Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/24/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-10 set forth in the preliminary amendment submitted 7/24/2024 form the basis of the present examination.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1+portion of claim 4 of copending Application No. 18730798 (US 20250102285 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the present application is anticipated by claim 1 of the ‘798 copending application, as shown in the table below:
Present application (18664670)
18730798
1. A detection device comprising: a signal output unit configured to output a measurement signal having a frequency component to a transmission line; a measurement unit configured to receive, from the transmission line, a response signal including a signal in which the measurement signal is reflected, and measure at least one of an amplitude and a phase of the received response signal; and a detection unit configured to calculate an evaluation value based on a measurement result obtained by the measurement unit, and detect a partial damage of the transmission line, based on the calculated evaluation value.
1. A detection device comprising: a signal output unit configured to output a measurement signal having a frequency component to a target line; a measurement unit configured to receive, from the target line, a response signal including a signal in which the measurement signal is reflected, and measure at least one of an amplitude and a phase of the received response signal; and a detection unit configured to calculate an evaluation value based on a measurement result obtained by the measurement unit, and detect a change in a level of bending of the target line, based on a change over time in the calculated evaluation value.
4. The detection device according to claim 1, wherein the target line is a transmission line,
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
With respect to claim 1 of the present application ‘518, claim 1 and 4 of the copending application ‘798 discloses all the limitation of claim 1 of the present application the only change in the copending application,”798 is the limitation, “a change in a level of bending of the target line” which can be considered as the partial damage of the target line.
Therefore claim 1 of the present application is anticipated by claim 1 +portion of claim 4 of the ‘798 copending application.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “signal output unit”, “measurement unit”, and “detection unit” in claim 1.
In this application in claim 1 the recited “signal output unit” coupled with the functional language “to output a measurement signal”.
In this application in claim 1 the recited “measurement unit” coupled with the functional language “to receive, from the transmission line”.
In this application in claim 1 the recited “detection unit” coupled with the functional language “to calculate an evaluation value”.
All these limitations in claim 1 have no structural meaning and are considered a generic placeholder.
In the present application (PGPUB NO: US 20250093429 A1) discloses:
In Paragraph 85, “[0085] The signal output unit 12 includes a DA (Digital to Analog) converter. When the start time of the detection period T1 has arrived, the signal output unit 12 acquires the digital signal Ds1 from the storage unit 15 at an output timing according to the cycle of an operation clock of the DA converter, and outputs a measurement signal, which is generated by converting the digital signal Ds1 into an analog signal by using the DA converter, to the target transmission line via the communication port 16, until the detection period T1 ends. In addition, the signal output unit 12 outputs the acquired digital signal Ds1 to the detection unit 14 and the measurement unit 13.”
In Paragraph 86, “[0086] The signal output unit 12 may include, for example, a signal generator such as a DDS (Direct Digital Synthesizer), and may output a sine wave generated by the signal generator to the target transmission line via the communication port 16.”
In Paragraph 89, “[0089] The measurement unit 13 includes an AD (Analog to Digital) converter. During the detection period T1, the measurement unit 13 samples the response signal received from the target transmission line, by using the AD converter, to generate digital signals Ds2 whose number of samples is N.”
In Paragraph 77, “[0077] The relay device 101 includes a relay unit 11, a plurality of detection processing units 21, and a plurality of communication ports 16. Each detection processing unit 21 includes a signal output unit 12, a measurement unit 13, a detection unit 14, and a storage unit 15. Some or all of the relay unit 11, the signal output unit 12, the measurement unit 13, and the detection unit 14 are realized by, for example, processing circuitry including one or more processors. The storage unit 15 is, for example, a non-volatile memory included in the processing circuitry. Each communication port 16 is, for example, a connector or a terminal. The connector part 5B of the transmission line 10 is connected to each communication port 16.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (Hereinafter, “Park”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20060097730 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a detection device (a new apparatus and methodology in instrumentation and measurement for detection and localization of the faults in a wire or cable of an electric or electronic system; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4; FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing control process in a time-frequency domain reflectometry apparatus; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-2; FIG. 3 is a flow chart showing control process in a time-frequency domain reflectometry method in accordance with the present invention; Paragraph [0043] Line 1-3) comprising:
a signal output unit [300] (AWG 300 as the signal output unit) configured to output a measurement signal (input reference signal-chirp signals as the measurement signal) having a frequency component (A chirp signal is a signal, of which the frequency changes in a linear manner with elapse of time; Paragraph [0040] Line 3-4; chirp signal has the frequency component) to a transmission line [600] (different conductors 600 as the transmission line) (For the execution of the detection and localization, the above AWG 300 generates input reference signal-chirp signals. A chirp signal is a signal, of which the frequency changes in a linear manner with elapse of time. The chirp signal adopted here is one, of which the frequency rises linearly with time; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-6; the step: of inputting (S10) values for physical and electric characteristics of a wire/cable under test 600 under test using GUI, after the wire/cable under test has been connected to a system via a cable and then the system has been initialized; of selecting a frequency domain (S11) suitable to the estimated characteristics of the wire/cable under test in a frequency domain; Paragraph [0043] Line 7-13);
a measurement unit [400] (Data Acquisition Instrument 400 as the measurement unit) configured to receive, from the transmission line [600], a response signal (reflected signal from a wire/conductor under test) including a signal (input signal) in which the measurement signal is reflected (Numeral 400, representing a DAI, acquires reflected signal from a wire/conductor under test as well as input signal generated by an AWG via a circulator, and stores the same; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-4; after the above architected wave form has been transmitted to the AWG 300 via a GPIB; of storing wave form of the reflected wave (S15) passed through the wire/cable under test 600 from the DAI 400 and transmitting the wave form to the inner program in form of a file simultaneously with the above step of generating reference signal; of computing a time-frequency distribution function (S16) from the received wave form signal by the DSP 200 for a rapid calculation; Paragraph [0042] Line 24-32), and measure at least one of an amplitude and a phase of the received response signal (FIG. 8 illustrates physical characteristics of the wire/cable under test in this experiment in terms of amplitude in (a) and phase in (b); Paragraph [0067] Line 11-13; On the other hand, FDR often uses a swept frequency signal which allows one to place the energy of the reference or probing signal in the RF band of interest. The FDR detects and locates faults as well as characteristic impedance of an electric conductor by directly measuring the phase differences between an input wave and the reflected wave of the conductor; Paragraph [0008] Line 1-7); and
a detection unit [130] (process control program 130 as the detection unit) configured to calculate an evaluation value ([S(t)] as the evaluation value) based on a measurement result obtained by the measurement unit (The process control program 130 receives the two files inputted from the PC through a GPIB cable and transmits the same to the DSP 200; Paragraph [0042] Line 16-18), and detect a partial damage of the transmission line, based on the calculated evaluation value (The process control program 130 receives the two files inputted from the PC through a GPIB cable and transmits the same to the DSP 200. The DSP 200 compares signal [S(t)] information with data fetched from the oscilloscope to detect faults in the wire/cable under test computes to localize the faults using a time-frequency domain reflectometry detection and estimation algorithm 120 of the DSP program; Paragraph [0042] Line 16-23; of detecting faults (S17) in the wire/cable under test 600 considering the inputted electromagnetic characteristics of the wire/cable under test after time-frequency cross correlation functions have been computed from the input signal and the time-frequency distribution functions of the reflected wave; of localizing the reflected wave (S18) using the time-frequency correlation function, if any fault is diagnosed; and of estimating the correct location of faults in the wire/cable under test (S19) after localized time delays, frequency displacements of the reflected wave have been computed from marginal of the time-frequency distribution function for the above localized signal and then the signal distortions have been compensated by time-frequency increase rate of the architected signal; Paragraph [0043] Line 32-45).
