is possible to adjust the roll gap from either side of the stand, and thus give the rolls lateral tilt. All these means for adjusting the mills may be pre-positioned before a strip is rolled which in theory makes it possible to obtain a strip with a profile of the desired thickness and which is very flat or has a controlled defect [0012].
Other Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Horii (U.S. PG Pub. 2024/0408659) teaches a cold rolling operation that tilts work rolls.
Fukushima (U.S. PG Pub. 2024/0167117) teaches predicting a temperature history for rolled steel sheets.
Tezuka (U.S. Pat. 6,230,531) teaches a tracking means for monitoring rolling operation for future use.
Conclusion
/NATHAN L LAUGHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119