DETAILED ACTION
Change in Examiner
The examiner of your application in the PTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Stephanie Sullivan, Art Unit 1635.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-11), and as species (A) TERT nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3, (B) corresponding TERT amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 4, and (C) nucleic acid vector type AAV in the reply filed on 08/11/2026 is acknowledged. Upon further consideration, the species of the TERT nucleic acid sequence has been expanded to include SEQ ID NO: 1 and the species of the TERT amino acid sequence has been expanded to include SEQ ID NO: 2 in view of the prior art.
Claims 6 and 12-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/11/2026.
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are under examination.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/051505, filed 01/24/2022 as reflected by the most recent filing receipt.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figure(s) 1-15 are not labeled correctly. All figures recite “Figure X” and use lower case letters to identify the different views of the figure whereas capital letters are required and also should recite “FIG.”. For example, the correct label is FIG. 1A. See 37 CFR 1.84(u).
(u) Numbering of views.
(1) The different views must be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals, starting with 1, independent of the numbering of the sheets and, if possible, in the order in which they appear on the drawing sheet(s). Partial views intended to form one complete view, on one or several sheets, must be identified by the same number followed by a capital letter. View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation "FIG."
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01. See bottom of page 38 of the as-filed specification reciting https://www.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Written Description Rejection
Claims 1,4,5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
From MPEP 2163 II.A.3.ii:
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A) above), reduction to drawings (see i)(B) above), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the inventor was in possession of the claimed genus (see i)(C) above). See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406. See Juno Therapeutics, Inc. v. Kite Pharma, Inc., 10 F.4th 1330, 1337, 2021 USPQ2d 893 (Fed. Cir. 2021) ( "[T]he written description must lead a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand that the inventor possessed the entire scope of the claimed invention. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1353–54 ('[T]he purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor's contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.' (internal quotation marks omitted).").
A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
Claims 1,4,5 and 7-11 encompass a method of treating kidney fibrosis associated with the presence of short telomeres comprising administering a nucleic acid vector comprising any coding sequence for a telomerase reverse transcriptase (TERT) from any species, which coding sequence encompasses a functional equivalent or an active fragment thereof, to any subject in need thereof. Claims 2 and 3 are not included in the rejection as the specific TERT nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 or 3, and the specific TERT amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 or 4 are recited and are human sequences.
Regarding the state of the art, Blasco et al. (EP 2402038, Published 01 April 2012), teach gene therapy methods and vectors for amelioration of certain markers of aging in mammals and the extension of lifespan (paragraph 0001). Blasco et al. teach the progressive attrition of telomeres that occurs associated with aging in humans and other mammals such as mice telomeres, and that telomerase is a cellular reverse transcriptase (TERT, telomerase reverse transcriptase) capable of compensating telomere attrition by adding TTAGGG repeats onto chromosome ends using an associated RNA component as a template (paragraph 0003). Blasco et al. teach accumulation of short/damaged telomeres with increasing age is considered one of the main sources of ageing-associated DNA damage capable of causing loss of the regenerative capacity of tissues and systemic organismal ageing (paragraph 0004). Blasco et al. recite a method of treating an age-related disorder in a subject comprising administering to the subject a nucleic acid vector comprising a coding sequence for telomerase reverse transcriptase (TERT)(claim 1), and wherein TERT is encoded by a nucleic acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1 or SEQ ID NO: 3 (claim 3), wherein TERT comprises an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 2 or SEQ ID NO: 4 (claim 5). Alignment of SEQ ID NOs:1,2,3 and 4 of Blasco et al. shows the sequences are identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 1,2,3 and 4 in instant claims 2 and 3.
Bernardes de Jesus (EMBO Mol Med 4, 691-704, 2012) taught an AAV carrying mouse TERT (mTERT) cDNA under control of the CMV promoter and containing capsid proteins of the AAV serotype 9, and which were injected into the tail vein of mice, and TERT mRNA and protein levels were significantly increased in several tissues from AAV9-mTERT injected mice including liver, kidney, lung, heart, brain and muscle (page 692, right column, Fig. 1B,1C). Bernardes de Jesus observed a significant extension of lifespan in AAV9 mTERT treated mice compared to the AAV9-eGFP or non-treated controls in both age groups (page 695, right column, and Fig. 3A). Bernardes de Jesus taught that they measured telomere length and the percentage of short telomeres in differentiated tissues (brain cerebral cortex, heart– myocytes, lung, kidney– medulla, liver hepatocytes and muscle– fibers at 1 month post-treatment and most tissues from AAV9-mTERT treated mice of both age groups presented longer telomeres than the AAV9 eGFP controls, and both age groups showed a significant decrease of the percentage of short telomeres (page 696). Bernardes de Jesus taught in conclusion, we provide proof-of-principle for the feasibility of anti-aging interventions on adult/old mammals. Aged organisms accumulate telomere-derived DNA damage and we show that it is possible to repair or delay the accumulation of this type damage through telomerase gene therapy (page 701, left column).
