DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. US 20200143611 in view Lowder US 20180094456.
Regarding claim 13, Shin et al. teach A lock assembly for controlling its power state, the lock assembly being configured to control access to a restricted physical space secured by a door, the lock assembly comprising: an access control module configured to selectively control the lock assembly to be in an unlocked state or a locked state, wherein the access control module comprises a processor (Shin et al. US 20200143611 abstract; paragraphs [0002] – [0007]; [0020]-[0026]; [0043]; [045]; [0049]-[0060]; figures 1-12)
In one embodiment, the processor 230 of the door lock apparatus can activate the timing circuit 235 and count the elapsed time. The handling circuit 237 may check the elapsed time to monitor whether the received MST signal is determined to be normal data within a preset operation time. If unlocking approval is determined within a preset time, the processor 230 can control the motor 263 via the handling circuit 237 to unlock the door lock apparatus. In reverse, if unlocking disapproval is determined within a preset time, the processor 230 may change the door lock apparatus from the operation mode to the lock mode. In this case, the processor 230 may control the on-and-off state of the LED module 265 to notify the user of the success or failure of unlocking (Shin et al. par. 60).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the processor 230 equip with the handling circuit 237 as the access control module to unlock the door lock apparatus or lock the door apparatus.
wherein the rotary member comprises a magnet for controlling a state of the magnetically controllable switch such that the processor is unpowered when the connected door handle is in a first state, in which the connected door handle is not being manipulated, and such that the processor is powered when the connected door handle is in a second state, in which a rotational position of the connected door handle indicates intent to open.
Such a door lock apparatus includes a physical trigger mechanism that controls the door to operate only when a magnetic card is inserted or swiped and not to operate when a magnetic card is not inserted. The physical trigger mechanism may be a reed switch sensing a magnetic field or a toggle switch responding to a push action. The physical trigger mechanism is used to wake up the door lock apparatus from the sleep mode by unlocking it through physical triggering (Shin et al. par. 2). In one embodiment, the door lock apparatus 200 may be woken up from the sleep mode in response to electrical triggering based on the MST (magnetic stripe transmission) signal in addition to physical triggering. In the door lock apparatus 200, an MST signal receiving module (e.g., magnetic signal reader circuit) and a wakeup circuit can be electrically connected. The door lock apparatus 200 may activate the wakeup circuit, drive other internal circuits, determine whether the MST signal is normal data for unlocking, and unlock the door (Shin et al. par. 26). In one embodiment, the door lock apparatus 200 may include a magnetic signal reader circuit 210 (e.g., MST signal receiving module) 210 and a processor 230. The processor 230 may include a wakeup circuit 231 electrically connectable to the magnetic signal reader circuit 210, a determination circuit 233 to determine whether the MST signal is data compatible, and a handling circuit 237 to determine whether the MST signal received through the determination circuit is for unlocking and to control the door lock apparatus to unlock the door if necessary (Shin et al. par. 50). In one embodiment, the wakeup circuit 231 may be electrically connected to the physical trigger circuit 211 and the magnetic signal reader circuit 210 and may be activated by physical triggering and electrical triggering. The wakeup circuit 231 may be activated by an interrupt signal from the magnetic signal reader circuit 210 or by a signal from the physical trigger circuit 211, changing the processor 230 of the door lock apparatus 200 from the sleep mode to the operation mode. When the door lock apparatus 200 is changed to the operation mode, the processor 230 of the door lock apparatus can turn on the switch for connecting the internal constituent circuits to interconnect the magnetic signal reader circuit 210, the determination circuit 233, and the handling circuit 237 (Shin et al. par. 53).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the door apparatus is in a lock state as the first state when the lock apparatus is in the sleep mode (unpowered) and transition to the wake up/ operation mode (powered) in response to the MST signal is detected to unlock the door (second state).
Shin et al. do not explicitly teach a magnetically controllable switch configured to control an operative state of the processor based on an applied magnetic field; and a rotary member configured to rotate when a connected door handle rotates.
