Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/23/2024, 9/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 set forth in the preliminary amendment submitted 7/23/2024 form the basis of the present examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20 Line 5-6 recites, “reduction factor of the grounding device as a function of the grounding impedance and the total impedance” should read, “reduction factor of the grounding device as a function of the grounding impedance and the total impedance.”. There should be a period at the end of the sentence.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 11, 13-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Rogers in the US Patent Number US 5365179 A.
Regarding claim 1, Rogers teaches a method for determining a grounding impedance of a grounding device [G1/G2/G3] of a power engineering installation (metallic structural building members) (apparatus, systems and methods for measuring ground path impedance at frequencies above dc, and further, for evaluating the quality and nature of a measured ground path; Column 3 Line 29-32; a method of measuring the impedance of ground paths at frequencies above dc using a first, second, and third ground paths to earth; Column 3 Line 33-36; Referring to FIG. 1, an apparatus 100 for measuring impedance of a ground path; Column 5 Line 66-67), comprising:
determining at least two impedance values [Z12] in different frequencies on the grounding device [G1] (grounding rods G1/ G2/ and G3 in Figure 1 as the grounding devices) (The ground paths may be ones that extend to the grounding rods along metallic structural building members, pipes or conductive cables. Grounding rods G1, G2, and G3 are preferably spaced apart at least 18 feet (6 meters) from each other; Column 8 Line 59-63; The ground impedance measurements of the present invention are made at numerous frequencies, such as at 400 different frequencies over a desired frequency range, such as between 5 Hz and 1 or 10 MHz or more; Column 7 Line 58-61; Therefore at least two impedance values on the grounding device at different frequencies between 5 Hz and 1 or 10 MHz or more), while the grounding device [G1] is electrically connected to at least one further grounding device [G2 and G3] of at least one further power engineering installation (As illustrated in FIG. 1, apparatus 100 is measuring the impedance of three ground paths, having impedances Z1, Z2, and Z3, which extend between points F1, F2, and F3, located, for example, on the third floor of a facility, through grounding rods G1, G2, and G3, to earth 50; Column 8 Line 54-59; Also, apparatus 100 includes two test leads A and B, and preferably three additional leads C-E and a switch S1 for connecting leads A and B selectively through leads C-E to test points or terminals F1-F3.; Column 6 Line 8-12; Claim 33. The apparatus of claim 28 wherein the second circuit and determining means further comprise a microcomputer including a processing means for calculating the ground to earth impedance vector of one of a first, second, and third test ground paths at each of the first plurality of frequencies based on the reflected power measured across each two of the first, second, and third ground paths connected in series, at each of the first plurality of frequencies; Figure 1 shows the grounding device [G1] is electrically connected to at least one further grounding device [G2 and G3]),
wherein each of the at least two impedance values [Z12] is determined with a respective test current at a specified frequency (With the source impedance thus known, a small current of about 20 ma can be injected into the ground circuit path at the test points, at a known voltage level, such as between about 0.5 and 1.0 volts, at each frequency to be measured, so that the input power is known; Column 8 Line 29-34) [at different frequencies between 5 Hz and 1 or 10 MHz or more], wherein the frequencies of the respective test currents are different (To perform the measurement, leads A and B are connected to the two ground paths to be measured, for example, from ground circuit test points F1 and F2, and network analyzer 400, as illustrated in FIG. 1. Network analyzer 400 is then operated under software control to select one frequency in the frequency sample set, to transmit a predetermined signal, such as a current of 20 ma at 0.6 volts, at that frequency, down the transmission line formed by leads A and B, and to calculate the impedance vector at its output as a function of the signal reflected back to network analyzer 400. Network analyzer 400 is then adjusted, by a program step to select another frequency in the sample set, generate the predetermined signal, and calculate the impedance vector based on the reflection coefficient for that frequency. This process continues over the selected frequency sample set, such that the test frequency range is swept, by the frequency being sequentially indexed in predetermined steps, through the plurality of discrete frequencies; Column 9 Line 49-68; the network analyzer 400 injects a small known current, such as 20 ma at a known voltage, such as 0.6 volts, into one of the terminals Z1, or Z2, for each of the frequency points that is selected within the frequency range of interest; Column 9 Line 5-10),
determining at least one parameter of a model (Figure 3A, 3B shows the graphical model of the impedance vector as the parameter) (After calibrating the system for the leads A-E, connectors and switch S1, as already discussed, the network analyzer 400 injects a small known current, such as 20 ma at a known voltage, such as 0.6 volts, into one of the terminals Z1, or Z2, for each of the frequency points that is selected within the frequency range of interest. Further, it measures the reflected voltage, to obtain the reflection coefficient, and, as will be discussed, computes the impedance Z12. This is repeated using points F1 and F3 to obtain impedance Z13 at the same frequencies, and it also is repeated using points F2 and F3, to obtain Z23. Thus, the impedance vector between each of the three pairs of ground paths is obtained for the frequency range of interest.; Column 9 Line 4-17; Referring to FIGS. 1, 3A, 3B, and 3C, the calibrated impedance vectors measured between test points F1 and F2 of ground paths Z1 and Z2 in a sample installation are illustrated. Once leads A and B are respectively connected to ground paths Z1 and Z2, the software routine described below is initiated to perform the measurements of the impedance between the two ground paths over four hundred discrete frequencies from 100 KHz to 1 MHz, adjust the determination if necessary to correct for the impedance of the test leads, and record the data on the floppy disks and display the data in accordance with instructions provided by the operator. FIG. 3A illustrates the impedance vector array as magnitude in dB along the left ordinate and the phase angle in degrees along the right ordinate of the measured actual impedance vector versus frequency along the abscissa, curve M being a plot of the impedance magnitude (dB), while curve P is a plot of the phase angle; Column 11 Line 24-41; Figure 3A-7B shows at least one parameter of a model which represents the grounding device [G1] and the at least one further grounding device [G2/G3]), which represents the grounding device [G1] and the at least one further grounding device [G2/G3], as a function of the at least two impedance values (To perform the measurement, leads A and B are connected to the two ground paths to be measured, for example, from ground circuit test points F1 and F2, and network analyzer 400, as illustrated in FIG. 1. Network analyzer 400 is then operated under software control to select one frequency in the frequency sample set, to transmit a predetermined signal, such as a current of 20 ma at 0.6 volts, at that frequency, down the transmission line formed by leads A and B, and to calculate the impedance vector at its output as a function of the signal reflected back to network analyzer 400. Network analyzer 400 is then adjusted, by a program step to select another frequency in the sample set, generate the predetermined signal, and calculate the impedance vector based on the reflection coefficient for that frequency. This process continues over the selected frequency sample set, such that the test frequency range is swept, by the frequency being sequentially indexed in predetermined steps, through the plurality of discrete frequencies; Column 9 Line 49-68; Following acquisition of the measured impedance vector Z12 array for the frequency sample set, leads A and B are then connected to another pair of ground circuit test points, e.g., F2 and F3, and the next set of impedance vectors Z23 for the same frequency sample set is similarly obtained. At the conclusion of those measurements, leads A and B are connected to the third pair of ground circuit test points, e.g., F1 and F3, and those impedance measurements are acquired. As the impedance vector measurements are obtained, they are provided to minicomputer 200 for further processing as described below; Column 10 Line 1-12),
wherein the at least one parameter comprises an approximate value for the grounding impedance [Z1] of the grounding device [G1] (The foregoing connection of leads A and B to F1 and F2, then to F2 and F3 and then to F1 and F3, is produced by switch S1, preferably operated by software commands. Of course, switch S1 could be omitted and leads A and B could be manually connected to two of test points F1, F2 and F3 at a time.
