DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“presetting module”, “graphical interface module” and editing and processing module” in claim 8.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. According to Applicant’s disclosure in FIG.s 5 and 6, those modules are interpreted as a computer with software and/or hardware to implement their functions.
Claim Objections
In claim 4, the phrase “in as operation templates” should be amended to “[[in]] as operation templates”, to correct the grammatical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)) as being unpatentable over Kibbar (US 20150106153 A1, hereinafter as “Kibbar”).
Regarding claim 1, Kibbar teaches:
A workflow creation method, comprising :
storing preset behavior tree nodes (“steps”) in a node library ([0011]), the behavior tree nodes comprising main control nodes and function block nodes (FIG.s 4A and 4B), the main control nodes for controlling a running state of a workflow, the main control nodes comprising a start node (step 313 in FIG. 4B), an end node (step 350 in FIG. 4A), and a loop node, and each function block node (step 316 in FIG. 4B) operable for implementing operations of a resource in a workcell (workers in [0014]);
displaying the node library on a graphical user interface (GUI 14/16 in FIG. 1 and [0023-0024]; and [0011]);
receiving construction of a behavior tree and an instantiation configuration operation performed by a user on the graphical user interface based on the node library, the behavior tree representing a workflow used for defining operations to be executed by a workcell (FIG.s 4A and 4B, and [0011-0012]);
wherein construction of the behavior tree based on the node library comprises: connecting the start node, the function block nodes, and the end node sequentially, or, connecting the start node, the function block nodes, and the loop node sequentially (FIG.s 4A and 4B, and [0011-0012]); and
generating a behavior tree instance corresponding to a workflow in response to the construction of the behavior tree ([0017]).
Kibbar teaches specifically (underlines are added by Examiner for emphasis):
[0011] A workflow management application that applies an example of workflow compilation as described herein may provide a user interface for graphical definition of a workflow. A user may thus operate the graphical user interface so as to define the workflow in the form of steps. The workflow management application may include a library of types of steps and relationships among steps. For example, a user interface may enable a user to graphically select or manipulate screen objects that represent various types of steps for inclusion in the workflow.
[0012] A user interface of a workflow management application may further enable a user to define connections among the steps, e.g. by connecting the screen objects that represent the steps with a selected connector that represents a connection (e.g. sequence flow showing an order of execution, flow of a message or information, or other association). The user interface may enable a user to input data that characterizes a step or a connection.
[0014] Various defined steps of the workflow may be executed by different "workers," e.g. by different machines, by different execution modules within a single machine, or by various instances of programs or applications that are running on a single machine. In some examples of workflows, two or more steps may be executed in parallel while in others, steps are executed sequentially.
[0017] In accordance with examples of workflow compilation, a workflow is compiled to a representation that is referred to herein as an "execution plan". The execution plan includes a series of execution units. A single execution unit may represent a particular sub-operation or task of a step of the workflow. Compilation of the workflow may be performed by a compiler module of a workflow management system. Execution units of the workflow are selected from a limited library of execution units. The execution units in the library each represent a basic operation that could be combined into a step. A compiler module may analyze each step (or phase of a step) and identify the execution units that are to be executed in order to execute the step.
[0023] Processor 12 may communicate with output device 14. For example, output device 14 may include a computer monitor or screen. Processor 12 may communicate with a screen of output device 14 to display a result or progress of a managed workflow. Processor 12 may communicate with a screen of output device 14 to display elements of a user interface for enabling a user to define a workflow. In another example, output device 14 may include a printer, display panel, speaker, or another device capable of producing visible, audible, or tactile output.
[0024] Processor 12 may communicate with input device 16. For example, input device 16 may include one or more of a keyboard, keypad, or pointing device for enabling a user to inputting data or instructions for operation of processor 12, A user may operate input device 16 so as to define a workflow, or to initiate or control execution of a workflow.
Regarding claim 2, Kibbar teach(es) all the limitations of its base claim from which the claim depends.
Kibbar further teaches:
generating a behavior tree instance corresponding to a workflow comprises:
generating an instance of a main control node (FIG. 4B: adding start step 313 in the behavior tree); and
instantiating the function block node into operations to be executed by the corresponding resource based on the user's instantiation configuration operation (FIG. 4B and [0011-0012]: adding action step 316 in the behavior tree).
Regarding claim 3, Kibbar teach(es) all the limitations of its base claim from which the claim depends.
Kibbar further teaches:
after generating a behavior tree instance corresponding to a workflow, parsing the behavior tree instance, and deploying the workflow corresponding to the behavior tree instance to the runtime of a main controller of the corresponding workcell, so that the resources in the workcell connected to the main controller execute operations according to the workflow ([0014]: “Various defined steps of the workflow may be executed by different "workers," e.g. by different machines, by different execution modules within a single machine, or by various instances of programs or applications that are running on a single machine”).
Regarding claim 4, Kibbar teach(es) all the limitations of its base claim from which the claim depends.
Kibbar further teaches:
storing the function block nodes in the node library as operation templates , each function block node corresponding to one operation template, the operation template predefining the operations that can be executed by a class of resources, and the operations comprising actions, methods, or skills ([0011]: “The workflow management application may include a library of types of steps and relationships among steps”; and [0014]: “Various defined steps of the workflow may be executed by different "workers," e.g. by different machines, by different execution modules within a single machine, or by various instances of programs or applications that are running on a single machine”).
Claim 8 recites a workflow creation apparatus conducting operational steps of method in claim 1 with patentably the same limitations. Therefore, claim 8 is rejected for the same reason recited in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Kibbar teach(es) all the limitations of its base claim from which the claim depends.
Kibbar further teaches:
at least one memory (memory 18 in FIG. 1) storing computer-readable code; and
at least one processor (processor 12 in FIG. 1) to call the computer-readable code to execute the method according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kibbar in view of Rits (US 20080282318 A1, hereinafter as “Rits”).
Regarding claim 7, Kibbar teach(es) all the limitations of its base claim from which the claim depends, but does not teach when generating a behavior tree instance corresponding to a workflow, adding labels unique in the behavior tree instance to all behavior tree nodes selected by a user, the labels comprising numbers, letters, or Chinese characters.
However, Rits teaches in an analogous art:
when generating a tree instance corresponding to a workflow, adding labels unique in the behavior tree instance to behavior tree nodes, the labels comprising numbers ([0011]: “A node in a tree may be associated with a label (such as a string or a number), e.g. specifying the position of the node in the tree”), letters, or Chinese characters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kibbar based on the teaching of Rits, to make the method to further comprise when generating a behavior tree instance corresponding to a workflow, adding labels unique in the behavior tree instance to all behavior tree nodes selected by a user, the labels comprising numbers, letters, or Chinese characters. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification since it can help “specify[ing] the position of the node in the tree”, as Rits suggests in [0011].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Makhija (US 20220327006 A1): teaches a method to codelessly design a workflow.
Shukla (US 20060074735 A1): teaches to create a workflow through a GUI by connecting many work activity blocks.
/CHARLES CAI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115