DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed May 21st, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 12, and 13 have been amended. Claims 14-20 are cancelled and claims 21-27 are newly added. Claims 1-13 and 21-27 are now pending in the application, with claim 13 withdrawn. The previous 35 USC 112 (b) rejections of claims 1, 7 and 12 are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner Comments
The present rejection(s) reference specific passages from cited prior art. However, Applicant is advised that the rejections are based on the entirety of each cited prior art. That is, each cited prior art reference “must be considered in its entirety”. (See MPEP 2141.02(VI)) Therefore, Applicant is advised to review all portions of the cited prior art if traversing a rejection based on the cited prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-11, 21, 24-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto (US 20140190305 A1) in view of Weitzner et al. (US 20170209024 A1, hereinafter Weitzner).
Regarding Claim 1, Okamoto discloses
An endoscope system (endoscope system 1, FIG. 1), comprising:
a handpiece (operation portion 22, FIGS. 1-2) having a proximal end region (operation portion main body 28, FIG. 2),
a distal end region (grasping portion 27, FIG. 2) opposite to the proximal end region (depicted in FIG. 2),
an interior region (depicted in FIG. 1), and
a working channel port (channel insertion port 34, FIG. 2);
a catheter (elongated insertion portion 21, FIGS. 1-2) extending from the distal end region of the handpiece (depicted in FIG. 2),
the catheter including an active bend portion (bending portion 25, FIG. 2) distal to the handpiece (depicted in FIG. 2) and
a working channel in fluid communication with the working channel port (par. 37 discloses channel insertion port communicates with a treatment instrument channel); and
a catheter control system (operation portion assembly 22, FIG. 1) including:
a sensor (rotation detection sensors 45A + 45B, FIG. 1) positioned in the interior proximal end region of the handpiece opposite to the catheter and proximal of the working channel port (depicted in FIGS. 1-2),
a motor (motor 42, FIG. 1) positioned in the interior region of the handpiece and operably coupled to the sensor (FIG. 1, par. 78-79 disclose motor and sensor(s) operably connected via pulley),
the motor configured to be activated responsive to the sensor detecting movement of the handpiece (par. 50-51 disclose tilting operation speed is detected by rotation sensors which then output the speed value to the speed determination section which outputs a signal to the motor control section, par. 85-86 disclose speed determination section, i.e. sensor, outputs a signal to the motor control section which drives the motor with a selected voltage value); and
one or more wires (four wires 8u/ 8d/ 8l/ 8r, FIG. 1) secured to the active bend portion of the catheter and adjustable responsive to activation of the motor effective to at least partially bend the active bend portion of the catheter (FIG. 1, par. 60 disclose wires are pulled responsive to the pulley being rotated by the motor).
However, Okamoto does not disclose the sensor configured to detect pivot movement of the proximal end region as a user pivots the proximal end region about an axis defined substantially by the distal end region of the handpiece.
Weitzner teaches an analogous endoscope system (endoscopic device 1, FIG. 1) comprising a handpiece (handle 10, FIG. 2) having a proximal end region (Gripping surface 20 + controller portion 14 + selector portion 16, FIGS. 1-2), a distal end region (distal end 11 + shaft interface 18, FIG. 1) opposite to the proximal end region (depicted in FIG. 1), and an interior region (interior space 24, FIG. 1-3) and further comprising a catheter (shaft 30, FIG. 1) with an active bend portion (controllable bends 36A, 36B) [FIGS. 1-3]. The system (1) utilizes a controller system having a plurality of sensors (19, FIG. 2, i.e. sensor) which are motion sensors that generate a directional signal from movement and are capable of tracking the location of the handle (10) in a space, such that an equivalent directional signal may be generated by moving the handle in a particular direction relative to a user, without joystick, or in combination therewith (i.e. handle is pivoted with respect to distal end of handle, therefore, movement would be about an axis of the handle defined by its distal end) [0029, 0045].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of
the invention to provide the endoscope system of Okamoto with the motion sensors of Weitzner in order to provide a more intuitive system capable of articulating the active bend portion in a more precise fashion which can generate directional signals from any combination of movements and can efficiently switch between or simultaneously work with motion control and joystick control [Weitzner - 0029, 0045].
