DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 7 recites “the sidewall” after both a sidewall of the housing and a sidewall of the fitting have been introduced. It is unclear which sidewall is referenced. See MPEP §2173.05(e).
Each of claims 2-27 begins with “A syringe body according to claim…” The syringe body is already set out in claim 1. These claims should begin with “The syringe body according to claim…” As written, it is unclear whether a second syringe body is being introduced. See MPEP §2173.05(e).
Claim 9, line 2 recites “the proximal end of the hub.” Claim 9 depends from claim 7, which depends from claim 1. Neither claim 1 nor claim 7 recites a proximal end of the hub. Claim 6 recites “a proximal end of the hub,” but claim 9 does not depend from claim 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the proximal end of the hub.” See MPEP §2173.05(e).
Claim 17, line 3 recites “the proximal end of the hub” and “the distal end of the hub.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for both of these elements. See MPEP §2173.05(e).
Claim 20, lines 2-3 recite “the proximal end of the hub.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the proximal end of the hub.“ Claim 20, line 3 also recites “a distal end.” Claim 20 depends from claim 17, which depends from claim 1 where “a distal end of the housing is introduced. It is unclear whether “a distal end” refers to the distal end of the housing or the distal end of the hub. See MPEP §2173.05(e).
Claim 25, line 3 recites “the sidewall” after a sidewall of the housing, a sidewall of the fitting, and a sidewall of the collar have been introduced. It is unclear which sidewall is referenced. See MPEP §2173.05(e).
Claim 28, line 2 recites “a syringe body according to claim 1.” The syringe body is already set out in claim 1. This limitation should recite “the syringe body according to claim 1.” As written, it is unclear whether a second syringe body is being introduced. See MPEP §2173.05(e).
Claim 17 introduces “a substantially cylindrical central bore.” Claims 17-20 then recite both "the bore" and “the central bore.” It is unclear whether “the bore” is the same element as “the central bore,” or a different bore (for example the cannula lumen).
Claim 17 recites “the open proximal end of the hub” and “the open distal end of the hub.” Claim 1 does not give the hub an open proximal end or an open distal end. Claim 6 recites only “a proximal end of the hub,” and does not recite that this end is open and does not recite a distal end of the hub. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claims 18-20 inherit the same deficiencies as claim 17.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 17-19, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 4,040,421 (hereinafter, “Young”).
Regarding claim 1, Young discloses a syringe body (hypodermic syringe including a barrel 10 into which is inserted a plunger assembly 12 for cooperating in expelling the contained liquid. Col. 2, lines 10-13) comprising:
a housing (barrel 10. Figs. 1, 6) comprising:
a proximal end (proximal open end 18. Fig. 1), a distal end (distal end near boss 14. Figs. 1, 6), and a sidewall (sidewall around chamber 42. Fig. 6) extending between the proximal and distal end, the sidewall defining a chamber (chamber 42. Fig. 6) adapted to receive a medicament (contained liquid expelled with cooperating plunger assembly 12. Col. 2, lines 10-17 and lines 39-45), and
a fitting (boss 14. Figs. 1, 6) extending from the distal end of the housing and comprising an open proximal end (mouth of female conical opening 16 at roof 40. Fig. 6. Col. 2, lines 12-14 and lines 39-43), an open distal end (distal end of female conical opening 16 at the distal end of boss 14. Fig. 6; Col. 2, lines 12-14), and a sidewall extending therebetween (wall of reduced boss 14. Fig. 6), an interior surface of the sidewall defining a passageway (female conical opening 16. Fig. 6; Col. 2, lines 12-14); and
a cannula assembly (needle assembly 24. Figs. 1-6) comprising a hub (needle hub 26 with distal body needle hub 15 and male conical extension 28. Figs. 2-4, 6) and a cannula (cannula or needle 30. Figs. 1, 3, 6) inserted in the passageway (needle assembly 24 comprises a needle hub 26 with a male conical extension 28 which matches the female conical opening 16 and cooperates in providing a liquid-tight seal therebetween. Fig. 6. Col. 2, lines 19-22. cannula or needle 30 is secured in the needle hub 15. Fig. 6. Col. 2, lines 22-24), wherein the hub is sized and shaped to substantially fill the passageway of the fitting (male conical extension 28 matches the female conical opening 16. Col. 2, lines 20-21. needle assembly 24 is connected to the barrel 10 of the syringe and the male conical extension 28 is fully seated in the female conical opening 16, the proximal end of the needle hub is substantially flush with the roof 40 of the fluid chamber 42 with no significant residual volume left beyond the volume of chamber 42. Col. 2, lines 39-48).