Once all of the impedance vector arrays are obtained for each pair of ground paths, they may be used to derive the ground path impedances for any or all of Z1, Z2, and Z3. This is accomplished by substituting the complex impedance term Z=R+jX for the resistance term R in the known three-point measurement equations for dc resistance, as follows:
(29) Z1=R1+jX1=(Z12+Z13-Z23)/2
(30) Z2=R2+jX2=(Z12+Z23-Z13)/2
(31) Z3=R3+jX3=(Z13+Z23-Z12)/2; wherein the "Z" terms are the complex impedances, each including a real component "R" and an imaginary component "X"; Column 10 Line 13-35).
Regarding claim 2, Rogers teaches a method,
wherein the grounding device [G1] of the power engineering installation comprises a grounding network (grounding path as the grounding network G1, G2, G3 in the earth in Figure 1) or a meshed grounding electrode (As illustrated in FIG. 1, apparatus 100 is measuring the impedance of three ground paths, having impedances Z1, Z2, and Z3, which extend between points F1, F2, and F3, located, for example, on the third floor of a facility, through grounding rods G1, G2, and G3, to earth 50; Column 8 Line 54-59; Figure 1 shows the grounding device [G1] of the power engineering installation comprises a grounding network in the earth).
Regarding claim 3, Rogers teaches a method,
wherein, in the model (impedance graph as the model in Figure 3A to 7A), the approximate value for the grounding impedance [Z1, Z2, Z3] is a local ground resistance [R] of the grounding device [G1] (The foregoing connection of leads A and B to F1 and F2, then to F2 and F3 and then to F1 and F3, is produced by switch S1, preferably operated by software commands. Of course, switch S1 could be omitted and leads A and B could be manually connected to two of test points F1, F2 and F3 at a time.
Once all of the impedance vector arrays are obtained for each pair of ground paths, they may be used to derive the ground path impedances for any or all of Z1, Z2, and Z3. This is accomplished by substituting the complex impedance term Z=R+jX for the resistance term R in the known three-point measurement equations for dc resistance, as follows:
(29) Z1=R1+jX1=(Z12+Z13-Z23)/2
(30) Z2=R2+jX2=(Z12+Z23-Z13)/2
(31) Z3=R3+jX3=(Z13+Z23-Z12)/2; wherein the "Z" terms are the complex impedances, each including a real component "R" and an imaginary component "X"; Column 10 Line 13-35).
Regarding claim 5, Rogers teaches a method,
wherein the power engineering installation (Figure 1 grounding G1 with all the instruments) and the at least one further power engineering installation (Figure 1 grounding G2 with all the instruments) are electrically connected to one another via a ground wire (Figure 1 shows the power engineering installation (Figure 1 grounding G1 with all the instruments) and the at least one further power engineering installation (Figure 1 grounding G2 with all the instruments) are electrically connected to one another via a ground wire; For the second type of measurement, the measurement is made at three points remotely located from the grounding rods, such as at a remote point on each of three steel columns or beams, or pipes or cables, that are used as electrical grounds, each such steel column or the like being connected to a different grounding rod; Column 7 Line 35-40; Claim 19. A system for measuring the impedance vector of a first ground path to earth at frequencies above dc comprising: a second and third ground paths to earth; a first circuit for providing a first signal across the first ground path and one of the second and third ground paths to earth, the signal having a frequency selected from among a defined range of frequencies; a second circuit for monitoring a second signal across the first ground path to earth and the other of the second and third ground paths to earth in response to each first signal; a third circuit for determining the impedance vector of the first ground path to earth in response to the first and second signals; and a fourth circuit for controlling the first circuit to provide the first signal at each of a plurality of frequencies in the defined frequency range, one at a time, so that the third circuit determines the impedance vector at each of the first plurality of frequencies).
Regarding claim 6, Rogers teaches a method,
wherein, in the model [Figure 2], a total impedance [Z1/ Z2/Z3] of the at least one further grounding device [G2/G3] is represented by a series connection [R+jX] of a reactance [X] and a resistance [R] (The foregoing connection of leads A and B to F1 and F2, then to F2 and F3 and then to F1 and F3, is produced by switch S1, preferably operated by software commands. Of course, switch S1 could be omitted and leads A and B could be manually connected to two of test points F1, F2 and F3 at a time. Once all of the impedance vector arrays are obtained for each pair of ground paths, they may be used to derive the ground path impedances for any or all of Z1, Z2, and Z3. This is accomplished by substituting the complex impedance term Z=R+jX for the resistance term R in the known three-point measurement equations for dc resistance, as follows:
(29) Z1=R1+jX1=(Z12+Z13-Z23)/2
(30) Z2=R2+jX2=(Z12+Z23-Z13)/2
(31) Z3=R3+jX3=(Z13+Z23-Z12)/2; wherein the "Z" terms are the complex impedances, each including a real component "R" and an imaginary component "X"; Column 10 Line 13-35; Referring to FIG. 2, the model for the ground impedance on which the present invention is based includes the network of resistor Rac in series with inductor L; Column 16 Line 39-41).
.
Regarding claim 7, Rogers teaches a method,
wherein the reactance and the resistance represent a sum of inductances [L] and capacitances [C] of a chain conductor formed by the ground wire and the at least one further grounding device [G1/G2/G3] (Referring to FIG. 2, the model for the ground impedance on which the present invention is based includes the network of resistor Rac in series with inductor L, which are in parallel with Capacitor C, wherein L is the inductance of the ground strap or wire, C is the capacitance of the structure being grounded to the surroundings, and Rac is the sum of the resistance of the earth and the resistance of the ground rod and strap; Column 16 Line 39-47).