Regarding Claim 3, Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, Weitzner further teaches
The endoscope system of claim 1, further comprising a control (selector 16, FIG. 1) positioned on the handpiece and operably coupled to the catheter control system and configured to selectively activate and deactivate the catheter control system such that
(1) when the control activates the catheter control system, the motor (actuators 39A/ 39B, FIG. 3) adjusts the one or more wires responsive to the sensor detecting movement of the handpiece (FIG. 1, par. 9, 31 disclose selector creates switching signal which activates, i.e. or deactivates, any of the operative elements, i.e. motor/ actuator, par. 30 discloses selector associates directional signals generated by the sensors with the operative elements, i.e. motor, that bend a portion of the shaft in response, par. 49 discloses bowden wires may be provided on or within shaft and operated by one or more electrical motors to move any portion of shaft) and
(2) when the control deactivates the catheter control system, the motor does not adjust the one or more wires responsive to the sensor detecting movement of the handpiece (par. 9, 31 disclose selector creates switching signal which activates, i.e. or deactivates, any of the operative elements, i.e. motor/ actuator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of
the invention to provide the endoscope system of Okamoto with the control of Weitzner in order to provide a more intuitive system capable of actuating the catheter control process, via the click of a button, or specifically actuating any individual element allowing for precise control during operation [Weitzner - 0031].
Regarding Claim 4, Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, Weitzner further teaches
the sensor is configured to detect movement of the proximal end region of the handpiece in a first handpiece direction and a second handpiece direction different from the first handpiece direction (par. 29 discloses sensors are motion sensors which generate directional signals when controller is moved in any direction, par. 45 discloses sensors may track the location of handle in a space, such that an equivalent directional signal may be generated by moving the handle in a particular direction relative to a user, without joystick, or in combination therewith, i.e. sensor capable of detecting handle movement in first and second directions different from one another);
the motor (actuators 39A/ 39B, FIG. 3) is configured to adjust the one or more wires responsive to movement of the proximal end region of the handpiece in the first handpiece direction effective to bend the active bend portion in a first bending direction (par. 33 discloses actuators may move controllable bend in a particular direction in response to an amount of electricity from power source, par. 7 discloses controller, and in turn actuator, controls movement of controllable bends in any direction); and
the motor is configured to adjust the one or more wires responsive to movement of the proximal end region of the handpiece in the second handpiece direction effective to bend the active bend portion in a second bending direction different from the first bending direction (par. 33 discloses actuators may move controllable bend in a particular direction in response to an amount of electricity from power source, par. 7 discloses controller, and in turn actuator, controls movement of controllable bends in any direction).
Regarding Claim 5, Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 4, Weitzner further teaches
the one or more wires include at least a first wire portion and a second wire portion each extending at least partially between the motor and the active bend portion (par. 49 discloses set of Bowden wires provided between electrical motor and bend portion of shaft, i.e. first wire is first portion, second wire is second portion);
the motor is configured adjust the first wire portion responsive to movement of the proximal end region of the handpiece in the first handpiece direction effective to bend the active bend portion in the first bending direction (par. 33 discloses actuators may move controllable bend in a particular direction in response to an amount of electricity from power source, par. 51 discloses actuators have motors, par. 49 discloses motor may operate Bowden wires to move any portion of shaft, i.e. in any particular direction); and
the motor is configured to adjust the second wire portion responsive to movement of the proximal end region of the handpiece in the first handpiece direction effective to bend the active bend portion in the second bending direction (par. 33 discloses actuators may move controllable bend in a particular direction in response to an amount of electricity from power source, par. 51 discloses actuators have motors, par. 49 discloses motor may operate Bowden wires to move any portion of shaft, i.e. in any particular direction).
Regarding Claim 6, Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 4, Weitzner further teaches
the first bending direction is substantially opposite to the first handpiece direction of movement of the proximal end region of the handpiece (par. 40 discloses processor capable of dictating correspondence between directional signal from sensor and actual movement of controllable bend such as being synchronized, i.e. processor capable of doing opposite and making them opposite) and
the second bending direction is substantially opposite to the second handpiece direction of movement of the proximal end region of the handpiece (par. 40 discloses processor capable of dictating correspondence between directional signal from sensor and actual movement of controllable bend such as being synchronized, i.e. processor capable of doing opposite and making them opposite).
