DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 5/28/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the method limitations closely approximate the apparatus limitations and hence fall within the same overall search strategy. This is not found persuasive because the search and/or examination burden is not limited exclusively to a prior art search but also includes that effort required to apply the art by making and discussing all appropriate grounds of rejection. Multiple inventions, such as those in the present application, normally require additional reference material and further discussion for each additional invention examined. Concurrent examination of multiple inventions would thus typically involve a significant burden even if all searches were coextensive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 7, “downstream the compressor” should read “downstream of the compressor”.
In claim 2, line 2, “downstream the working fluid compressor” should read “downstream of the working fluid compressor”.
In claim 5, line 2, “actuatoris” should read “actuator is”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanzberger (US3105632) in view of Brenne et al. (US2017/0002822).
Regarding claim 1, Tanzberger teaches a centrifugal compressor comprising: a compressor rotor (28), a compressor stator (30), a working fluid compressor inlet (42), a working fluid compressor outlet (44), and, a driver (prime mover not shown), the driver driving the compressor rotor in rotation through a rotor shaft end, wherein a radial expansion impeller (29) is arranged on the rotor shaft end downstream the compressor rotor the radial expansion impeller comprising a radial expansion impeller inlet and a radial expansion impeller discharge (see Fig. 2) and one or more flow regulators (98) are arranged between a working fluid compressor discharge and the radial expansion impeller inlet to regulate an amount of the working fluid allowed to pass through the radial expansion impeller (see Figs. 1-2 and col. 6 lines 22-25) and wherein the radial expansion impeller discharge is connected with the working fluid compressor inlet through a return line (72) the centrifugal compressor further comprising an anti-surge control system (see col. 6 lines 15-21), the anti-surge control system configured to adjust the one or more flow regulators to increase and/or decrease the amount of the working fluid allowed to pass through the radial expansion impeller (see col. 6 lines 15-21).
Tanzberger fails to explicitly teach temperature, pressure and flow measuring instruments on an outlet line of the compressor and temperature, pressure and flow measuring instruments on an inlet line of the compressor.
In an analogous art, Brenne teaches compressor control and performance monitoring. Brenne teaches pressure and temperature measuring instruments (3, 4) that send readings to an associated flow meter (2) for controlling a compressor operating point (see paragraph [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the compressor of Tanzberger and add temperature, pressure and flow measuring instruments on an outlet line of the compressor and temperature, pressure and flow measuring instruments on an inlet line of the compressor as taught by Brenne to control a compressor operating point.
Regarding claim 2, Tanzberger as modified teaches a compressor discharge volute (48) is arranged downstream of the working fluid compressor discharge and a deswirler (50) is arranged between the compressor discharge volute and the radial expansion impeller inlet.
Regarding claim 3, Tanzberger as modified teaches a diffuser (45) is arranged between the radial expansion impeller discharge and the return line.
Regarding claim 4, Tanzberger as modified teaches the one or more flow regulators are adjustable nozzles (the valve 98 is considered an adjustable nozzle as it can be adjusted between fully open, partially open and fully closed positions).
Regarding claim 5, Tanzberger as modified teaches a nozzle guide vane actuator (104) is configured to actuate the adjustable nozzles and operate the compressor in recycling mode.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US references 2018/0135637, 9133850, 2010/0272588, 3826594, 4067665 and 1110864 teach compressors with recycle lines to prevent surge conditions.
/CAMERON A CORDAY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745