Regarding claim 11, Rogers teaches a method,
wherein, to determine a respective impedance value [Z1, Z2, Z3] of the at
least two impedance values, the respective test current is fed into the grounding device
[G1, G2, G3] of the power engineering installation [100] at the specified frequency by means of an auxiliary ground electrode [A, B, C, D, E] and a respective voltage is measured between the grounding device [G1, G2, G3] and a probe [F1, F2, F3] arranged spaced apart from the grounding device [G1, G2, G3] (Referring to FIG. 1, an apparatus 100 for measuring impedance of a ground path in accordance with the present invention is illustrated. Apparatus 100 includes a minicomputer 200, including a microprocessor (not shown), a keyboard 210, at least one floppy disk drive 220, memory (not shown) and suitable software programming (described below in connection with FIG. 8 and the software appendix), and a display device 300, a network analyzer 400, an S-Parameter Test Set 500, and a Reflectance-Transmission Test Kit 600. Also, apparatus 100 includes two test leads A and B, and preferably three additional leads C-E and a switch S1 for connecting leads A and B selectively through leads C-E to test points or terminals F1-F3; Column 5 Line 66-67 & Column 6 Line 1-12),
wherein the respective impedance value is determined as a function of the respective test current, the specified frequency of the respective test current and the voltage measured in each case (With the source impedance thus known, a small current of about 20 ma can be injected into the ground circuit path at the test points, at a known voltage level, such as between about 0.5 and 1.0 volts, at each frequency to be measured, so that the input power is known; Column 8 Line 29-34; the network analyzer 400 injects a small known current, such as 20 ma at a known voltage, such as 0.6 volts, into one of the terminals Z1, or Z2, for each of the frequency points that is selected within the frequency range of interest; Column 9 Line 5-10).
Regarding claim 13, Rogers teaches a method,
wherein the method is performed automatically by a test apparatus [100] for the power engineering installation (Referring to FIG. 1, an apparatus 100 for measuring impedance of a ground path; Column 5 Line 66-67; As illustrated in FIG. 1, apparatus 100 is measuring the impedance of three ground paths, having impedances Z1, Z2, and Z3, which extend between points F1, F2, and F3, located, for example, on the third floor of a facility, through grounding rods G1, G2, and G3, to earth 50; Column 8 Line 54-59).
Regarding claim 14, Rogers teaches a device for determining a grounding impedance of a grounding device [G1/G2/G3] of a power engineering installation (metallic structural building members) (apparatus, systems and methods for measuring ground path impedance at frequencies above dc, and further, for evaluating the quality and nature of a measured ground path; Column 3 Line 29-32; a method of measuring the impedance of ground paths at frequencies above dc using a first, second, and third ground paths to earth; Column 3 Line 33-36; Referring to FIG. 1, an apparatus 100 for measuring impedance of a ground path; Column 5 Line 66-67), comprising:
a measuring device [400] in Figure 1(Network Analyzer 400 may be any device for determining the real and imaginary impedance components of a network applied to analyzer 400; Column 6 Line 26-28) which is configured to determine at least two impedance values [Z12] on the grounding device [G1] (grounding rods G1/ G2/ and G3 in Figure 1 as the grounding devices) (The ground paths may be ones that extend to the grounding rods along metallic structural building members, pipes or conductive cables. Grounding rods G1, G2, and G3 are preferably spaced apart at least 18 feet (6 meters) from each other; Column 8 Line 59-63; The ground impedance measurements of the present invention are made at numerous frequencies, such as at 400 different frequencies over a desired frequency range, such as between 5 Hz and 1 or 10 MHz or more; Column 7 Line 58-61; Therefore at least two impedance values on the grounding device at different frequencies between 5 Hz and 1 or 10 MHz or more), while the grounding device [G1] is electrically connected to at least one further grounding device [G2 and G3] of at least one further power engineering installation (As illustrated in FIG. 1, apparatus 100 is measuring the impedance of three ground paths, having impedances Z1, Z2, and Z3, which extend between points F1, F2, and F3, located, for example, on the third floor of a facility, through grounding rods G1, G2, and G3, to earth 50; Column 8 Line 54-59; Also, apparatus 100 includes two test leads A and B, and preferably three additional leads C-E and a switch S1 for connecting leads A and B selectively through leads C-E to test points or terminals F1-F3.; Column 6 Line 8-12; Claim 33. The apparatus of claim 28 wherein the second circuit and determining means further comprise a microcomputer including a processing means for calculating the ground to earth impedance vector of one of a first, second, and third test ground paths at each of the first plurality of frequencies based on the reflected power measured across each two of the first, second, and third ground paths connected in series, at each of the first plurality of frequencies; Figure 1 shows the grounding device [G1] is electrically connected to at least one further grounding device [G2 and G3]),
wherein each of the at least two impedance values [Z12] is determined with a respective test current at a specified frequency (With the source impedance thus known, a small current of about 20 ma can be injected into the ground circuit path at the test points, at a known voltage level, such as between about 0.5 and 1.0 volts, at each frequency to be measured, so that the input power is known; Column 8 Line 29-34) [at different frequencies between 5 Hz and 1 or 10 MHz or more], wherein the frequencies of the respective test currents are different (To perform the measurement, leads A and B are connected to the two ground paths to be measured, for example, from ground circuit test points F1 and F2, and network analyzer 400, as illustrated in FIG. 1. Network analyzer 400 is then operated under software control to select one frequency in the frequency sample set, to transmit a predetermined signal, such as a current of 20 ma at 0.6 volts, at that frequency, down the transmission line formed by leads A and B, and to calculate the impedance vector at its output as a function of the signal reflected back to network analyzer 400. Network analyzer 400 is then adjusted, by a program step to select another frequency in the sample set, generate the predetermined signal, and calculate the impedance vector based on the reflection coefficient for that frequency. This process continues over the selected frequency sample set, such that the test frequency range is swept, by the frequency being sequentially indexed in predetermined steps, through the plurality of discrete frequencies; Column 9 Line 49-68; the network analyzer 400 injects a small known current, such as 20 ma at a known voltage, such as 0.6 volts, into one of the terminals Z1, or Z2, for each of the frequency points that is selected within the frequency range of interest; Column 9 Line 5-10),
