DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in JP on 01/26/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/23/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature “wherein the base includes a configuration to draw an antenna cable in a predetermined direction other than a direction perpendicular to the base” must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim 5. Drawings do not show the antenna cable and the predetermined direction.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "wherein a first attachment structure capable of attaching the at least a portion of the antenna element to the base is disposed at a position substantially symmetrical to a position to which the antenna element is attached with regard to a center of the base" in lines 5-7 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear what the claim limitation means. In fig. 3, the position of the first attachment structure 210A is the same with the position to which the antenna element 410A and 420A are attached, so what are symmetrical with regard to a center of the base. It is not clear if the claim means the plurality of first attachment structure 210A are disposed at a position symmetrical to the center of the base 100A as shown in fig. 3. Moreover, the term “substantially symmetrical” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially symmetrical” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear what the difference between “symmetrical” and “substantially symmetrical”. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claims 2-5 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1 and are subsequently rejected.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "wherein a second attachment structure attaching at least a portion of the case to the base is disposed substantially symmetrically" in lines 3-4 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear what the claim limitation means. The claim does not mention the direction or reference point that the second attachment structure is disposed symmetrically. It is not clear if the claim means the plurality of second attachment structure 114A are disposed symmetrically to the center of the base 100A as shown in fig. 3. Moreover, the term “substantially symmetrical” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially symmetrical” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear what the difference between “symmetrically” and “substantially symmetrically”. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim 4 recites the limitation " wherein the base is substantially rotationally symmetric as viewed from a predetermined direction" in lines 3-4 which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially rotationally symmetric” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially rotationally symmetric” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear what the difference between “symmetric”, “rotationally symmetric” and “substantially rotationally symmetric”. Moreover, the housing is not circular, so it is not clear how it can be rotationally symmetric. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)& (a)(2) as being anticipated by Reece et al, US-20020015000-A1 (hereinafter Reece).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Reece discloses the following:
an antenna device comprising:
a base (101, 150, fig. 12a); and
an antenna element (102a, 102b, 210a, 210b), at least a portion of the antenna element being attached to the base (fig. 12a),
wherein a first attachment structure (201, 202, fig. 12-d, 12e, 206, fig. 12b, para [0083]) capable of attaching the at least a portion of the antenna element (102a, 102b, 210a, 210b) to the base is disposed at a position substantially symmetrical to a position to which the antenna element is attached with regard to a center of the base (fig. 12a, 12b).
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Reece discloses the antenna device according to Claim 1, further comprising:
a case (152, fig. 12a) forming an accommodation room accommodating the antenna element (102a, 102b, 210a, 210b),
wherein a second attachment structure (162, 160) attaching at least a portion of the case (152) to the base (101, 150) is disposed substantially symmetrically.
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Reece discloses wherein the base (152, fig. 12a) is substantially rotationally symmetric as viewed from a predetermined direction (fig. 12a).
Regarding claim 5, Reece discloses wherein the base (101, fig. 12c) includes a configuration to draw an antenna cable (112) in a predetermined direction other than a direction perpendicular to the base (fig. 12c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reece as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of 中田 徳純 et al, JP-6979325-B2 (hereinafter 中田 徳純).
Regarding claim 3, Reece does not disclose the antenna device according to Claim 1 further comprising: a fastener to fasten the base to a vehicle, wherein at least a portion of the fastener overlaps with the center of the base.
中田 徳純 suggests the antenna device further comprising: a fastener (20, fig. 3) to fasten the base to a vehicle (page 5, last para), wherein at least a portion of the fastener overlaps with the center of the base (fig. 2, 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a fastener as suggested in 中田 徳純 to the antenna device taught in Reece as claimed for the purpose of attaching the antenna device to the vehicle in order to provide wireless communication.
Citation of Pertinent Art
Suffolk et al, US-20170229767-A1, fig. 3 – plurality of antenna elements mounted symmetrically on a base
Ohno et al, WO-2016017278-A1, fig. 4 – plurality of antenna elements mounted symmetrically on a base
Billsberry et al, US-9019161-B1, fig. 2 – plurality of antenna elements mounted symmetrically on a base
Hyuk-Joon et al, US-6697019-B1, fig. 5 – plurality of antenna elements mounted symmetrically on a base
Conclusion
/ANH N HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DAVID E LOTTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845