DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1,2,4,7 and 8 in the reply filed on 11/17/25 is acknowledged. Claims 9,13-15,18-19,22,29,32,38 and 39 have been withdrawn with claims 3,5,6,10-12,16,17,20,21,23-28,30,31 and 33-37 having been canceled. Hence, claims 1,2,4,7 and 8 remain in the application for prosecution thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,4,7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shariatnia et al. “Atomization of cellulose nanocrystals aqueous suspensions in fused deposition modeling: A scalable technique to improve strength of 3D printed polymers” (Shariatnia et al. going forward) in combination with Nielsen (6,221,435).
Shariatnia et al. teaches a 3D printed polymers whereby cellulose nanocrystals are applied therebetween adjacent layers of polymers (claimed substrate) with the aid of atomization integrated with the fused deposition modeling printer to spray aqueous suspension of cellulose nanocrystals during the process (abstract).
Shariatnia et al. fails to teach the atomization to be supercritical CO2 assisted.
Nielsen (6,221,435) teaches a method for the spray application of polymeric-containing liquid coating compositions using supercritical compressed fluids under choke flow spray condition whereby the use of subcritical compressed fluids such as carbon dioxide to reduce the viscosity and enhance atomization when spray applying coating composition (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to have modified Shariatnia et al. “Atomization of cellulose nanocrystals aqueous suspensions in fused deposition modeling: A scalable technique to improve strength of 3D printed polymers” to utilize supercritical CO2 assistance in spray application as evidenced by Nielsen (6,221,435) with the expectation to reduce viscosity and enhance atomization of the spray applying coating.
Regarding claim 1, Shariatnia et al. teaches forming 3D nanostructures.
Regarding claim 2, Shariatnia et al. teaches cellulose nanocrystals (CNC).
Regarding claim 4, Shariatnia et al. teaches a 3D structure and the claimed ring, disk or domes are known 3D structures and hence would have been within the skill of one practicing the invention to have formed these 3D structures with the expectation of similar success.
Regarding claim 7, Shariatnia et al. teaches using CNC nanocrystals which would meet the claimed nanoparticle and having more than one CNC would meet the claimed second nanoparticle as the first and second nanoparticle can include multiple CNC’s as they are not claimed to be mutually exclusive.
Regrading claim 8, Shariatnia et al. teaches forming a pattern on the ABS to improve interlayer strength of the ABS acting like nano-stitches between the adjacent layers of polymer (ABS).
/BRIAN K TALBOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715