a processing device [200] (minicomputer 200 as the processing device) (Referring to FIG. 1, an apparatus 100 for measuring impedance of a ground path in accordance with the present invention is illustrated. Apparatus 100 includes a minicomputer 200, including a microprocessor (not shown); Column 5 Line 66-67 & Column 6 Line 1-3) which is configured to determine at least one parameter of a model (Figure 3A, 3B shows the graphical model of the impedance vector as the parameter) (After calibrating the system for the leads A-E, connectors and switch S1, as already discussed, the network analyzer 400 injects a small known current, such as 20 ma at a known voltage, such as 0.6 volts, into one of the terminals Z1, or Z2, for each of the frequency points that is selected within the frequency range of interest. Further, it measures the reflected voltage, to obtain the reflection coefficient, and, as will be discussed, computes the impedance Z12. This is repeated using points F1 and F3 to obtain impedance Z13 at the same frequencies, and it also is repeated using points F2 and F3, to obtain Z23. Thus, the impedance vector between each of the three pairs of ground paths is obtained for the frequency range of interest.; Column 9 Line 4-17; Referring to FIGS. 1, 3A, 3B, and 3C, the calibrated impedance vectors measured between test points F1 and F2 of ground paths Z1 and Z2 in a sample installation are illustrated. Once leads A and B are respectively connected to ground paths Z1 and Z2, the software routine described below is initiated to perform the measurements of the impedance between the two ground paths over four hundred discrete frequencies from 100 KHz to 1 MHz, adjust the determination if necessary to correct for the impedance of the test leads, and record the data on the floppy disks and display the data in accordance with instructions provided by the operator. FIG. 3A illustrates the impedance vector array as magnitude in dB along the left ordinate and the phase angle in degrees along the right ordinate of the measured actual impedance vector versus frequency along the abscissa, curve M being a plot of the impedance magnitude (dB), while curve P is a plot of the phase angle; Column 11 Line 24-41; Figure 3A-7B shows at least one parameter of a model which represents the grounding device [G1] and the at least one further grounding device [G2/G3]), which represents the grounding device [G1] and the at least one further grounding device [G2/G3], as a function of the at least two impedance values (To perform the measurement, leads A and B are connected to the two ground paths to be measured, for example, from ground circuit test points F1 and F2, and network analyzer 400, as illustrated in FIG. 1. Network analyzer 400 is then operated under software control to select one frequency in the frequency sample set, to transmit a predetermined signal, such as a current of 20 ma at 0.6 volts, at that frequency, down the transmission line formed by leads A and B, and to calculate the impedance vector at its output as a function of the signal reflected back to network analyzer 400. Network analyzer 400 is then adjusted, by a program step to select another frequency in the sample set, generate the predetermined signal, and calculate the impedance vector based on the reflection coefficient for that frequency. This process continues over the selected frequency sample set, such that the test frequency range is swept, by the frequency being sequentially indexed in predetermined steps, through the plurality of discrete frequencies; Column 9 Line 49-68; Following acquisition of the measured impedance vector Z12 array for the frequency sample set, leads A and B are then connected to another pair of ground circuit test points, e.g., F2 and F3, and the next set of impedance vectors Z23 for the same frequency sample set is similarly obtained. At the conclusion of those measurements, leads A and B are connected to the third pair of ground circuit test points, e.g., F1 and F3, and those impedance measurements are acquired. As the impedance vector measurements are obtained, they are provided to minicomputer 200 for further processing as described below; Column 10 Line 1-12),
wherein the at least one parameter comprises an approximate value for the grounding impedance [Z1] of the grounding device [G1] (The foregoing connection of leads A and B to F1 and F2, then to F2 and F3 and then to F1 and F3, is produced by switch S1, preferably operated by software commands. Of course, switch S1 could be omitted and leads A and B could be manually connected to two of test points F1, F2 and F3 at a time.
Once all of the impedance vector arrays are obtained for each pair of ground paths, they may be used to derive the ground path impedances for any or all of Z1, Z2, and Z3. This is accomplished by substituting the complex impedance term Z=R+jX for the resistance term R in the known three-point measurement equations for dc resistance, as follows:
(29) Z1=R1+jX1=(Z12+Z13-Z23)/2
(30) Z2=R2+jX2=(Z12+Z23-Z13)/2
(31) Z3=R3+jX3=(Z13+Z23-Z12)/2; wherein the "Z" terms are the complex impedances, each including a real component "R" and an imaginary component "X"; Column 10 Line 13-35).
Regarding claim 15, Rogers teaches a device,
wherein the grounding device [G1] of the power engineering installation comprises a grounding network (grounding path as the grounding network G1, G2, G3 in the earth in Figure 1) or a meshed grounding electrode (As illustrated in FIG. 1, apparatus 100 is measuring the impedance of three ground paths, having impedances Z1, Z2, and Z3, which extend between points F1, F2, and F3, located, for example, on the third floor of a facility, through grounding rods G1, G2, and G3, to earth 50; Column 8 Line 54-59; Figure 1 shows the grounding device [G1] of the power engineering installation comprises a grounding network in the earth).
Regarding claim 16, Rogers teaches a test apparatus for a power engineering installation,
comprising a device according to claim 14 (See rejection of claim 14).
Regarding claim 17, Rogers teaches a device, wherein:
wherein the power engineering installation (Figure 1 grounding G1 with all the instruments) and the at least one further power engineering installation (Figure 1 grounding G2 with all the instruments) are electrically connected to one another via a ground wire (Figure 1 shows the power engineering installation (Figure 1 grounding G1 with all the instruments) and the at least one further power engineering installation (Figure 1 grounding G2 with all the instruments) are electrically connected to one another via a ground wire; For the second type of measurement, the measurement is made at three points remotely located from the grounding rods, such as at a remote point on each of three steel columns or beams, or pipes or cables, that are used as electrical grounds, each such steel column or the like being connected to a different grounding rod; Column 7 Line 35-40; Claim 19. A system for measuring the impedance vector of a first ground path to earth at frequencies above dc comprising: a second and third ground paths to earth; a first circuit for providing a first signal across the first ground path and one of the second and third ground paths to earth, the signal having a frequency selected from among a defined range of frequencies; a second circuit for monitoring a second signal across the first ground path to earth and the other of the second and third ground paths to earth in response to each first signal; a third circuit for determining the impedance vector of the first ground path to earth in response to the first and second signals; and a fourth circuit for controlling the first circuit to provide the first signal at each of a plurality of frequencies in the defined frequency range, one at a time, so that the third circuit determines the impedance vector at each of the first plurality of frequencies);
in the model [Figure 2], a total impedance [Z1/ Z2/Z3] of the at least one further grounding device [G2/G3] is represented by a series connection [R+jX] of a reactance [X] and a resistance [R] (The foregoing connection of leads A and B to F1 and F2, then to F2 and F3 and then to F1 and F3, is produced by switch S1, preferably operated by software commands. Of course, switch S1 could be omitted and leads A and B could be manually connected to two of test points F1, F2 and F3 at a time. Once all of the impedance vector arrays are obtained for each pair of ground paths, they may be used to derive the ground path impedances for any or all of Z1, Z2, and Z3. This is accomplished by substituting the complex impedance term Z=R+jX for the resistance term R in the known three-point measurement equations for dc resistance, as follows:
(29) Z1=R1+jX1=(Z12+Z13-Z23)/2
(30) Z2=R2+jX2=(Z12+Z23-Z13)/2
(31) Z3=R3+jX3=(Z13+Z23-Z12)/2; wherein the "Z" terms are the complex impedances, each including a real component "R" and an imaginary component "X"; Column 10 Line 13-35; Referring to FIG. 2, the model for the ground impedance on which the present invention is based includes the network of resistor Rac in series with inductor L; Column 16 Line 39-41), and
the reactance and the resistance represent a sum of inductances [L] and capacitances [C] of a chain conductor formed by the ground wire and the at least one further grounding device [G1/G2/G3] (Referring to FIG. 2, the model for the ground impedance on which the present invention is based includes the network of resistor Rac in series with inductor L, which are in parallel with Capacitor C, wherein L is the inductance of the ground strap or wire, C is the capacitance of the structure being grounded to the surroundings, and Rac is the sum of the resistance of the earth and the resistance of the ground rod and strap; Column 16 Line 39-47).
