The preliminary amendment filed 7/23/2024 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 14-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230216614 A1) in view of Zhou et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210022168 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Wang and Zhou.
In regard to Claim 1, Wang teaches A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (terminal device 110, Para. 52, FIGS. 1, 2, 9), comprising: at least one memory (memory 920, Para. 114, FIG. 9); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (processor 910 may perform any suitable actions and processing by loading the program 930 into the RAM 920, Para. 115, FIG. 9) and configured to cause the UE to: receive a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), wherein the plurality of PDSCHs is scheduled by a downlink control information (DCI) format (the terminal device 110 receives N independent PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI format, Para. 52, FIGS. 1-3. The plurality of TBs on multiple PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI, Para. 67).
Wang teaches determine a number of transport blocks (TBs) (wherein N is the maximum number of TBs/or actual number of TBs scheduled by a DCI for the terminal device, Para. 69) transmitted on the plurality of PDSCHs based on the DCI format (the terminal device 110 receives N independent PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI format, Para. 52, FIGS. 1-3. The plurality of TBs on multiple PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI, Para. 67).
Wang teaches generate a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook (Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook determination, Para. 67) including a set of HARQ-ACK information bits (terminal device 110 separately generates HARQ-ACK bit for each PDSCH among the multiple PDSCHs and reports these HARQ-ACK bits in a PUCCH, Para. 67, FIGS. 1, 2) for the TBs (for the plurality of TBs on multiple PDSCHs having same reception occasions, N HARQ-ACK positions are generated, wherein N is the maximum number of TBs/or actual number of TBs scheduled by a DCI for the terminal device, Para. 69-70, FIG. 5A) transmitted on the plurality of PDSCHs (the reception occasions for the plurality of TBs on multiple PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI are same, Para. 67).
Wang teaches transmit the HARQ-ACK codebook (terminal device 110 may transmit 230 the HARQ-ACK feedback information based on the feedback pattern via the control channel to the network device, Para. 87, FIG. 2).
Although Wang teaches a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), Wang fails to teach a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) on a plurality of carriers.
Zhou teaches a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) (The base station 602 may duplicate the first MAC-CE to generate a second MAC-CE. The base station 602 transmits the PDSCHs 652 and 654 along with their respective MAC-CEs, Para. 110, FIG. 6) on a plurality of carriers (an initial or original TB on one carrier (e.g., component carrier (CC)) can be combined with repetitions of the TB on one or more other carriers using duplicated MAC-CEs, Para. 70, FIG. 4. Component carriers (CCs) are illustrated, Para. 107, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Wang since Zhou provides a technique to utilize multiple carriers for transmission of respective data channels, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang to permit increased reliability of data channel receptions.
In regard to Claim 14, Wang teaches A base station (BS) for wireless communication (network device 120, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2), comprising: at least one memory (memory 920, Para. 114, FIG. 9); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (processor 910 may perform any suitable actions and processing by loading the program 930 into the RAM 920, Para. 115, FIG. 9) and configured to cause the BS to determine a number of transport blocks (TBs) to be transmitted on a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) (the terminal device 110 receives N independent PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI format, Para. 52, FIGS. 1-3. The plurality of TBs on multiple PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI, Para. 67. Wherein N is the maximum number of TBs/or actual number of TBs scheduled by a DCI for the terminal device, Para. 69).
Wang teaches transmit the plurality of PDSCHs, wherein the plurality of PDSCHs is scheduled by a downlink control information (DCI) format (the terminal device 110 receives N independent PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI format, Para. 52, FIGS. 1-3. The plurality of TBs on multiple PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI, Para. 67. Wherein N is the maximum number of TBs/or actual number of TBs scheduled by a DCI for the terminal device, Para. 69).
Wang teaches receive a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook (Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook determination, Para. 67. Terminal device 110 may transmit 230 the HARQ-ACK feedback information based on the feedback pattern via the control channel to the network device, Para. 87, FIG. 2) including a set of HARQ-ACK information bits (terminal device 110 separately generates HARQ-ACK bit for each PDSCH among the multiple PDSCHs and reports these HARQ-ACK bits in a PUCCH, Para. 67, FIGS. 1, 2) for the TBs (for the plurality of TBs on multiple PDSCHs having same reception occasions, N HARQ-ACK positions are generated, wherein N is the maximum number of TBs/or actual number of TBs scheduled by a DCI for the terminal device, Para. 69-70, FIG. 5A) transmitted on the plurality of PDSCHs (the reception occasions for the plurality of TBs on multiple PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI are same, Para. 67).
Although Wang teaches PDSCHs, Wang fails to teach PDSCHs on a plurality of carriers.
Zhou teaches PDSCHs (The base station 602 may duplicate the first MAC-CE to generate a second MAC-CE. The base station 602 transmits the PDSCHs 652 and 654 along with their respective MAC-CEs, Para. 110, FIG. 6) on a plurality of carriers (an initial or original TB on one carrier (e.g., component carrier (CC)) can be combined with repetitions of the TB on one or more other carriers using duplicated MAC-CEs, Para. 70, FIG. 4. Component carriers (CCs) are illustrated, Para. 107, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Wang since Zhou provides a technique to utilize multiple carriers for transmission of respective data channels, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang to permit increased reliability of data channel receptions.