Lowder teaches a magnetically controllable switch configured to control an operative state of the processor based on an applied magnetic field; (Lowder US 20180094456 abstract; [0026]-[0027]; [0031]-[0040]; [0051]-[0053]; [0083]-[0086]; [0097]-[0103]; [0112]; [0122];figures 1-12;)
In the embodiment shown, these sensors are reed switches that are actuated when a permanent magnet mounted within a nearby moving mechanical lock components moves towards and away from the sensor. Although reed switch sensors are shown, other sensors, such as mechanical switches, Hall effect sensors and the like may also be used. Each moving lock component to be monitored is provided with a magnet to actuate the associated magnetic reed switch sensor monitoring that component. For example, magnet 75 (see FIG. 2) is mounted on spindle hub 42 and moves whenever an associated handle is rotated to retract the latchbolt 142 (Lowder par. 97).
and a rotary member configured to rotate when a connected door handle rotates;
In another aspect the present invention is directed to a method of monitoring a lock comprising providing a lock having a hub rotatable by a handle to open and close a latchbolt, the hub being alternately lockable and unlockable to prevent and permit movement of the hub and latchbolt, and providing a sensor for sensing whether the hub is locked. The method then includes monitoring the sensor to determine whether the hub is locked or unlocked (Lowder par. 26). Each moving lock component to be monitored is provided with a magnet to actuate the associated magnetic reed switch sensor monitoring that component. For example, magnet 75 (see FIG. 2) is mounted on spindle hub 42 and moves whenever an associated handle is rotated to retract the latchbolt 142 (Lowder par. 97). Referring to FIG. 12C, a single embedded PCB 20 assembly of the invention is shown whereby the PCB 20 is configured with a shape, size and thickness that does not interfere with the positioning of the lock's working components residing inside the housing 110 and allows the PCB to pass around the various openings in the mortise lock. These working components residing inside the mortise lock include components connected to handle actuators to throw the dead bolt 41 and the various pivots supported by the cover plate for components that move within the mortise lock. For instance, the working components may include, but are not limited to, a control hub 132, spindle hubs 134, 136, spindle openings 138, a latch bolt 142 having a latch bolt tail 140, a shaft 150 turned by a rotatable element 148, a latch retract lever 162, a lock cylinder opening that may rotate the control hub 132 and the like (Lowder par. 122).
According to the cited passages and figures examiner interprets the rotary member include spindle hub and rotatable element 148 as mention in the figure 12C.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute a reed switch sensor as taught by Lowder reference into the lock assembly of the Shin et al. reference. The result of the substitution would be predictable for using the reed switch actuated by a magnet on the moving lock component.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Shin et al. and Lowder disclose The lock assembly according to Claim 13, wherein the magnetically controllable switch is configured to control power supply to the processor based on the applied magnetic field.
Such a door lock apparatus includes a physical trigger mechanism that controls the door to operate only when a magnetic card is inserted or swiped and not to operate when a magnetic card is not inserted. The physical trigger mechanism may be a reed switch sensing a magnetic field or a toggle switch responding to a push action. The physical trigger mechanism is used to wake up the door lock apparatus from the sleep mode by unlocking it through physical triggering (Shin et al. par. 2). In one embodiment, the door lock apparatus 200 may be woken up from the sleep mode in response to electrical triggering based on the MST (magnetic stripe transmission) signal in addition to physical triggering. In the door lock apparatus 200, an MST signal receiving module (e.g., magnetic signal reader circuit) and a wakeup circuit can be electrically connected. The door lock apparatus 200 may activate the wakeup circuit, drive other internal circuits, determine whether the MST signal is normal data for unlocking, and unlock the door (Shin et al. par. 26). The MST module 140 can apply voltages of different directions to both ends of the coil antenna according to data (e.g., 0 or 1 bit) to control the direction of the current flowing in the coil antenna. The MST signal (the magnetic field signal generated by the current flowing through the coil) emitted by the coil antenna can generate an induced electromotive force in a manner similar to the magnetic field signal generated between the magnetic card and the door lock apparatus (Shin et al. par. 43).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Shin et al. and Lowder disclose The lock assembly according to Claim 13, wherein the magnetically controllable switch is configured to transmit a wakeup signal to the processor based on the applied magnetic field.
