DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 15, 17- 19, 22, 24, 29, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2016/0226709).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a processor; and memory coupled with the processor (Figure 15, Section 0124, UE comprises a controller (32) which is the processor and memory (34)), the processor configured to: obtain a power offset value between at least two antennas of a set of antennas associated with the apparatus (the power imbalance value is the power offset value (Sections 0083 – 0087)), wherein the power offset value indicates a power imbalance that corresponds to a difference in an antenna gain between the at least two antennas (the power imbalance value is the power offset value (Sections 0083 – 0087), the difference in quality (SINR) between the antennas is determined (Sections 0097 – 0099), the higher the gain of an antenna the greater the directivity of said antenna and the greater the reduction of interference and noise from other directions which leads to a higher SINR, the SINR is thus effectively an indication of the antenna gain); output a report that comprises an indication of the power offset value between the at least two antennas (the power imbalance value is reported to the network (Sections 0083 – 0087)); and perform the wireless communication based at least in part on the outputted report (Section 0008, link adaptation is performed based on the received report).
Regarding Claim 18, Chen teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a processor; and memory coupled with the processor (Figure 15, Section 0123, base station comprises a controller (16) which is the processor and memory (18)), the processor configured to: obtain a report that comprises an indication of a power offset value between at least two antennas of a set of antennas associated with a device (the power imbalance value is reported to the network (Sections 0083 – 0087)), wherein the power offset value indicates a power imbalance that corresponds to a difference in an antenna gain between the at least two antennas (the power imbalance value is the power offset value (Sections 0083 – 0087), the difference in quality (SINR) between the antennas is determined (Sections 0097 – 0099), the higher the gain of an antenna the greater the directivity of said antenna and the greater the reduction of interference and noise from other directions which leads to a higher SINR, the SINR is thus effectively an indication of the antenna gain); and perform the wireless communication with the device based at least in part on the report (Section 0008, link adaptation is performed based on the received report).
Regarding Claim 29, Chen teaches a method for wireless communication at a device, comprising: obtaining a power offset value between at least two antennas of a set of antennas associated with the device (the power imbalance value is the power offset value (Sections 0083 – 0087)), wherein the power offset value indicates a power imbalance that corresponds to a difference in an antenna gain between the at least two antennas (the power imbalance value is the power offset value (Sections 0083 – 0087), the difference in quality (SINR) between the antennas is determined (Sections 0097 – 0099), the higher the gain of an antenna the greater the directivity of said antenna and the greater the reduction of interference and noise from other directions which leads to a higher SINR, the SINR is thus effectively an indication of the antenna gain); outputting a report that comprises an indication of the power offset value between the at least two antennas (the power imbalance value is reported to the network (Sections 0083 – 0087)); and performing the wireless communication based at least in part on the outputted report (Section 0008, link adaptation is performed based on the received report).
Regarding Claim 30, Chen teaches a method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: obtaining a report that comprises an indication of a power offset value between at least two antennas of a set of antennas associated with a device (the power imbalance value is reported to the network (Sections 0083 – 0087)), wherein the power offset value indicates a power imbalance that corresponds to a difference in an antenna gain between the at least two antennas (the power imbalance value is the power offset value (Sections 0083 – 0087), the difference in quality (SINR) between the antennas is determined (Sections 0097 – 0099), the higher the gain of an antenna the greater the directivity of said antenna and the greater the reduction of interference and noise from other directions which leads to a higher SINR, the SINR is thus effectively an indication of the antenna gain); and performing the wireless communication with the device based at least in part on the report (Section 0008, link adaptation is performed based on the received report).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Chen further teaches obtain control signaling that indicates a configuration to report the power offset value between the at least two antennas (Section 0083, request from the network is the control signaling), wherein to output the report that comprises the indication of the power offset value between the at least two antennas is based at least in part on the configuration (Section 0083).
Regarding Claim 19, Chen teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 18. Chen further teaches output control signaling that indicates a configuration to report the power offset value between the at least two antennas (Section 0083, request from the network is the control signaling), wherein to obtain the report that comprises the indication of the power offset value between the at least two antennas is based at least in part on the configuration (Section 0083).
Regarding Claims 5, 22, Chen teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 18. Chen further teaches set/assign the power offset value for the at least two antennas based at least in part on a respective antenna polarization of each antenna of the at least two antennas (Section 0084, Xpol (cross polarization)).