Regarding claim 4, Park teaches a detection device,
wherein the detection unit further detects a degree of damage of the transmission
line that is partially damaged (
; Paragraph [0077] Line 1-6; The FDR detects and locates faults as well as characteristic impedance of an electric conductor by directly measuring the phase differences between an input wave and the reflected wave of the conductor, wherein a sinusoidal wave serves as the reference signs; Paragraph [0008] Line 3-8; FIG. 8 illustrates physical characteristics of the wire/cable under test in this experiment in terms of amplitude in (a) and phase in (b); Paragraph [0067] Line 11-13; detection unit determines phase and location of the fault location and thereby determines the degree of the damage of the line).
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches a detection device,
wherein the detection unit calculates, as the evaluation value, at least one of (any one limitation is required by the claim): a phase difference between the measurement signal and the response signal (On the other hand, FDR often uses a swept frequency signal which allows one to place the energy of the reference or probing signal in the RF band of interest. The FDR detects and locates faults as well as characteristic impedance of an electric conductor by directly measuring the phase differences between an input wave and the reflected wave of the conductor; Paragraph [0008] Line 1-7); a reflection coefficient that is a ratio of an amplitude of the response signal to an amplitude of the measurement signal; an impedance of the transmission line (On the other hand, FDR often uses a swept frequency signal which allows one to place the energy of the reference or probing signal in the RF band of interest. The FDR detects and locates faults as well as characteristic impedance of an electric conductor by directly measuring the phase differences between an input wave and the reflected wave of the conductor; Paragraph [0008] Line 1-7); a reactance of the transmission line; a resistance of the transmission line; a capacitance of the transmission line; an inductance of the transmission line; and a characteristic impedance of the transmission line ([0021] FIG. 8 illustrates frequency response of the coaxial cable for normal and faulty state in amplitude in (a) and phase (b) characteristics of the conductor under experiment of FIG. 6.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Saito et al. (Hereinafter, “Saito”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20080151925 A1
Regarding claim 7, Saito teaches a transmission line (apparatuses and methods of multimedia transmission using redundant multiple transmission lines that shorten the changeover time (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3) comprising:
a cable part (transmission line A and transmission line B) in Figure 1 (As shown in FIG. 1, the first embodiment of the multimedia transmission system 100 is configured with a first terminal 1 and a second terminal 2 that each have send and receive function capabilities. The transmission line set between the terminals 1, 2 is configured with various cables (wired) of redundant transmission line A and transmission line B; Paragraph [0040] Line 4-10); and
a connection part [Termina1 1/Terminal 2] provided at a first end of the cable part [transmission line A and transmission line B],
Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Saito
the connector part[Termina1 1/Terminal 2] including a switching device [64] in Figure 2 (As shown in FIG. 2, the terminal 1 is equipped with a controller 50, a media access control (MAC) circuit 62, a switch circuit (SW) 64; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-3),
configured to perform a process of switching a state of the first end between a normal state where communication via the transmission line is allowed (The SW 64 is the circuit for changing over the transmission line when the MAC frame is sent to and received from the opposition terminal (i.e., the terminal 2). In addition, as detailed above, the changeover signal output from the controller 50 changes over in response to the effectiveness of transmission line A and transmission line B. The SW 64 outputs the provided MAC frame from the MAC 62 to the PHY (66a and 66b) that are connected to the effective transmission line in response to the output changeover signal (SW changeover signal) from the controller 50. Also, the provided decoded MAC frame from the PHY (66a, 66b) connected to the effective transmission line (allowed transmission line) is output to the MAC 62; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-12), and
a test state where a test of the transmission line is allowed (In the controller 50, when an active received-data-valid (RXDV) signal is received from PHY 66a or PHY 66b within a set timeframe (e.g., 256 .mu.s), it determines that the transmission line that links to the receipt source PHY (66a or 66b) is a sending and receiving capable transmission line, and that transmission line used for sending and receiving sends the SW changeover signal to the SW 64 (this is the test state); Paragraph [0045] Line 1-7), wherein
the process of switching the state of the first end to the test state (In the controller 50, when an active received-data-valid (RXDV) signal is received from PHY 66a or PHY 66b within a set timeframe (e.g., 256 .mu.s), it determines that the transmission line that links to the receipt source PHY (66a or 66b) is a sending and receiving capable transmission line, and that transmission line used for sending and receiving sends the SW changeover signal to the SW 64; Paragraph [0045] Line 1-7) is at least one of a process of switching to a state (In this multimedia transmission system 200, the MAC frame is output from the terminal 1 to transmission line A and transmission line B and transmitted to transmission line C and transmission line D according to the switching hub 5. On the other hand, the terminal 2, via transmission line C and transmission line D, receives the MAC frame from the effective transmission line that is changed over to according to the SW 64 (FIG. 2); Paragraph [0069] Line 1-8) where the end is open, a process of switching to a state where the end is connected to a ground node ([0052] Specifically, when the MAC frame is input to the PHY 66a, the MAC frame is output to transmission line A via the TR 68a and the connector 70a; Paragraph [0072] Line 1-4; As shown in FIG. 4, an embodiment of multimedia transmission system 200 is configured with a terminal 1 and a terminal 2 that have send and receive function capabilities. Further, it is configured with a switching hub 5 between those the terminals. Transmission line A and transmission line B are configured as various cables (wired) between the terminal 1 and the switching hub 5. Transmission line C and transmission line D are configured as various cables between the terminal 2 and the switching hub 5. Consequently, the transmission line set up is redundant between the terminal 1 and the terminal 2; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-11), and