Regarding claim 3, Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 1, wherein an exterior surface of the hub forms an interference fit with the interior surface of the sidewall of the fitting to create a fluid tight seal between the hub and the fitting (male conical extension 28 matches the female conical opening 16 and creates a substantially liquid tight seal to prevent leakage. Fig. 6. Col. 2, lines 19-22 and 39-48), wherein the fluid tight seal prevents any medicament provided in the chamber from entering into the interface between the exterior surface of the hub and the interior surface of the sidewall of the fitting (male conical extension 28 matches the female conical opening 16. Col. 2, lines 19-22 and needle assembly 24 is connected to the barrel 10 of the syringe and the male conical extension 28 is fully seated in the female conical opening 16, the proximal end of the needle hub is substantially flush with the roof 40 of the fluid chamber 42 with no significant residual volume left beyond the volume of chamber 42. Col. 2, lines 39-48; claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 1, wherein the hub is press fit into the passageway of the fitting (extension 28 is inserted into the opening 16 of the boss 14 and a substantially liquid tight seal will be formed to prevent leakage during the injection process. Fig. 6; Col. 2, lines 48-50).
Regarding claim 5, Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 1, wherein the hub is held in the passageway by outward radial forces exerted by the hub on the sidewall of the fitting and/or frictional engagement between an exterior surface of the hub and the interior surface of the sidewall of the fitting (male conical extension 28 matches the female conical opening 16 creates a substantially liquid tight seal to prevent leakage. Fig. 6. Col. 2, lines 19-22 and 39-48).
Regarding claim 6, Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 1, wherein a proximal end of the hub is flush with the proximal end of the fitting (the proximal end of the needle hub is substantially flush with the roof 40 of the fluid chamber 42. Col. 2, lines 39-48).
Regarding claim 17, Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 1, wherein the hub (needle hub 26 with distal body needle hub 15 and male conical extension 28. Figs. 2-4, 6) further comprises a substantially cylindrical central bore adapted to receive the cannula, wherein the bore extends through the hub from the open proximal end of the hub to the open distal end of the hub, and the cannula is received in the central bore such that a portion of the cannula extends from the distal end of the hub (needle 30 is received in the bore through hub 26 (including 15 and 28). The bore runs from the proximal end of extension 28 to the distal opening of hub 15. A portion of needle 30 extends from the distal end of hub body 15. Figs. 3, 6; Col. 2, lines 22-38).
Regarding claim 18, Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 17, wherein the central bore (central opening in distal end of needle hub 15. Figs. 3, 6) includes a stop for limiting a distance that the cannula is inserted into the central bore (radially inwardly extending flange 38 at the proximal end of the male conical extension 28 which serves as a stop when needle 30 is inserted into the said extension during assembly. Figs. 3, 6. Col. 2, lines 28-31).
Regarding claim 19, Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 18, wherein the stop is an annular ledge extending around the circumference of and radially inward from an interior surface of the central bore (central opening in distal end of needle hub 15 has radially inwardly extending flange 38 at the proximal end of the male conical extension 28 which serves as a stop when needle 30 is inserted into the said extension during assembly. Figs. 3, 6. Col. 2, lines 28-31) reducing the diameter of the central bore in the area of the ledge (flange has a passageway or bore therein which generally conforms in size and dimension to the lumen 36 of the needle 30; Figs. 3, 6. Col. 2, lines 31-33).
Regarding claim 27, Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 1, wherein the housing (barrel 10. Figs. 1, 6) further comprises a flange extending radially outward from the proximal end of the housing in a direction perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the syringe body (barrel 10 includes a flange at proximal open end 18 that extends radially outward in a direction perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the syringe body. Figs. 1, 6).
Regarding claim 28, Young discloses a syringe (hypodermic syringe including a barrel 10 into which is inserted a plunger assembly 12 for cooperating in expelling the contained liquid. Col. 2, lines 10-13) comprising: a syringe body according to claim 1,
a plunger comprising a plunger rod (plunger assembly 12. Fig. 1. Col. 2, lines 10-17. Claim 1); and
a stopper attached to a distal end of the plunger rod and moveably received in the chamber of the housing of the syringe body (plunger assembly 12. Fig. 1. Col. 2, lines 10-17. Claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young.