Regarding Claims 7, 24, Chen teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 18. Chen further teaches set/assign a respective power offset value separately for each antenna of the at least two antennas (Sections 0083 – 0087, power imbalance value between antennas renders a scenario wherein the respective power imbalance value for each antenna is set separately).
Regarding Claim 15, Chen teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Chen further teaches the set of antennas, wherein the at least two antennas of the set of antennas are associated with a transmit chain, a receiver chain, or both, associated with the apparatus (Section 0083).
Regarding Claim 17, Chen teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Chen further teaches wherein the apparatus comprises a user equipment (UE) or a customer premise equipment (CPE) (Section 0083).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2016/0226709) in view of Zhu et al. (US 2013/0188566).
Regarding Claims 3, 20, Chen teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 2, 19. Chen does not teach wherein the control signaling comprises a radio resource control (RRC) message, a downlink control information (DCI), a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), or any combination thereof.
Zhu, which also teaches an LTE system, teaches wherein the control signaling comprises a radio resource control (RRC) message, a downlink control information (DCI), a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), or any combination thereof (Section 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chen with the above features of Zhu for the purpose of improving control signaling as taught by Zhu.
Claims 4, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chen et al. (US 2016/0226709) in view of Yang et al. (US 2020/0186310)
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding Claims 4, 21, Chen teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 2, 19. Chen does not teach identify a power offset threshold value based at least in part on the configuration; and determine that the power offset value between the at least two antennas, or at least one respective power offset value associated with a respective antenna of the at least two antennas, or both, satisfies the determined power offset threshold value, wherein to output the report that comprises the indication of the power offset value between the at least two antennas is further based at least in part on that the power offset value between the at least two antennas, or at least one respective power offset value associated with a respective antenna of the at least two antennas, or both, satisfies the determined power offset threshold value.
Yang, which also teaches power imbalances, teaches a power offset threshold value based at least in part on the configuration (Section 0006); and determine that the power offset value between the at least two antennas, or at least one respective power offset value associated with a respective antenna of the at least two antennas, or both, satisfies the determined power offset threshold value (Section 0006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chen with the above features of Yang for the purpose of minimizing or mitigating the power loss for DMRSs as taught by Yang. The combination of Chen and Yang teaches wherein to output the report that comprises the indication of the power offset value between the at least two antennas is further based at least in part on that the power offset value between the at least two antennas, or at least one respective power offset value associated with a respective antenna of the at least two antennas, or both, satisfies the determined power offset threshold value.
Claims 6, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chen et al. (US 2016/0226709) in view of Yerramalli et al. (US 2022/0015100)
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding Claims 6, 23, Chen teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 18. Chen does not teach set/assign the power offset value for the at least two antennas based at least in part on each antenna of the at least two antennas being configured to a respective antenna panel associated with the apparatus/device.
Yerramalli, which also teaches MIMO, teaches each antenna of the at least two antennas being configured to a respective antenna panel associated with the apparatus/device (Section 0125).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system Chen with the above features of Yerramalli for the purpose of providing a reliable array response across a wideband carrier bandwidth as taught by Yerramalli
Claim(s) 8 – 10, 12, 13, 25 – 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2016/0226709) in view of Lee et al. (US 2011/0306383)
Regarding Claims 8, 25, Chen teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 18. Chen does not teach obtain control signaling that indicates a respective power control parameter for one or more antenna ports associated with each of the at least two antennas based at least in part on the outputted report that comprises the indication of the power offset value between the at least two antennas.
Lee, which also teaches power imbalance determination, teaches obtain control signaling that indicates a respective power control parameter for one or more antenna ports associated with each of the at least two antennas based at least in part on the outputted report that comprises the indication of the power offset value between the at least two antennas (Sections 0042 – 0044, antennas typically have ports to which said antennas are coupled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chen with the above features of Lee for the purpose of providing power efficiency as taught by Lee.
Regarding Claims 9, 26, Chen in view of Lee teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 8, 25. Chen does not teach determine a sounding reference signal resource for the one or more antenna ports associated with each of the at least two antennas, wherein the respective power control parameter for the one or more antenna ports associated with each of the at least two antennas is based at least in part on the sounding reference signal resource for the one or more antenna ports associated with each of the at least two antennas.
