DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomoyuki et al. (JP201737950A).
In re claim 1, Tomoyuki discloses An electrolytic capacitor comprising:
a stacked body including an anode foil (1 – Figure 2, ¶13) having a dielectric layer (1a – Figure 2, ¶61) formed on a surface thereof (Figure 2), a cathode foil (2 – Figure 1, ¶61), and a separator (3 – Figure 2, ¶61); and
a liquid component with which the stacked body is impregnated (¶21),
wherein the stacked body includes a conductive polymer layer (6, 7 – Figure 2, ¶61) that is formed on the separator (3 – Figure 2) and at least one surface selected from a surface of the dielectric layer (1a – Figure 2) and a surface of the cathode foil,
the conductive polymer layer includes a mixed region in which a first conductive polymer layer formed on the at least one surface (layer where 6,7 is formed on 1a – Figure 2) and a second conductive polymer layer formed on the separator (layer where 6,7 is formed on 3 – Figure 2) are mixed (¶21-23, ¶41-42; Note that [¶29-30] of the Instant Specification notes that the first and second conductive polymer layers may be constitute the same conductive polymer component. Further, note that [¶40-41] of the Instant Specification describes that the liquid medium of the application liquid is removed to form the mixed region.).
an organic compound that does not boil at 100°C under 1 atm is present in the conductive polymer layer (¶41-42; Ethylene glycol is the organic compound that does not boil at 100°C under 1 atm.).
In re claim 2, Tomoyuki discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to claim 1, as explained above. Tomoyuki further discloses wherein the organic compound includes at least one selected from the group consisting of polyhydric alcohols, sulfolane, γ-butyrolactone, and borate esters (¶41; Note that ethylene glycol is a polyhydric alcohol.).
In re claim 3, Tomoyuki discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to claim 1, as explained above. Tomoyuki further discloses the electrolytic capacitor contains, in the mixed region, at least one selected from the group consisting of glycols, glycerin, polyglycerins, and sugar alcohols.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomoyuki et al. (JP201737950A) in view of Andoralov et al. (US Publication 2017/0294273).
In re claim 4, Tomoyuki discloses a method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor that includes an anode foil (1 – Figure 1, Figure 2) having a dielectric layer (1a – Figure 2) formed on a surface thereof (Figure 2), a cathode foil (2 – Figure 1), and a separator (3 – Figure 1, Figure 2), the method comprising, in the following order:
a stacked body formation step of forming a stacked body including by stacking the anode foil, the cathode foil (2 – Figure 1), and the separator (3 – Figure 1) such that the separator is disposed between the anode foil (1 – Figure 1) and the cathode foil (2 – Figure 1) (¶26, ¶40);
a polymer layer formation step of forming a conductive polymer layer (6, 7 – Figure 1) containing a conductive polymer component on the separator (3 – Figure 2) and at least one surface selected from a surface of the dielectric layer (1a – Figure 2) and a surface of the cathode foil (¶27-¶30, ¶41);
and an impregnation step of impregnating the stacked body with a liquid component (¶31, ¶42),
wherein the polymer layer formation step includes:
a step (a) of applying an application liquid that contains the conductive polymer component and a liquid medium to the at least one surface and the separator (3 – Figure 2) (¶28, ¶34, ¶41; Note that an immersion step would include a liquid medium.); and
a step (b) of forming the conductive polymer layer (6, 7 – Figure 2) on the at least one surface (1a – Figure 2) and the separator (3 – Figure 2) by removing a portion of the liquid medium from the applied application liquid (¶30),
the liquid medium includes water (¶17, ¶20, ¶41) and an organic compound that does not boil at 100°C under 1 atm (¶41), and in the step (b), a portion of the liquid medium is removed such that the organic compound remains in the conductive polymer layer (¶30, ¶40).
Tomoyuki does not disclose the polymer layer formation step is performed prior to the stacked body formation step.
Andoralov discloses the polymer layer formation step is performed prior to the stacked body formation step (¶30-31).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the conductive polymer layer formation step and technique as described by Andoralov to more accurately adjust the amount of conductive polymer to achieve a desired balance between thickness and conductivity (¶32: Andoralov).
In re claim 5, Tomoyuki in view of Andoralov discloses the method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor according to claim 4, as explained above. Tomoyuki further discloses wherein the conductive polymer layer includes a first conductive polymer layer (6,7 formed on 1a – Figure 2) formed on the at least one surface (1a – Figure 2) and a second conductive polymer layer (6,7 formed on 3 – Figure 2) formed on the separator (3 – Figure 2), and the conductive polymer layer of the stacked body subjected to the impregnation step includes a mixed region in which the first conductive polymer layer and the second conductive polymer layer are mixed (¶21-23, ¶41-42; Note that [¶29-30] of the Instant Specification notes that the first and second conductive polymer layers may be constitute the same conductive polymer component. Further, note that [¶40-41] of the Instant Specification describes that the liquid medium of the application liquid is removed to form the mixed region.).
In re claim 6, Tomoyuki in view of Andoralov discloses the method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor according to claim 4, as explained above. Tomoyuki further discloses wherein a content of water in the application liquid is 40% by mass or more (¶19, ¶41),
and the steps (a) and (b) are performed such that a mass of the organic compound contained in the conductive polymer layer is larger than a mass of water contained in the conductive polymer layer (¶41; Note that the organic compound is more easily removed than water at 150°C for 30 minutes. Furthermore, the drying step of the Instant Specification [¶106] occurs at 125° C for 5 minutes.)