In regard to Claim 15, Wang teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) (terminal device 110, Para. 52, FIGS. 1, 2, 9), the method comprising: receiving a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), wherein the plurality of PDSCHs is scheduled by a downlink control information (DCI) format (the terminal device 110 receives N independent PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI format, Para. 52, FIGS. 1-3. The plurality of TBs on multiple PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI, Para. 67).
Wang teaches determining a number of transport blocks (TBs) (wherein N is the maximum number of TBs/or actual number of TBs scheduled by a DCI for the terminal device, Para. 69) transmitted on the plurality of PDSCHs based on the DCI format (the terminal device 110 receives N independent PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI format, Para. 52, FIGS. 1-3. The plurality of TBs on multiple PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI, Para. 67).
Wang teaches generating a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook (Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook determination, Para. 67) including a set of HARQ-ACK information bits (terminal device 110 separately generates HARQ-ACK bit for each PDSCH among the multiple PDSCHs and reports these HARQ-ACK bits in a PUCCH, Para. 67, FIGS. 1, 2) for the TBs (for the plurality of TBs on multiple PDSCHs having same reception occasions, N HARQ-ACK positions are generated, wherein N is the maximum number of TBs/or actual number of TBs scheduled by a DCI for the terminal device, Para. 69-70, FIG. 5A) transmitted on the plurality of PDSCHs (the reception occasions for the plurality of TBs on multiple PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI are same, Para. 67).
Wang teaches transmitting the HARQ-ACK codebook (terminal device 110 may transmit 230 the HARQ-ACK feedback information based on the feedback pattern via the control channel to the network device, Para. 87, FIG. 2).
Although Wang teaches a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), Wang fails to teach a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) on a plurality of carriers.
Zhou teaches a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) (The base station 602 may duplicate the first MAC-CE to generate a second MAC-CE. The base station 602 transmits the PDSCHs 652 and 654 along with their respective MAC-CEs, Para. 110, FIG. 6) on a plurality of carriers (an initial or original TB on one carrier (e.g., component carrier (CC)) can be combined with repetitions of the TB on one or more other carriers using duplicated MAC-CEs, Para. 70, FIG. 4. Component carriers (CCs) are illustrated, Para. 107, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Wang since Zhou provides a technique to utilize multiple carriers for transmission of respective data channels, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang to permit increased reliability of data channel receptions.
In regard to Claim 17, Wang teaches A processor for wireless communication (processor 910 may perform any suitable actions and processing by loading the program 930 into the RAM 920, Para. 115, FIG. 9), comprising: at least one controller coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the processor (one or more memories 940 coupled to the processor 910, and one or more transmitters and/or receivers (TX/RX) 940 coupled to the processor 910, Para. 111, FIG. 9) to: receive a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), wherein the plurality of PDSCHs is scheduled by a downlink control information (DCI) format (the terminal device 110 receives N independent PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI format, Para. 52, FIGS. 1-3. The plurality of TBs on multiple PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI, Para. 67).
Wang teaches determine a number of transport blocks (TBs) (wherein N is the maximum number of TBs/or actual number of TBs scheduled by a DCI for the terminal device, Para. 69) transmitted on the plurality of PDSCHs based on the DCI format (the terminal device 110 receives N independent PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI format, Para. 52, FIGS. 1-3. The plurality of TBs on multiple PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI, Para. 67).
Wang teaches generate a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook (Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook determination, Para. 67) including a set of HARQ-ACK information bits (terminal device 110 separately generates HARQ-ACK bit for each PDSCH among the multiple PDSCHs and reports these HARQ-ACK bits in a PUCCH, Para. 67, FIGS. 1, 2) for the TBs (for the plurality of TBs on multiple PDSCHs having same reception occasions, N HARQ-ACK positions are generated, wherein N is the maximum number of TBs/or actual number of TBs scheduled by a DCI for the terminal device, Para. 69-70, FIG. 5A) transmitted on the plurality of PDSCHs (the reception occasions for the plurality of TBs on multiple PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI are same, Para. 67).
Wang teaches transmit the HARQ-ACK codebook (terminal device 110 may transmit 230 the HARQ-ACK feedback information based on the feedback pattern via the control channel to the network device, Para. 87, FIG. 2).
Although Wang teaches a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), Wang fails to teach a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) on a plurality of carriers.
Zhou teaches a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) (The base station 602 may duplicate the first MAC-CE to generate a second MAC-CE. The base station 602 transmits the PDSCHs 652 and 654 along with their respective MAC-CEs, Para. 110, FIG. 6) on a plurality of carriers (an initial or original TB on one carrier (e.g., component carrier (CC)) can be combined with repetitions of the TB on one or more other carriers using duplicated MAC-CEs, Para. 70, FIG. 4. Component carriers (CCs) are illustrated, Para. 107, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Wang since Zhou provides a technique to utilize multiple carriers for transmission of respective data channels, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang to permit increased reliability of data channel receptions.
