DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
the power supply unit provided inside the rod bodies, of claim 9
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 9, the phrase “wherein, the street lamp assembly includes a power supply unit provided inside the rod bodies and a lighting unit provided outside of the rod bodies; the power supply unit includes a supporting frame, a converter, a storage battery and a solar energy panel; the supporting frame is fixed on an inner wall of the” (see lines 1-4) are unclear because:
In lines 1-2, it is disclosed the power supply unit is provided inside the rod bodies. That is, the claim requires: at least one of each of the elements of the power supply unit should be housed within each rod body, including the solar energy panel as the solar panel is part of the power supply unit. However, it is well known in the art, that solar panels must be exposed to solar light to perform as intended. Solar panels could not be housed within any rod body.
For purpose of examination the phrase above has been interpreted to mean: -- wherein, the street lamp assembly includes a power supply unit provided on at least one of the rod bodies and a lighting unit provided outside of at least one the rod bodies; the power supply unit includes a supporting frame, a converter, a storage battery and a solar energy panel; the supporting frame is fixed on an inner wall of the --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang Da-Fang (CN 219243478 U, hereinafter, “Zhang”, cited by the Applicant in IDS filed on 7/23/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a splicing rod of outdoor equipment (connecting rod 3, lamp post 4 and lamp column 5, see figures 1-4), comprising:
a base (mounting seat 6, see fig 1) provided at a bottom (bottom of 3-5) of the splicing rod of outdoor equipment (3-5) to support;
two or more rod bodies (4-5), wherein, each rod body (4 or 5) of the rod bodies (4-5) is arranged up and down along an axis (see axial arrangement as seen in fig 1), and the base (6) is fixedly provided on a bottom (bottom of 5) of a lowest rod body (5);
a rotating buckle (connecting column 10, slot 13, see figures 2-3), wherein, the rotating buckle (10, 13) is located between two adjacent rod bodies (4-5), and includes an upper buckle (10) fixedly connected to an upper rod body (4) and a lower buckle (13) fixedly connected to a lower rod body (5), and the upper buckle (10) and the lower buckle (13) is able to rotate relative to each other (as seen in figs 2-3) around the axis (see axial arrangement as seen in fig 1) of the rod bodies (4-5);
a rod cover (3) configured to install outdoor equipment (lamp holder and LED lamp 2), wherein, the rod cover (3) is provided on a top (as seen in fig 1) of an uppermost rod body (4).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches wherein, one of the lower buckle (13) and the upper buckle (10) is provided with a clamping slot (see shape of 13, in fig 2), the other of the lower buckle (13) and the upper buckle (10) is provided with a clamping block (fixing block 11, see fig 2), the clamping block (11) is engaged into or disengaged from the clamping slot (see shape of 13) as the lower buckle (13) rotates relative to the upper buckle (10).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches a street lamp (Assembled Street lamp, see figures 1-4), comprising: the splicing rod of outdoor equipment (3-5) of claim 1 and a street lamp assembly (2); the street lamp assembly (2) is fixed on the rod cover (3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Kao et al. (US 20090303703 A1, herein after “Kao”).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches wherein, the street lamp assembly (2) includes a lighting unit (LEDs) provided outside of the rod bodies (4); a supporting frame (1); the supporting frame (1) is fixed on an inner wall (onto both inner and outer walls of 4 via 3) of the rod bodies (4-5), but
Zhang does not explicitly teach the street lamp assembly includes a power supply unit provided inside the rod bodies; the power supply unit includes a supporting frame, a converter, a storage battery and a solar energy panel; the converter and the storage battery is installed on the supporting frame, the solar energy panel is laid on at least a part of the outside of the rod bodies (4-5); the solar energy panel, the converter, the storage battery and the lighting unit are electrically connected sequentially.