Therefore, the state of the art teach TERT gene therapy methods of treating an age-related disorder in a subject comprising administering to the subject a nucleic acid vector comprising a coding sequence for telomerase reverse transcriptase (TERT), and wherein TERT is encoded by a nucleic acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1 or SEQ ID NO: 3, wherein TERT comprises an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 2 or SEQ ID NO: 4, as well as using mTERT in vivo in mice increased lifespan and decreased percentage of short telomeres.
The instant specification discloses that the TERT is encoded by the nucleic acid sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1 or SEQ ID NO: 3 (human TERT variants 1 and 2), or is an active fragment or functional equivalent of SEQ ID NO:1 or 3, and the polypeptide sequence encoded by SEQ ID NO: 1 is set forth in SEQ ID NO: 2, and the polypeptide sequence encoding by SEQ ID NO: 3 is set forth in SEQ ID NO: 4, and that functional equivalent refers to a nucleic acid molecule that encodes a polypeptide that has TERT activity, and functional equivalents may be artificial and naturally-occurring, and sequences derived from other species also fall within the scope of the term “functional equivalent”, in particular the murine TERT sequence given in SEQ ID NO: 5 (page 11, lines 10-23). The specification discloses that “active fragment” refers to a nucleic acid molecule that encodes a polypeptide that has TERT activity or a polypeptide that has TERT activity, but which is a fragment of the nucleic acid set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1 or 3, or the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 2 or 4, and may be of any size provided that TERT activity is retained, and a fragment will have at least 75% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1-4 along the length of the alignment between the shorter fragment and SEQ ID NO: 1-4 (page 12, lines 4-10).
However, the specification does not disclose nucleic acid or amino acid sequences of TERT from any other species (other mammals other than mouse and humans) and what the required sequence of the functional equivalent or the active fragment would be (what portion of the TERT sequences) that would result in the functional limitations of treating kidney fibrosis associated with the presence of short telomeres. The specification provides insufficient written description to support the genus encompassed by the claim. Note: MPEP 2163.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, (Fed. Cir. 1991), makes clear that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.)
Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle, 69 USPQ2d 1886, 1892 (CAFC 2004), further supports this by stating that:
The appearance of mere indistinct words in a specification or a claim, even an original claim, does not necessarily satisfy that requirement. A description of an anti-inflammatory steroid, i.e., a steroid (a generic structural term) described even in terms of its functioning of lessening inflammation of tissues fails to distinguish any steroid from others having the same activity or function. A description of what a material does, rather than of what it is, usually does not suffice…. The disclosure must allow one skilled in the art to visualize or recognize the identity of the subject matter purportedly described. (Emphasis added).
With the exception of the entire sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 1 or 3 pertaining to the human TERT nucleic acid sequence, and SEQ ID NOs: 2 or 4 pertaining to the human TERT amino acid sequences, and the murine TERT sequence given in SEQ ID NO: 5 (page 11, lines 10-23), the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed genus of coding sequences for TERT from any species including functional equivalents and active fragments thereof. Disclosure of a few sequences from two species (human and murine) is not representative of the genus of coding sequences for TERT that result in the recited function. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. The chemical structure itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (Fed. Circ. 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016, (Fed. Cir. 1991). In Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481, 1483, (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1993), claims directed to mammalian FGF's were found unpatentable due to lack of written description for the broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence. Finally, University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404, 1405 (Fed. Cir. 1997) held that:
...To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (" [T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious," and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d at 1966.
Furthermore, to the extent that a functional description can meet the requirement for an adequate written description, it can do so only in accordance with PTO guidelines stating that the requirement can be met by disclosing “sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics,” including “functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure.” Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle, 68 USPQ2d 1424, 1432 (DC WNY 2003).
Therefore, the full breadth of the claim(s) do not meet the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph. The species specifically disclosed are not representative of the genus because the genus is highly variant. Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 USC § 112 is severable from its enablement provision. (See page 1115.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blasco et al. (EP 2402038, Published 01 April 2012) in view of Cheng et al. (Kidney International (2015) 88,85-94, Published 11 March 2015) and Li et al. (Molecular Medicine Reports 2020 Nov 27; 23:96).