Regarding claim 12, Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 1, wherein the hub (needle hub 26 with distal body needle hub 15 and male conical extension 28. Figs. 2-4, 6) further comprises one or more grooves extending into a surface of the hub (cannula or needle 30 is secured in the needle hub 15 by means of a suitable epoxy cement 32 dispensed in rounded annular recess 34. Figs. 2-3, 6. Col. 2, lines 22-24).
Young fails to explicitly place the grooves on an exterior surface of the hub.
Young discloses placement of the one or more grooves on an interior surface of the hub.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exterior of the male conical extension of Young to include one or more grooves extending into that exterior surface, as taught by Young’s own annular recess 34 on the inward portion of the same element surface, in order to provide an adhesive reservoir that locks the hub in the fitting and keeps the hub from backing out under injection pressure.
Regarding claim 13, modified Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 12, wherein one or more grooves extend around a circumference of the exterior surface of the hub (cannula or needle 30 is secured in the needle hub 15 by means of a suitable epoxy cement 32 dispensed in rounded annular recess 34. Figs. 2-3, 6. Col. 2, lines 22-24).
Regarding claim 14, modified Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 12, wherein the one or more grooves are rounded having a curved inner edge (annular recess 34 has curved inner ledge. Figs. 2-3, 6).
Regarding claim 15, modified Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 14, wherein the one or more grooves have a semicircular cross section (annular recess 34 has curved inner ledge that are rounded annular pockets. Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 16, modified Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 12, wherein adhesive is provided in the one or more grooves (epoxy cement 32 dispensed in annular recess 34. Figs. 2-3, 6. Col. 2, lines 22-24) and at least partially between the hub (needle hub 26 with distal body needle hub 15 and male conical extension 28. Figs. 2-4, 6) and the interior surface of the sidewall of the fitting (female conical opening 16. Fig. 6; Col. 2, lines 12-14).
Claims 2, 20-21, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young in view of US Patent No. 11,612,692 (hereinafter, “Kuracina”).
Regarding claim 2, Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 1 comprising the interior surface of the sidewall of the fitting (female conical opening 16. Fig. 6; Col. 2, lines 12-14).
Young fails, however, to disclose that the interior surface of the sidewall of the fitting tapers in a distal direction, radially inward toward a longitudinal axis of the syringe body, such that a diameter of the passageway at the open proximal end of the fitting is greater than a diameter of the passageway at the open distal end of the fitting, and the hub has an exterior surface that is tapered to correspond to the taper of the interior surface of the sidewall of the fitting, such that a diameter of the hub at a proximal end of the hub is greater than a diameter of the hub at a distal end of the hub.
Kuracina teaches that the interior surface of the sidewall of the fitting tapers in a distal direction (Kuracina: syringe nozzle 13 has a tapered inside sidewall 41. Fig. 3A. Col. 15, lines 18-20), radially inward toward a longitudinal axis of the syringe body (Kuracina: body 122c of the volume-displacing member 120c is formed with an outside wall 137c and an open proximal end 130c. Fig. 5A; Col. 20, lines 58-63), such that a diameter of the passageway at the open proximal end of the fitting is greater than a diameter of the passageway at the open distal end of the fitting (Kuracina: diameter at proximal opening of fitting on syringe 3b is greater than diameter at distal end of fitting on syringe 3b. Figs. 3A, 4A, 5A, 7A, 8A), and the hub has an exterior surface that is tapered to correspond to the taper of the interior surface of the sidewall of the fitting (Kuracina: body 122c of the volume-displacing member 120c is formed with an outside wall 137c and corresponds to the tapered inside wall 41. Fig. 5A; Col. 20, lines 58-63), such that a diameter of the hub at a proximal end of the hub is greater than a diameter of the hub at a distal end of the hub (Kuracina: proximal end 130b of volume-displacing member 120b has a diameter greater than the distal end of 120b. Fig. 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the female conical opening and matching extension of Young so that the interior of the fitting tapers in a distal direction (proximal diameter greater than distal diameter) and the exterior of the hub tapers to correspond to that interior, as taught by Kuracina, in order to place a space-filling hub in a standard male-tip passageway that is wider at the chamber and narrower at the distal opening, so the occupier can be seated from the barrel side and fluid is funneled into the cannula with less dead volume.
Regarding claim 20, Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 17 comprising the central bore (central opening in distal end of needle hub 15. Figs. 3, 6).