Kao teaches a street lamp assembly (solar-powered LED street light 10, see figure 1) wherein:
the street lamp assembly (10) includes a power supply unit (switch power supply unit 20) provided inside the rod bodies (lamppost 101); the power supply unit (20) includes a supporting frame (see transverse frame, not labeled but seen in fig 1), a converter (converter within 20, see ¶ 23), a storage battery (battery 122) and a solar energy panel (solar cell 12); the converter (converter within 20) and the storage battery (122) is installed on the supporting frame (transverse frame), the solar energy panel is laid on at least a part of the outside of the rod bodies (101); the solar energy panel (12), the converter (converter within 20), the storage battery (122) and the lighting unit (LED lamp 11) are electrically connected sequentially (necessarily occurring for the device to perform as expected).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the power supply unit as taught by Kao into the teachings of Zhang, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide renewable power to device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 3-5, although Zhang teaches the splicing rod for outdoor equipment, as described in claims 1-2 above, the prior art the prior art of the record fails to teach:
(claim 3) wherein, the clamping slot is provided on the lower buckle; the lower buckle is further provided with a lower base, a lower connecting cylinder, a lower connecting block and a stepped hole; the upper buckle is installed on the lower base, a lower flange extending along a periphery of the lower base is protrudingly provided on one side of the lower base away from the upper buckle; the lower connecting cylinder is protrudingly provided on one side of the lower base away from the upper buckle, the upper buckle is inserted into the lower connecting cylinder, and an axis of the upper buckle is parallel to the axis of the rod bodies, the clamping slot is provided on an inner sidewall of the lower connecting cylinder; the 17 lower connecting block surrounds an outside of the lower connecting cylinder and has a gap between the lower flange, the rod body is disposed between the lower flange and the lower connecting block; the stepped hole passes through the lower base, an axis of the stepped hole is parallel to the axis of rod bodies, and a diameter of one side of the stepped hole near to the upper buckle is larger than a diameter of one side of the stepped hole away from the upper buckle; and
(claim 4) wherein, the rod bodies are hollow inside, at least one end of each rod body of the rod bodies is provided with a positioning block and a mounting hole, the positioning block is protrudingly provided at an inner wall of the rod body, the mounting hole is provided on the positioning block and is communicated with the stepped hole; a lower concave portion concave to an interior of the lower connecting cylinder is provided on an outside sidewall of the lower connecting block; the positioning block is inserted into the lower concave portion; and
(claim 5) wherein, the clamping slot includes a first clamping block and a second clamping block, the first clamping block and the second clamping block are protrudingly provided on the inner sidewall of the lower connecting cylinder and separated from each other with a certain distance; when projects along the axis of the rod bodies, at least one part of the first clamping block and the second clamping block do not overlap; and
(claim 6) wherein, the upper buckle is provided with an upper base, an upper connecting cylinder, an upper connecting block, a clamping block and a mounting hole; one side surface of the upper base is in contact with the lower base, and an upper flange extending along an outer periphery of the upper base is protrudingly provided on one sidewall of the upper base facing away from the lower base; the upper connecting cylinder is protrudingly provided on one side ofthe upper base facing the lower base, and an axis of the upper connecting cylinder is parallel to the lower connecting cylinder; the upper connecting block surrounds an outside of the upper connecting cylinder, and has a gap with respect to the upper flange; the clamping block is protrudingly provided on an outer sidewall of the upper connecting cylinder; the mounting hole is provided on the upper base and communicated with the stepped hole; and
(claim 7) wherein, an upper concave portion concave to an interior of the upper connecting cylinder is provided on an outer sidewall of the upper connecting block, the positioning block is inserted into the upper concave portion.
Regarding claim 10, although Zhang teaches the splicing rod for outdoor equipment, as described in claims 1 and 8 above, the prior art the prior art of the record fails to teach wherein, the lighting unit includes a connecting elbow, a movable arm and a solar powered lamp; one end of the connecting elbow extends along a direction parallel to the axis of the rod bodies, another end of the connecting elbow is bent and hinged with the movable arm; the solar powered light is fixed on one side of the movable arm away from the connecting elbow and is rotated with the movable arm.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LV Rui-jun. (CN 214700594 U) discloses a splicing rod for outdoor equipment having a plurality of rods connected to each other via buckles. Selecting the number of the splicing rods body according to the needed length, at last, fixing the splicing fixed ring of the splicing rod body; it can realize convenient according to different mounting places; the length of the lamp rod is freely spliced.
Wu et al. (WO 2021208443 A1) discloses a splicing rod for outdoor equipment having a plurality of rods connected to each other via connecting sleeves around each two sections. The energy-saving and environmentally friendly splicing rod with solar street light uses light sensors and ultrasonic sensors to adjust LED lighting, while providing high stability, through the use of the lamp pole fasteners and the lamp pole fixing tube to achieve rapid installation and fixation of the lamp pole and improve the installation efficiency.
Ronotic. (DE 202018000444 U1) discloses a splicing rod for outdoor equipment having a plurality of rods connected to each other, wherein each rod is inserted into the other. The splicing rod includes solar panels are connected with lights of the lamp holder by the energy storage part so as to determine optimum position of the solar panels with respect to sun without using multiple numbers of different solar panels.
/OMAR ROJAS CADIMA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875