Regarding Claim 7, Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, Weitzner further teaches
the sensor is configured to detect a magnitude of movement of the proximal end region of the handpiece (par. 40 discloses processor dictates correspondence between sensor signal and actual movement, i.e. direction and magnitude, of bend; par. 31 discloses signals from sensors leads to transmission of power/ electrical activation of controllable bend; par. 33 discloses actuators/ motors move bend differently, i.e. with a different magnitude, depending on the amount of electricity from the power source, i.e. which is dependent on sensor signal, therefore sensor detects magnitude of movement and processor dictates amount of electric output accordingly); and
the motor is configured to adjust the one or more wires approximately proportionally to the magnitude of movement of the proximal end region of the handpiece such that the active bend portion bends proportionally to the magnitude of movement of the proximal end region of the handpiece (par. 33 discloses actuators may move controllable bend in a particular direction in response to an amount of electricity from power source, i.e. in an amount proportional to the amount of electricity applied).
Regarding Claim 8, Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, Okamoto further discloses
wherein the catheter control system includes a driver (pulley 41, FIG. 1) operably coupled to the sensor and the motor (depicted in FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, Okamoto further discloses
further comprising a wire wheel (pulley 41) secured to the interior region of the handpiece and the motor (depicted in FIG. 1),
wherein one or more wires are secured to the wire wheel and the motor is configured to rotate the wire wheel in one or more directions effective to adjust the one or more wires responsive to movement detected by the sensor (FIG. 1, par. 41 disclose wires wound on pulley, par. 43 discloses motor causes pulley to rotate to bend the bending portion, i.e. via wires, par. 60 disclose wires are pulled responsive to the pulley being rotated by the motor, par. 85-86 disclose speed determination section, i.e. sensor, outputs a signal to the motor control section which drives the motor with a selected voltage value, i.e. motor pulls wires responsive to sensor).
Regarding Claim 11, Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 10, Okamoto further discloses
further comprising a steering controller (operation lever 7, FIG. 2) secured to the handpiece and positioned at least partially outside the interior region of the handpiece (depicted in FIG. 2),
the steering controller operably secured to the wire wheel and selectively movable effective to move the wire wheel and adjust the one or more wires secured to the wire wheel and bend the active bend portion of the catheter (FIG. 1, par. 56-57 disclose operation lever is operably secured to pulley and movable such that the wires are pulled in response, thereby actuating bending operation).
Regarding Claim 21, Okamoto discloses
An endoscope system (endoscope system 1, FIG. 1), comprising:
a handpiece (operation portion 22, FIGS. 1-2) having a proximal end region (operation portion main body 28, FIG. 2),
a distal end region (region/ portion below channel insertion port portion 34 and proximal to elongated insertion portion 21, FIG. 2) opposite to the proximal end region (depicted in FIG. 2),
an elongated intermediate region (grasping portion 27, FIG. 2) positioned between the proximal end region and the distal end region (depicted in FIG. 2), and
an interior region (depicted in FIG. 1);
a catheter (elongated insertion portion 21, FIGS. 1-2) extending from the distal end region of the handpiece (depicted in FIG. 2),
the catheter including an active bend portion (bending portion 25, FIG. 2) distal to the handpiece (depicted in FIG. 2); and
a catheter control system (operation portion assembly 22, FIG. 1) including:
a sensor (rotation detection sensors 45A + 45B, FIG. 1) positioned in the proximal end region of the handpiece opposite to the catheter and proximal of the elongated intermediate region (depicted in FIGS. 1-2),
a motor (motor 42, FIG. 1) positioned in the interior region of the handpiece and operably coupled to the sensor (FIG. 1, par. 78-79 disclose motor and sensor(s) operably connected via pulley),
the motor configured to be activated responsive to the sensor detecting movement of the handpiece (par. 50-51 disclose tilting operation speed is detected by rotation sensors which then output the speed value to the speed determination section which outputs a signal to the motor control section, par. 85-86 disclose speed determination section, i.e. sensor, outputs a signal to the motor control section which drives the motor with a selected voltage value); and
one or more wires (four wires 8u/ 8d/ 8l/ 8r, FIG. 1) secured to the active bend portion of the catheter and adjustable responsive to activation of the motor effective to at least partially bend the active bend portion of the catheter (FIG. 1, par. 60 disclose wires are pulled responsive to the pulley being rotated by the motor).