Claim(s) 2-4, 16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Zhou, and further in view of Zewail et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230035459 A1), hereafter referred to as Zewail.
In regard to Claim 2, Wang teaches the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: a corresponding PDSCH (the terminal device 110 receives N independent PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI format, Para. 52, FIGS. 1-3. The plurality of TBs on multiple PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI, Para. 67) on a carrier (if the terminal device is configured with Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook and the terminal device is configured with only one Component Carrier (CC), Para. 82, FIGS. 1-3).
Wang fails to teach a carrier of the plurality of carriers.
Zhou teaches a carrier of the plurality of carriers (the first frequency range 622 has a first CC 632 (e.g., CC 15) and a second CC 634 (e.g., CC 8), and the second frequency range 624 has a first CC 636 (e.g., CC 7) and a second CC 638 (e.g., CC 0), Para. 107, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Wang since Zhou provides a technique to utilize multiple carriers for transmission of respective data channels, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang to permit increased reliability of data channel receptions.
Wang in view of Zhou fails to teach receive a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table, wherein a first entry of the TDRA table indicates multiple start and length indicator values (SLIVs), at least one slot offset value associated with the multiple SLIVs, and at least one PSCH mapping type associated with the multiple SLIVs, and wherein each SLIV is associated with a corresponding PSCH on a carrier, wherein the first entry of the TDRA table further indicates a number of TBs.
Zewail teaches receive a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table (the UE 104 may include a reception component 198 configured to receive, from a base station, an indication of at least one time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table for one of a plurality of transport block (TB) modes, Para. 46, FIG. 1), wherein a first entry of the TDRA table indicates multiple start and length indicator values (SLIVs) (each of the first rows or each of the first columns may include multiple SLIVs, Para. 80, FIG. 7), at least one slot offset value associated with the multiple SLIVs (As shown in FIG. 7, diagram 700 includes a number of columns including a row index, a slot offset (K2), Para. 78, FIG. 7), and at least one PSCH mapping type associated with the multiple SLIVs (As shown in FIG. 7, diagram 700 includes a number of columns including a row index, a PUSCH mapping type (e.g., Type A or Type B), Para. 78, FIG. 7), and wherein each SLIV is associated with a corresponding PSCH on a carrier (As shown in FIG. 7, diagram 700 includes a number of columns including a row index, a PUSCH mapping type (e.g., Type A or Type B), Para. 78, FIG. 7), wherein the first entry of the TDRA table further indicates a number of TBs (the rows in the TDRA table with TB repetitions of a single TB may have a single SLIV and a column to indicate a number of repetitions of the single TB, Para. 80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zewail with the teachings of Wang in view of Zhou since Zewail provides a technique to utilize TDRA tables and SLIVs in relation to TB repetition modes, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Zhou to utilize TDRA tables and SLIVs to optimize processing of TBs on multiple PDSCHs.
In regard to Claim 3, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Zhou teaches the DCI format.
Wang in view of Zhou fails to teach the DCI format indicates the first entry of the TDRA table and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to determine the number of TBs based on the first entry.
Zewail teaches the DCI format indicates (different DCI formats, Para. 54. Utilize a single TDRA table for scheduling multiple TBs via a single DCI, as well as a single TDRA table for scheduling a same TB repetition over multiple allocations of a single DCI, Para. 76, FIG. 7) the first entry of the TDRA table (a single TDRA table may use an RRC configuration to indicate that certain rows are dedicated. The first M rows, Para. 79, FIG. 7) and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to determine the number of TBs based on the first entry (a single TDRA table may use an RRC configuration to indicate that certain rows are dedicated to a TB mode for scheduling multiple TBs via a single grant. The first M rows may be utilized for scheduling a single TB with at least one repetition via a single grant, Para. 79, FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zewail with the teachings of Wang in view of Zhou since Zewail provides a technique to utilize TDRA tables and SLIVs in relation to TB repetition modes, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Zhou to utilize TDRA tables and SLIVs to optimize processing of TBs on multiple PDSCHs.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Zhou teaches PDSCHs.
Wang in view of Zhou fails to teach the DCI format indicates whether the plurality of PSCHs carries the same TB or each of the plurality of PSCHs carries a different TB.
Zewail teaches the DCI format indicates (different DCI formats, Para. 54. Utilize a single TDRA table for scheduling multiple TBs via a single DCI, as well as a single TDRA table for scheduling a same TB repetition over multiple allocations of a single DCI, Para. 76, FIG. 7) whether the plurality of PSCHs carries the same TB (a single TDRA table may use an RRC configuration to indicate that certain rows are dedicated to a TB mode for scheduling multiple TBs via a single grant. The first M rows may be utilized for scheduling a single TB with at least one repetition via a single grant, Para. 79, FIG. 7) or each of the plurality of PDSCHs carries a different TB.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zewail with the teachings of Wang in view of Zhou since Zewail provides a technique to utilize TDRA tables and SLIVs in relation to TB repetition modes, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Zhou to utilize TDRA tables and SLIVs to optimize processing of TBs on multiple PDSCHs.
