CTFR 18/832,198 CTFR 73131 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4, 8-11 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kupper et al. (US 9388906) . Regarding claim 1, Kupper et al. discloses a joint Fig. 1 comprising: a first part 14 and a second part 12 rotatable relative to each other about a rotation axis 50, the second part having a second surface 46; a dynamic seal 40 (leak proof, Col. 3, Ln. 44) arranged to dynamically seal against the second surface; and a static seal 24 arranged to seal a gap between the first part and the dynamic seal, and arranged to push the dynamic seal against the second surface; wherein the static seal in the gap is exposed to an external region outside the joint Fig. 1 such that the static seal is visible along the entire gap of from the external region. PNG media_image1.png 497 870 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 2, Kupper et al. discloses wherein the second surface 46 is a substantially axial surface with respect to the rotation axis 50. Regarding claims 3 and 16, Kupper et al. discloses wherein the static seal 24 is made of a material that is softer (thermoplastic) than a material (stellite alloy) of the dynamic seal 40. Regarding claims 4 and 17, Kupper et al. discloses wherein the first part 14 partly overlaps the static seal 24. Regarding claim 8, Kupper et al. discloses wherein the first part 14 comprises an opening 54, and wherein the static seal 24 is partly received in the opening. Regarding claim 9, Kupper et al. discloses a forcing element 20 arranged to force the static seal 24 against the dynamic seal 40. Regarding claim 10, Kupper et al. discloses wherein the forcing element 20 is received in the opening 54. Regarding claim 11, Kupper et al. discloses wherein the forcing element 20 comprises a spring. Regarding claim 15, Kupper et al. discloses an industrial device Fig. 1 comprising a joint having a first part 14 and a second part 12 rotatable relative to each other about a rotation axis 50, the second part having a second surface 46; a dynamic seal 40 arranged to dynamically seal against the second surface; and a static seal 24 arranged to seal a gap between the first part and the dynamic seal, and arranged to push the dynamic seal against the second surface; wherein the static seal in the gap is exposed to an external region outside the joint such that the static seal is visible along the entire gap from the external region . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 12 and 13 are allowed. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In view of a review of the prior art by the Examiner; the prior art of record neither teaches nor suggests all of the claimed subject matter of claims 12 and 13 including where a static secondary seal positioned radially inside the static seal with respect to the rotation axis and configured to seal between the first part and the dynamic seal. There is no motivation to modify the prior art references, absent the applicant’s own disclosure, in the manner required by the claims . 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5-7, 14 and 18-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In view of the Applicants arguments and a review of the prior art by the Examiner; the prior art of record neither teaches nor suggests all of the claimed subject matter of claims 5-7, 14 and 18-21 including where an external surface of the static seal is flush with an external surface of the dynamic seal, thus there are no external cavities between the first part and the second part and [t]he joint can therefore be cleaned very efficiently, and the sealing solution comprising the dynamic seal and the static seal can fulfill various hygienic requirements within the food and beverage industry. There is no motivation to modify the prior art references, absent the applicant’s own disclosure, in the manner required by the claims . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 4/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the Kupper reference written description and figures contains no disclosure of the static seal in the gap is exposed to an external region outside the joint such that the static seal is visible along the entire gap from the external region. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Kupper reference clearly illustrates in Fig. 2 that the static seal 24 in the (gap of Annotated Fig. 2, below) is exposed to an external region (at least adjacent 18) outside the joint such that the static seal is visible along the entire gap from the external region. For reference no gap is illustrated in the annotated figure . Applicant further argues that the structural arrangement of seal of the Kupper reference differs from the claimed arrangement. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Kupper reference shows a sealing ring partially received in a seal cavity (similarly to the claimed invention’s seal 42 partially received in a seal cavity 44). However, the Kupper reference seal 24 is still exposed (at least adjacent 18) to an external region. PNG media_image2.png 686 964 media_image2.png Greyscale Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to EUGENE G BYRD whose telephone number is (571)270-1824. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9am-5:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kristina Fulton can be reached at 5712727376. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/832,198 Page 2 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/832,198 Page 3 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/832,198 Page 4 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/832,198 Page 5 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/832,198 Page 6 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/832,198 Page 7 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/832,198 Page 8 Art Unit: 3675 Application/Control Number: 18/832,198 Page 9 Art Unit: 3675