However, Okamoto does not disclose the sensor configured to detect pivot movement of the proximal end region as a user pivots the proximal end region about an axis defined substantially by the distal end region of the handpiece.
Weitzner teaches an analogous endoscope system (endoscopic device 1, FIG. 1) comprising a handpiece (handle 10, FIG. 2) having a proximal end region (Gripping surface 20 + controller portion 14 + selector portion 16, FIGS. 1-2), a distal end region (distal end 11 + shaft interface 18, FIG. 1) opposite to the proximal end region (depicted in FIG. 1), and an interior region (interior space 24, FIG. 1-3) and further comprising a catheter (shaft 30, FIG. 1) with an active bend portion (controllable bends 36A, 36B) [FIGS. 1-3]. The system (1) utilizes a controller system having a plurality of sensors (19, FIG. 2, i.e. sensor) which are motion sensors that generate a directional signal from movement and are capable of tracking the location of the handle (10) in a space, such that an equivalent directional signal may be generated by moving the handle in a particular direction relative to a user, without joystick, or in combination therewith (i.e. handle is pivoted with respect to distal end of handle, therefore, movement would be about an axis of the handle defined by its distal end) [0029, 0045].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the endoscope system of Okamoto with the motion sensors of Weitzner in order to provide a more intuitive system capable of articulating the active bend portion in a more precise fashion which can generate directional signals from any combination of movements and can efficiently switch between or simultaneously work with motion control and joystick control [Weitzner - 0029, 0045].
Regarding Claim 24, Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 21, Weitzner further teaches
further comprising a control (selector 16, FIG. 1) positioned on the handpiece and operably coupled to the catheter control system and configured to selectively activate and deactivate the catheter control system such that
(1) when the control activates the catheter control system, the motor (actuators 39A/ 39B, FIG. 3) adjusts the one or more wires responsive to the sensor detecting movement of the handpiece (FIG. 1, par. 9, 31 disclose selector creates switching signal which activates, i.e. or deactivates, any of the operative elements, i.e. motor/ actuator, par. 30 discloses selector associates directional signals generated by the sensors with the operative elements, i.e. motor, that bend a portion of the shaft in response, par. 49 discloses Bowden wires may be provided on or within shaft and operated by one or more electrical motors to move any portion of shaft) and
(2) when the control deactivates the catheter control system, the motor does not adjust the one or more wires responsive to the sensor detecting movement of the handpiece (par. 9, 31 disclose selector creates switching signal which activates, i.e. or deactivates, any of the operative elements, i.e. motor/ actuator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the endoscope system of Okamoto with the control of Weitzner in order to provide a more intuitive system capable of actuating the catheter control process, via the click of a button, or specifically actuating any individual element allowing for precise control during operation [Weitzner - 0031].
Regarding Claim 25, Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 21, Weitzner further teaches wherein:
the sensor is configured to detect movement of the proximal end region of the handpiece in a first handpiece direction and a second handpiece direction different from the first handpiece direction (par. 29 discloses sensors are motion sensors which generate directional signals when controller is moved in any direction, par. 45 discloses sensors may track the location of handle in a space, such that an equivalent directional signal may be generated by moving the handle in a particular direction relative to a user, without joystick, or in combination therewith, i.e. sensor capable of detecting handle movement in first and second directions different from one another);
the motor (actuators 39A/ 39B, FIG. 3) is configured to adjust the one or more wires responsive to movement of the proximal end region of the handpiece in the first handpiece direction effective to bend the active bend portion in a first bending direction (par. 33 discloses actuators may move controllable bend in a particular direction in response to an amount of electricity from power source, par. 7 discloses controller, and in turn actuator, controls movement of controllable bends in any direction); and
the motor is configured to adjust the one or more wires responsive to movement of the proximal end region of the handpiece in the second handpiece direction effective to bend the active bend portion in a second bending direction different from the first bending direction (par. 33 discloses actuators may move controllable bend in a particular direction in response to an amount of electricity from power source, par. 7 discloses controller, and in turn actuator, controls movement of controllable bends in any direction).