Such a door lock apparatus includes a physical trigger mechanism that controls the door to operate only when a magnetic card is inserted or swiped and not to operate when a magnetic card is not inserted. The physical trigger mechanism may be a reed switch sensing a magnetic field or a toggle switch responding to a push action. The physical trigger mechanism is used to wake up the door lock apparatus from the sleep mode by unlocking it through physical triggering (Shin et al. par. 2). In one embodiment, the door lock apparatus 200 may be woken up from the sleep mode in response to electrical triggering based on the MST (magnetic stripe transmission) signal in addition to physical triggering. In the door lock apparatus 200, an MST signal receiving module (e.g., magnetic signal reader circuit) and a wakeup circuit can be electrically connected. The door lock apparatus 200 may activate the wakeup circuit, drive other internal circuits, determine whether the MST signal is normal data for unlocking, and unlock the door (Shin et al. par. 26). The MST module 140 can apply voltages of different directions to both ends of the coil antenna according to data (e.g., 0 or 1 bit) to control the direction of the current flowing in the coil antenna. The MST signal (the magnetic field signal generated by the current flowing through the coil) emitted by the coil antenna can generate an induced electromotive force in a manner similar to the magnetic field signal generated between the magnetic card and the door lock apparatus (Shin et al. par. 43).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Shin et al. and Lowder disclose The lock assembly according to Claim 13, wherein the magnetically controllable switch is in a blocking state when the connected door handle is in the first state, and the magnetically controllable switch is in a conducting state when the connected door handle is in the second state.
The hub may have a slot therein, and the lock may further include a locking member moveable into and out of engagement with the hub slot alternately to prevent and permit movement of the hub and latchbolt. The sensor may sense the position of the locking member and the step of monitoring the sensor may be to determine whether the locking member is in or out of engagement with the hub slot. There may be further included a magnet connected to the locking member and moveable therewith between a first position wherein the locking member is in engagement with the hub slot and a second position wherein the locking member is out of engagement with the hub slot. The sensor may sense the position of the locking member magnet. The sensor may comprise a reed switch or a Hall effect sensor (Lowder par. 27).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the first position as the first state and the second position as the second state.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Shin et al. and Lowder disclose The lock assembly according to Claim 13, wherein the magnet is provided to align with the magnetically controllable switch when the connected door handle is in its second state.
The hub may have a slot therein, and the lock may further include a locking member moveable into and out of engagement with the hub slot alternately to prevent and permit movement of the hub and latchbolt. The sensor may sense the position of the locking member and the step of monitoring the sensor may be to determine whether the locking member is in or out of engagement with the hub slot. There may be further included a magnet connected to the locking member and moveable therewith between a first position wherein the locking member is in engagement with the hub slot and a second position wherein the locking member is out of engagement with the hub slot. The sensor may sense the position of the locking member magnet. The sensor may comprise a reed switch or a Hall effect sensor (Lowder par. 27).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the second position as the second state.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Shin et al. and Lowder disclose The lock assembly according to Claim 13, wherein the access control module is configured to evaluate access based on wireless communication with an electronic key.
As show in the figure 3 of Shin et al. reference, the electronic device 100 (the electronic key) is in wireless communicate with the door lock apparatus 200.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Shin et al. and Lowder disclose The lock assembly according to Claim 13, wherein the magnetically controllable switch is a Reed switch.
