DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 4/8/26 has been considered and entered. Claims 9,13-15,18-19,22,29,32,38 and 39 have been withdrawn while claims 3,5,6,10-12,16,17,20,21,23-28,30,31 and 33-37 have been canceled. Hence, claims 1,2,4,7 and 8 remain in the application for prosecution thereof.
Considering the amendment filed 4/8/26, the 35 USC 112 rejection has been necessitated. The 35 USC 103 rejection has been withdrawn, however, the following rejection has been necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the term “the engineered patterns” lack antecedent basis as the claim recites “patterns” but not engineered patterns. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,4,7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shariatnia et al. “Atomization of cellulose nanocrystals aqueous suspensions in fused deposition modeling: A scalable technique to improve strength of 3D printed polymers” (Shariatnia et al. going forward) in combination with Reverchon (2004/0178529).
Shariatnia et al. teaches a 3D printed polymers whereby cellulose nanocrystals are applied therebetween adjacent layers of polymers (claimed substrate) with the aid of atomization integrated with the fused deposition modeling printer to spray aqueous suspension of cellulose nanocrystals during the process (abstract).
Shariatnia et al. fails to teach the atomization to be supercritical CO2 assisted.
Reverchon (2004/0178529) teaches a process to produce micro and/or nanoparticles to perform the supercritical assisted atomization of the nano and/or micro metric powders. It is possible to use a liquid solvent that show low solubility in carbon dioxide. Atomization is obtained by solubilizing pressurized carbon dioxide including supercritical in a solution to produce very small droplet of micronic and sub-micronic dimension and producing droplets (abstract) and useful for coatings [0001]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to have modified Shariatnia et al. “Atomization of cellulose nanocrystals aqueous suspensions in fused deposition modeling: A scalable technique to improve strength of 3D printed polymers” to utilize supercritical CO2 assistance in spray application as evidenced by Reverchon (2004/0178529) with the expectation to reduce viscosity and enhance atomization of the spray applying coating.
Regarding claim 1, Shariatnia et al. teaches forming 3D nanostructures. Reverchon (2004/0178529) teaches carbon dioxide assisted atomization to produce droplet sized particles for coatings.
Regarding claim 2, Shariatnia et al. teaches cellulose nanocrystals (CNC).
Regarding claim 4, Shariatnia et al. teaches a 3D structure and the claimed ring, disk or domes are known 3D structures and hence would have been within the skill of one practicing the invention to have formed these 3D structures with the expectation of similar success.
Regarding claim 7, Shariatnia et al. teaches using CNC nanocrystals which would meet the claimed nanoparticle and having more than one CNC would meet the claimed second nanoparticle as the first and second nanoparticle can include multiple CNC’s as they are not claimed to be mutually exclusive.
Regrading claim 8, Shariatnia et al. teaches forming a pattern on the ABS to improve interlayer strength of the ABS acting like nano-stitches between the adjacent layers of polymer (ABS).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1,2,4,7 and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argued prior art teaches forming droplets using supercritical assisted CO2 atomization.
Reverchon (2004/0178529) teaches this as detailed above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN K TALBOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712