CTNF 18/832,476 CTNF 86547 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-7,10-11, 12-15, 17-18, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Roy et al., WO 2021/178941 A1 . Re claim 1, Roy discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (fig 1B, ref 102; paragraph [37], WTRU 102), comprising: at least one memory (fig 1B, ref 130, 132; paragraph [37], non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132); at least one processor (fig 1B, ref 118; paragraph [118], processor 118) coupled to the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to (paragraph [123], computer program products directed to WTRU-initiated active sensing): receiving a configuration message wherein the configuration message comprises a time-gap information associated with a control signal (fig. 3, ref 304; paragraph [269], The other configuration/sensing parameters may include, for example, any of transmit power, covering code (e.g., in case if the gNB allocates the same resource for transmissions of multiple WTRUs), and offset information [time gap]; paragraph [202], Alternatively, the WTRU may be configured with an uplink (UL) resource (e.g., an UL resource configuration) on which to transmit the resource request. The UL resource configuration may include at least one of: periodicity, time offset [time gap], prohibit timer, uplink control channel (e.g., PUCCH) configuration (e.g., format, time/frequency resources, etc.), etc. The UL resource configuration may be communicated to the WTRU, e.g., using higher layer (e.g., RRC) signaling, etc ); receiving the control signal, wherein the control signal comprises radio resource information associated with a sense signal (fig. 3,ref 308, JCS Resource Activation); receiving the sensing signal, wherein the sensing signal comprises one or more reflected waveform associated with a detected object (paragraph [269], The WTRU may perform sensing as previously described using one of the granted sensing configurations (310, 312).; paragraph [254], After the JCS-RS transmissions (e.g., sensing signal/RS/JCS-RSs), the WTRU may monitor and estimate the backscatter channel corresponding to the transmission.); transmit a measurement report corresponding with the detected object (paragraph [269], The WTRU may carry out reporting of the sensing measurements). Re claim 2, Roy discloses initiating monitoring for the sensing signal base on the time gap information (fig 3; paragraph [269], The WTRU may carry out the sensing in the same way as previously described but after a configured time offset following the reception of the configuration response.). Re claim 3, Roy discloses initiate the monitoring for the sensing signal after a duration specified by the time gap information (paragraph [269], The WTRU may carry out the sensing in the same way as previously described but after a configured time offset following the reception of the configuration response.). Re claim 4, Roy discloses that the configuration information message comprises a radio resource information associated with the control signal (paragraph [203], the WTRU may monitor for a JCS configuration response (e.g., transmitted from a gNB). Monitoring for the JCS configuration response may include monitoring a downlink control channel, downlink control information (DCI) masked or scrambled (e.g., CRC scrambled) with a RNTI (e.g., RA-RNTI, C-RNTI, or JCS-RNTI)). Re claim 5, Roy discloses that the configuration message comprises a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the control signal (paragraph [203], the WTRU may monitor for a JCS configuration response (e.g., transmitted from a gNB). Monitoring for the JCS configuration response may include monitoring a downlink control channel, downlink control information (DCI) masked or scrambled (e.g., CRC scrambled) with a RNTI (e.g., RA-RNTI, C-RNTI, or JCS-RNTI)). Re claim 6, Roy discloses that the control signal is transmitted via Downlink Control Information (DCI)( paragraph [203], DCI). Re claim 7, Roy discloses wherein the radio resource information comprises orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) waveform information, frequency-modulated continuous-wave (FMCW) waveform information, periodicity information, sequence information, or a combination thereof (paragraph [202], periodicity). Re claim 10, Roy discloses that the measurement report comprises an adjustment suggestion message for the sensing signal, an adjustment suggestion for the control signal, or a combination thereof (paragraph [289], The WTRU may send an activation/reconfiguration request (e.g., using an UL MAC-CE) to switch the current/requested sensing configurations (416). ). Re claim 11, Roy discloses a transceiver configured to receive the configuration message, receive the control signal, receiving the sensing signal, and transmit the measurement report (fig 1B, ref 120, transceiver). Claims 12-15, 17-18, 21 are method claims drawn to the corresponding apparatus claims 1-4, 6-7, 10 that is configured to perform the methods and rejected for the same reasons as above . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8,9, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roy et al., WO 2021/178941 A1 in view of Wu et al., US 2025/0159441 . Re claim 8, Roy discloses the claimed invention but is silent on the control information comprise uplink radio resource information associated with the measurement report. Wu in analogous art discloses a control information comprising uplink radio resource information associate with a measurement report (paragraph [77], the sensing parameters include at least one of the following: a type parameter of the sensed object; a collection configuration of the sensing data; a reporting configuration of the sensing data;; paragraph [84], the reporting configuration of the sensing data includes at least one of the following: a reporting period of the sensing data;; paragraph [85], The reporting period can be a period for reporting the sensing data, which can include but is not limited to a time interval, a starting time, an ending time, and/or a duration of reporting the sensing data.). It would therefore have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate this reporting configuration of Wu into the disclosure of Roy and arrive at the claimed invention so as to reduce cost and improve flexibility of deployment of sensing functions (paragraph [3]). Re claim, 9, Roy discloses the claimed invention but is silent on the measurement report comprising a distance metric for the detected object, a speed metric for the detected object, doppler frequency information for the detected object or a combination thereof. Wu in analogous art discloses the measurement report comprising a distance metric for the detected object, a speed metric for the detected object, doppler frequency information for the detected object or a combination thereof (paragraph [68], the UE determines the sensing data based on the sensing information, sends the sensing data to the SF through the base station; paragraph [70], The raw sensing data may include digital data obtained by the first UE converting the sensing information from digital into analog, or feature data ; paragraph [72], features of sensed objects sensed for different communication and sensing services are different. The features of sensed objects can include location features, motion features, and/or shape features. The location features can include a direction, a distance, etc. of the sensed object relative to the first UE. The motion features can include a motion speed and/or a motion angle of the sensed object relative to the first UE.). It would therefore have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate this sensing data of Wu into the measurement report of Roy and arrive at the claimed invention so as to reduce cost and improve flexibility of deployment of sensing functions (paragraph [3]). Claims 8, 9 are method claims drawn to the corresponding apparatus claims 19, 20 that is configured to perform the methods and rejected for the same reasons as above. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OPIRIBO GEORGEWILL whose telephone number is (571)270-7926. The examiner can normally be reached MON- THURS 5:30AM - 3:30PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Amanda Lauritzen can be reached at 5712724303. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /OPIRIBO GEORGEWILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 6215 Application/Control Number: 18/832,476 Page 2 Art Unit: 6215 Application/Control Number: 18/832,476 Page 3 Art Unit: 6215 Application/Control Number: 18/832,476 Page 4 Art Unit: 6215 Application/Control Number: 18/832,476 Page 5 Art Unit: 6215 Application/Control Number: 18/832,476 Page 6 Art Unit: 6215 Application/Control Number: 18/832,476 Page 7 Art Unit: 6215 Application/Control Number: 18/832,476 Page 8 Art Unit: 6215