Young fails, however, to disclose that the central bore further comprises an enlarged portion having a proximal end coinciding with the proximal end of the hub and a distal end.
Kuracina teaches that the central bore further comprises an enlarged portion having a proximal end coinciding with the proximal end of the hub (Kuracina: proximal end of through passage 121e opens into interior cavity 121c via tapered inside wall 117 and coincides with proximal end of outside wall 137c of volume-displacing member 120c. Figs. 5A-5B. Col. 20, line 56 – Col. 21, line 9) and a distal end.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proximal end of the hub bore of Young to include an enlarged portion whose proximal end coincides with the proximal end of the hub, as taught by Kuracina, in order to open a wider mouth at the chamber face of the occupier so fluid and air can enter the cannula path from the chamber without a sharp step at the proximal end of the hub.
Regarding claim 21, modified Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 20, wherein an interior surface of the enlarged portion tapers in a distal direction, radially inward toward a longitudinal axis of the hub (Kuracina: opposing tapered distal inside walls 117c and 117d are configured to funnel fluid and air from the interior cavity 106 of the syringe nozzle 13 into the opposing through-passages 121b and 121d into the interior cavity 121c and through-passage 121e and into the needle lumen 110, which is along the longitudinal axis of volume-displacing member 120c. Figs. 5A-5B, 5D. Col. 22, lines 10-16), such that a diameter of the enlarged portion at the proximal end of the enlarged portion is greater than a diameter of the enlarged portion at the distal end of the enlarged portion (Kuracina: cavity 121c with tapered inside wall 117 has a larger diameter at the proximal portion and a smaller diameter at the distal portion. Figs. 5A-5B, 5D).
Regarding claim 24, Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 1 but fails to disclose that the fitting is a male Luer taper.
Kuracina teaches that the fitting is a male Luer taper (Kuracina: tapered male Luer syringe nozzle 13 with outside wall 18. Figs. 3A, 14A, 15A. Col. 15, lines 18-20; Col. 20, lines 45-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the boss and female conical opening of Young to be a male Luer taper, as taught by Kuracina, in order to provide a standard male syringe tip that accepts a conventional female hub, cap, or Luer-lock connector while still seating a space-filling occupier in the interior of that tip.
Regarding claim 25, Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 1 but fails to disclose that the housing further comprises a collar having a proximal end, a distal end, and a sidewall extending therebetween, the collar extending longitudinally from the distal end of the housing and the sidewall surrounding the fitting.
Kuracina teaches that the housing further comprises a collar (Kuracina: distal Luer-lock collar 4 of the syringe 3. Figs. 1-2) having a proximal end, a distal end, and a sidewall extending therebetween (Kuracina: distal Luer-lock collar 4 of the syringe 3 has proximal and distal ends with wall of collar 4 extending therebetween. Figs. 1-2B), the collar extending longitudinally from the distal end of the housing and the sidewall surrounding the fitting (Kuracina: distal Luer-lock collar 4 of the syringe 3 extends longitudinally from the distal end of the housing of syringe 3 and surrounds nozzle 13. Figs. 1-2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distal end of the housing (barrel) of Young to include a collar extending longitudinally from that distal end and surrounding the fitting, as taught by Kuracina, in order to provide a standard lock collar around the tip so a female hub can be threaded onto the syringe instead of relying on a slip fit alone.
Regarding claim 26, modified Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 25, wherein threads are provided on an interior surface of the sidewall of the collar (Kuracina: inside locking threads 8 of the distal Luer-lock collar 4 mechanically engage flange or lug 9 of hub 2. Figs. 1A-2B. Col. 14, lines 65-67).
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young in view of US Patent No. 6,068,148 (hereinafter, “Weiler”).
Regarding claim 7, Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 1 comprising the hub (needle hub 26 with distal body needle hub 15 and male conical extension 28. Figs. 2-4, 6).
Young fails, however, to disclose that the hub further comprises one or more protrusions extending from an exterior surface of the hub.
Weiler teaches that the hub further comprises one or more protrusions extending from an exterior surface of the hub (Weiler: substantially triangular shaped annular fin bead 26 extends circumferentially and radially outwardly about the outer peripheral surface 24 and is spaced from aperture 18 of nozzle 16. Figs. 1-2. Col. 3, lines 28-33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exterior of the hub of Young to include one or more protrusions extending from that exterior surface, as taught by Weiler, in order to add a raised friction-and-seal ring that helps retain the hub in the fitting and maintain a liquid-tight joint under injection pressure.