Regarding claims 1-3, Blasco et al. teach gene therapy methods and vectors useful therein for amelioration of certain markers of aging in mammals and the extension of lifespan (paragraph 0001). Blasco et al. teach the progressive attrition of telomeres that occurs associated with aging in humans and other mammals such as mice telomeres, and that telomerase is a cellular reverse transcriptase (TERT, telomerase reverse transcriptase) capable of compensating telomere attrition by adding TTAGGG repeats onto chromosome ends using an associated RNA component as a template (paragraph 0003). Blasco et al. teach accumulation of short/ damaged telomeres with increasing age is considered one of the main sources of ageing-associated DNA damage capable of causing loss of the regenerative capacity of tissues and systemic organismal ageing (paragraph 0004).
Blasco et al. recite a method of treating an age-related disorder in a subject comprising administering to the subject a nucleic acid vector comprising a coding sequence for telomerase reverse transcriptase (TERT)(claim 1), and wherein TERT is encoded by a nucleic acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1 or SEQ ID NO: 3 (claim 3), wherein TERT comprises an amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 2 or SEQ ID NO: 4 (claim 5). Alignment of SEQ ID NOs:1,2,3 and 4 of Blasco et al. shows the sequences are identical to instant SEQ ID NOs: 1,2,3 and 4 in instant claims 2 and 3. Due to the length of the alignment, the Examiner is not providing the alignment in the rejection.
Blasco et al. does not teach treating kidney fibrosis associated with the presence of short telomeres by administering the recited nucleic acid vector.
Before the effective filing date, Cheng et al. also taught aging is associated with telomere shortening, and both telomerase reverse transcriptase (TerT) and RNA (TerC) are essential to maintain telomere length (Abstract, page 85). Cheng et al. taught telomeres become shorter each time a cell divides and are shortened in an age-dependent manner in the human kidney and telomere shortening reduces regenerative capacity after renal injury (page 85, right column). Cheng et al. taught that telomerase deficiency delayed renal recovery from I/R injury in mice, which was accompanied by impairment of renal tubular autophagy, mediated in part by overactivation of the mTOR pathway. Proliferation was also decreased in telomerase-deficient mice, which was associated with increased expression of the senescence markers p16 and p53. Thus, telomerase-deficient dependent renal tubular senescence and autophagy impairment may synergistically contribute to delayed renal tubular regeneration in TerC/TerT KO mice (page 91-92).
Li et al. taught studies have reported that telomere dysfunction served a role in various types of age-related kidney disease through various different molecular pathways (Abstract). Li et al. also taught telomeres serve an essential role in the renal aging process, and that ageing is a significant risk factor for kidney diseases, and studies have demonstrated the cells within the human kidney cortex undergo telomeric shortening over time (Introduction, page 1). Li et al. taught reverse transcriptase telomerase helps to maintain telomere length in human stem cells, reproductive cells and cancer cells, but is inactivated in the majority of types of mature human cells which allows telomeres to shorten with every cycle of cell division and eventually lead to chromosomal instability (page 2, left column).
Li et al taught that kidney fibrosis is the main pathological feature of chronic kidney failure and manifests as tissue structure disorganization, and that renal fibrosis has been found to be influenced by cellular ageing-related mechanisms such as the decline in renal function induced by telomere shortening, and thus telomeres and related molecules may be implicated in renal fibrosis and serve as useful diagnostic biomarkers and therapeutic targets (page 4, Section 5).
Regarding claim 4, Blasco et al. recite wherein the nucleic acid sequence encoding TERT is operably linked to a regulatory sequence that drives expression of the coding sequence (claim 7).
Regarding claim 5, Blasco et al. recite wherein the vector is a non-integrative vector (claim 8).
Regarding claim 7, Blasco et al. recite the vector is an adeno-associated virus-based non-integrative vector (claim 9).
Regarding claim 8, Blasco et al. recite wherein the vector is an adeno-associated virus-based vector derived from a serotype 9 adeno-associated virus (AAV9) (claim 10).
Regarding claim 9, Blasco et al. recite wherein the capsid of the adeno-associated virus-based vector is made of capsid proteins of the serotype 9 adeno-associated virus (AAV9), and the nucleic acid sequence contained in the capsid is flanked at both ends by internal terminal repeats corresponding to serotype 2 adeno-associated viruses (claim 11).
Regarding claim 10, Blasco et al. recite wherein the nucleic acid contained in the capsid comprises a fragment which encodes the amino acid sequence coding for TERT (claim 12).
