DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/23/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bouvier (US Pub No. 20080000715, hereinafter Bouvier).
Regarding claim 1, Bouvier teaches an audio output device (Fig 1, folded transmission line loudspeaker 10) formed in a shape having a longitudinal direction (Fig 1, audio passage 500 runs longitudinal to enclosure 400) and usable in two different installation states (Figs 1 & 6, rear output and front output), namely, a vertical installation state (Fig 6, vertical folded transmission line) and a horizontal installation state (Fig 1, horizontal folded transmission line), the audio output device comprising: a cabinet that has an internal acoustic space (Fig 1, enclosure 400 having internal space forming audio passage 500); a speaker unit that is attached to the cabinet (Fig 1, driver 100) and outputs sound (¶ [0047], sound generated by driver); and a sound conducting duct that has an internal space formed as a sound conducting space to amplify sound outputted from the speaker unit (Fig 1 & ¶ [0049], audio passage 500 used to enhance frequency), wherein one end of the sound conducting duct is formed as an audio input port (Fig 1, input formed between cover 400 and first tube 200), and the other end of the sound conducting duct is formed as an audio output port (Fig 1, open rear end 320), the sound conducting duct is provided with at least two bent sections that are bent in different directions and disposed continuously or separately in a sound conducting direction (Fig 1, bent rear end 420 and bent base 220 bent in different directions), in the vertical installation state, the audio input port is positioned above the audio output port (Fig 6, vertical folded transmission line having input 502 above output 804), and, in the horizontal installation state, at least a lower portion of the sound conducting duct is provided as an inclined section that is displaced downward from the audio input port toward the audio output port (Fig 1, deflector plug 250 having concave curved surface forming a bend in the transmission line between segments 504 and 505).
Regarding claim 2, Bouvier teaches the audio output device according to claim 1, wherein the bent sections are formed in a curved shape (Fig 1, curved ends 220 and 420).
Regarding claim 3, Bouvier teaches the audio output device according to claim 1, wherein at least two of the bent sections are bent in opposite directions (Fig 1, bent rear end 420 and bent base 220 bent in opposite directions).
Regarding claim 4, Bouvier teaches the audio output device according to claim 3, wherein a first bent section and a second bent section are provided as the bent sections, in the sound conducting direction, the first bent section is positioned closer to the audio input port than the second bent section (Fig 1, bent rear end 420 closer to audio input than bent base 220), the first bent section is formed in a projecting curved shape on one side in an axial direction of the audio output port (Fig 1, bent rear end 420 axial to audio passageway 500 input), and the second bent section is formed in a projecting curved shape on the other side in the axial direction of the audio output port (Fig 1, bent base 220 axial to audio passageway 500 output).
Regarding claim 5, Bouvier teaches the audio output device according to claim 1, wherein the multiple bent sections are disposed continuously in the sound conducting direction (Fig 1, bent rear end 420 and bent base 220 forming continuous audio passageway 500).
Regarding claim 6, Bouvier teaches the audio output device according to claim 1, wherein, in the horizontal installation state, a center in an up-down direction of the audio output port is positioned below a center in the up-down direction of the speaker unit (Fig 1, center of upper input audio passage 500 is above center output of audio passage 500).
Regarding claim 7, Bouvier teaches the audio output device according to claim 1, wherein, in the vertical installation state, the audio output port is positioned below the speaker unit (Fig 6, open front end 804 below driver 100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouvier (US Pub No. 20080000715, hereinafter Bouvier) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Curtiss et al (US Pub No. 2020/0196038, hereinafter Curtiss).
Regarding claim 8, Bouvier teaches the audio output device according to claim 7.
Bouvier does not explicitly teach wherein a control section for controlling operation of the speaker unit is disposed above the speaker unit.
Curtiss teaches a control panel disposed above a speaker unit (See Curtiss fig 1, keypad 50).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the keypad taught by Curtiss with the audio output device taught by Bouvier. Doing so provides an easily accessible control face allowing for ease of use and high visibility for the user.
Regarding claim 9, Bouvier teaches the audio output device according to claim 1.
Bouvier does not explicitly teach an operating section located opposite the output port.
Curtiss teaches an operating section located opposite the output port (See Curtiss fig 1, keypad 50 opposite of speaker grille 40).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the keypad taught by Curtiss with the audio output device taught by Bouvier. Doing so provides an easily accessible control face allowing for ease of use and high visibility for the user.
Regarding claim 10, Bouvier teaches the audio output device according to claim 1, wherein.
Bouvier does not explicitly teach a grabbable handle positioned away from and in overlap with the output port and perpendicular to the longitudinal direction.
Curtiss teaches a grabbable handle positioned away from and in overlap with the output port and perpendicular to the longitudinal direction (See Curtiss fig 1, handle 30 positioned away from speaker grille 40, overlapping with speaker grille 40, and perpendicular to longitudinal direction).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the handle taught by Curtiss with the audio output device taught by Bouvier. Doing so improves the overall ergonomics of the speaker while also enhancing portability and control. This reduces strain on the user by reducing hand fatigue and balancing the load.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Atsumi (US Pub No. 2021/0197717) teaches a sound producing device having a curved duct used to amplify the sound pressure.
Subramanian et al (US Pub No. 2019/0364362) teaches curved channels used to introduce a phase delay to an acoustic wave.
/T.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2694
/FAN S TSANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2694