DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 07/23/2024 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the references are submitted on the IDS filed 07/23/2024 that has been considered. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans et al. (WO2018/033718, disclosed by applicant) in view of Rodriguez et al. (US Patent Pub. 2004/0097599, disclosed by applicant).
Evans et al. disclose an anti-microbial composition comprising a quaternary ammonium compound at a concentration of 0.01 to 5% by weight or 0.08 to about 0.5% or 800 ppm to about 5000 ppm, which meets the limitation component (A) (p. 7, lines 13-15 and p. 11, line 27). Evans et al. disclose the composition comprises alcohols, including branched at a concentration of 1% to about 50% (p. 13, lines 25 and p. 14, lines 15-20). Evans et al. disclose the composition further comprises surfactants such as non-ionic or amphoteric (p. 14, line 24). Evans et al. disclose the composition can be used on humans and animals and hard surfaces (p. 17, line 25 and p. 19, line 4). Evans et al. disclose the composition is effective against a wide range of organisms, including gram negative and gram positive bacteria, fungi, yeasts, viruses and some spore forming bacteria (p. 20, lines 25-29). Evans et al. disclose a method of reducing or controlling the formation of microbial colonies on a surface (reference claim 29).
Evans et al. differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose an aliphatic alcohol.
Rodriguez et al. disclose an antibacterial and antifungine composition comprising a carrier base and at least one branched alcohol in a concentration higher than 0.0005% (Abstract).
It is prima facie obviousness to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. Also, established precedent holds that it is generally obvious to add known ingredients to known compositions with the expectation of obtaining their known function. MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used a branched aliphatic alcohols of varying carbon groups in the composition of Evans, since they are known for antibacterial compositions.
It would have been obvious to have varied the amount of components A and B to have reached the claimed ratios by routine experimentation.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612