DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the non-final office action dated 06/26/2026, applicant has amended claims 1 and 5-10. Claims 2-4 have been cancelled. Claims 1 and 5-10 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al (US Pub No. 2018/0343516, hereinafter Jang).
Regarding claim 1, Jang teaches an audio output device (Fig 4, horn speaker 50),comprising: a cabinet including an internal acoustic space (Fig 4, enclosure 58 having internal space); a speaker unit configured to output sound, wherein the speaker unit is attachable to the cabinet (Fig 4, speaker unit 56a); and a sound conducting duct including: an internal space that defines a sound conducting space; and at least two bent sections comprising a first bent section and a second bent section, wherein the sound conduction space is configured to amplify the sound outputted from the speaker unit (Fig 4-5 & ¶ [0040], horn part 120 having internal space and two bent sections formed by partition wall 113a secondary case 54 used to collect sound discharge through discharge outlet 112a), a first end of the sound conducting duct is an audio input port (Fig 5 & ¶ [0040], seating groove 111a collects source sound discharge), a second end of the sound conducting duct is formed as an audio output port (Fig 5 & ¶ [0040], sound discharged through discharge outlet 112a), a direction from the audio input port to the audio output port is a sound conducting direction (Fig 5, direction from seating groove 111a to discharge outlet 112a), in the sound conducting direction, the first bent section is closer to the audio input port than the second bent section (Fig 5, bent section formed by partition wall 113a closer to seating groove 111a), a part of the first bent section is bent forward in a projecting curved shape on a first side of the audio output port in an axial direction (Fig 4-5, part of curve formed by partition wall 113a and secondary case 54), a part of the second bent section is bent rearward in the projecting curved shape on a second side of the audio output port in the axial direction (Fig 4-5, part of curve formed by secondary case 54), the axial direction is with respect to the audio output port, the at least two bent sections are one of continuous in the sound conducting direction or separate in the sound conducting direction (Fig 5, first and second curves formed by partition wall 113a and secondary case 54), in a vertical installation state of the audio output device, the audio input port is above the audio output port (Fig 5, in a vertical orientation the input port of speaker unit 56a would be above discharge outlet 112a), and in a horizontal installation state of the audio output device, at least a lower portion of the sound conducting duct comprises an inclined section that is displaced downward from the audio input port toward the audio output port (Fig 4, horn 120 having inclined portion between first curve and second curve leading to discharge outlet 112a).
Regarding claim 5, Jang teaches the audio output device according to claim 1, further comprising a plurality of bent sections that are continuous in the sound conducting direction, wherein the plurality of bent sections include the at least two bent sections (Fig 4-5 & ¶ [0040], horn part 120 having internal space and two bent sections formed by partition wall 113a secondary case 54).
Regarding claim 6, Jang teaches the audio output device according to claim 1, wherein, in the horizontal installation state of the audio output device, a center in an up-down direction of the audio output port is below a center in an up-down direction of the speaker unit (Fig 10A, center of audio output port 112a below center of speaker unit 56a).
Regarding claim 7, Jang teaches the audio output device according to claim 1, wherein in the vertical installation state of the audio output device, the audio output port is below the speaker unit (Fig 5, in a vertical orientation the input port of speaker unit 56a would be above discharge outlet 112a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al (US Pub No. 2018/0343516, hereinafter Jang) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Curtiss et al (US Pub No. 2020/0196038, hereinafter Curtiss).
Regarding claim 8, Jang teaches the audio output device according to claim 7.
Jang does not explicitly teach wherein a control section for controlling operation of the speaker unit is disposed above the speaker unit.
Curtiss teaches a control panel disposed above a speaker unit (See Curtiss fig 1, keypad 50).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the keypad taught by Curtiss with the audio output device taught by Jang. Doing so provides an easily accessible control face allowing for ease of use and high visibility for the user.
Regarding claim 9, Jang teaches the audio output device according to claim 1.
Jang does not explicitly teach an operating section located opposite the output port.
Curtiss teaches an operating section located opposite the output port (See Curtiss fig 1, keypad 50 opposite of speaker grille 40).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the keypad taught by Curtiss with the audio output device taught by Jang. Doing so provides an easily accessible control face allowing for ease of use and high visibility for the user.
Regarding claim 10, Jang teaches the audio output device according to claim 1, wherein.
Jang does not explicitly teach a grabbable handle positioned away from and in overlap with the output port and perpendicular to the longitudinal direction.
Curtiss teaches a grabbable handle positioned away from and in overlap with the output port and perpendicular to the longitudinal direction (See Curtiss fig 1, handle 30 positioned away from speaker grille 40, overlapping with speaker grille 40, and perpendicular to longitudinal direction).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the handle taught by Curtiss with the audio output device taught by Jang. Doing so improves the overall ergonomics of the speaker while also enhancing portability and control. This reduces strain on the user by reducing hand fatigue and balancing the load.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Want (US Pub No. 2024/0048882) teaches an audio system having a conduction tube.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2694
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692