In re claim 7, Tomoyuki in view of Andoralov discloses the method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor according to claim 4, as explained above. Tomoyuki further discloses wherein the steps (a) and (b) are performed such that a ratio Wc/Wp between a mass Wc of the organic compound remaining in the conductive polymer layer and a mass Wp of the conductive polymer component contained in the conductive polymer layer is 1.0 or more and 20 or less (¶19, ¶41; Note that Tomoyuk discloses Wc/Wp to have a value from 0.5 to 5, which has significant overlap with the claimed limitation range.).
In re claim 8, Tomoyuki in view of Andoralov discloses the method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor according to claim 4, as explained above. Tomoyuki further discloses wherein the organic compound includes at least one selected from the group consisting of polyhydric alcohols, sulfolane, γ -butyrolactone, and borate esters (¶41; Note that ethylene glycol is a polyhydric alcohol.).
In re claim 9, Tomoyuki in view of Andoralov discloses the method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor according to claim 4, as explained above. Tomoyuki further discloses wherein the liquid component includes a protic solvent, and the protic solvent includes at least one selected from the group consisting of glycols, glycerin, polyglycerins, and sugar alcohols (¶21, ¶42; Note that ethylene glycol as the solvent for the electrolytic solution.).
In re claim 10, Tomoyuki in view of Andoralov discloses the method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor according to claim 4, as explained above. Tomoyuki further discloses wherein the liquid component is an electrolyte solution (¶21, ¶42).
In re claim 11, Tomoyuki in view of Andoralov discloses the method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor according to claim 4, as explained above. Tomoyuki further discloses wherein the organic compound and the liquid component includes the same compound (¶41-42; Ethylene glycol is contained as the organic compound and in the electrolytic solution.).
In re claim 13, Tomoyuki in view of Andoralov discloses the method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor according to claim 4, as explained above. Tomoyuki further discloses wherein, in the step (b), a portion of the liquid medium is removed by heating the applied application liquid at a temperature higher than or equal to 100°C (¶41).
In re claim 14, Tomoyuki in view of Andoralov discloses the method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor according to claim 4, as explained above. Tomoyuki further discloses wherein, in the polymer layer formation step, the conductive polymer layer (6,7 – Figure 2) is formed on the surface of the dielectric layer (1a – Figure 2), and the separator (3 – Figure 2) (¶18).
Tomoyuki does not disclose the conductive polymer layer is formed on the surface of the cathode foil.
Andoralov discloses the conductive polymer layer is formed on the surface of the cathode foil (¶32).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the conductive polymer structure of Andoralov to achieve a device having desired conductivity.
In re claim 15, Tomoyuki in view of Andoralov discloses the method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor according to claim 4, as explained above. Tomoyuki further discloses wherein the stacked body is a wound body (Figure 1, ¶33), and in the stacked body formation step, the wound body is formed by winding the anode foil (1 – Figure 1), the cathode foil (2 – Figure 1), and the separator (3 – Figure 1) such that the separator is disposed between the anode foil and the cathode foil (Figure 1).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomoyuki et al. (JP201737950A) in view of Andoralov et al. (US Publication 2017/0294273) and in further view of Kenichi (JP 2017216317A).
In re claim 12, Tomoyuki in view of Andoralov discloses the method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor according to claim 4, as explained above. Tomoyuki further discloses wherein the application liquid contains poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) and polystyrene sulfonic acid (¶41).
Tomoyuki does not explicitly disclose the application liquid has a pH of 1.0 to 6.0.
Kenichi discloses the polymer dispersion has a pH of 1.0 to 6.0 (¶21).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the pH of the polymer dispersion to achieve a device having improved ESR characteristics (Shinichi: ¶21).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomoyuki et al. (JP201737950A) in view of Andoralov et al. (US Publication 2017/0294273) and in further view of Tsubaki et al. (US Publication 2017/0148575).
In re claim 16, Tomoyuki in view of Andoralov discloses the method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor according to claim 4, as explained above. Tomoyuki further discloses wherein the organic compound is a first organic compound (¶40).
Tomoyuki does not disclose after the stacked body formation step and before the impregnation step:
a step of impregnating the conductive polymer layer in the stacked body with a liquid that contains water as a major component and a second organic compound that does not boil at 1000C under 1 atm; and
a step of removing a portion of the liquid with which the conductive polymer layer has been impregnated, such that a mass of the second organic compound contained in the conductive polymer layer is larger than a mass of water contained in the conductive polymer layer.
Tsubaki discloses a step of impregnating the conductive polymer layer in the stacked body with a liquid that contains water as a major component and a second organic compound that does not boil at 1000C under 1 atm (¶52-53, ¶55, ¶99; Note that trimethylolpropane is the second organic compound.); and
a step of removing a portion of the liquid with which the conductive polymer layer has been impregnated, such that a mass of the second organic compound contained in the conductive polymer layer is larger than a mass of water contained in the conductive polymer layer (¶67, ¶69).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the conductive polymer forming methodology to provide for a device having improved ESR characteristics.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takatani (US Publication 2020/0135408) [¶28], Figure 3, [¶41]
/ARUN RAMASWAMY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847