In regard to Claim 16, Wang teaches a corresponding PDSCH (the terminal device 110 receives N independent PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI format, Para. 52, FIGS. 1-3. The plurality of TBs on multiple PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI, Para. 67) on a carrier (if the terminal device is configured with Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook and the terminal device is configured with only one Component Carrier (CC), Para. 82, FIGS. 1-3).
Wang fails to teach a carrier of the plurality of carriers.
Zhou teaches a carrier of the plurality of carriers (the first frequency range 622 has a first CC 632 (e.g., CC 15) and a second CC 634 (e.g., CC 8), and the second frequency range 624 has a first CC 636 (e.g., CC 7) and a second CC 638 (e.g., CC 0), Para. 107, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Wang since Zhou provides a technique to utilize multiple carriers for transmission of respective data channels, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang to permit increased reliability of data channel receptions.
Wang in view of Zhou fails to teach receiving a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table, wherein a first entry of the TDRA table indicates multiple start and length indicator values (SLIVs), at least one slot offset value associated with the multiple SLIVs, and at least one PSCH mapping type associated with the multiple SLIVs, and wherein each SLIV is associated with a corresponding PSCH on a carrier, wherein the first entry of the TDRA table further indicates a number of TBs.
Zewail teaches receiving a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table (the UE 104 may include a reception component 198 configured to receive, from a base station, an indication of at least one time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table for one of a plurality of transport block (TB) modes, Para. 46, FIG. 1), wherein a first entry of the TDRA table indicates multiple start and length indicator values (SLIVs) (each of the first rows or each of the first columns may include multiple SLIVs, Para. 80, FIG. 7), at least one slot offset value associated with the multiple SLIVs (As shown in FIG. 7, diagram 700 includes a number of columns including a row index, a slot offset (K2), Para. 78, FIG. 7), and at least one PSCH mapping type associated with the multiple SLIVs (As shown in FIG. 7, diagram 700 includes a number of columns including a row index, a PUSCH mapping type (e.g., Type A or Type B), Para. 78, FIG. 7), and wherein each SLIV is associated with a corresponding PSCH on a carrier (As shown in FIG. 7, diagram 700 includes a number of columns including a row index, a PUSCH mapping type (e.g., Type A or Type B), Para. 78, FIG. 7), wherein the first entry of the TDRA table further indicates a number of TBs (the rows in the TDRA table with TB repetitions of a single TB may have a single SLIV and a column to indicate a number of repetitions of the single TB, Para. 80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zewail with the teachings of Wang in view of Zhou since Zewail provides a technique to utilize TDRA tables and SLIVs in relation to TB repetition modes, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Zhou to utilize TDRA tables and SLIVs to optimize processing of TBs on multiple PDSCHs.
In regard to Claim 18, Wang teaches the at least one controller is further configured to cause the processor to: a corresponding PDSCH (the terminal device 110 receives N independent PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI format, Para. 52, FIGS. 1-3. The plurality of TBs on multiple PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI, Para. 67) on a carrier (if the terminal device is configured with Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook and the terminal device is configured with only one Component Carrier (CC), Para. 82, FIGS. 1-3).
Wang fails to teach a carrier of the plurality of carriers.
Zhou teaches a carrier of the plurality of carriers (the first frequency range 622 has a first CC 632 (e.g., CC 15) and a second CC 634 (e.g., CC 8), and the second frequency range 624 has a first CC 636 (e.g., CC 7) and a second CC 638 (e.g., CC 0), Para. 107, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Wang since Zhou provides a technique to utilize multiple carriers for transmission of respective data channels, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang to permit increased reliability of data channel receptions.
Wang in view of Zhou fails to teach receive a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table, wherein a first entry of the TDRA table indicates multiple start and length indicator values (SLIVs), at least one slot offset value associated with the multiple SLIVs, and at least one PDSCH mapping type associated with the multiple SLIVs, and wherein each SLIV is associated with a corresponding PDSCH on a carrier, wherein the first entry of the TDRA table further indicates a number of TBs.
Zewail teaches receive a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table (the UE 104 may include a reception component 198 configured to receive, from a base station, an indication of at least one time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table for one of a plurality of transport block (TB) modes, Para. 46, FIG. 1), wherein a first entry of the TDRA table indicates multiple start and length indicator values (SLIVs) (each of the first rows or each of the first columns may include multiple SLIVs, Para. 80, FIG. 7), at least one slot offset value associated with the multiple SLIVs (As shown in FIG. 7, diagram 700 includes a number of columns including a row index, a slot offset (K2), Para. 78, FIG. 7), and at least one PDSCH mapping type associated with the multiple SLIVs (As shown in FIG. 7, diagram 700 includes a number of columns including a row index, a PUSCH mapping type (e.g., Type A or Type B), Para. 78, FIG. 7), and wherein each SLIV is associated with a corresponding PDSCH on a carrier (As shown in FIG. 7, diagram 700 includes a number of columns including a row index, a PUSCH mapping type (e.g., Type A or Type B), Para. 78, FIG. 7), wherein the first entry of the TDRA table further indicates a number of TBs (the rows in the TDRA table with TB repetitions of a single TB may have a single SLIV and a column to indicate a number of repetitions of the single TB, Para. 80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zewail with the teachings of Wang in view of Zhou since Zewail provides a technique to utilize TDRA tables and SLIVs in relation to TB repetition modes, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Zhou to utilize TDRA tables and SLIVs to optimize processing of TBs on multiple PDSCHs.