Regarding claim 8, modified Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 7, wherein one or more protrusions extend around a circumference of the exterior surface of the hub (Weiler: substantially triangular shaped annular fin bead 26 extends circumferentially and radially outwardly about the outer peripheral surface 24 and is spaced from aperture 18 of nozzle 16. Figs. 1-2. Col. 3, lines 28-33).
Regarding claim 9, modified Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 7 comprising a protrusion, but fails to disclose that the protrusion is positioned a distance from the proximal end of the hub, wherein a portion of the hub between the proximal end of the hub and the protrusion creates an interference fit between an exterior surface of the hub and the interior surface of the sidewall of the fitting that provides a fluid tight seal between the hub and the fitting.
Weiler teaches that the protrusion is positioned a distance from the proximal end of the hub (Weiler: substantially triangular shaped annular fin bead 26 extend circumferentially and radially outwardly about the outer peripheral surface 24 and is spaced from aperture 18 of the nozzle and is positioned a distance from the proximal open end 16. Fig. 1. Col. 3, lines 28-33), wherein a portion of the hub between the proximal end of the hub and the protrusion creates an interference fit between an exterior surface of the hub and the interior surface of the sidewall of the fitting that provides a fluid tight seal between the hub and the fitting (Weiler: bead 26 exerts a sealing force against the inner surface 38 of the hub 36 to provide both a secure friction fit and liquid seal between the hub 36 and the nozzle 16. Fig. 5. Col. 4, lines 30-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hub of Young to place a bead a distance from the proximal end of the hub, as taught by Weiler, in order to leave the proximal band of the male conical extension against the female conical opening as the interference / fluid-tight seal while the bead sits distal of that band as the retainer.
Regarding claim 10, modified Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 7, wherein the one or more protrusions have a cross-section that is substantially triangular (Weiler: bead 26 has a substantially triangular or fin-shaped cross-section and includes spaced-apart lower and upper flat surfaces 28 and 30).
Regarding claim 11, modified Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 10, wherein a first surface of the protrusion (Weiler: lower flat surface 128. Fig. 3) extends radially outward from the hub in a substantially horizontal direction perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the hub (Weiler: bead 126 includes a lower flat surface 128 which extends unitarily generally normally outwardly from the outer surface 124. Fig. 3. Col. 3, lines 56-58), and a second surface extends at an angle from an outer edge of the first surface to the exterior surface of the hub in a radially inward direction toward the longitudinal axis of the hub (Weiler: upper flat surface 130 which extends unitarily radially outwardly from the outer nozzle surface 124 at an obtuse angle. Fig. 3. Col. 3, lines 59-60).
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young in view of US Publication No. 2021/0162123 (hereinafter, “Isaacson”).
Regarding claim 22, Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 1 comprising the distal end of the fitting (boss 14. Figs. 1, 6) and a distal end of the hub (needle hub 26 with distal body needle hub 15 and male conical extension 28. Figs. 2-4, 6).
Young fails, however, to disclose that the distal end of the fitting includes a stop for keeping a distal end of the hub from extending out of the distal end of the fitting.
Isaacson teaches that the distal end of the fitting includes a stop (Isaacson: annular step 78, Figs. 7-8; para [0059]) for keeping a distal end of the hub from extending out of the distal end of the fitting (Isaacson: passage 74 has annular step 78 which defines an inside diameter less than the outside diameter of flange 56 on needle hub 36 and defines a fixed limit for the distal movement of needle hub 36 in distal barrel 20. Figs. 7-8; para [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distal end of the boss fitting of Young to include a stop that keeps the distal end of the hub from extending out of the distal end of the fitting, as taught by Isaacson, in order to limit distal travel of the hub so it cannot be pushed out the open tip during assembly or injection.
Regarding claim 23, modified Young discloses a syringe body according to claim 22, wherein the stop (Isaacson: annular step 78, Figs. 7-8; para [0059]) is an annular ledge extending around a circumference of and radially inward from the interior surface of the sidewall of the fitting and reducing the diameter of the passageway in the area of the ledge (Isaacson: passage 74 has annular step 78 which defines an inside diameter less than the outside diameter of flange 56 on needle hub 36 and defines a fixed limit for the distal movement of needle hub 36 in distal barrel 20. Figs. 7-8; para [0059]).
Conclusion
/ZACHARIAH K WHITROCK/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/WESLEY G HARRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3783