a process of switching to a state where the first end is connected to a load for the test (Claim 21. The multimedia transmission system of claim 20, further comprising: at least one switching hub positioned between the first terminal and the second terminal, the two transmission lines connecting the first terminal to the switching hub; and at least two transmission lines connecting the switching hub to the second terminal; wherein the switching hub is adapted to direct multimedia data along lines selected by the first terminal, the second terminal or both terminals).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park ‘730 A1 in view of KEMPF RAYMOND (Hereinafter, “Raymond”) in the US Patent Number US 2499759 A.
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches a detection device, wherein the transmission line includes different conductors [600],
However, Park fails to teach that wherein the transmission line includes a plurality of strands, and the detection unit detects, as the partial damage of the transmission line,
breakage of some of the plurality of strands.
Raymond teaches to provide techniques and apparatus for Locating the precise physical points of high- voltage faults in electrical transmission systems (Column 1 Line 22-24),
wherein the transmission line includes a plurality of strands (The invention is particularly useful for the location of high-voltage faults in disk-insulated longitudinal seam coaxial cable, whether 31 in single or twisted multiple strands, and also in other types of cable circuits such as lightning protected cable having a sheath-to-corrugated- copper path; Column 1 Line 28-34), and
the detection unit detects, as the partial damage of the transmission line, breakage of some of the plurality of strands (Claim 3. A system for locating faults in a transmission line comprising a plurality of conductors which comprises in combination means for producing periodic capacitance discharges between certain of said conductors at a fault in said line whereby current surges are caused to flow from said fault through a circuit including a section of at least one of said conductors adjacent said fault, a sheath current detecting circuit positioned to move along said conductor in a direction substantially parallel to the direction of current flow therein, and a polarity-sensitive current indicating circuit electrically coupled to said detecting circuit to indicate variations in the magnitude and Phase of said current at different points on said conductor; In accordance with the present invention, the 3J test cable is fed from one to another of a pair of reels, condensers being slidably connected between the central conductor and sheath through slip rings at each end of the test interval. A high enough direct-current voltage is applied to 4( one end of the circuit to" produce an electromagnetic disturbance which may take the form of a flashover at the fault. The intermittent discharges of one or both condensers through a flashover point at the fault produce I. ]k,. drops 4 along the sheath which can be measured and phase-compared in an indicator, such as a cath- ode-ray oscilloscope, which is electrically coupled to the cable through a rolling or sliding pickup device. Tihe exact location of a fault can then ~ be effected by a determination of the point at which phase reversal occurs on the indicator as a current detecting means or, what is more corm- mronly known in the engineering vernacular as a "pickup device" is moved, over the test inter- 55 2 val; Column1 Line 35-55; therefore damage is detected in a specific conductor from the plurality of conductor). The purpose of doing so is to locate the precise physical points of high- voltage faults in electrical transmission systems, to implement for the large-scale factory inspection of certain types of cable for high-voltage faults in disk-insulated longitudinal seam coaxial cable.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Park by including a plurality of strands in the transmission line as disclosed by Raymond, because Raymond teaches to include a plurality of strands in the transmission line locates the precise physical points of high- voltage faults in electrical transmission systems, implements for the large-scale factory inspection of certain types of cable for high-voltage faults in disk-insulated longitudinal seam coaxial cable (Column 1 Line 23-24).
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches a detection device, wherein the transmission line includes different conductors [600].
However, Park fails to teach wherein the transmission line includes a core wire in which the plurality of strands are bundled, and the plurality of strands are insulated from each other in a partial area of the core wire.
Raymond teaches to provide techniques and apparatus for Locating the precise physical points of high- voltage faults in electrical transmission systems (Column 1 Line 22-24),
wherein the transmission line includes a core wire in which the plurality of strands are bundled, and the plurality of strands are insulated from each other in a partial area of the core wire (The invention is particularly useful for the location of high-voltage faults in disk-insulated longitudinal seam coaxial cable, whether 31 in single or twisted multiple strands, and also in other types of cable circuits such as lightning protected cable having a sheath-to-corrugated- copper path; Column 1 Line 28-34). The purpose of doing so is to locate the precise physical points of high- voltage faults in electrical transmission systems, to implement for the large-scale factory inspection of certain types of cable for high-voltage faults in disk-insulated longitudinal seam coaxial cable.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Park by including a core wire in which the plurality of strands are bundled as disclosed by Raymond, because Raymond teaches to include a core wire in which the plurality of strands are bundled locates the precise physical points of high- voltage faults in electrical transmission systems, implements for the large-scale factory inspection of certain types of cable for high-voltage faults in disk-insulated longitudinal seam coaxial cable (Column 1 Line 23-24).