Regarding claim 11, Blasco et al. recite wherein the vector comprises a regulatory sequence which is a constitutive promoter (claim 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to apply the treatment method of Blasco et al. comprising administering a nucleic acid vector comprising a nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 or 3 (which corresponds to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 or 4, respectively) to human patients having kidney fibrosis associated with shortened telomeres with the reasonable expectation that doing so would result in treating kidney fibrosis in these patients. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Blasco et al., Cheng et al. and Li et al. all teach shortened telomeres are associated with ageing. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because Blasco et al. taught accumulation of short/damaged telomeres with increasing age and treating age-related diseases by administering specific sequences encoding TERT, Cheng et al. taught telomeres become shorter in an age-dependent manner in the human kidney and telomere shortening reduces regenerative capacity after renal injury and that telomerase deficiency delayed renal recovery from I/R injury in mice, and Li et al taught that kidney fibrosis is the main pathological feature of chronic kidney failure and that renal fibrosis has been found to be influenced by cellular ageing-related mechanisms such as the decline in renal function induced by telomere shortening, and thus telomeres and related molecules may be implicated in renal fibrosis and serve as useful diagnostic biomarkers and therapeutic targets.
Accordingly, the limitations of claims 1-5 and 7-11 would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,261,434 (‘434) or claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,529,396 (‘396) in view of Cheng et al. (Kidney International (2015) 88,85-94, Published 11 March 2015) and Li et al. (Molecular Medicine Reports 2020 Nov 27; 23:96).
Claims 1-12 of ‘434 recite a method of treating a condition associated with myocardial infarction, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof a non-integrative viral vector comprising a coding sequence for telomerase reverse transcriptase, wherein the condition associated with myocardial infarction is selected from the group consisting of a myocardial infarction, tissue damage resulting from myocardial infarction, fibrosis of the myocardium resulting from myocardial infarction, and reduced cardiac function resulting from myocardial infarction, and wherein the method results in the transduction of heart cells. Claim 3 of ‘434 recites TERT is encoded by a nucleic acid sequence comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 or 3, and claim 4 or ‘434 recites wherein TERT comprises the amino acid sequence comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 or 4, which are the same sequences as claimed in instant claims 2 and 3. Claim 5 of ‘434 recites wherein the nucleic acid sequence encoding TERT is operably linked to a regulatory sequence that drives expression of the coding sequence, claim 6 recites the non-integrative viral vector is an adeno-associated virus-based vector, claim 7 recites the non-integrative viral vector is an adeno-associated virus-based vector whose capsid is derived from the serotype 9 adeno-associated virus, claim 8 recites wherein the coding sequence is packaged in a capsid and is flanked at both ends by the internal repeats of the serotype 2 adeno-associated virus, claims 9-10 recite wherein the non-integrative viral vector comprises a regulatory sequence encoding a constitutive promoter.
Claims 1-7 of ‘396 recite a method of treating a condition associated with aplastic anemia, the method comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an adeno-associated virus based vector comprising at least one capsid and a nucleic acid encoding a telomerase reverse transcriptase (TERT) operably linked to a regulatory sequence that drives expression of the encoded TERT, wherein the method results in transduction of hematopoietic stem cells, with claim 2 reciting the nucleic acid sequence encoding TERT is SEQ ID NO: 1 or 3, and claim 3 reciting the amino acid sequence is SEQ ID NO: 2 or 4, which are the same sequence claimed in instant claims 2 and 3. claim 4 reciting the capsid is derived from AAV9, and claim 5 reciting the nucleic acid is packaged in the AAV9 capsid and flanked on both ends by the internal terminal repeats of the serotype 2 adeno-associated virus, and claims 6,7 reciting the regulatory sequence is a constitutive promoter.
Claims 1-12 of ‘434 and claims 1-7 of ‘396 do not recite a method of treatment of kidney fibrosis associated with the presence of short telomeres, and administering a nucleic acid vector comprising a coding sequence for TERT to a subject in need thereof (a patient with kidney fibrosis associated with presence of short telomeres).