Regarding claim 19, Rogers teaches a device,
wherein, the measuring device is configured to determine a respective impedance value [Z1, Z2, Z3] of the at least two impedance values, the respective test current is fed into the grounding device [G1, G2, G3] of the power engineering installation [100] at the specified frequency by means of an auxiliary ground electrode [A, B, C, D, E] and a respective voltage is measured between the grounding device [G1, G2, G3] and a probe [F1, F2, F3] arranged spaced apart from the grounding device [G1, G2, G3] (Referring to FIG. 1, an apparatus 100 for measuring impedance of a ground path in accordance with the present invention is illustrated. Apparatus 100 includes a minicomputer 200, including a microprocessor (not shown), a keyboard 210, at least one floppy disk drive 220, memory (not shown) and suitable software programming (described below in connection with FIG. 8 and the software appendix), and a display device 300, a network analyzer 400, an S-Parameter Test Set 500, and a Reflectance-Transmission Test Kit 600. Also, apparatus 100 includes two test leads A and B, and preferably three additional leads C-E and a switch S1 for connecting leads A and B selectively through leads C-E to test points or terminals F1-F3; Column 5 Line 66-67 & Column 6 Line 1-12),
wherein the respective impedance value is determined as a function of the respective test current, the specified frequency of the respective test current and the voltage measured in each case (With the source impedance thus known, a small current of about 20 ma can be injected into the ground circuit path at the test points, at a known voltage level, such as between about 0.5 and 1.0 volts, at each frequency to be measured, so that the input power is known; Column 8 Line 29-34; the network analyzer 400 injects a small known current, such as 20 ma at a known voltage, such as 0.6 volts, into one of the terminals Z1, or Z2, for each of the frequency points that is selected within the frequency range of interest; Column 9 Line 5-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers ‘179 A in view of Laepple in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20140015538 A1.
.
Regarding claim 4, Rogers fails to teach a method, wherein the power engineering installation and/or the at least one further power engineering installation respectively comprise one overhead line pylon.
Laepple teaches a facilitated method for accurately measuring the earth ground resistance of a ground rod, such as a footing of a pylon acting as a ground rod or a ground rod attached to the footings of a pylon (0002] Line 1-4),
wherein the power engineering installation and/or the at least one further power engineering installation respectively comprise one overhead line pylon [P] in Figure 4 (In the example of the present disclosure shown in FIG. 4, an earth electrode X and two auxiliary electrodes Y and Z, are connected to a testing means (device) T and placed in the soil, for example in a direct line, at predetermined distances away from a pylon P, i.e., earth electrode X, in a similar fashion to the known fall-of-potential technique; Paragraph [0038] Line 1-6). The purpose of doing so is to improve the reliability of equipment and reduce the likelihood of damage due to lightning or fault currents, to provide a more flexible system which enables the calculation of a value for the true resistance and/or impedance of each footing of multiple footings of a pylon, or pylons, based on the measurements taken.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the power engineering installation of Rogers by including overhead line pylon as disclosed by Laepple, because Laepple teaches to include overhead line pylon improves the reliability of equipment and reduce the likelihood of damage due to lightning or fault currents (Paragraph [0003]), provides a more flexible system which enables the calculation of a value for the true resistance and/or impedance of each footing of multiple footings of a pylon, or pylons, based on the measurements taken (Paragraph [0008]).
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers ‘179 A in view of Butler et al. (Hereinafter, “Butler”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20030046042 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Rogers fails to teach a method, wherein the determination of the at least one parameter of the model comprises a numerical approximation method.
Butler teaches a method to design (produce) a product and the product(s) designed/ produced as a result of the application of the method (Paragraph [0008] Line 1-3),
wherein the determination of the at least one parameter of the model comprises a numerical approximation method (We modeled and measured the properties of a so-called cage monopole. The cage monopole shown in FIG. 101a. consists of four vertical straight wires connected in parallel and driven from a common stalk at the ground plane; Paragraph [0036] Line 1-5; Also, in the present discussion, we restrict .tau. to be one of the members of the arithmetic progression 5, 9, 13, 17 . . . ,. With .tau. one of these integers, half-width constituent pulses are not required within the composite testing functions. N must be sufficiently large to ensure accurate modeling of the wire geometry and vector direction of the current as well as to preserve the numerical accuracy of the approximations; Paragraph [0114] Line 9-15). The purpose of doing so is to accurately represent the variation of the current, to test functions along piecewise quadratic wire segments and achieve good results with fewer unknowns than would be needed in a piecewise straight model of a wire loop.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rogers in view of Butler, because Butler teaches to include a numerical approximation method accurately represents the variation of the current (Paragraph [0114]), tests functions along piecewise quadratic wire segments and achieves good results with fewer unknowns than would be needed in a piecewise straight model of a wire loop (Paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 9, Rogers fails to teach a method, wherein the determination of the at least one parameter of the model comprises applying a genetic algorithm.
Butler teaches a method to design (produce) a product and the product(s) designed/ produced as a result of the application of the method (Paragraph [0008] Line 1-3),
wherein the determination of the at least one parameter of the model comprises applying a genetic algorithm ((a) loading software including a genetic algorithm and an executable algorithm that is a fast wire equation solver into a computer; Paragraph [0024] Line 1-3; Next we add four parasitic straight wires of equal height (h) and distance (r) from the center of the cage to create the so-called "sleeve-cage monopole" of FIG. 102a. The genetic algorithm of (D. L. Carroll, "A FORTRAN Genetic Algorithm Driver", Univ. of Illinois, Urbana, Ill., http://www.staff.uiuc.edu/.about.carroll/ga.html) is used to determine the optimum distance and height of these parasitic straight wires; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-8). The purpose of doing so is to provide a rapid method of solving this equation for varied values and inputs, to simulate population response to selection and a new algorithm that is a fast wire integral equation solver that generates optimal multiple designs from ranges of data that limit the end product and to identify the optimum design(s) for specified conditions.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rogers in view of Butler, because Butler teaches to include a genetic algorithm accurately represents the variation of the current (Paragraph [0114]), provides a rapid method of solving this equation for varied values and inputs (Paragraph [0012]), simulates population response to selection and a new algorithm that is a fast wire integral equation solver that generates optimal multiple designs from ranges of data that limit the end product and identifies the optimum design(s) for specified conditions (Paragraph [0008]).