In regard to Claim 19, as presented in the rejection of Claim 17, Wang in view of Zhou teaches PDSCHs.
Wang in view of Zhou fails to teach the DCI format indicates whether the plurality of PDSCHs carries the same TB or each of the plurality of PDSCHs carries a different TB.
Zewail teaches the DCI format indicates (different DCI formats, Para. 54. Utilize a single TDRA table for scheduling multiple TBs via a single DCI, as well as a single TDRA table for scheduling a same TB repetition over multiple allocations of a single DCI, Para. 76, FIG. 7) whether the plurality of PDSCHs carries the same TB (a single TDRA table may use an RRC configuration to indicate that certain rows are dedicated to a TB mode for scheduling multiple TBs via a single grant. The first M rows may be utilized for scheduling a single TB with at least one repetition via a single grant, Para. 79, FIG. 7) or each of the plurality of PDSCHs carries a different TB.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zewail with the teachings of Wang in view of Zhou since Zewail provides a technique to utilize TDRA tables and SLIVs in relation to TB repetition modes, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Zhou to utilize TDRA tables and SLIVs to optimize processing of TBs on multiple PDSCHs.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Zhou, and further in view of Papasakellariou (Pub. No.: US 20220201726 A1), hereafter referred to as Papasakellariou.
In regard to Claim 5, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Zhou teaches the HARQ-ACK codebook.
Wang in view of Zhou fails to teach the set of HARQ-ACK information bits is placed in the HARQ-ACK codebook based on a downlink assignment indicator (DAI) in the DCI format, wherein a first HARQ-ACK information bit of the set of HARQ-ACK information bits is placed in the HARQ-ACK codebook according to the DAI in the DCI format, and the remaining HARQ-ACK information bits of the set of HARQ-ACK information bits are placed following the first HARQ-ACK information bit.
Papasakellariou teaches the set of HARQ-ACK information bits is placed in the HARQ-ACK codebook based on a downlink assignment indicator (DAI) in the DCI format, wherein a first HARQ-ACK information bit of the set of HARQ-ACK information bits is placed in the HARQ-ACK codebook according to the DAI in the DCI format (In step 1730, the UE determines a location in a HARQ-ACK codebook for HARQ-ACK information bits associated with the PDCCH monitoring occasion and the first PDSCH reception on the serving cell according to the DAI value in a same manner as when the UE detects a DCI format, Para. 205, FIG. 17), and the remaining HARQ-ACK information bits of the set of HARQ-ACK information bits are placed following the first HARQ-ACK information bit (In step 1750, the UE determines whether the DAI value is incremented N. When the DAI value is not incremented N, the UE, in step 1760 repeats the procedure to determine a location in the HARQ-ACK codebook for HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to TBs provided by a next PDSCH reception and then repeats step 1740, Para. 206, FIG. 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Papasakellariou with the teachings of Wang in view of Zhou since Papasakellariou provides a technique for determining locations in HARQ-ACK codebooks for HARQ-ACK information bits based on DAI values related to DCI formats, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Zhou to permit HARQ-ACK information bits to be determined within HARQ-ACK codebooks based on counter DAI in DL DCI formats.
In regard to Claim 6, Wang teaches the set of HARQ-ACK information bits only includes a HARQ-ACK information bit for the TB transmitted on the plurality of PDSCHs (one HARQ-ACK position in the HARQ-ACK codebook is generated for the respective reception occasions of the TBs on different PDSCHs. The terminal device 110 may report one HARQ-ACK bit for the multi-PDSCHs in the corresponding HARQ-ACK position in Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 58. The terminal device only reports the one HARQ-ACK bit for multi-PDSCHs in one of the HARQ-ACK positions associated with multiple PDSCHs in the HARQ-ACK codebook, Para. 61).
Although Wang in view of Zhou teaches the set of HARQ-ACK information bits only includes a HARQ-ACK information bit, Wang in view of Zhou fails to teach in response to determining the number of TBs being equal to 1, the set of HARQ-ACK information bits only includes a HARQ-ACK information bit.