Claim(s) 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park ‘730 A1 in view of Saito et al. (Hereinafter, “Saito”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20080151925 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches a detection system (a new apparatus and methodology in instrumentation and measurement for detection and localization of the faults in a wire or cable of an electric or electronic system; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4) comprising:
a detection device (FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing control process in a time-frequency domain reflectometry apparatus; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-2; FIG. 3 is a flow chart showing control process in a time-frequency domain reflectometry method in accordance with the present invention; Paragraph [0043] Line 1-3); the detection device performing a detection process that includes:
outputting a measurement signal (input reference signal-chirp signals as the measurement signal) having a frequency component (A chirp signal is a signal, of which the frequency changes in a linear manner with elapse of time; Paragraph [0040] Line 3-4; chirp signal has the frequency component) to a transmission line [600] (different conductors 600 as the transmission line) (For the execution of the detection and localization, the above AWG 300 generates input reference signal-chirp signals. A chirp signal is a signal, of which the frequency changes in a linear manner with elapse of time. The chirp signal adopted here is one, of which the frequency rises linearly with time; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-6; the step: of inputting (S10) values for physical and electric characteristics of a wire/cable under test 600 under test using GUI, after the wire/cable under test has been connected to a system via a cable and then the system has been initialized; of selecting a frequency domain (S11) suitable to the estimated characteristics of the wire/cable under test in a frequency domain; Paragraph [0043] Line 7-13);
receiving, from the transmission line, a response signal (reflected signal from a wire/conductor under test) including a signal in which the measurement signal is reflected (Numeral 400, representing a DAI, acquires reflected signal from a wire/conductor under test as well as input signal generated by an AWG via a circulator, and stores the same; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-4; after the above architected wave form has been transmitted to the AWG 300 via a GPIB; of storing wave form of the reflected wave (S15) passed through the wire/cable under test 600 from the DAI 400 and transmitting the wave form to the inner program in form of a file simultaneously with the above step of generating reference signal; of computing a time-frequency distribution function (S16) from the received wave form signal by the DSP 200 for a rapid calculation; Paragraph [0042] Line 24-32), measuring at least one of an amplitude and a phase of the received response signal (FIG. 8 illustrates physical characteristics of the wire/cable under test in this experiment in terms of amplitude in (a) and phase in (b); Paragraph [0067] Line 11-13; On the other hand, FDR often uses a swept frequency signal which allows one to place the energy of the reference or probing signal in the RF band of interest. The FDR detects and locates faults as well as characteristic impedance of an electric conductor by directly measuring the phase differences between an input wave and the reflected wave of the conductor; Paragraph [0008] Line 1-7); and
calculating an evaluation value ([S(t)] as the evaluation value) based on a measurement result, and detecting a partial damage of the transmission line, based on the calculated evaluation value (The process control program 130 receives the two files inputted from the PC through a GPIB cable and transmits the same to the DSP 200. The DSP 200 compares signal [S(t)] information with data fetched from the oscilloscope to detect faults in the wire/cable under test computes to localize the faults using a time-frequency domain reflectometry detection and estimation algorithm 120 of the DSP program; Paragraph [0042] Line 16-23; of detecting faults (S17) in the wire/cable under test 600 considering the inputted electromagnetic characteristics of the wire/cable under test after time-frequency cross correlation functions have been computed from the input signal and the time-frequency distribution functions of the reflected wave; of localizing the reflected wave (S18) using the time-frequency correlation function, if any fault is diagnosed; and of estimating the correct location of faults in the wire/cable under test (S19) after localized time delays, frequency displacements of the reflected wave have been computed from marginal of the time-frequency distribution function for the above localized signal and then the signal distortions have been compensated by time-frequency increase rate of the architected signal; Paragraph [0043] Line 32-45).
Park fails to teach a switching device, the switching device performing a process of switching a state of an end, different from an input end for the measurement signal, of the transmission line, between a normal state where the detection device is allowed to communicate with another device via the transmission line, and a test state where the detection device is allowed to perform the detection process, wherein the process of switching the state of the end to the test state is at least one of a process of switching to a state where the end is open, a process of switching to a state where the end is connected to a ground node, and a process of switching to a state where the end is connected to a load for a test the detection device transmits a control signal to the switching device via the transmission line, and the switching device performs the process of switching the state of the end to the test state, according to the control signal received from the detection device.
Saito teaches apparatuses and methods of multimedia transmission using redundant multiple transmission lines that shorten the changeover time (Paragraph [0001] .
