DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedrichs (US 2014/0228833) in view of Sussman (US 2017/0336390).
Regarding claim 4, Friedrichs discloses a system for performing non-thermal plasma treatment on a patient: an electrosurgical generator (200) for supplying radio frequency energy; a return electrode (6) connected to said electrosurgical generator, wherein said electrode comprises a patient pad (view figure 1, elements 6; 6A/6B); a gas control module (16) for controlling a supply of an inert gas; and a hand piece (10) having a proximal end and a distal end, wherein said hand piece comprises: a housing having an inner cavity; tubing within said cavity; a fluid connector connecting said tubing to said gas control module; an active electrode within said cavity; an electrical connector connecting said active electrode to said electrosurgical generator; and a printed circuit board within said cavity and connected to said conductor [Para 0056-0057 discuss the handpiece components]; wherein said electrosurgical generator comprises: a power module; a memory [Para 0046-0047 discusses the generator 200 with controller 224 and power supply 227]; a first current sensor configured to sense an electrical current on said active electrode; a second current sensor configured to sense a current on said return electrode; a voltage sensor configured to sense a voltage difference between said active electrode and said return electrode and a feedback control module [Para 0046-0047 discuss the plurality of sensors associated with the system including current sensors 280a, voltage sensors 280b]; wherein said control module is configured to automatically adjust a power output of said electrosurgical generator based on outputs of said first current sensor, said second current sensor and said voltage sensor to maintain an electrical current on said active electrode within a range to provide non-thermal plasma [Para 0039 mentions adjustments; Para 0043 allows for user adjustments; Para 0047 discusses power supply and feedback adjustments]. Friedrichs discloses a feedback control system with multiple sensors present, it fails to explicitly disclose two separate current sensors. However, Newton discloses an electrosurgical system with separate current sensors 82 and return current sensor 96. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use multiple current sensors as taught by Newton. Doing so would allow for precise measurement of current flowing within the system. While Friedrichs and Newton disclose feedback control [Para 0047 and 0067-0069] it fails to explicitly disclose the use of a flyback transformer and maintaining a non-thermal plasma at less than 37°C. However, Sussman discloses an electrosurgical system which can have a plasma temperature at a variety of ranges including maintaining a temperature less than 28.5 and 23.5 as well as utilizing a flyback transformer [Para 0052-0053 and 0110-0111]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have the electrical components of the generator/controller system include the best components for adaptive power and plasma control and application as taught by Sussman in using a flyback transformer. Doing so allows for better feedback control of tissue energy application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments of the system of Friedrichs failing to disclose multiple current sensors, Newton discloses an electrosurgical system with multiple sensors including multiple current sensors.
Conclusion
/A.L.Z/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794