The hub may have a slot therein, and the lock may further include a locking member moveable into and out of engagement with the hub slot alternately to prevent and permit movement of the hub and latchbolt. The sensor may sense the position of the locking member and the step of monitoring the sensor may be to determine whether the locking member is in or out of engagement with the hub slot. There may be further included a magnet connected to the locking member and moveable therewith between a first position wherein the locking member is in engagement with the hub slot and a second position wherein the locking member is out of engagement with the hub slot. The sensor may sense the position of the locking member magnet. The sensor may comprise a reed switch or a Hall effect sensor (Lowder par. 27).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Shin et al. and Lowder disclose The lock assembly according to Claim 13, wherein the magnetically controllable switch is a Hall detector.
The hub may have a slot therein, and the lock may further include a locking member moveable into and out of engagement with the hub slot alternately to prevent and permit movement of the hub and latchbolt. The sensor may sense the position of the locking member and the step of monitoring the sensor may be to determine whether the locking member is in or out of engagement with the hub slot. There may be further included a magnet connected to the locking member and moveable therewith between a first position wherein the locking member is in engagement with the hub slot and a second position wherein the locking member is out of engagement with the hub slot. The sensor may sense the position of the locking member magnet. The sensor may comprise a reed switch or a Hall effect sensor (Lowder par. 27).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Shin et al. and Lowder disclose The lock assembly according to Claim 13, wherein the access control module is configured to be provided on a restricted side of the door.
In one embodiment, in the case of a company, a hotel, an efficiency apartment, an accommodation facility, or the like, the access control management server 300 can manage a plurality of door lock apparatuses. For example, the access control management server 300 of a hotel can, based on the accommodation information (e.g., room number, and date of stay) of a user, provide digital card key information identical to the data of a magnetic card matching the door lock apparatus 200 of the accommodation room to the user's electronic device 100. Here, the digital card key information may be the same as the track information of a magnetic card matching the door lock apparatus 200 (Shin et al. par. 28).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Shin et al. and Lowder disclose The lock assembly according to Claim 13, further comprising the connected door handle.
As show in the figure 1 of Shin et al. reference the door lock apparatus included the door handle.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Shin et al. and Lowder disclose The lock assembly according to Claim 13, wherein the access control module is configured to determine that tampering occurs by detecting that the magnetically controlled switch repetitively shifts between a conductive state and a blocking state.
Referring to FIG. 5, the lock and method determine if the hub to be turned by the door handle is actually locked or unlocked, as measured by a sensor adjacent the hub and monitored by the control unit. In the example of the mortise lock, this determines if tampering has occurred to disengage the locking member from the hub slot. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 5, sensor 68 is used to monitor locking piece 76, which translates in and out of engagement with a slot 43 in spindle hub 42 to lock and unlock the lock mechanism 112. Locking piece 76 is translated by an actuator assembly including a solenoid or motor, such as motor 74, upon receiving a signal from a control unit 300 in an external device. The control unit may be a remote access control panel or the controller of an integrated locking device. As shown in FIG. 5, when the mortise lock cover plate 56 is installed, sensor 68 protrudes into close proximity with magnet 77 below locking piece 76. When locking piece 76 is translated to block the rotation of spindle hub 42 (lock is secured), magnet 77 activates sensor 68. Conversely, when locking piece 76 is translated to permit spindle hub 42 to rotate (lock is unsecured), sensor 68 is not activated (Lowder par. 99). Sensor 68 may be a form-C double throw magnetic reed switch sensor with three electrical contacts. Sensor 68's output state may be configured per design requirements to show a “normally open” or “normally closed” state and the output state will only change due to the translation of locking piece 76 as a result of a signal sent from an external control unit. Accordingly, sensor 68's output may be monitored by external control unit 300 which can directly detect an attempt to tamper with the lock assembly by manually and/or mechanically translating locking piece 76 to gain entry, thereby triggering an external alarm 310 in the control unit. In normal operation, external control unit 300 sends a signal to activate the solenoid or motor to translate locking piece 76. If the control unit 300 has not sent a signal to activate the solenoid or motor, a change in output state of sensor 68 will trigger an external alarm indicating that tampering has occurred. Additionally, the circuit containing sensor 68 may be connected in series with a sensor detecting the presence of electrical connector key 210 in the lock assembly. The sensor detecting the presence of connector key 210 may be integrated within external control unit 300, or integrated within the lock assembly 112 or connector key 210 itself. If electrical connector key 210 is removed from the lock assembly, the control unit 300 will detect a change in output state from the electrical connector key sensor and/or sensor 68, again triggering an external alarm. This tamper-detection circuitry may be designed in series with other sensors/switches, such as a sensor 410 that detects the removal of a covering trim component, integrated reader, keypad, escutcheon or other external lock member 400, as shown in FIG. 12B, in accordance with the object of the present invention (Lowder par. 100).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the locking piece 76 translates in and out of engagement with a slot 43 in the spindle hub 42 to lock and unlock the lock mechanism 112 as the repetitively shift between locking and unlocking position that triggering the tampering occurred.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. US 20200143611 in view Lowder US 20180094456 and further in view of Burdenko US 20110291846.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Shin et al. and Lowder teach all the limitation in the claim 13.