Papasakellariou teaches in response to determining the number of TBs being equal to 1, the set of HARQ-ACK information bits only includes a HARQ-ACK information bit (In step 1730, the UE determines a location in a HARQ-ACK codebook for HARQ-ACK information bits associated with the PDCCH monitoring occasion and the first PDSCH reception, Para. 205, FIG. 17. When the DAI value is incremented N, the UE, in step 1770, terminates the procedure, Para. 206, FIG. 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Papasakellariou with the teachings of Wang in view of Zhou since Papasakellariou provides a technique for determining locations in HARQ-ACK codebooks for HARQ-ACK information bits based on DAI values related to DCI formats, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Zhou to permit HARQ-ACK information bits to be determined within HARQ-ACK codebooks based on counter DAI in DL DCI formats.
In regard to Claim 20, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Zhou teaches the HARQ-ACK codebook.
Wang in view of Zhou fails to teach the set of HARQ-ACK information bits is placed in the HARQ-ACK codebook based on a downlink assignment indicator (DAI) in the DCI format, wherein a first HARQ-ACK information bit of the set of HARQ-ACK information bits is placed in the HARQ-ACK codebook according to the DAI in the DCI format, and the remaining HARQ-ACK information bits of the set of HARQ-ACK information bits are placed following the first HARQ-ACK information bit.
Papasakellariou teaches the set of HARQ-ACK information bits is placed in the HARQ-ACK codebook based on a downlink assignment indicator (DAI) in the DCI format, wherein a first HARQ-ACK information bit of the set of HARQ-ACK information bits is placed in the HARQ-ACK codebook according to the DAI in the DCI format (In step 1730, the UE determines a location in a HARQ-ACK codebook for HARQ-ACK information bits associated with the PDCCH monitoring occasion and the first PDSCH reception on the serving cell according to the DAI value in a same manner as when the UE detects a DCI format, Para. 205, FIG. 17), and the remaining HARQ-ACK information bits of the set of HARQ-ACK information bits are placed following the first HARQ-ACK information bit (In step 1750, the UE determines whether the DAI value is incremented N. When the DAI value is not incremented N, the UE, in step 1760 repeats the procedure to determine a location in the HARQ-ACK codebook for HARQ-ACK information bits corresponding to TBs provided by a next PDSCH reception and then repeats step 1740, Para. 206, FIG. 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Papasakellariou with the teachings of Wang in view of Zhou since Papasakellariou provides a technique for determining locations in HARQ-ACK codebooks for HARQ-ACK information bits based on DAI values related to DCI formats, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Zhou to permit HARQ-ACK information bits to be determined within HARQ-ACK codebooks based on counter DAI in DL DCI formats.
Claim(s) 7, 9-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Zhou, and further in view of Lyu (Pub. No.: US 20180027547 A1), hereafter referred to as Lyu.
In regard to Claim 7, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Zhou teaches the number of TBs.
Wang fail to teach in response to determining the number of TBs being larger than 1 and smaller than a number of the plurality of carriers, the plurality of carriers includes a first set of carriers each of which carries a different TB, and a second set of carriers each of which carries a same TB, wherein the first set of carriers includes X carriers of the plurality of carriers and the second set of carriers includes the remaining carriers of the plurality of carriers.
Zhou teaches in response to determining the number of TBs being larger than 1 (each of 652 and 654 correspond to the same TB (first TB) or same packet, and each of 662 and 664 correspond to the same TB (second TB) or same packet, Para. 110, FIG. 6) and smaller than a number of the plurality of carriers (the first frequency range 622 has a first CC 632 (e.g., CC 15) and a second CC 634 (e.g., CC 8), and the second frequency range 624 has a first CC 636 (e.g., CC 7) and a second CC 638 (e.g., CC 0), Para. 107, FIG. 6), the plurality of carriers includes a first set of carriers each of which carries a different TB (PUCCHs 656, 658, 666, 668, Para. 113, FIG. 6), and a second set of carriers each of which carries a same TB (an initial or original TB on one carrier (e.g., component carrier (CC)) can be combined with repetitions of the TB on one or more other carriers using duplicated MAC-CEs, Para. 70, FIG. 4. FIG. 6 illustrates an example of MAC-CE duplication for downlink across frequency bands of the different frequency ranges, Para. 97, FIG. 6. The base station 602 may duplicate the first MAC-CE to generate a second MAC-CE. The base station 602 transmits the PDSCHs 652 and 654 along with their respective MAC-CEs, Para. 110, FIG. 6), wherein the first set of carriers includes X carriers of the plurality of carriers (a second CC 634 (e.g., CC 8), and a second CC 638 (e.g., CC 0), Para. 107, FIG. 6. PUCCHs 656, 658, 666, 668, Para. 113, FIG. 6) and the second set of carriers includes the remaining carriers of the plurality of carriers (a first CC 632 (e.g., CC 15), and a first CC 636 (e.g., CC 7), Para. 107, FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Wang since Zhou provides a technique to utilize multiple carriers for transmission of respective data channels, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang to permit increased reliability of data channel receptions.
Wang in view of Zhou fails to teach wherein X equals the number of TBs minus 1.
