DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication on July 23rd, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 1, 6, 11-12 and 16 are currently amended.
The present application is a 371 National Phase Entry of International Application no. PCT/CN2022/073743, filed on January 25th, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaponniere et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication no. 2022/0141727, hereinafter Chaponniere) in view of Speicher et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication no. 2021/0084558, hereinafter Speicher).
With respect to claim 1, Champonniere discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (paragraph [0117], UE 115-a) and a wireless network node (paragraph [0117], relay device 205), comprising:
at least one memory (paragraph [0117], UE 115-a); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (paragraph [0117], UE 115-a) and configured to cause the UE to:
determine a location status of the UE relative to a mobile wireless network node based on a criterion (paragraph [0067], lines 1-4, based on whether the US is inside or outside the vehicle), wherein the mobile wireless network node is configured as a mobile relay node between a base station (BS) and the UE (paragraph [0066], lines 10-11, relay devices may be mounted on vehicles) in an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network (paragraph [0074]); and
transmit the location status of the UE to at least one of the mobile wireless network node or the BS (paragraph [0070], lines 14-20, base station may determine whether the UE is inside or outside the vehicle).
But Champonniere does not disclose detecting a mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0107], lines 1-10, donor base stations detected) based at least in part on broadcast information comprising a system information block 1 (SIB1) indicating a mobile attribute of the mobile wireless network.
However, Speicher discloses detecting a mobile wireless network node based at least in part on broadcast information comprising a system information block 1 (SIB1) indicating a mobile attribute of the mobile wireless network (paragraph [0091], lines 1-8, RRC layer functionality associated with system information (such as MIB, SIBs)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the techniques for efficient mobility using relay device of Chaponniere with the relay handover determination of Speicher. The motivation to combine being to improve the handover of relay devices in an IAB network. The handover of relay devices in an IAB network being improved by taking into consideration the expected path of the relay device (Speicher: abstract).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Champonniere and Speicher discloses the UE of claim 1, Champonnier further discloses wherein the mobile wireless network node is mounted on a vehicle (paragraph [0066], lines 10-11, relay devices may be mounted on vehicles) and the location status of the UE relative to the mobile wireless network node comprises inside or outside of the vehicle (paragraph [0067], lines 1-4, based on whether the US is inside or outside the vehicle).
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Champonniere and Speicher discloses the UE of claim 1, Champonnier further discloses wherein the criterion to determine the location status of the UE includes at least one of:
a measurement result on a reference signal from the mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0127]);
a variation of the measurement result on the reference signal from the mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0127]);
at least one of a speed or moving direction of the UE and the mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0131); or
an indication from an application layer of the UE (paragraph [0115]).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Champonniere and Speicher discloses the UE of claim 1, Champonnier further discloses wherein, to determine the location status of the UE, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to at least one of:
determine the location status of the UE periodically (paragraph [0130]);
determine the location status of the UE in response to a request from the mobile wireless network node or the BS (paragraph [0130]);
determine the location status of the UE when the UE detects the mobile wireless network node or detects a cell of the mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0127]); or
determine the location status of the UE when the UE has accessed the mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0115]).
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Champonniere and Speicher discloses the UE of claim 1, Champonnier further discloses wherein, to transmit the location status of the UE to at least one of the mobile wireless network node or the BS, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit the location status of the UE to at least one of:
the mobile wireless network node when the UE performs an access to the mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0130]);
the BS in response to a request for the location status of the UE from the BS (paragraph [0070], lines 14-20, base station may determine whether the UE is inside or outside the vehicle); or
at least one of the mobile wireless network node or the BS in response to a change in the location status of the UE (paragraph [0130]).
With respect to claims 6 and 16, Champonniere discloses a mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0117], relay device 205) and methd, comprising:
at least one memory (paragraph [0117], relay device 205); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (paragraph [0117], relay device 205) and configured to cause the mobile wireless network node to:
determine to access a parent node based on a first indication broadcast by a cell of the parent node (paragraph [0118], lines 1-6, air interface established with base station 105-a), wherein the mobile wireless network node is allowed to serve configured as a mobile relay node between the parent node and a user equipment (UE) (paragraph [0118], lines 6-18, relay device 205-a may provide Uu connection 210 to the wireless network) in an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network (paragraph [0074]); and
transmit a second indication to the parent node, wherein the second indication indicates a mobile attribute of the mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0119], lines 11-17).
But Champonniere does not disclose determine to access a parent node based on a first indication in a system information block 1 (SIB1); and
Transmit a second indication to the parent node in a radio resource (RRC) setup complete message.
However, Speicher discloses determine to access a parent node based on a first indication in a system information block 1 (SIB1) (paragraph [0091], lines 1-8, RRC layer functionality associated with system information (such as MIB, SIBs)); and
Transmit a second indication to the parent node in a radio resource (RRC) setup complete message (paragraph [0069], RRCDirectConnectionSetupComplete).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the techniques for efficient mobility using relay device of Chaponniere with the relay handover determination of Speicher. The motivation to combine being to improve the handover of relay devices in an IAB network. The handover of relay devices in an IAB network being improved by taking into consideration the expected path of the relay device (Speicher: abstract).