a switching device [64] in Figure 2 (As shown in FIG. 2, the terminal 1 is equipped with a controller 50, a media access control (MAC) circuit 62, a switch circuit (SW) 64; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-3),
the switching device [64] performing a process of switching a state of an end [64], different from an input end for the measurement signal , of the transmission line [Line A, Line B] in Figure 2, between a normal state where the detection device is allowed to communicate with another device via the transmission line (The SW 64 is the circuit for changing over the transmission line when the MAC frame is sent to and received from the opposition terminal (i.e., the terminal 2). In addition, as detailed above, the changeover signal output from the controller 50 changes over in response to the effectiveness of transmission line A and transmission line B. The SW 64 outputs the provided MAC frame from the MAC 62 to the PHY (66a and 66b) that are connected to the effective transmission line in response to the output changeover signal(SW changeover signal) from the controller 50. Also, the provided decoded MAC frame from the PHY (66a, 66b) connected to the effective transmission line is output to the MAC 62; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-12), and
a test state where the detection device is allowed to perform the detection process, wherein the process of switching the state of the end to the test state (In the controller 50, when an active received-data-valid (RXDV) signal is received from PHY 66a or PHY 66b within a set timeframe (e.g., 256 .mu.s), it determines that the transmission line that links to the receipt source PHY (66a or 66b) is a sending and receiving capable transmission line, and that transmission line used for sending and receiving sends the SW changeover signal to the SW 64; Paragraph [0045] Line 1-7) is at least one of a process of switching to a state where the end is open, a process of switching to a state where the end is connected to a ground node (As shown in FIG. 4, an embodiment of multimedia transmission system 200 is configured with a terminal 1 and a terminal 2 that have send and receive function capabilities. Further, it is configured with a switching hub 5 between those the terminals. Transmission line A and transmission line B are configured as various cables (wired) between the terminal 1 and the switching hub 5. Transmission line C and transmission line D are configured as various cables between the terminal 2 and the switching hub 5. Consequently, the transmission line set up is redundant between the terminal 1 and the terminal 2; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-11), and
a process of switching to a state where the end is connected to a load for a test the detection device transmits a control signal to the switching device via the transmission line (Claim 21. The multimedia transmission system of claim 20, further comprising: at least one switching hub positioned between the first terminal and the second terminal, the two transmission lines connecting the first terminal to the switching hub; and at least two transmission lines connecting the switching hub to the second terminal; wherein the switching hub is adapted to direct multimedia data along lines selected by the first terminal, the second terminal or both terminals), and
the switching device performs the process of switching the state of the end to the test state, according to the control signal received from the detection device (In this multimedia transmission system 200, the MAC frame is output from the terminal 1 to transmission line A and transmission line B and transmitted to transmission line C and transmission line D according to the switching hub 5. On the other hand, the terminal 2, via transmission line C and transmission line D, receives the MAC frame from the effective transmission line that is changed over to according to the SW 64 (FIG. 2); Paragraph [0069] Line 1-8; As stated above, in the third embodiment of the multimedia transmission system 300 of FIG. 5, when the terminal 1 and the terminal 2 output packeted multimedia data that includes sound and/or video, the same packeted multimedia data is output using the two strains of transmission lines. Therefore, if there is a defect on any of the switching hubs 6, 7 on the transmission line, if another transmission line is effective, the opposition terminal can receive the packeted multimedia data. Similarly, if there is a defect in transmission lines A, B, C or D, according to the use of the remaining transmission lines, the packeted multimedia data can be transmitted from one the terminal to another the terminal; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-12). The purpose of doing so is to reduce the time necessary for fault detection and transmission line changeover, to change over to a selected sending and/or receiving capable transmission line from among the redundant multiple strain transmission lines based on the carrier detection by the carrier detection device.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Park in view of Saito, because Saito teaches to include a switching device performing a process of switching a state of an end, different from an input end for the measurement signal, of the transmission line reduces the time necessary for fault detection and transmission line changeover (Paragraph [0003]), changes over to a selected sending and/or receiving capable transmission line from among the redundant multiple strain transmission lines based on the carrier detection by the carrier detection device (Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches a detection method (a new apparatus and methodology in instrumentation and measurement for detection and localization of the faults in a wire or cable of an electric or electronic system; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4) in a detection device (FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing control process in a time-frequency domain reflectometry apparatus; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-2; FIG. 3 is a flow chart showing control process in a time-frequency domain reflectometry method in accordance with the present invention; Paragraph [0043] Line 1-3) comprising:
outputting a measurement signal (input reference signal-chirp signals as the measurement signal) having a frequency component (A chirp signal is a signal, of which the frequency changes in a linear manner with elapse of time; Paragraph [0040] Line 3-4; chirp signal has the frequency component) to a transmission line [600] (different conductors 600 as the transmission line) (For the execution of the detection and localization, the above AWG 300 generates input reference signal-chirp signals. A chirp signal is a signal, of which the frequency changes in a linear manner with elapse of time. The chirp signal adopted here is one, of which the frequency rises linearly with time; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-6; the step: of inputting (S10) values for physical and electric characteristics of a wire/cable under test 600 under test using GUI, after the wire/cable under test has been connected to a system via a cable and then the system has been initialized; of selecting a frequency domain (S11) suitable to the estimated characteristics of the wire/cable under test in a frequency domain; Paragraph [0043] Line 7-13);
receiving, from the transmission line, a response signal (reflected signal from a wire/conductor under test) including a signal in which the measurement signal is reflected (Numeral 400, representing a DAI, acquires reflected signal from a wire/conductor under test as well as input signal generated by an AWG via a circulator, and stores the same; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-4; after the above architected wave form has been transmitted to the AWG 300 via a GPIB; of storing wave form of the reflected wave (S15) passed through the wire/cable under test 600 from the DAI 400 and transmitting the wave form to the inner program in form of a file simultaneously with the above step of generating reference signal; of computing a time-frequency distribution function (S16) from the received wave form signal by the DSP 200 for a rapid calculation; Paragraph [0042] Line 24-32), measuring at least one of an amplitude and a phase of the received response signal (FIG. 8 illustrates physical characteristics of the wire/cable under test in this experiment in terms of amplitude in (a) and phase in (b); Paragraph [0067] Line 11-13; On the other hand, FDR often uses a swept frequency signal which allows one to place the energy of the reference or probing signal in the RF band of interest. The FDR detects and locates faults as well as characteristic impedance of an electric conductor by directly measuring the phase differences between an input wave and the reflected wave of the conductor; Paragraph [0008] Line 1-7); and
performing a detection process of calculating an evaluation value ([S(t)] as the evaluation value) based on a measurement result, and detecting a partial damage of the transmission line, based on the calculated evaluation value (The process control program 130 receives the two files inputted from the PC through a GPIB cable and transmits the same to the DSP 200. The DSP 200 compares signal [S(t)] information with data fetched from the oscilloscope to detect faults in the wire/cable under test computes to localize the faults using a time-frequency domain reflectometry detection and estimation algorithm 120 of the DSP program; Paragraph [0042] Line 16-23; of detecting faults (S17) in the wire/cable under test 600 considering the inputted electromagnetic characteristics of the wire/cable under test after time-frequency cross correlation functions have been computed from the input signal and the time-frequency distribution functions of the reflected wave; of localizing the reflected wave (S18) using the time-frequency correlation function, if any fault is diagnosed; and of estimating the correct location of faults in the wire/cable under test (S19) after localized time delays, frequency displacements of the reflected wave have been computed from marginal of the time-frequency distribution function for the above localized signal and then the signal distortions have been compensated by time-frequency increase rate of the architected signal; Paragraph [0043] Line 32-45).