Regarding Claim 26, Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 21, Weitzner further teaches wherein:
the sensor is configured to detect a magnitude of movement of the proximal end region of the handpiece (par. 40 discloses processor dictates correspondence between sensor signal and actual movement, i.e. direction and magnitude, of bend; par. 31 discloses signals from sensors leads to transmission of power/ electrical activation of controllable bend; par. 33 discloses actuators/ motors move bend differently, i.e. with a different magnitude, depending on the amount of electricity from the power source, i.e. which is dependent on sensor signal, therefore sensor detects magnitude of movement and processor dictates amount of electric output accordingly); and
the motor is configured to adjust the one or more wires substantially proportionally to the magnitude of movement of the proximal end region of the handpiece such that the active bend portion bends proportionally to the magnitude of movement of the proximal end region of the handpiece (par. 33 discloses actuators may move controllable bend in a particular direction in response to an amount of electricity from power source, i.e. in an amount proportional to the amount of electricity applied).
Regarding Claim 27, Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 21, Okamoto further discloses
wherein the catheter control system includes a driver (pulley 41, FIG. 1) operably coupled to the sensor and the motor (depicted in FIG. 1).
Claim(s) 2, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto (US 20140190305 A1) in view of Weitzner et al. (US 20170209024 A1, hereinafter Weitzner), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oskin (US 20160089014 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, Okamoto further discloses
wherein the working channel port is positioned proximate to the distal end region (depicted in FIG. 2);
wherein the catheter includes an image sensor positioned at a distal end (distal end portion 24, FIG. 2) of the active bend portion distal to the handpiece (par. 37 discloses image pick up apparatus provided in distal end portion); and
a cable (universal cord 23, FIG. 2) configured to provide power to at least one of the image sensor and the catheter control system and communicate with one or more electronic devices (par. 38 discloses universal cord houses electric wire that supplies power to motor and light guide fiber bundle which communicates with light source device).
However, Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner, does not disclose wherein the working channel port is positioned proximate to a cable port, cable connected or connectable to the handpiece at the cable port.
Oskin teaches an analogous endoscope system (exemplary medical system 10, FIG. 1) comprising a handpiece (handle assembly 22, FIG. 1) and a catheter (elongate tubular member 24, FIG. 1). The handpiece (22) having one or more ports (112/ 114, FIG. 1, i.e. working channel port), providing access to a working channel (122, FIG. 2), which are positioned proximate to a proximal port (FIG. 1, i.e. cable port) having a distal connector (18, FIG. 1) that provides an electrical connection with an interface box (14, FIG. 1) to establish communication between an image sensor (34, FIG. 1) and an imaging card (44) [0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of
the invention to provide the endoscope of Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner, with the cable port of Oskin in order to allow quick and easy attachment and detachment of universal cables and/or any other external equipment once medical procedures are completed, allowing for seamless disposal or sterilization of the endoscope system [Oskin - 0034].
Regarding Claim 12, Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner and further modified by Oskin, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 2, Okamoto further discloses
further comprising a light (light source device 3, FIG. 1) at the distal end of the active bend portion (par. 38 discloses light source device includes a light guide fiber bundle that transmit illumination light for the endoscope, i.e. at its distal end),
Weitzner further teaches
wherein the sensor is configured to detect movement of the proximal end region of the handpiece in one or more directions different from the pivot movement to activate or deactivate the light (light source 72, FIG. 8, par. 39 discloses movement of controller in lower direction will activate or deactivate light, i.e. sensor detects movement direction of controller and sends signal to activate or deactivate light),
activate or deactivate the image sensor (par. 39 discloses movement of controller, i.e. in turn detection of sensor, will result in activation or deactivation of camera),
change an image collection mode of the image sensor from a still image mode to a video stream mode,
activate a frame grab to record a still image during the video stream mode,
adjust zoom of the image sensor,
deploy a tool in the working channel, and/or
adjust at least one of a brightness, a zoom, a focus, or a contrast of the one or more images from the image sensor displayed on a display.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the endoscope system of Okamoto with the motion sensors of Weitzner in order to provide a more intuitive system capable of activating/ deactivating equipment through the streamlined and efficient control of the handle via the sensors [Weitzner - 0039].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto (US 20140190305 A1) in view of Weitzner et al. (US 20170209024 A1, hereinafter Weitzner) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Chu et al. (US 20210085153 A1, hereinafter Chu).