Lyu teaches wherein X equals the number of TBs minus 1 (once the UE misses a PDSCH on a downlink carrier during detection, a quantity, understood by the UE, of carriers having PDSCHs is less than an actual quantity of carriers, of an eNB, that send PDSCHs, Para. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lyu with the teachings of Wang in view of Zhou since Lyu provides a technique for conducting communications over carriers even when there is one less carrier successfully utilized than the number of data channels, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Zhou to permit continued communications despite one less component carrier of multiple component carriers being utilized for reception of a certain number of data channels.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Zhou teaches the set of HARQ-ACK information bits.
Wang fail to teach the set of HARQ-ACK information bits includes a first HARQ-ACK information bit for the TB transmitted on the first set of carriers and a second HARQ-ACK information bit for the same TB transmitted on the second set of carriers.
Zhou teaches the set of HARQ-ACK information bits includes a first HARQ-ACK information bit for the TB transmitted on the first set of carriers and a second HARQ-ACK information bit for the same TB transmitted on the second set of carriers (PUCCH may include or correspond to an acknowledgment message, such as an ACK/NACK. UE 115 may send an ACK or a NACK based on a determination of whether combined PDSCH 417 was successfully decoded, Para. 92. UE 115 determines the intended CC ID for the second MAC-CE is the first CC based on the second MAC-CE including a CC ID (e.g., CC ID field, bit, indicator, flag, etc.), that is the message received at block 700 includes the second MAC-CE of block 702, Para. 122, FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Wang since Zhou provides a technique to utilize multiple carriers for transmission of respective data channels, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang to permit increased reliability of data channel receptions.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Zhou teaches the set of HARQ-ACK information bits.
Wang fail to teach the second HARQ-ACK information bit is placed at a pre-defined position of the set of HARQ-ACK information bits, and wherein the first HARQ-ACK information bit is placed according to a pre-defined order of the serving cell indexes of the first set of carriers.
Zhou teaches the second HARQ-ACK information bit is placed at a pre-defined position of the set of HARQ-ACK information bits, and wherein the first HARQ-ACK information bit is placed according to a pre-defined order of the serving cell indexes of the first set of carriers (PUCCH may include or correspond to an acknowledgment message, such as an ACK/NACK. UE 115 may send an ACK or a NACK based on a determination of whether combined PDSCH 417 was successfully decoded, Para. 92. UE 115 determines the intended CC ID for the second MAC-CE is the first CC based on the second MAC-CE including a CC ID (e.g., CC ID field, bit, indicator, flag, etc.), that is the message received at block 700 includes the second MAC-CE of block 702, Para. 122, FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Wang since Zhou provides a technique to utilize multiple carriers for transmission of respective data channels, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang to permit increased reliability of data channel receptions.
In regard to Claim 13, Wang teaches the set of HARQ-ACK information bits is included in a sub-codebook (two sub-codebooks are separately constructed for multi-PDSCHs by a DCI and single-PDSCH by a DCI. The counter DAI is separately calculated for each sub-codebook. The sub-codebook only contains HARQ-ACK bits for multi-PDSCHs is placed after the sub-codebook only contains HARQ-ACK bits for single-PDSCH, Para. 79).
Claim(s) 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Zhou, Lyu, and further in view of Zewail et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230035459 A1), hereafter referred to as Zewail.
In regard to Claim 8, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Zhou teaches at least one processor.
Wang fail to teach at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to perform at least one of the following: determine the first set of carriers to be carriers corresponding to the first X start and length indicator values (SLIVs) in an entry of a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table indicated by the DCI format; determine the first set of carriers to be carriers corresponding to the last X SLIVs in the entry of the TDRA table indicated by the DCI format; determine the first set of carriers to be carriers with X lowest serving cell indexes among carriers corresponding to SLIVs in the entry of the TDRA table indicated by the DCI format; determine the first set of carriers to be carriers with X highest serving cell indexes among carriers corresponding to SLIVs in the entry of the TDRA table indicated by the DCI format; determine a first carrier of the first set of carriers to be a carrier where the DCI format is transmitted and determine the remaining carrier(s) of the first set of carriers to be carriers immediately following the first carrier according to a pre-defined order of the serving cell indexes among carriers corresponding to SLIVs in the entry of the TDRA table indicated by the DCI format; determine the second set of carriers to be carriers corresponding to the first Y SLIVs in the entry of the TDRA table indicated by the DCI format, wherein Y is the number of carriers in the second set of carriers; determine the second set of carriers to be carriers corresponding to the last Y SLIVs in the entry of the TDRA table indicated by the DCI format; determine the second set of carriers to be carriers with Y lowest serving cell indexes among carriers corresponding to SLIVs in the entry of the TDRA table indicated by the DCI format; determine the second set of carriers to be carriers with Y highest serving cell indexes among carriers corresponding to SLIVs in the entry of the TDRA table indicated by the DCI format; or determine a second carrier of the second set of carriers to be a carrier where the DCI format is transmitted and determine the remaining carriers of the second set of carriers to be carriers immediately following the second carrier according to a pre-defined order of serving cell indexes among carriers corresponding to SLIVs in the entry of the TDRA table indicated by the DCI format.
