DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mellott et al. (US 10,573,988) here after Mellott.
Regarding claim 1, Mellott discloses an electrical connector comprising: a connector housing 16 comprising an opening (figs. 1 and 2); a grommet 13 disposed at least partially within the connector housing and configured to seal an interior of the connector housing from external media, the grommet 13 comprising an inner aperture IA configured to receive an electrical wire 14; and a clamp 30, 32 disposed about the opening, the clamp 30,32 comprising: an outer aperture OA configured to receive the electrical wire 14; a passageway extending from the outer aperture OA to the inner aperture IA; and at least one rib 86A, 86B (fig. 7B) that forms a boundary of the passageway.
Regarding claim 2, Mellott discloses the clamp 24, 30 further comprises a first clamp portion 30 and a second clamp portion 32, the at least one rib (86A ,86B (fig. 7B)) 64,66 (of 32) comprises a first rib 66 of 32, fig. 4) and a second rib that of 66 (of 30, fig. 4), and wherein: the first clamp portion 30 comprises the first rib 66 and a first groove 64, the second clamp portion 32 comprises the second rib 66 and a second groove 64, the first rib 66 is configured to fit within the second groove 64, and the second rib 66 is configured to fit within the first groove 64 (see figs. 3, 7A, 7B).
Regarding claim 3, Mellott discloses in a first configuration, the first rib is substantially contained within the second groove and the second rib is substantially contained within the first groove; and in a second configuration, the first rib is partially contained with the second groove and partially exposed, and the second rib is partially contained within the first groove and partially exposed.
Regarding claim 4, Mellott discloses, the first clamp portion is substantially identical to the second clamp portion.
Regarding claim 5, Mellott discloses, the grommet 13 comprises a first grommet (front) portion(of) 13 with a first (front) surface and a second grommet (rear) portion (of) 13 with a second (rear) surface, the first surface abuts the connector housing 16, and the second surface abuts the clamp 24 (of 24, 32).
Regarding claim 6, Mellott discloses, the passageway defines a longitudinal direction and the at least one rib extends longitudinally to define a lateral boundary of the passageway.
Regarding claim 9, Mellott discloses an electrical connector 10 comprising: a connector housing 16 comprising an opening (figs. 1 and 2); a grommet 13 disposed at least partially within the connector housing and configured to seal an interior of the connector housing from external media, the grommet 13 comprising: an inner aperture IA configured to receive an electrical wire 14; a first grommet (front) portion(of) 13 with a first (front) surface and a second grommet (rear) portion (of) 13 with a second (rear) surface, a clamp 24, 30, 32 disposed about the opening (figs. 1 and 2), wherein the first (front) surface abuts the connector housing 16, and the second surface abuts the clamp 24 (of 24, 32).
Regarding claim 10, Mellott discloses, the clamp 24, 30, 32 further comprises an outer aperture OA configured to receive the electrical wire 14; a passageway extending from the outer aperture OA to the inner aperture IA; and at least one rib 86A, 86B (fig. 7B) that forms a boundary of the passageway.
Regarding claim 11, Mellott discloses, the first surface and second surface are substantially parallel to an axis defined by a center of the inner aperture.
Regarding claim 12, Mellott discloses, the second (rear) grommet portion is positioned between the first (front) grommet portion and the opening.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mellott in view of Tashiro.
Regarding claim 7, Mellott discloses all the claimed limitations except an o-ring positioned about the connector housing and having an x-shaped cross-sectional profile.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Tashiro discloses an electrical connector 1 (fig. 19) comprising: a connector housing 8 comprising a rear opening 7; a grommet 10 disposed at least partially within an intermediate portion of the connector housing and configured to seal an interior of the connector housing from external media; a clamp (rear bracket) disposed about the rear opening; and an o-ring OR (see annotated fig.) positioned about a front portion of the connector housing 8.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have an o-ring positioned about the connector housing as taught by Tashiro in order to protect the any foreign entity from the front side and make connector waterproof.
Thus, Millott as modified by Tashiro discloses all the claimed limitations except for the O-ring is having an x-shaped cross-sectional profile.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the O-ring having an x- shaped cross-sectional profile, since applicants have presented no explanation that these particular configurations of the X-shaped cross sectional profile of the O-Ring is significant or is anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of making electrical connection with fuse or any conductive body of the assembly. A change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Millott in view of Roth (US 2008/0260333).
Regarding claim 8, Millott discloses all the claimed limitations except for the connector housing further comprises a concave textured portion configured to provide an ergonomic grip on the connector housing.