Regarding Claim 9, Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 8, Weitzner further teaches
wherein the driver (processor 26 + switching element 27, FIG. 3) includes a stepper driver (par. 40 discloses processor is capable of dictating any correspondence between the sensor signal and the actual movement of the controllable bend, i.e. capable of being a stepper driver).
However, Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner, does not disclose the motor includes a stepper motor.
Chu teaches an analogous endoscope system (endoscopic device 100, FIG. 1) having a handpiece (handle 102) that has a motorized deployment device (400, i.e. catheter control system, FIG. 4A), as well as, pressure/ flow sensor devices (200/300, i.e. sensor, FIG. 2-3) attached. The motorized deployment device is compatible with an elongated end effector device (i.e. catheter) and can actuate it via its motor (412, FIG. 4A). The motor may be a stepper motor [0058-0059].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of
the invention to provide the catheter control system of Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner, with the motor of Chu in order to provide an improved motor device which can allow for more precise positioning and holding of the shaft tip and/or precise control of the end effector feature of the elongated device [Chu - 0042].
Claim(s) 22, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto (US 20140190305 A1) in view of Weitzner et al. (US 20170209024 A1, hereinafter Weitzner), as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Oskin (US 20160089014 A1).
Regarding Claim 22, Okamoto discloses
The endoscope system of claim 21, further comprising:
wherein the handpiece includes a working channel port (channel insertion port 34, FIG. 2) positioned proximate to the distal end region (depicted in FIG. 2);
wherein the catheter includes a working channel in fluid communication with the working channel port and an image sensor positioned at a distal end (distal end portion 24, FIG. 2) of the active bend portion distal to the handpiece (par. 37 discloses channel insertion port communicates with a treatment instrument channel and image pick up apparatus provided in distal end portion); and
a cable (universal cord 23, FIG. 2) configured to provide power to at least one of the image sensor and the catheter control system and communicate with one or more electronic devices (par. 38 discloses universal cord houses electric wire that supplies power to motor and light guide fiber bundle which communicates with light source device).
However, Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner, does not disclose a cable port, cable connected or connectable to the handpiece at the cable port.
Oskin teaches an analogous endoscope system (exemplary medical system 10, FIG. 1) comprising a handpiece (handle assembly 22, FIG. 1) and a catheter (elongate tubular member 24, FIG. 1). The handpiece (22) having one or more ports (112/ 114, FIG. 1, i.e. working channel port), providing access to a working channel (122, FIG. 2), which are positioned proximate to a proximal port (FIG. 1, i.e. cable port) having a distal connector (18, FIG. 1) that provides an electrical connection with an interface box (14, FIG. 1) to establish communication between an image sensor (34, FIG. 1) and an imaging card (44) [0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the endoscope of Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner, with the cable port of Oskin in order to allow quick and easy attachment and detachment of universal cables and/or any other external equipment once medical procedures are completed, allowing for seamless disposal or sterilization of the endoscope system [Oskin - 0034].
Regarding Claim 23, Okamoto, as previously modified by Weitzner and further modified by Oskin, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 22, Okamoto further discloses
further comprising a light (light source device 3, FIG. 1) at the distal end of the active bend portion (par. 38 discloses light source device includes a light guide fiber bundle that transmit illumination light for the endoscope, i.e. at its distal end),
Weitzner further teaches
wherein the sensor is configured to detect movement of the proximal end region of the handpiece in one or more directions different from the pivot movement to activate or deactivate the light (light source 72, FIG. 8, par. 39 discloses movement of controller in lower direction will activate or deactivate light, i.e. sensor detects movement direction of controller and sends signal to activate or deactivate light),
activate or deactivate the image sensor (par. 39 discloses movement of controller, i.e. in turn detection of sensor, will result in activation or deactivation of camera),
change an image collection mode of the image sensor from a still image mode to a video stream mode,
activate a frame grab to record a still image during the video stream mode,
adjust zoom of the image sensor,
deploy a tool in the working channel, and/or
adjust at least one of a brightness,
a zoom,
a focus, or
a contrast of the one or more images from the image sensor displayed on a display.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the endoscope system of Okamoto with the motion sensors of Weitzner in order to provide a more intuitive system capable of activating/ deactivating equipment through the streamlined and efficient control of the handle via the sensors [Weitzner - 0039].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDUL HADI ABBASI/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795