Zewail teaches at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to perform at least one of the following: determine the first set of carriers to be carriers corresponding to the first X start and length indicator values (SLIVs) in an entry of a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table indicated by the DCI format; determine the first set of carriers to be carriers corresponding to the last X SLIVs in the entry of the TDRA table indicated by the DCI format; determine the first set of carriers to be carriers with X lowest serving cell indexes among carriers corresponding to SLIVs in the entry of the TDRA table indicated by the DCI format; determine the first set of carriers to be carriers with X highest serving cell indexes among carriers corresponding to SLIVs in the entry of the TDRA table indicated by the DCI format; determine a first carrier of the first set of carriers to be a carrier where the DCI format is transmitted and determine the remaining carrier(s) of the first set of carriers to be carriers immediately following the first carrier according to a pre-defined order of the serving cell indexes among carriers corresponding to SLIVs in the entry of the TDRA table indicated by the DCI format (PDCCH candidates have different DCI formats, Para. 54, FIG. 2B.
Each transmitter 318 TX may modulate a radio frequency (RF) carrier with a respective spatial stream for transmission, Para. 59. Each receiver 354 RX recovers information modulated onto an RF carrier, Para. 60. FIG. 7 illustrates a diagram 700 of one example of a TDRA table for different TB modes. As shown in FIG. 7, diagram 700 includes a number of columns including a row index, a PUSCH mapping type (e.g., Type A or Type B), a SLIV, Para. 78, FIG. 7); determine the second set of carriers to be carriers corresponding to the first Y SLIVs in the entry of the TDRA table indicated by the DCI format, wherein Y is the number of carriers in the second set of carriers; determine the second set of carriers to be carriers corresponding to the last Y SLIVs in the entry of the TDRA table indicated by the DCI format; determine the second set of carriers to be carriers with Y lowest serving cell indexes among carriers corresponding to SLIVs in the entry of the TDRA table indicated by the DCI format; determine the second set of carriers to be carriers with Y highest serving cell indexes among carriers corresponding to SLIVs in the entry of the TDRA table indicated by the DCI format; or determine a second carrier of the second set of carriers to be a carrier where the DCI format is transmitted and determine the remaining carriers of the second set of carriers to be carriers immediately following the second carrier according to a pre-defined order of serving cell indexes among carriers corresponding to SLIVs in the entry of the TDRA table indicated by the DCI format.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zewail with the teachings of Wang in view of Zhou and Lyu since Zewail provides a technique to utilize TDRA tables and SLIVs in relation to TB repetition modes, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Zhou and Lyu to utilize TDRA tables and SLIVs to optimize processing of TBs on multiple PDSCHs.
In regard to Claim 11, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Zhou teaches the set of HARQ-ACK information bits.
Wang fail to teach the set of HARQ-ACK information bits is ordered according to a pre-defined order of associated serving cell indexes of the plurality of carriers, and wherein the second HARQ-ACK information bit is associated with a specific serving cell index of the second set of carriers.
Zhou teaches the set of HARQ-ACK information bits is ordered according to a pre-defined order of associated serving cell indexes of the plurality of carriers, and wherein the second HARQ-ACK information bit is associated with a specific serving cell index of the second set of carriers (PUCCH may include or correspond to an acknowledgment message, such as an ACK/NACK. UE 115 may send an ACK or a NACK based on a determination of whether combined PDSCH 417 was successfully decoded, Para. 92. UE 115 determines the intended CC ID for the second MAC-CE is the first CC based on the second MAC-CE including a CC ID (e.g., CC ID field, bit, indicator, flag, etc.), that is the message received at block 700 includes the second MAC-CE of block 702, Para. 122, FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Wang since Zhou provides a technique to utilize multiple carriers for transmission of respective data channels, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang to permit increased reliability of data channel receptions.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Zhou, and further in view of Blanz et al. (Pub. No.: US 20070195809 A1), hereafter referred to as Blanz.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Wang in view of Zhou teaches the number of TBs.
Wang in view of Zhou fails to teach in response to determining the number of TBs being equal to a number of the plurality of carriers, the set of HARQ-ACK information bits is ordered according to a pre-defined order of associated serving cell indexes of the plurality of carriers.
Blanz teaches in response to determining the number of TBs being equal to a number of the plurality of carriers, the set of HARQ-ACK information bits is ordered according to a pre-defined order of associated serving cell indexes of the plurality of carriers (send the CQI along with the ACK/NAK on the HS-DPCCH, Para. 39, FIG. 4. The number of transport blocks sent in a TTI may be equal to the number of data streams sent in that TTI. A new transport block may be sent for a data stream whenever an ACK is received from the UE for a prior transport block, Para. 54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Blanz with the teachings of Wang in view of Zhou since Blanz provides a technique to convey ACK information in relation to transport blocks and data streams, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Wang in view of Zhou to permit HARQ-ACK bits to be efficiently organized in relation to cellular information.
Conclusion
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
7-1-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477