Park fails to teach wherein the performing the detection process includes performing a process of switching a state of an end, different from an input end for the measurement signal, of the transmission line. between a normal state where the detection device is allowed to communicate with another device via the transmission line, and a test state where the detection device is allowed to perform the detection process, the process of switching the state of the end to the test state is at least one of a process of switching to a state where the end is open, a process of switching to a state where the end is connected to a ground node, and a process of switching to a state where the end is connected to a load for a test. And the performing the detection process includes transmitting a control signal for switching the state of the end via the transmission line, as the process of switching the state of the end to the test state.
Saito teaches apparatuses and methods of multimedia transmission using redundant multiple transmission lines that shorten the changeover time (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3), includes
performing the detection process includes performing a process a process of switching a state of an end [64], different from an input end for the measurement signal , of the transmission line [Line A, Line B] in Figure 2, between a normal state where the detection device is allowed to communicate with another device via the transmission line (The SW 64 is the circuit for changing over the transmission line when the MAC frame is sent to and received from the opposition terminal (i.e., the terminal 2). In addition, as detailed above, the changeover signal output from the controller 50 changes over in response to the effectiveness of transmission line A and transmission line B. The SW 64 outputs the provided MAC frame from the MAC 62 to the PHY (66a and 66b) that are connected to the effective transmission line in response to the output changeover signal(SW changeover signal) from the controller 50. Also, the provided decoded MAC frame from the PHY (66a, 66b) connected to the effective transmission line is output to the MAC 62; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-12), and
a test state where the detection device is allowed to perform the detection process,
the process of switching the state of the end to the test state (In the controller 50, when an active received-data-valid (RXDV) signal is received from PHY 66a or PHY 66b within a set timeframe (e.g., 256 .mu.s), it determines that the transmission line that links to the receipt source PHY (66a or 66b) is a sending and receiving capable transmission line, and that transmission line used for sending and receiving sends the SW changeover signal to the SW 64; Paragraph [0045] Line 1-7) is at least one of a process of switching to a state where the end is open, a process of switching to a state where the end is connected to a ground node (As shown in FIG. 4, an embodiment of multimedia transmission system 200 is configured with a terminal 1 and a terminal 2 that have send and receive function capabilities. Further, it is configured with a switching hub 5 between those the terminals. Transmission line A and transmission line B are configured as various cables (wired) between the terminal 1 and the switching hub 5. Transmission line C and transmission line D are configured as various cables between the terminal 2 and the switching hub 5. Consequently, the transmission line set up is redundant between the terminal 1 and the terminal 2; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-11), and
a process of switching to a state where the end is connected to a load for a test, and
the performing the detection process includes transmitting a control signal (Claim 21. The multimedia transmission system of claim 20, further comprising: at least one switching hub positioned between the first terminal and the second terminal, the two transmission lines connecting the first terminal to the switching hub; and at least two transmission lines connecting the switching hub to the second terminal; wherein the switching hub is adapted to direct multimedia data along lines selected by the first terminal, the second terminal or both terminals) for switching the state of the end via the transmission line, as the process of switching the state of the end to the test state (In this multimedia transmission system 200, the MAC frame is output from the terminal 1 to transmission line A and transmission line B and transmitted to transmission line C and transmission line D according to the switching hub 5. On the other hand, the terminal 2, via transmission line C and transmission line D, receives the MAC frame from the effective transmission line that is changed over to according to the SW 64 (FIG. 2); Paragraph [0069] Line 1-8; As stated above, in the third embodiment of the multimedia transmission system 300 of FIG. 5, when the terminal 1 and the terminal 2 output packeted multimedia data that includes sound and/or video, the same packeted multimedia data is output using the two strains of transmission lines. Therefore, if there is a defect on any of the switching hubs 6, 7 on the transmission line, if another transmission line is effective, the opposition terminal can receive the packeted multimedia data. Similarly, if there is a defect in transmission lines A, B, C or D, according to the use of the remaining transmission lines, the packeted multimedia data can be transmitted from one the terminal to another the terminal; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-12). The purpose of doing so is to reduce the time necessary for fault detection and transmission line changeover, to change over to a selected sending and/or receiving capable transmission line from among the redundant multiple strain transmission lines based on the carrier detection by the carrier detection device.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Park in view of Saito, because Saito teaches to include a switching device performing a process of switching a state of an end, different from an input end for the measurement signal, of the transmission line reduces the time necessary for fault detection and transmission line changeover (Paragraph [0003]), changes over to a selected sending and/or receiving capable transmission line from among the redundant multiple strain transmission lines based on the carrier detection by the carrier detection device (Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches a detection device (a new apparatus and methodology in instrumentation and measurement for detection and localization of the faults in a wire or cable of an electric or electronic system; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4; FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing control process in a time-frequency domain reflectometry apparatus; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-2; FIG. 3 is a flow chart showing control process in a time-frequency domain reflectometry method in accordance with the present invention; Paragraph [0043] Line 1-3) comprising:
a signal output unit [300] (AWG 300 as the signal output unit) configured to output a measurement signal (input reference signal-chirp signals as the measurement signal) having a frequency component (A chirp signal is a signal, of which the frequency changes in a linear manner with elapse of time; Paragraph [0040] Line 3-4; chirp signal has the frequency component) to a transmission line [600] (different conductors 600 as the transmission line) (For the execution of the detection and localization, the above AWG 300 generates input reference signal-chirp signals. A chirp signal is a signal, of which the frequency changes in a linear manner with elapse of time. The chirp signal adopted here is one, of which the frequency rises linearly with time; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-6; the step: of inputting (S10) values for physical and electric characteristics of a wire/cable under test 600 under test using GUI, after the wire/cable under test has been connected to a system via a cable and then the system has been initialized; of selecting a frequency domain (S11) suitable to the estimated characteristics of the wire/cable under test in a frequency domain; Paragraph [0043] Line 7-13);
a measurement unit [400] (Data Acquisition Instrument 400 as the measurement unit) configured to receive, from the transmission line [600], a response signal (reflected signal from a wire/conductor under test) including a signal (input signal) in which the measurement signal is reflected (Numeral 400, representing a DAI, acquires reflected signal from a wire/conductor under test as well as input signal generated by an AWG via a circulator, and stores the same; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-4; after the above architected wave form has been transmitted to the AWG 300 via a GPIB; of storing wave form of the reflected wave (S15) passed through the wire/cable under test 600 from the DAI 400 and transmitting the wave form to the inner program in form of a file simultaneously with the above step of generating reference signal; of computing a time-frequency distribution function (S16) from the received wave form signal by the DSP 200 for a rapid calculation; Paragraph [0042] Line 24-32), and measure at least one of an amplitude and a phase of the received response signal (FIG. 8 illustrates physical characteristics of the wire/cable under test in this experiment in terms of amplitude in (a) and phase in (b); Paragraph [0067] Line 11-13; On the other hand, FDR often uses a swept frequency signal which allows one to place the energy of the reference or probing signal in the RF band of interest. The FDR detects and locates faults as well as characteristic impedance of an electric conductor by directly measuring the phase differences between an input wave and the reflected wave of the conductor; Paragraph [0008] Line 1-7); and