Claim(s) 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers ‘179 A in view of WEI YANFANG (Hereinafter, “Wei”) in the Patent Publication Number CN 110320436 A (2019-10-11).
Regarding claim 10, Rogers fails to teach a method, wherein the at least one parameter of the model is determined in such a way that a Euclidean distance in the complex resistance plane between impedance values of the model (500) and the determined at least two impedance values becomes minimal.
Wei teaches a flexible direct current distribution network high-resistance grounding fault detection method based on color relation classifier (Abstract),
wherein the at least one parameter of the model is determined in such a way that a Euclidean distance in the complex resistance plane between impedance values of the model (500) and the determined at least two impedance values becomes minimal (the present invention provides a high-resistance ground fault detection method for a flexible DC distribution network based on a color relationship classifier; Summary of the invention; Page 3 Line 1-2; Calculate the Euclidean distance of the characteristic modal component and convert it into a gray scale representation; Page 5 Line 12-13; The expressions of the maximum value ρmax and the minimum value ρmin of the gray mean value are respectively: Maxmax=max[ρaveSIF, ρaveMIF, ρaveHIF] Minmin=min[ρaveSIF, ρaveMIF, ρaveHIF]; Page 6 line 5-8). The purpose of doing so is to provide a flexible inference model, and high in fault detection reliability; to provide convenient to embed into equipment; real-time monitoring is implemented; complexity in the fault detecting process is overcome; and meanwhile, to improve the calculation speed.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rogers in view of Wei, because Wei teaches to include a Euclidean distance in the complex resistance plane between impedance values of the model and the determined at least two impedance values becomes minimal provides a flexible inference model, and high in fault detection reliability; provides convenient to embed into equipment; real-time monitoring is implemented; complexity in the fault detecting process is overcome; and meanwhile, improves the calculation speed (Abstract).
Regarding claim 18, Rogers fails to teach a device, wherein the processing device is configured to determine the at least one parameter of the model is determined in such a way that a Euclidean distance in the complex resistance plane between impedance values of the model and the determined at least two impedance values becomes minimal.
Wei teaches a flexible direct current distribution network high-resistance grounding fault detection method based on color relation classifier (Abstract),
wherein the processing device is configured to determine the at least one parameter of the model is determined in such a way that a Euclidean distance in the complex resistance plane between impedance values of the model and the determined at least two impedance values becomes minimal (the present invention provides a high-resistance ground fault detection method for a flexible DC distribution network based on a color relationship classifier; Summary of the invention; Page 3 Line 1-2; Calculate the Euclidean distance of the characteristic modal component and convert it into a gray scale representation; Page 5 Line 12-13; The expressions of the maximum value ρmax and the minimum value ρmin of the gray mean value are respectively: Maxmax=max[ρaveSIF, ρaveMIF, ρaveHIF] Minmin=min[ρaveSIF, ρaveMIF, ρaveHIF]; Page 6 line 5-8). The purpose of doing so is to provide a flexible inference model, and high in fault detection reliability; to provide convenient to embed into equipment; real-time monitoring is implemented; complexity in the fault detecting process is overcome; and meanwhile, to improve the calculation speed.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rogers in view of Wei, because Wei teaches to include a Euclidean distance in the complex resistance plane between impedance values of the model and the determined at least two impedance values becomes minimal provides a flexible inference model, and high in fault detection reliability; provides convenient to embed into equipment; real-time monitoring is implemented; complexity in the fault detecting process is overcome; and meanwhile, improves the calculation speed (Abstract).
Claim(s) 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers ‘179 A in view of Wahlroos et al. (Hereinafter, “Wahlroos”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210075209 A1.
Regarding claim 12, Rogers teaches a method for determining a reduction factor of a grounding device [G1/G2/G3] of a power engineering installation (metallic structural building members) (apparatus, systems and methods for measuring ground path impedance at frequencies above dc, and further, for evaluating the quality and nature of a measured ground path; Column 3 Line 29-32; a method of measuring the impedance of ground paths at frequencies above dc using a first, second, and third ground paths to earth; Column 3 Line 33-36; Referring to FIG. 1, an apparatus 100 for measuring impedance of a ground path; Column 5 Line 66-67), which is coupled to at least one further grounded power engineering installation (As illustrated in FIG. 1, apparatus 100 is measuring the impedance of three ground paths, having impedances Z1, Z2, and Z3, which extend between points F1, F2, and F3, located, for example, on the third floor of a facility, through grounding rods G1, G2, and G3, to earth 50; Column 8 Line 54-59; Also, apparatus 100 includes two test leads A and B, and preferably three additional leads C-E and a switch S1 for connecting leads A and B selectively through leads C-E to test points or terminals F1-F3.; Column 6 Line 8-12; Claim 33. The apparatus of claim 28 wherein the second circuit and determining means further comprise a microcomputer including a processing means for calculating the ground to earth impedance vector of one of a first, second, and third test ground paths at each of the first plurality of frequencies based on the reflected power measured across each two of the first, second, and third ground paths connected in series, at each of the first plurality of frequencies; Figure 1 shows the grounding device [G1] is electrically connected to at least one further grounding device [G2 and G3]), comprising:
determining a grounding impedance of the grounding device [G1] (The ground impedance measurements of the present invention are made at numerous frequencies, such as at 400 different frequencies over a desired frequency range, such as between 5 Hz and 1 or 10 MHz or more; Column 7 Line 58-61),
wherein determining the grounding impedance [Z12] comprises:
determining at least two impedance values [Z12] in different frequencies on the grounding device [G1] (grounding rods G1/ G2/ and G3 in Figure 1 as the grounding devices) (The ground paths may be ones that extend to the grounding rods along metallic structural building members, pipes or conductive cables. Grounding rods G1, G2, and G3 are preferably spaced apart at least 18 feet (6 meters) from each other; Column 8 Line 59-63; The ground impedance measurements of the present invention are made at numerous frequencies, such as at 400 different frequencies over a desired frequency range, such as between 5 Hz and 1 or 10 MHz or more; Column 7 Line 58-61; Therefore at least two impedance values on the grounding device at different frequencies between 5 Hz and 1 or 10 MHz or more), while the grounding device [G1] is electrically connected to at least one further grounding device [G2 and G3] of at least one further power engineering installation (As illustrated in FIG. 1, apparatus 100 is measuring the impedance of three ground paths, having impedances Z1, Z2, and Z3, which extend between points F1, F2, and F3, located, for example, on the third floor of a facility, through grounding rods G1, G2, and G3, to earth 50; Column 8 Line 54-59; Also, apparatus 100 includes two test leads A and B, and preferably three additional leads C-E and a switch S1 for connecting leads A and B selectively through leads C-E to test points or terminals F1-F3.; Column 6 Line 8-12; Claim 33. The apparatus of claim 28 wherein the second circuit and determining means further comprise a microcomputer including a processing means for calculating the ground to earth impedance vector of one of a first, second, and third test ground paths at each of the first plurality of frequencies based on the reflected power measured across each two of the first, second, and third ground paths connected in series, at each of the first plurality of frequencies; Figure 1 shows the grounding device [G1] is electrically connected to at least one further grounding device [G2 and G3]),