With respect to claims 7 and 18, the combination of Champonniere and Speicher discloses the mobile wireless network node of claims 6 and 16, Champonnier further discloses wherein the first indication indicates at least one of:
whether the parent node is a base station (BS) or a relay node (paragraph [0137], relay identifier);
the parent node is the BS (paragraph [0140]);
whether the cell supports the mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0137], relay identifier);
the cell supports the mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0137], relay identifier); or
a hop count of the cell.
With respect to claims 8 and 19, the combination of Champonniere and Speicher discloses the mobile wireless network node of claims 6 and 16, Champonnier further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the mobile wireless network node to at least one of the following:
broadcast an indication indicating the mobile attribute of the mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0070], broadcast location reports); or
transmit a reference signal specific for determining a location status of the UE (paragraph [0127]).
With respect to claims 9 and 20, the combination of Champonniere and Speicher discloses the mobile wireless network node of claims 6 and 16, Champonnier further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the mobile wireless network node to transmit, to the parent node, at least one of:
at least one working mode supported by the mobile wireless network node, wherein the at least one working mode comprises a public working mode (paragraph [0090], unrestricted access) or a private working mode (paragraph [0090], closed subscriber group);
a current working mode of the mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0113]); or
a list of UEs allowed to access the mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0136], if the user subscribes).
With respect to claim 10, the combination of Champonniere and Speicher discloses the mobile wireless network node of claim 6, Champonnier further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the mobile wireless network node to at least one of:
receive a working mode configuration from the parent node (paragraph [0136], report to relay device);
periodically transmit, to the parent node, a list of UEs allowed to access the mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0130]);
transmit, to the parent node, the list of UEs allowed to access the mobile wireless network node in response to a change in the list of UEs (paragraph [0136], option to subscribe); or
transmit, to the parent node, the change in the list of UEs (paragraph [0136], option to subscribe).
With respect to claim 11, Champonniere discloses a base station (BS) for wireless communication (paragraph [0117], base station 105-a), comprising:
at least one memory (paragraph [0117], base station 105-a); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (paragraph [0117], base station 105-a) and configured to cause the BS to:
broadcast a first indication indicating that a mobile wireless network node is supported (paragraph [0140], 105-b may transmit control signaling configuring the relay device 310), wherein the mobile wireless network node is configured as a mobile relay node (paragraph [0117], relay device 205) between the BS and a user equipment (UE) (paragraph [0117], UE 115-a) in an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network (paragraph [0074]); and
receive a second indication from the mobile wireless network node, wherein the second indication indicates a mobile attribute of the mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0145], connected mode management).
But Champonniere does not disclose broadcast a first indication in a system information block 1 (SIB1); and
Receive a second indication to the parent node in a radio resource (RRC) setup complete message.
However, Speicher discloses broadcast a first indication in a system information block 1 (SIB1) (paragraph [0091], lines 1-8, RRC layer functionality associated with system information (such as MIB, SIBs)); and
Receive a second indication to the parent node in a radio resource (RRC) setup complete message (paragraph [0069], RRCDirectConnectionSetupComplete).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the techniques for efficient mobility using relay device of Chaponniere with the relay handover determination of Speicher. The motivation to combine being to improve the handover of relay devices in an IAB network. The handover of relay devices in an IAB network being improved by taking into consideration the expected path of the relay device (Speicher: abstract).
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Champonniere and Speicher discloses the BS of claim 11, Champonnier further discloses wherein, to broadcast the first indication, the at least one processor is configured to cause the BS to broadcast in a cell of the BS at least one of:
whether the cell is located in the BS or a relay node (paragraph [0134], location reports);
the cell is located in the BS (paragraph [0134], location reports);
whether the cell supports a mobile wireless network (paragraph [0137], relay identifier);
the cell supports the mobile wireless network (paragraph [0137], relay identifier); or
a hop count of the cell.
With respect to claim 13, the combination of Champonniere and Speicher discloses the BS of claim 11, Champonnier further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the BS to:
transmit at least one of a handover request or a handover required message to handover the mobile wireless network node to another BS (paragraph [0159], handover procedure), wherein the at least one of the handover request or the handover required message comprises the mobile attribute of the mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0159], handover procedure).
With respect to claim 14, the combination of Champonniere and Speicher discloses the BS of claim 11, Champonnier further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the BS to receive, from the mobile wireless network node, at least one of:
at least one working mode supported by the mobile wireless network node, wherein the at least one working mode comprises a public working mode (paragraph [0090], unrestricted access) or a private working mode (paragraph [0090], closed subscriber group);
a current working mode of the mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0113]); or
a list of UEs allowed to access the mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0136], if the user subscribes).
With respect to claim 15, the combination of Champonniere and Speicher discloses the BS of claim 11, Champonnier further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the BS to at least one of the following:
transmit a working mode configuration to the mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0136], report to relay device);
periodically receive a list of UEs allowed to access the mobile wireless network node (paragraph [0130]);
receive the list of UEs allowed to access the mobile wireless network node in response to a change in the list of UEs (paragraph [0136], option to subscribe); or
receive the change in the list of UEs (paragraph [0136], option to subscribe).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hosseini Pat. Pub. 2024/0196481
Islam Pat. Pub. 2019/0124696
Shih Pat. Pub. 2021/0400552
Haustein Pat. Pub. 2024/0040463
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
9/16/26
/BLAKE J RUBIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457