Cheng et al. and Li et al. cure these deficiencies, the teachings of which have been described above in the 103 rejections.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to apply the treatment method of Patent ‘434 or Patent No. ‘396 comprising administering a nucleic acid vector encoding TERT, and wherein TERT is encoded by a nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 or 3 (which corresponds to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 or 4, respectively) to human patients having kidney fibrosis associated with shortened telomeres with the reasonable expectation that doing so would result in treating kidney fibrosis in these patients. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because Cheng et al. taught aging is associated with telomere shortening, and both telomerase reverse transcriptase (TerT) and RNA (TerC) are essential to maintain telomere length (Abstract, page 85) and that telomerase deficiency delayed renal recovery from I/R injury in mice, which was accompanied by impairment of renal tubular autophagy and Li et al taught reverse transcriptase telomerase helps to maintain telomere length in human stem cells, reproductive cells and cancer cells, but is inactivated in the majority of types of mature human cells which allows telomeres to shorten with every cycle of cell division and eventually lead to chromosomal instability (page 2, left column), and that that renal fibrosis has been found to be influenced by cellular ageing-related mechanisms such as the decline in renal function induced by telomere shortening, and thus telomeres and related molecules may be implicated in renal fibrosis and serve as useful diagnostic biomarkers and therapeutic targets (page 4, Section 5).
Thus, the patent claims and the instant claims are obvious variants.
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 24-26 and 30-33 of copending Application No. 17/189,368 (‘368) or claims 33-35 and 40 of Application No. 18/560,053 (‘053) in view of Cheng et al. (Kidney International (2015) 88,85-94, Published 11 March 2015) and Li et al. (Molecular Medicine Reports 2020 Nov 27; 23:96).
Claims 24-26 and 30-33 of ‘368 recite a method of treating a disease or condition associated with shortened telomeres comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an adeno-associated virus-based non-integrative vector comprising a nucleic acid encoding TERT operably linked to a regulatory sequence driving the expression of TERT, wherein the disease or condition associated with shortened telomeres is pulmonary fibrosis characterized by defective regeneration capacity of tissues and wherein the pulmonary fibrosis is idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis or pulmonary fibrosis that is caused by an infection. Claim 25 or ‘368 recites TERT is encoded by a nucleic acid sequence set forth by SEQ ID NO: 1 or 3, and claim 26 recites TERT has the amino acid sequence set forth by SEQ ID NO: 2 or 4, with claim 30 reciting the recombinant virus vector is an adeno-associated virus-based vector whose capsid is derived from the serotype 9 AAV and claim 31 recites the nucleic acid encoding TERT is packaged in the AAV9 capsid and is flanked at both ends by internal terminal repeats of the serotype 2 adeno-associated virus, and claims 32-33 recite the regulatory sequence is a constitutive promoter.
Claims 33-35 and 40 of ‘053 recite a method of treating or preventing a condition associated with shortened telomere length comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of the recombinant adeno-associated genome according to claim 20 or claim 25 to a subject (a recombinant adeno-associated viral genome comprising a nucleotide sequence encoding a telomerase reverse transcriptase (TERT) operably linked to a tissue specific promoter, wherein the tissue specific promoter comprises SEQ ID NO: 12), and claim 34 recites the condition associated with short telomere length is pulmonary fibrosis.
Claims 24-26 and 30-33 of ‘368 and claims 33-35 and 40 of ‘053 do not recite a method of treatment of kidney fibrosis associated with the presence of short telomeres, and administering a nucleic acid vector comprising a coding sequence for TERT to a subject in need thereof (a patient with kidney fibrosis associated with presence of short telomeres).
Cheng et al. and Li et al. cure these deficiencies, the teachings of which have been described above in the 103 rejections.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to apply the treatment method of ‘368 or ‘053 comprising administering a nucleic acid vector encoding TERT, and wherein TERT is encoded by a nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 or 3 (which corresponds to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 or 4, respectively) to human patients having kidney fibrosis associated with shortened telomeres with the reasonable expectation that doing so would result in treating kidney fibrosis in these patients. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because Cheng et al. taught aging is associated with telomere shortening, and both telomerase reverse transcriptase (TerT) and RNA (TerC) are essential to maintain telomere length (Abstract, page 85) and that telomerase deficiency delayed renal recovery from I/R injury in mice, which was accompanied by impairment of renal tubular autophagy and Li et al taught reverse transcriptase telomerase helps to maintain telomere length in human stem cells, reproductive cells and cancer cells, but is inactivated in the majority of types of mature human cells which allows telomeres to shorten with every cycle of cell division and eventually lead to chromosomal instability (page 2, left column), and that that renal fibrosis has been found to be influenced by cellular ageing-related mechanisms such as the decline in renal function induced by telomere shortening, and thus telomeres and related molecules may be implicated in renal fibrosis and serve as useful diagnostic biomarkers and therapeutic targets (page 4, Section 5).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected.
/STEPHANIE L SULLIVAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1635
/ABIGAIL VANHORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636