Roth figs. 2 and 3, discloses a connector sleeve included body 102, and gripping surface 110 formed on at least one of the surface of the sleeve body, (paragraph [0027].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a concave textured portion configured to provide an ergonomic grip on the connector housing as taught by Roth in order to provide better gripping for user.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mellott.
Regarding claim 13, Millot discloses all the claimed limitations except for the electrical connector comprises a first configuration and a second configuration, the second grommet portion is thicker in the second configuration than in the first configuration, and a diameter of the inner aperture is larger in the second configuration than in the first configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second grommet portion is thicker in the second configuration than in the first configuration, and a diameter of the inner aperture is larger in the second configuration than in the first configuration, and since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) and have ease of insertion of the cable into the connector housing.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Millott in view of Roth (US 2008/0260333).
Regarding claim 15, Millott discloses all the claimed limitations except for the connector housing further comprises a concave textured portion configured to provide an ergonomic grip on the connector housing.
Roth figs. 2 and 3, discloses a connector sleeve included body 102, and gripping surface 110 formed on at least one of the surface of the sleeve body, (paragraph [0027].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a concave textured portion configured to provide an ergonomic grip on the connector housing as taught by Roth in order to provide better gripping for user.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tashiro et al. (CN 105144495) hereafter Tashiro.
Regarding claim 16, Tashiro discloses an electrical connector 1 (fig. 19) comprising: a connector housing 8 comprising a rear opening 7; a grommet 10 disposed at least partially within an intermediate portion of the connector housing and configured to seal an interior of the connector housing from external media; a clamp (rear bracket) disposed about the rear opening; and an o-ring OR (see annotated fig.) positioned about a front portion of the connector housing 8.
However, Tashiro does not disclose O-ring is having an x- shaped cross-sectional profile.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the O-ring having an x- shaped cross-sectional profile, since applicants have presented no explanation that these particular configurations of the X-shaped cross sectional profile of the O-Ring is significant or is anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of making electrical connection with fuse or any conductive body of the assembly. A change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tashiro et al. (CN 105144495) hereafter Tashiro in view of Mellott.
Regarding claim 17, Tashiro discloses all the claimed limitations except for the grommet further comprises: an inner aperture configured to receive an electrical wire; a first grommet portion with a first surface abutting the intermediate portion of the connector housing; and a second grommet portion with a second surface abutting the clamp; and the clamp further comprises: an outer aperture configured to receive the electrical wire; a passageway extending from the outer aperture to the inner aperture; and at least one rib that forms a boundary of the passageway.
Mellott discloses a grommet 13 disposed at least partially within the connector housing and configured to seal an interior of the connector housing from external media, the grommet 13 comprising an inner aperture IA configured to receive an electrical wire 14; and a clamp 24, 30, 32 disposed about the opening, the clamp 30,32 comprising: an outer aperture OA configured to receive the electrical wire 14; a passageway extending from the outer aperture OA to the inner aperture IA; and at least one rib 86A, 86B (fig. 7B) that forms a boundary of the passageway.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the grommet further comprises: an inner aperture configured to receive an electrical wire; a first grommet portion with a first surface abutting the intermediate portion of the connector housing; and a second grommet portion with a second surface abutting the clamp; and the clamp further comprises: an outer aperture configured to receive the electrical wire; a passageway extending from the outer aperture to the inner aperture; and at least one rib that forms a boundary of the passageway as taught by Mellott in order to have better mechanical gripping, stability of the grommet and have ease of assembly for waterproofing.
Regarding claim 18, Tashiro as modified by Mellott discloses all the claimed limitations except for an outer width of the front portion is relatively smaller than an outer width of the intermediate portion, and wherein the front portion is configured to be received by a connector receptacle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an outer width of the front portion is relatively smaller than an outer width of the intermediate portion, and wherein the front portion is configured to be received by a connector receptacle to have ease of insertion, and since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 19, Tashiro as modified by Mellott discloses the o-ring OR contacts the front portion at, at least two points P1, P2 and the connector receptacle at, at least two points P1, P2.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tashiro in view of Roth (US 2008/0260333).
Regarding claim 20, Tashiro discloses all the claimed limitations except for the connector housing further comprises a concave textured portion configured to provide an ergonomic grip on the connector housing.
Roth figs. 2 and 3, discloses a connector sleeve included body 102, and gripping surface 110 formed on at least one of the surface of the sleeve body, (paragraph [0027].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a concave textured portion configured to provide an ergonomic grip on the connector housing as taught by Roth in order to provide better gripping for user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached 892.
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831