Response to Amendment
In response to the office action mailed on 03/09/2026, applicant filed an amendment on 07/09/2026, amending claims 1, 8, 10, 11, and adding claims 12 and 13. The pending claims are 1-13.
Response to Arguments
With regard to art, applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
As to automatically update an icon describing a predetermined type of a status alert of a first user according to the detected word of interest in a graphical user interface, Daddi in the same field of endeavor teaches a real-time speech analytics system capable of generating real-time alerts that are processed by a checkpoint and alert reporting module and stored for either real-time or subsequently display to a contact center supervisor (Fig. 2), wherein Checkpoint and Alert Reporting Module (CARM) receiving alert messages, and upon detecting a keyword in a message the icon describing a predetermined type of a status alert of the user is automatically updated (col. 20, line 6 – col. 21, line 15). See also col. 17, line 1-8, wherein said, the CARM is configured to provide alerts/checkup widget updates to certain devices/individuals. Also, col. 11, line 30-34, wherein said, the alert may contain the appropriate text and icon information. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to use the above feature of Daddi with the system of Jones in view of Adcock, in order to improve real-time awareness, efficiency, and user experience by dynamically reflecting the latest system or application status.
With regard to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection, applicant’s arguments are persuasive. Accordingly, the corresponding rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 2011/0270609) in view of Adcock (US 2006/0106767), and further in view of Daddi (US10194027).
As per claim 1, Jones teaches detecting, as real-time operation, a word of interest from data of a dialogue, wherein the dialogue is between a plurality of parties (Fig. 1, [0149], and [0189], determining, by the relevance engine, relevant keyword(s) being discussed in an audio conference session between a plurality of client devices 102a-102d. See [0193] for real time operation), the detecting a word of interest is based on a detection condition for the word of interest, and the word of interest represents at least part of an expression ([0186], wherein said, the relevant keywords may represent, for example, frequently spoken words, statistically significant words, topics, etc.; and [0193] where it is determined that the extracted word is relevant if the relevance score exceeds a threshold); and
transmitting, based on the detected word of interest, display information to a predetermined terminal, wherein the first user is in a party of the plurality of parties, the display information to display at least either one of the detected word of interest or a display component representing the detected word of interest ([0193]- [0195], wherein resources associated with the relevant keywords are transmitted and provided to at least a participant, in a party of a plurality of participants of a conference, to be displayed on their corresponding user interfaces), and the word of interest has been interactively specified through the graphical user interface ([0182], [0186]).
Jones may not explicitly disclose wherein the display information specifies a pre-registered display mode. Adcock in the same field of endeavor teaches a system and method for identifying query-relevant keywords, wherein matching keywords from the query may be highlighted in the search results to provide an indication of the context in which the document and the query matched ([0035]). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to use Adcock’s display mode with the system of Jones, in order to specify a pre-registered display mode when presenting the at least either one of the detected word of interest or a display component representing the detected word of interest. This would improve comprehension and allow users to engage efficiently with the presented content.
As to automatically update an icon describing a predetermined type of a status alert of a first user according to the detected word of interest in a graphical user interface, Jones in view Adcock may not explicitly disclose such limitation. However, Daddi in the same field of endeavor teaches a real-time speech analytics system capable of generating real-time alerts that are processed by a checkpoint and alert reporting module and stored for either real-time or subsequently display to a contact center supervisor (Fig. 2), wherein Checkpoint and Alert Reporting Module (CARM) receiving alert messages, and upon detecting a keyword in a message the icon describing a predetermined type of a status alert of the user is automatically updated (col. 20, line 6 – col. 21, line 15). See also col. 17, line 1-8, wherein said, the CARM is configured to provide alerts/checkup widget updates to certain devices/individuals. Also, col. 11, line 30-34, wherein said, the alert may contain the appropriate text and icon information. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to use the above feature of Daddi with the system of Jones in view of Adcock, in order to improve real-time awareness, efficiency, and user experience by dynamically reflecting the latest system or application status.
As per claim 2, Jones teaches wherein the detection condition comprises a detection pattern and a predetermined number of occurrences of the detection pattern in the speech recognition result, the detection pattern represents at least either one of a regular expression of the word of interest to be detected or a character sequence representing the word of interest to be detected, and wherein the instructions when executed by the processor further cause the processor to detect the word of interest based on a number of times the detection pattern occurs in the speech recognition result and the predetermined number of occurrences of the detection pattern ([0189], wherein a specific keyword (as a pattern) and the number of times the keyword is repeated either in absolute terms or relative to a period of time (e.g., a word occurrence or usage density).
As per claim 3, Jones teaches wherein the detection condition further comprises at least either one of a scene in which the detection pattern is spoken, or a type of statement in which the detection pattern is spoken, and wherein the instructions when executed by the processor further cause the processor to detect the word of interest based on matching a scene or a type of statement in which the detection pattern occurs in the speech recognition result and the scene or the type of statement set in the detection condition ([0186], wherein words of interest are detected based on the topic and subject matter of the conference; and [0189], wherein important words are determined based on statements spoken by an important participant).
As per claim 6, transmit the display information to a first terminal used by a predetermined one speaker of a party of the plurality of parties in the dialogue ([0193], transmitting resource information associated with words of interest into participant devices). Jones teaches display information specifies a pre-registered color as an emphasis to display information ([0167], graying or blacking audio data). Jones may not explicitly disclose wherein the display information specifies a pre-registered color of detected word of interest. Adcock in the same field of endeavor teaches a system and method for identifying query-relevant keywords, wherein target keywords are highlighted in the search results to provide an indication of the context in which the document and the query matched ([0035]). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to use Adcock’s display mode with the system of Jones, in order to specify a pre-registered display mode when presenting the at least either one of the detected word of interest or a display component representing the detected word of interest. This would improve comprehension and allowing users to engage efficiently with the presented content.