wherein each of the at least two impedance values [Z12] is determined with a respective test current at a specified frequency (With the source impedance thus known, a small current of about 20 ma can be injected into the ground circuit path at the test points, at a known voltage level, such as between about 0.5 and 1.0 volts, at each frequency to be measured, so that the input power is known; Column 8 Line 29-34) [at different frequencies between 5 Hz and 1 or 10 MHz or more], wherein the frequencies of the respective test currents are different (To perform the measurement, leads A and B are connected to the two ground paths to be measured, for example, from ground circuit test points F1 and F2, and network analyzer 400, as illustrated in FIG. 1. Network analyzer 400 is then operated under software control to select one frequency in the frequency sample set, to transmit a predetermined signal, such as a current of 20 ma at 0.6 volts, at that frequency, down the transmission line formed by leads A and B, and to calculate the impedance vector at its output as a function of the signal reflected back to network analyzer 400. Network analyzer 400 is then adjusted, by a program step to select another frequency in the sample set, generate the predetermined signal, and calculate the impedance vector based on the reflection coefficient for that frequency. This process continues over the selected frequency sample set, such that the test frequency range is swept, by the frequency being sequentially indexed in predetermined steps, through the plurality of discrete frequencies; Column 9 Line 49-68; the network analyzer 400 injects a small known current, such as 20 ma at a known voltage, such as 0.6 volts, into one of the terminals Z1, or Z2, for each of the frequency points that is selected within the frequency range of interest; Column 9 Line 5-10),
determining at least one parameter of a model (Figure 3A, 3B shows the graphical model of the impedance vector as the parameter) (After calibrating the system for the leads A-E, connectors and switch S1, as already discussed, the network analyzer 400 injects a small known current, such as 20 ma at a known voltage, such as 0.6 volts, into one of the terminals Z1, or Z2, for each of the frequency points that is selected within the frequency range of interest. Further, it measures the reflected voltage, to obtain the reflection coefficient, and, as will be discussed, computes the impedance Z12. This is repeated using points F1 and F3 to obtain impedance Z13 at the same frequencies, and it also is repeated using points F2 and F3, to obtain Z23. Thus, the impedance vector between each of the three pairs of ground paths is obtained for the frequency range of interest.; Column 9 Line 4-17; Referring to FIGS. 1, 3A, 3B, and 3C, the calibrated impedance vectors measured between test points F1 and F2 of ground paths Z1 and Z2 in a sample installation are illustrated. Once leads A and B are respectively connected to ground paths Z1 and Z2, the software routine described below is initiated to perform the measurements of the impedance between the two ground paths over four hundred discrete frequencies from 100 KHz to 1 MHz, adjust the determination if necessary to correct for the impedance of the test leads, and record the data on the floppy disks and display the data in accordance with instructions provided by the operator. FIG. 3A illustrates the impedance vector array as magnitude in dB along the left ordinate and the phase angle in degrees along the right ordinate of the measured actual impedance vector versus frequency along the abscissa, curve M being a plot of the impedance magnitude (dB), while curve P is a plot of the phase angle; Column 11 Line 24-41; Figure 3A-7B shows at least one parameter of a model which represents the grounding device [G1] and the at least one further grounding device [G2/G3]), which represents the grounding device [G1] and the at least one further grounding device [G2/G3], as a function of the at least two impedance values (To perform the measurement, leads A and B are connected to the two ground paths to be measured, for example, from ground circuit test points F1 and F2, and network analyzer 400, as illustrated in FIG. 1. Network analyzer 400 is then operated under software control to select one frequency in the frequency sample set, to transmit a predetermined signal, such as a current of 20 ma at 0.6 volts, at that frequency, down the transmission line formed by leads A and B, and to calculate the impedance vector at its output as a function of the signal reflected back to network analyzer 400. Network analyzer 400 is then adjusted, by a program step to select another frequency in the sample set, generate the predetermined signal, and calculate the impedance vector based on the reflection coefficient for that frequency. This process continues over the selected frequency sample set, such that the test frequency range is swept, by the frequency being sequentially indexed in predetermined steps, through the plurality of discrete frequencies; Column 9 Line 49-68; Following acquisition of the measured impedance vector Z12 array for the frequency sample set, leads A and B are then connected to another pair of ground circuit test points, e.g., F2 and F3, and the next set of impedance vectors Z23 for the same frequency sample set is similarly obtained. At the conclusion of those measurements, leads A and B are connected to the third pair of ground circuit test points, e.g., F1 and F3, and those impedance measurements are acquired. As the impedance vector measurements are obtained, they are provided to minicomputer 200 for further processing as described below; Column 10 Line 1-12),
wherein the at least one parameter comprises an approximate value for the grounding impedance [Z1] of the grounding device [G1] (The foregoing connection of leads A and B to F1 and F2, then to F2 and F3 and then to F1 and F3, is produced by switch S1, preferably operated by software commands. Of course, switch S1 could be omitted and leads A and B could be manually connected to two of test points F1, F2 and F3 at a time.
Once all of the impedance vector arrays are obtained for each pair of ground paths, they may be used to derive the ground path impedances for any or all of Z1, Z2, and Z3. This is accomplished by substituting the complex impedance term Z=R+jX for the resistance term R in the known three-point measurement equations for dc resistance, as follows:
(29) Z1=R1+jX1=(Z12+Z13-Z23)/2
(30) Z2=R2+jX2=(Z12+Z23-Z13)/2
(31) Z3=R3+jX3=(Z13+Z23-Z12)/2; wherein the "Z" terms are the complex impedances, each including a real component "R" and an imaginary component "X"; Column 10 Line 13-35);
determining a total impedance for the grounding device and the at least one further grounding device, which is connected thereto, by means of the model and the at least one parameter which has been determined for the model (The foregoing connection of leads A and B to F1 and F2, then to F2 and F3 and then to F1 and F3, is produced by switch S1, preferably operated by software commands. Of course, switch S1 could be omitted and leads A and B could be manually connected to two of test points F1, F2 and F3 at a time.