a detection unit [130] (process control program 130 as the detection unit) configured to calculate an evaluation value ([S(t)] as the evaluation value) based on a measurement result obtained by the measurement unit (The process control program 130 receives the two files inputted from the PC through a GPIB cable and transmits the same to the DSP 200; Paragraph [0042] Line 16-18), and detect a partial damage of the transmission line, based on the calculated evaluation value (The process control program 130 receives the two files inputted from the PC through a GPIB cable and transmits the same to the DSP 200. The DSP 200 compares signal [S(t)] information with data fetched from the oscilloscope to detect faults in the wire/cable under test computes to localize the faults using a time-frequency domain reflectometry detection and estimation algorithm 120 of the DSP program; Paragraph [0042] Line 16-23; of detecting faults (S17) in the wire/cable under test 600 considering the inputted electromagnetic characteristics of the wire/cable under test after time-frequency cross correlation functions have been computed from the input signal and the time-frequency distribution functions of the reflected wave; of localizing the reflected wave (S18) using the time-frequency correlation function, if any fault is diagnosed; and of estimating the correct location of faults in the wire/cable under test (S19) after localized time delays, frequency displacements of the reflected wave have been computed from marginal of the time-frequency distribution function for the above localized signal and then the signal distortions have been compensated by time-frequency increase rate of the architected signal; Paragraph [0043] Line 32-45).
Park fails to teach the detection unit performs a process of switching a state of an end, different from an input end for the measurement signal, of the transmission line, between a normal state where the detection device is allowed to communicate with another device via the transmission line, and a test state where the detection device is allowed to perform the detection process, the process of switching the state of the end to the test state is at least one of a process of switching to a state where the end is open, a process of switching to a state where the end is connected to a ground node, and a process of switching to a state where the end is connected to a load for a test, and the detection unit transmits a control signal for switching the state of the end via the transmission line, as the process of switching the state of the end to the test state.
Saito teaches apparatuses and methods of multimedia transmission using redundant multiple transmission lines that shorten the changeover time (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3), includes
the detection unit performs a process of switching a state of an end [64], different from an input end for the measurement signal , of the transmission line [Line A, Line B] in Figure 2, between a normal state where the detection device is allowed to communicate with another device via the transmission line (The SW 64 is the circuit for changing over the transmission line when the MAC frame is sent to and received from the opposition terminal (i.e., the terminal 2). In addition, as detailed above, the changeover signal output from the controller 50 changes over in response to the effectiveness of transmission line A and transmission line B. The SW 64 outputs the provided MAC frame from the MAC 62 to the PHY (66a and 66b) that are connected to the effective transmission line in response to the output changeover signal(SW changeover signal) from the controller 50. Also, the provided decoded MAC frame from the PHY (66a, 66b) connected to the effective transmission line is output to the MAC 62; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-12), and a test state where the detection device is allowed to perform the detection process,
the process of switching the state of the end to the test state (In the controller 50, when an active received-data-valid (RXDV) signal is received from PHY 66a or PHY 66b within a set timeframe (e.g., 256 .mu.s), it determines that the transmission line that links to the receipt source PHY (66a or 66b) is a sending and receiving capable transmission line, and that transmission line used for sending and receiving sends the SW changeover signal to the SW 64; Paragraph [0045] Line 1-7) is at least one of a process of switching to a state where the end is open, a process of switching to a state where the end is connected to a ground node (As shown in FIG. 4, an embodiment of multimedia transmission system 200 is configured with a terminal 1 and a terminal 2 that have send and receive function capabilities. Further, it is configured with a switching hub 5 between those the terminals. Transmission line A and transmission line B are configured as various cables (wired) between the terminal 1 and the switching hub 5. Transmission line C and transmission line D are configured as various cables between the terminal 2 and the switching hub 5. Consequently, the transmission line set up is redundant between the terminal 1 and the terminal 2; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-11), and
the process of switching to a state where the end is connected to a load for a test, and
the detection unit transmit a control signal (Claim 21. The multimedia transmission system of claim 20, further comprising: at least one switching hub positioned between the first terminal and the second terminal, the two transmission lines connecting the first terminal to the switching hub; and at least two transmission lines connecting the switching hub to the second terminal; wherein the switching hub is adapted to direct multimedia data along lines selected by the first terminal, the second terminal or both terminals) for switching the state of the end via the transmission line, as the process of switching the state of the end to the test state (In this multimedia transmission system 200, the MAC frame is output from the terminal 1 to transmission line A and transmission line B and transmitted to transmission line C and transmission line D according to the switching hub 5. On the other hand, the terminal 2, via transmission line C and transmission line D, receives the MAC frame from the effective transmission line that is changed over to according to the SW 64 (FIG. 2); Paragraph [0069] Line 1-8; As stated above, in the third embodiment of the multimedia transmission system 300 of FIG. 5, when the terminal 1 and the terminal 2 output packeted multimedia data that includes sound and/or video, the same packeted multimedia data is output using the two strains of transmission lines. Therefore, if there is a defect on any of the switching hubs 6, 7 on the transmission line, if another transmission line is effective, the opposition terminal can receive the packeted multimedia data. Similarly, if there is a defect in transmission lines A, B, C or D, according to the use of the remaining transmission lines, the packeted multimedia data can be transmitted from one the terminal to another the terminal; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-12). The purpose of doing so is to reduce the time necessary for fault detection and transmission line changeover, to change over to a selected sending and/or receiving capable transmission line from among the redundant multiple strain transmission lines based on the carrier detection by the carrier detection device.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Park in view of Saito, because Saito teaches to include a switching device performing a process of switching a state of an end, different from an input end for the measurement signal, of the transmission line reduces the time necessary for fault detection and transmission line changeover (Paragraph [0003]), changes over to a selected sending and/or receiving capable transmission line from among the redundant multiple strain transmission lines based on the carrier detection by the carrier detection device (Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 10, Park fails to teach a detection device, wherein the transmission line includes a switching device configured to perform the process of switching the state of the end, and the detection unit transmits the control signal to the switching device.