Lee, which also teaches power imbalance determination, teaches determine a sounding reference signal resource for the one or more antenna ports associated with each of the at least two antennas (Section 0070), wherein the respective power control parameter for the one or more antenna ports associated with each of the at least two antennas is based at least in part on the sounding reference signal resource for the one or more antenna ports associated with each of the at least two antennas (Sections 0014, 0015).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chen with the above features of Lee for the purpose of providing power efficiency as taught by Lee.
Regarding Claim 10, 27, Chen in view of Lee teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 9, 26. Chen does not teach wherein the sounding reference signal resource for the one or more antenna ports associated with each of the at least two antennas corresponds to a sounding reference signal resource associated with both the at least two antennas.
Lee, which also teaches power imbalance determination, teaches wherein the sounding reference signal resource for the one or more antenna ports associated with each of the at least two antennas corresponds to a sounding reference signal resource associated with both the at least two antennas (Section 0070).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chen with the above features of Lee for the purpose of providing power efficiency as taught by Lee.
Regarding Claims 12, 28, Chen in view of Lee teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 9, 26. Chen does not teach wherein the sounding reference signal resource for the one or more antenna ports associated with each of the at least two antennas corresponds to different sounding reference signal resources.
Lee, which also teaches power imbalance determination, teaches wherein the sounding reference signal resource for the one or more antenna ports associated with each of the at least two antennas corresponds to different sounding reference signal resources (Section 0070, each antenna can transmit a separate SRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chen with the above features of Lee for the purpose of providing power efficiency as taught by Lee.
Regarding Claim 13, Chen teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Chen does not teach set of antennas corresponds to at least two antenna ports for physical uplink shared channel transmission, and each antenna port of the at least two antenna ports corresponds to a respective power control parameter.
Lee, which also teaches power imbalance determination, teaches set of antennas corresponds to at least two antenna ports for physical uplink shared channel transmission (Section 0027), and each antenna port of the at least two antenna ports corresponds to a respective power control parameter (Sections 0042 – 0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chen with the above features of Lee for the purpose of providing power efficiency as taught by Lee.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2016/0226709) in view of Lee et al. (US 2011/0306383), as applied to Claim 10 set forth above, and further in view of Miao et al. (US 2019/0081751)
Regarding Claim 11, Chen in view of Lee teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 10. Chen does not teach identify the respective power control parameter for the one or more antenna ports associated with each of the at least two antennas based at least in part on a respective antenna port index for the one or more antenna ports associated with each of the at least two antennas.
Lee, which also teaches power imbalance determination, teaches identify the respective power control parameter for the one or more antenna ports associated with each of the at least two antennas (Sections 0042 – 0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chen with the above features of Lee for the purpose of providing power efficiency as taught by Lee.
Chen in view of Lee does not teach one or more antenna ports associated with each of the at least two antennas based at least in part on a respective antenna port index for the one or more antenna ports associated with each of the at least two antennas.
Miao, which also teaches the use of MIMO, teaches two antennas based at least in part on a respective antenna port index for the one or more antenna ports associated with each of the at least two antennas (Section 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chen in view of Lee with the above features of Miao for the purpose of providing enhanced sounding reference signaling thus providing optimized uplink beam tracking as taught by Miao.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2016/0226709) in view of Nabar et al. (US 8,611,477)
Regarding Claim 14, Chen teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Chen does not teach wherein, to perform the wireless communication, the processor is configured to: determine channel estimation on a channel based at least in part on the power offset value between the at least two antennas.
Nabar, which also teaches power imbalances, teaches determine channel estimation on a channel based at least in part on the power offset value between the at least two antennas (Col. 5 lines 50 – 57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chen with the above features of Nabar for the purpose of compensating for noise on antennas as taught by Nabar.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2016/0226709) in view of Vilaipornsawai et al. (US 2020/0015246)
Regarding Claim 16, Chen teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Chen does not teach wherein the set of antennas comprises a non-uniform geometric shape.
Vilaipornsawai, which also teaches MIMO technology, teaches wherein the set of antennas comprises a non-uniform geometric shape (Section 0126).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chen with the above features of Vilaipornsawai for the purpose of reducing interference between antennas as taught by Vilaipornsawai.
Conclusion
/RAYMOND S DEAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
July 20, 2026