The combination of Shin et al. and Lowder do not explicitly teach The lock assembly according to Claim 13, further comprising a main power supply and an auxiliary power supply, wherein the magnetically controllable switch is configured to control power supply from the main power supply to the processor based on the applied magnetic field, and the auxiliary power supply is chargeable by the main power supply to power the processor when the main power supply is disconnected from the processor.
Burdenko teaches The lock assembly according to Claim 13, further comprising a main power supply and an auxiliary power supply, wherein the magnetically controllable switch is configured to control power supply from the main power supply to the processor based on the applied magnetic field, (Burdenko US 20110291846 abstract; paragraphs [0005]-[0008]; [0050] -[0062]; [0071]-[0072]; [0104 figures 1-12)
In an aspect, the sensor component 422 can be associated with (e.g., connected to) the primary power source 426 and secondary power source 428, wherein the sensor component 422 can monitor power conditions associated with the primary power source 426 and secondary power source 428 in relation to the lock component 402. As desired, the sensor component 422 can monitor the secondary power source 428 continuously or periodically (e.g., regardless of whether the secondary power source 428 is being used), or to reduce power consumption, the sensor component 422 can monitor the secondary power source 428 (e.g., continuously or periodically) only when the secondary power source 428 is being utilized (e.g., when the lock component 402 is experiencing a power off condition with respect to the primary power source 426). When the sensor component 422 detects a power off condition is about to occur between the lock component 402 and primary power source 426, the sensor component 422 can automatically transmit a signal (e.g., power off signal) to the operation controller component 424 to indicate that a power off condition has been detected (Burdenko par. 54).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the secondary power source 428 as the auxiliary power supply.
and the auxiliary power supply is chargeable by the main power supply to power the processor when the main power supply is disconnected from the processor.
In an aspect, while the power off condition associated with the primary power source 426 exists, the sensor component 422 can continue to monitor power conditions between the lock component 402 and the primary power source 426. When the sensor component 422 senses that a power on condition is re-established between the lock component 402 and primary power source 426, the sensor component 422 can transmit a power on signal to the operation controller component 424, and, in response to receiving the power on signal from the sensor component 422, the operation controller component 424 can facilitate switching from the secondary power source 428 to the primary power source 426 so that the primary power source 426 is again providing power to the lock component 402 to facilitate enabling the lock component 402 to perform desired operations. In an embodiment, if the secondary power source 428 is a re-chargeable battery, the operation controller component 426 can facilitate enabling the secondary power source 428 to receive power from the primary power source 426 to re-charge the secondary power source 428 (Burdenko par. 58).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute a primary power and secondary power as taught by Burdenko reference into the modified lock assembly system of the Shin et al. and Lowder reference. The result of the substitution would be predictable for design desire to maintain security with alternative using power between the primary power and the secondary power.
Conclusion
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686