DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“control device” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "an accumulator to supply a refrigerant to the condenser in this order". This limitation is unclear and confusing because is not clear from the description how the accumulator supplies the refrigerant to the condenser if is as the “in this order” that is being claimed it would supply the refrigerant to the compressor. Furthermore, the priority documents claim that the supply is to the compressor and not the condenser. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a refrigerant". This limitation is unclear and confusing because is not clear how does the continuous mentioned of “a refrigerant” relate to the previous mentioned “a refrigerant”. The examiner recommends to write “the refrigerant” after the first claimed refrigerant.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "a refrigerant". This limitation is unclear and confusing because is not clear how does the continuous mentioned of “a refrigerant” relate to the previous mentioned “a refrigerant”. The examiner recommends to write “the refrigerant” after the first claimed refrigerant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori (WO 2021255921), hereinafter referred to as Mori, in view of Sadai (US 20220186965), hereinafter referred to as Sadai. EP4170265B1 is used for translation purposes.
Re claim 1 and 7, Mori teaches a refrigeration cycle device comprising:
a refrigerant circuit (e.g. 10) to make a refrigerant flow in a compressor (e.g. 3) to compress a refrigerant, a condenser (e.g. 4), an expansion valve (e.g. 5) to regulate a flow rate of a refrigerant, an evaporator (e.g. 8),
a control device (e.g. 2) to control the expansion valve,
wherein the control device includes:
a supercooling level controller (e.g. 102) to calculate a first opening degree of the expansion valve such that a supercooling level of a refrigerant follows a target value and to output a calculation result (e.g. ¶ 26, “The second controller 102 is a position-type PID controller that outputs a provisional opening degree (control operation value) of the upstream expansion valve 5 which causes the degree of subcooling (second control value) to follow a target degree of subcooling (second target control value)”):
a discharge temperature controller (e.g. 101) to calculate a second opening degree of the expansion valve such that temperature of a refrigerant discharged from the compressor follows a predetermined upper limit and to output a calculation result (e.g. ¶ 25, “The first controller 101 is a position-type proportional-integral-differential (PID) controller that outputs an opening degree (control operation value) of the downstream expansion valve 7 which causes a discharge temperature (first control value) to follow a target discharge temperature (first target control value)”); and
a first maximum selector (e.g. 112) to output a maximum value out of the output of the supercooling level controller and the output of the discharge temperature controller (e.g. ¶ 33, “The adder 112 adds the correction value Suff(k+1) to the provisional opening degree Su_tmp(k+1) of the upstream expansion valve 5 to determine the opening degree Su(k+1) of the upstream expansion valve 5, and outputs the opening degree Su(k+1)”),
wherein the control device controls the expansion valve by using the value outputted from the first maximum selector (e.g. ¶ 33, “outputs the opening degree Su(k+1)”).
Mori does not teach the limitation of and an accumulator to supply a refrigerant to the condenser in this order.
Sadai teaches a refrigeration cycle device comprising: a refrigerant circuit (e.g. 10) to make a refrigerant flow in a compressor (e.g. 21) to compress a refrigerant, a condenser (e.g. 23), an expansion valve (e.g. 25) to regulate a flow rate of a refrigerant, an evaporator (e.g. 52), and an accumulator (e.g. 24) to supply a refrigerant to the condenser in this order.
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mori and integrated an accumulator to supply a refrigerant to the condenser in this order, as taught by Sadai, in order to store surplus refrigerant (see Sadai ¶ 125).
Moreover, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by and/or obvious over the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Re claim 2, Mori, as modified, teaches the refrigeration cycle device according to claim 1. Mori further teaches the limitation of wherein the supercooling level controller is a first PI controller (e.g. ¶ 26, “The second controller 102 is a position-type PID controller”), the discharge temperature controller is a second PI controller (e.g. ¶ 25, “The first controller 101 is a position-type proportional-integral-differential (PID) controller”), and a parameter of each of the first PI controller and the second PI controller is calculated by using a result of system identification based on a step response (e.g. ¶ 25, “The PID controller is a controller that includes a proportional controller, an integral controller, and a differential controller. To the PID controller of the first controller 101, a deviation of a discharge temperature obtained from the discharge temperature sensor 11 from the target discharge temperature set in advance is input”).
Re claim 5, Mori, as modified, teaches the refrigeration cycle device according to claim 1. Mori further teaches the limitation of wherein the discharge temperature controller makes the temperature of the refrigerant discharged from the compressor follow a predetermined target value other than the upper limit (e.g. ¶ 25, “The PID controller is a controller that includes a proportional controller, an integral controller, and a differential controller. To the PID controller of the first controller 101, a deviation of a discharge temperature obtained from the discharge temperature sensor 11 from the target discharge temperature set in advance is input”).
Claim(s) 3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori, in view of Sadai, in view of Yuki (WO 2020016959), hereinafter referred to as Yuki. US 20210215385 is used for translation purposes.
Re claim 3 and 8, Mori, as modified, teaches the refrigeration cycle device according to claim 1 and 2. Mori, as modified, does not teach the limitation of each of the supercooling level controller and the discharge temperature controller has an anti-reset windup function, and integral values calculated by the supercooling level controller and the discharge temperature controller do not diverge. However, Yuki teaches a refrigeration cycle device comprising an anti-reset windup function, and integral values calculated by a first controller and a second controller do not diverge (e.g. ¶ 68, “may be the control method including upper and lower limits and anti-reset windup processing of an integrator in addition to the basic configuration of the above controls. Furthermore, in the case where the minimum value of the degree of subcooling does not need to be set, it is unnecessary to use the controller such as the PI controller, and it suffices that the equation “C.sub.pmax(k, i)=C.sub.pmax_c” is satisfied”). Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mori and integrated each of the supercooling level controller and the discharge temperature controller has an anti-reset windup function, and integral values calculated by the supercooling level controller and the discharge temperature controller do not diverge, as taught by Sadai, in order to improve stability of the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (see PTO-802).
/NELSON J NIEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 2/19/2026
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763