Saito teaches apparatuses and methods of multimedia transmission using redundant multiple transmission lines that shorten the changeover time (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3), wherein
the transmission line includes a switching device [64] in Figure 2 (As shown in FIG. 2, the terminal 1 is equipped with a controller 50, a media access control (MAC) circuit 62, a switch circuit (SW) 64; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-3), configured to perform the process of switching the state of the end [64] (The SW 64 is the circuit for changing over the transmission line when the MAC frame is sent to and received from the opposition terminal (i.e., the terminal 2). In addition, as detailed above, the changeover signal output from the controller 50 changes over in response to the effectiveness of transmission line A and transmission line B. The SW 64 outputs the provided MAC frame from the MAC 62 to the PHY (66a and 66b) that are connected to the effective transmission line in response to the output changeover signal(SW changeover signal) from the controller 50. Also, the provided decoded MAC frame from the PHY (66a, 66b) connected to the effective transmission line is output to the MAC 62; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-12), and
the detection unit transmits the control signal (Claim 21. The multimedia transmission system of claim 20, further comprising: at least one switching hub positioned between the first terminal and the second terminal, the two transmission lines connecting the first terminal to the switching hub; and at least two transmission lines connecting the switching hub to the second terminal; wherein the switching hub is adapted to direct multimedia data along lines selected by the first terminal, the second terminal or both terminals) to switching device (In this multimedia transmission system 200, the MAC frame is output from the terminal 1 to transmission line A and transmission line B and transmitted to transmission line C and transmission line D according to the switching hub 5. On the other hand, the terminal 2, via transmission line C and transmission line D, receives the MAC frame from the effective transmission line that is changed over to according to the SW 64 (FIG. 2); Paragraph [0069] Line 1-8; As stated above, in the third embodiment of the multimedia transmission system 300 of FIG. 5, when the terminal 1 and the terminal 2 output packeted multimedia data that includes sound and/or video, the same packeted multimedia data is output using the two strains of transmission lines. Therefore, if there is a defect on any of the switching hubs 6, 7 on the transmission line, if another transmission line is effective, the opposition terminal can receive the packeted multimedia data. Similarly, if there is a defect in transmission lines A, B, C or D, according to the use of the remaining transmission lines, the packeted multimedia data can be transmitted from one the terminal to another the terminal; Paragraph [0081] Line 1-12). The purpose of doing so is to reduce the time necessary for fault detection and transmission line changeover, to change over to a selected sending and/or receiving capable transmission line from among the redundant multiple strain transmission lines based on the carrier detection by the carrier detection device.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Park in view of Saito, because Saito teaches to include a switching device performing a process of switching a state of an end, different from an input end for the measurement signal, of the transmission line reduces the time necessary for fault detection and transmission line changeover (Paragraph [0003]), changes over to a selected sending and/or receiving capable transmission line from among the redundant multiple strain transmission lines based on the carrier detection by the carrier detection device (Paragraph [0004]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Schmuck et al. (US 20060050265 A1) discloses, “Method For The Reflectometric Testing Of An Optical Transmission Line, Optical Device And Optical Transmission And Reception Device- [0002] The invention relates to a method for the reflectometric testing of an optical transmission line, in which a test signal is fed into the transmission line from the direction of an optical transmission device and the reflected signal is analysed. [0016] FIG. 1 shows an optical transmission and reception device TRx having an optical glass fibre gF (going fibre) leading from it and an optical glass fibre cF (coming fibre) arriving at it. The core of the optical transmission and reception device TRx is an optical transmitter Tx and an optical receiver Rx. A signal amplifier SA is also shown. [0017] The optical transmitter Tx is represented in somewhat more detail, as is necessary for understanding the present invention. A laser diode LD is driven by a data stream D1 and transmits an optical data signal DS1 on the optical glass fibre gF leading from it. The laser diode is provided with a monitor diode, which does not fulfil a role essential to the invention in this first embodiment and is therefore not indicated. It is used to monitor the laser diode during regular operation. [0018] An optical data signal DS2 arriving via the coming optical glass fibre cF is converted back into a data stream D2 in a receiver Rx. The individual measures which are necessary for this are unaffected by the present invention and will not be described in detail here. [0019] In order to measure the properties of the optical glass fibre gF, the data stream D1 is interrupted or a suitable pause is waited for, and a pulse measurement signal PM is applied to the optical transmitter Tx and transmitted by the laser diode LD. Its components reflected at various places in the optical glass fibre gF return as a monitoring signal MS-However Schmuck does not disclose a detection unit configured to calculate an evaluation value based on a measurement result obtained by the measurement unit, and detect a partial damage of the transmission line, based on the calculated evaluation value.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858