Once all of the impedance vector arrays are obtained for each pair of ground paths, they may be used to derive the ground path impedances for any or all of Z1, Z2, and Z3. This is accomplished by substituting the complex impedance term Z=R+jX for the resistance term R in the known three-point measurement equations for dc resistance, as follows:
(29) Z1=R1+jX1=(Z12+Z13-Z23)/2
(30) Z2=R2+jX2=(Z12+Z23-Z13)/2
(31) Z3=R3+jX3=(Z13+Z23-Z12)/2; wherein the "Z" terms are the complex impedances, each including a real component "R" and an imaginary component "X"; Column 10 Line 13-35).
However, Rogers fails to teach determining the reduction factor as a function of the grounding impedance and the total impedance.
Wahlroos teaches a method and an apparatus for use in earth-fault protection in a three-phase electric network (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
determining the reduction factor as a function of the grounding impedance and the total impedance ([0162] According to an embodiment, an estimate of a touch voltage U.sub.T at the point of the detected earth fault on the three-phase electric line is determined first, and the operation time for the earth-fault protection is then determined on the basis of the determined estimate of the touch voltage. This can be implemented according to applicable electrical safety codes and standards, such as Cenelec HD 637 S1 (FIG. 4 showing permissible touch voltages Un depending on the duration of current flow according to HD 637 S1), utilizing Equation 15:
U.sub.Tp=k.Math.r.Math.R.sub.E.Math.I.sub.ef, Eq. 15; 0163] where [0164] k is a pre-determined coefficient (e.g. 0.25, 0.5 or 1.0), describing the share of touch voltage from total Earth Potential Rise (EPR) at the fault location due to the earth fault. [0165] r is a pre-determined factor, the so-called current division or reduction factor, taking into account that not all of the earth-fault current will flow back through “remote” earth; Paragraph [0162] [0165]). The purpose of doing so is to estimate of an earth-fault current in a point of a phase-to-earth fault on a three-phase electric line accurately and fast, to protect from a high risk for personal safety and equipment failure, for example.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rogers in view of Wahlroos, because Wahlroos teaches to determine the reduction factor as a function of the grounding impedance and the total impedance estimates of an earth-fault current in a point of a phase-to-earth fault on a three-phase electric line accurately and fast (Paragraph [0016]), protects from a high risk for personal safety and equipment failure, for example (Paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 20, Rogers teaches a device,
wherein the processing device [200] is configured to determine a total impedance for the grounding device and the at least one further grounding device, which is connected thereto, by means of the model and the at least one parameter which has been determined for the model (The foregoing connection of leads A and B to F1 and F2, then to F2 and F3 and then to F1 and F3, is produced by switch S1, preferably operated by software commands. Of course, switch S1 could be omitted and leads A and B could be manually connected to two of test points F1, F2 and F3 at a time. Once all of the impedance vector arrays are obtained for each pair of ground paths, they may be used to derive the ground path impedances for any or all of Z1, Z2, and Z3. This is accomplished by substituting the complex impedance term Z=R+jX for the resistance term R in the known three-point measurement equations for dc resistance, as follows:
(29) Z1=R1+jX1=(Z12+Z13-Z23)/2
(30) Z2=R2+jX2=(Z12+Z23-Z13)/2
(31) Z3=R3+jX3=(Z13+Z23-Z12)/2; wherein the "Z" terms are the complex impedances, each including a real component "R" and an imaginary component "X"; Column 10 Line 13-35).
However, Rogers fails to teach to determine a reduction factor of the grounding device as a function of the grounding impedance and the total impedance.
Wahlroos teaches a method and an apparatus for use in earth-fault protection in a three-phase electric network (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
determine a reduction factor as a function of the grounding impedance and the total impedance ([0162] According to an embodiment, an estimate of a touch voltage U.sub.T at the point of the detected earth fault on the three-phase electric line is determined first, and the operation time for the earth-fault protection is then determined on the basis of the determined estimate of the touch voltage. This can be implemented according to applicable electrical safety codes and standards, such as Cenelec HD 637 S1 (FIG. 4 showing permissible touch voltages Un depending on the duration of current flow according to HD 637 S1), utilizing Equation 15:
U.sub.Tp=k.Math.r.Math.R.sub.E.Math.I.sub.ef, Eq. 15; 0163] where [0164] k is a pre-determined coefficient (e.g. 0.25, 0.5 or 1.0), describing the share of touch voltage from total Earth Potential Rise (EPR) at the fault location due to the earth fault. [0165] r is a pre-determined factor, the so-called current division or reduction factor, taking into account that not all of the earth-fault current will flow back through “remote” earth; Paragraph [0162] [0165]). The purpose of doing so is to estimate of an earth-fault current in a point of a phase-to-earth fault on a three-phase electric line accurately and fast, to protect from a high risk for personal safety and equipment failure, for example.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rogers in view of Wahlroos, because Wahlroos teaches to determine the reduction factor as a function of the grounding impedance and the total impedance estimates of an earth-fault current in a point of a phase-to-earth fault on a three-phase electric line accurately and fast (Paragraph [0016]), protects from a high risk for personal safety and equipment failure, for example (Paragraph [0012]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hein et al. (US 20130278271 A1) discloses, “Ground Monitor-[0001] The present invention relates to ground monitors operable to assess a ground resistance of a network, such as but not limited those suitable for use in assessing a ground resistance of a single-phase, AC domestic/commercial power network. [0013] FIG. 2 schematically illustrates operation of the ground monitor 16 in accordance with one non-limiting aspect of the present invention. The ground monitor assesses ground continuity according to a calculated ground resistance. The ground resistance is measured according to a voltage differential measured between at least two of the wall outlet terminals, which are shown for exemplary purposes to be those associated with the ground and neutral plugs. The ground resistance is determined according to the following formula: Ground resistance=Test Current/Voltage Differential [0014] The test current is applied with a signal generator 50 to the neutral plug. The voltage differential measured in response to the test signal is a function of the test current the resistance of the wiring comprising the current path between the neutral plug and the ground plug, which may vary depending on length, age, loads, etc. The resulting voltage differential, however, may be greater than that which would be produced by the test current on its own due to current contributions from the vehicle (IV) and other loads (IL1 IL2) connected to the domestic power network. These current contributions are generally the result of noise and other interferences added to the current path from other electrical devices. In order to assess the ground resistance as accurately as possible, the influence of the currents added to the test current should be limited as much as possible-However Hein does not disclose determining at least one parameter of a model, which represents the grounding device and the at least one further grounding device, as a function of the at least two impedance values, wherein the at least one parameter comprises an approximate value for the grounding impedance of the grounding device.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858