As per claim 7, transmit the display information to a second terminal that is used by a person monitoring and assisting the predetermined one speaker ([0193], transmitting resource information associated with words of interest into participants devices 102 of conference participants 104, as in Fig. 1). Jones may not explicitly disclose the display information being for displaying the display component with emphasis in a pre-registered color. Adcock in the same field of endeavor teaches a system and method for identifying query-relevant keywords, wherein target keywords are highlighted in the search results to provide an indication of the context in which the document and the query matched ([0035]). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to use Adcock’s display mode with the system of Jones, in order to specify a pre-registered display mode when presenting the at least either one of the detected word of interest or a display component representing the detected word of interest. This would improve comprehension and allow users to engage efficiently with the presented content.
As per claim 10, method claim 10 and apparatus claim 1 are related as method and apparatus of using same, with each claimed element's function corresponding to the claimed method step. Accordingly claim 10 is similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to apparatus claim 1.
As per claim 11, Jones teaches a readable computer medium ([0005], [0150]). The remaining steps are rejected under the same rationale as applied to the method steps of rejected claim 1.
As per claim 12, Jones teaches wherein the detected word of interest has been interactively specified by a second user through the graphical user interface, and the second user has a role other than being in one of parties of the plurality of parties of a voice communication ([0182]- [0183], the keywords or words of interest are received via interface 1710 originating from conferencing system 106, which is in communication client devices 102 (Fig. 1 and [0150]). The client devices 102 are associated with participants that have different roles, i.e. a participant may be an employee, vendor, or a friend).
As per claim 13, Jones teaches wherein the detect operation further comprises detecting, as the real-time operation, the word of interest from the data of the dialogue during a predetermined type of a domain of a voice communication, the detection condition for the word of interest further comprises the predetermined type of the domain of the voice communication ([0182], identifying keywords in real-time during an audio conference), and the graphical user interface further comprises interactively specifying the predetermined type of the domain ([0182], [0186]).
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US in view of Adcock and Daddi, and further in view of Zarecki (US 11734731).
As per claim 4, Jones in view of Adcock and Daddi may not explicitly disclose determining the predetermined number of occurrences of the detection pattern based on a distribution of occurrences of the detection pattern in past dialogues. Zarecki in the same field of endeavor teaches determining the one or more keywords of the one or more keyword categories by identifying, based on previous dialogue data associated with the previous set of communication sessions, words used more frequently in the one or more subsets of the previous set of communication sessions than in one or more other subsets of the previous set of communication sessions (col. 24, line 17-34). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to use the above feature of Zarecki with the system of Jones in view of Adcock and Daddi, in order to determine the predetermined number of occurrences of the detection pattern based on a distribution of occurrences of the detection pattern in past dialogues, as claimed. This would facilitate context-rich communication and personalized interactions.
As per claim 9, Jones teaches transmitting the display information to a third terminal that specifies the search condition ([0162], [0187]). Jones in view of Adcock and Daddi may not explicitly disclose searching for dialogue history information by using the word of interest as a search condition, in a database, wherein the database stores dialogue history information that represents speech recognition results of past dialogues, wherein the display information comprises: dialogue history information that is obtained from the search, and the word of interest included in a speech recognition result represented by the dialogue history information obtained from the search. Zarecki in the same field of endeavor teaches determining the one or more keywords of the one or more keyword categories by identifying, based on previous dialogue data associated with the previous set of communication sessions, words used more frequently in the one or more subsets of the previous set of communication sessions than in one or more other subsets of the previous set of communication sessions; and determining, by the contact center system, when the dialogue data includes the one or more keywords of the one or more keyword categories associated with the levels of customer effort perceptions; and displaying, by the contact center system in a user interface, user-selectable communication records associated with one or more communication sessions, of the plurality of communications sessions, for which the dialogue data includes the one or more keywords of the one or more keyword categories (col. 24, line 17-34). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to use the above feature of Zarecki with the system of Jones in view of Adcock and Daddi, in order to perform the above claimed limitations. This would facilitate context-rich communication and personalized interactions.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Adcock and Daddi, and further in view of Lehman (US 20180068656).
As per claim 5, Jones in view of Adcock may not explicitly disclose detecting the word of interest based on context of the dialogue from the beginning of the speech recognition result of the dialogue to a part of the speech recognition result where the detection pattern occurs. Lehman in the same field of endeavor teaches detecting the word of interest based on context of the dialogue from a beginning of the speech recognition result of the dialogue to a part of the speech recognition result where the detection pattern occurs ([0027]- [0028], wherein contextual information of words uttered before a keyword is used for calculating the probability of the keyword being a word of interest (,i.e. an instruction word)). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to use the above feature of Lehman with the system of Jones in view of Adcock and Daddi, in order to enhance comprehension and prediction, and provide reliable results.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Adcock and Daddi, and further in view of Kobayashi (US 20210241772).
As per claim 8, Jones in view of Adcock and Daddi may not explicitly disclose transmitting, based on detecting the word of interest, information to the second terminal, the information indicates detection of the word of interest to the second terminal by using a pre-registered sound. Kobayashi in the same field of endeavor teaches outputting a sound when a keyword is detected to notify the user that the keyword has been detected (0033]). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the application was filed to use the above feature of Kobayashi with the system of Jones in view of Adcock and Daddi, in order to transmit, based on detecting the word of interest, information to the second terminal, the information indicates detection of the word of interest to the second terminal by using a pre-registered sound. This would reduce the need for visual monitoring and improve user experience.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDELALI SERROU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2659
09/24/2026