DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1
Lines 8-9 recite the limitation “the valve is provided on a rear side than the turbocharger in a vehicle length direction and on a lower side than a top surface of the turbocharger in a vehicle height direction” (emphasis added). It is unclear what limitations the “rear side” and “a lower side” are components of. For examination purposes, the claim limitation has been interpreted as if the claim read –the valve is provided [[on]] at a rear side of the internal combustion engine at a location closer to the rear of the vehicle than the turbocharger in a vehicle length direction and [[on]] at a lower side of the internal combustion engine than a top surface of the turbocharger in a vehicle height direction—
Lines 13-14 recite the limitation “air flowing on an upper side of the turbocharger from a front side toward a rear side in the vehicle length direction” (emphasis added). It is unclear what limitations the limitations “a front side” and “a rear side” are components of. For examination purposes, the claim limitation has been interpreted as if it read –air flowing on an upper side of the turbocharger from a front side of the vehicle toward a rear side of the vehicle in the vehicle length direction—
Regarding Claim 2
Line 3 recites the limitation "the upper side". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Lines 3-4 recite the limitation “a protruding portion that protrudes to the upper side than the top surface of the turbocharger in the vehicle height direction” (emphasis added). It is unclear what is meant by “the upper side than the top surface of the turbocharger”. For examination purposes, the claim limitation has been interpreted as if it read –a protruding portion that protrudes above top surface of the turbocharger in the vehicle height direction—
Lines 5-6 recite the limitation “a flat portion provided on a lower side than the protruding portion in the vehicle height direction and extended along the vehicle height direction” (emphasis added). It is unclear what is meant by “the upper side than the top surface of the turbocharger”. For examination purposes, the claim limitation has been interpreted as if it read –a flat portion provided below
Regarding Claim 3
Lines 1-2 recite the limitation “the protruding portion is tilted toward a front side in the vehicle length direction” (emphasis added). It is unclear what limitation “the front side” is a component of. For examination purposes, the claim limitation has been interpreted as if the claim read –the protruding portion is tilted toward a front side of the vehicle in the vehicle length direction—
Regarding Claim 4
Line 4 recites the limitation “a shape that surrounds an upper side portion and a left-right portion of the opening”. It is unclear what is meant by the limitation.
Regarding Claim 5
Lines 1-2 recite the limitation “a lower end of the flat portion is located on a lower side than an upper end of the valve in the vehicle height direction” (emphasis added). It is unclear what limitation “a lower side” is a component of. For examination purposes, the claim limitation has been interpreted as if the claim read –a lower end of the flat portion is located
Regarding Claim 6
Claim 6 is rejected insofar as it is dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Regarding Claim 7
Lines 8-10 recite the limitation “the valve is provided on a rear side than the turbocharger in a vehicle length direction and on a lower side than a top surface of the turbocharger in a vehicle height direction” (emphasis added). It is unclear what limitations the “rear side” and “a lower side” are components of. For examination purposes, the claim limitation has been interpreted as if the claim read –the valve is provided [[on]] at a rear side of the internal combustion engine at a location closer to the rear of the vehicle than the turbocharger in a vehicle length direction and [[on]] at a lower side of the internal combustion engine than a top surface of the turbocharger in a vehicle height direction—
Lines 13-14 recite the limitation “air flowing on an upper side of the turbocharger from a front side toward a rear side in the vehicle length direction” (emphasis added). It is unclear what limitations the limitations “a front side” and “a rear side” are components of. For examination purposes, the claim limitation has been interpreted as if it read –air flowing on an upper side of the turbocharger from a front side of the vehicle toward a rear side of the vehicle in the vehicle length direction—
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Matsunaga, JP 2014163289 A, in view of Suzuki et al., US 2007/0157900.
Regarding Claim 1
Matsunaga teaches a vehicle comprising:
an internal combustion engine (2); and a turbocharger (23) that compresses gas with a compressor on the same axis by rotating a turbine with exhaust gas from the internal combustion engine (2), and sends the gas into the internal combustion engine (2) (Matsunaga, [0036] and [0041], Figure 2),
wherein the vehicle further comprises an air introduction member (53) provided adjacent the turbocharger (23) in the vehicle length direction and having a shape that guides air flowing on an upper side of the turbocharger (23) from a front side toward a rear side in the vehicle length direction (Matsunaga, [0055]-[0056], Figure 5).
However, Matsunaga does not explicitly disclose that the internal combustion engine includes a variable valve timing mechanism configured to change an opening/closing timing of a suction valve or an exhaust valve by driving a valve, wherein the valve is provided at a rear location in the vehicle length direction and on a lower side than a top surface of the turbocharger in a vehicle height direction, wherein the introduction member is provided between the turbocharger and the valve in the vehicle length direction such that the introduction member guides air to the valve.
Suzuki discloses a vehicle comprising: an internal combustion engine (E) including a variable valve timing mechanism (60) configured to change an opening/closing timing of a suction valve or an exhaust valve by driving a valve (62) (Suzuki, [0041] and [0048], Figure 2), wherein the valve (62) is provided at a rear location in the vehicle length direction (Suzuki, [0048], Figure 2).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the engine of Matsunaga to include a variable valve timing mechanism configured to change an opening/closing timing of a suction valve or an exhaust valve by driving a valve provided on a rear side of the internal combustion engine as is taught by Suzuki as well known in the art in order to improve fuel efficiency and reduce exhaust emissions. Therefore, the combination of Matsunaga and Suzuki teaches a vehicle in which the valve is provided at a rear location in the vehicle length direction and on a lower side than a top surface of the turbocharger in a vehicle height direction, wherein the introduction member is provided between the turbocharger and the valve in the vehicle length direction such that the introduction member guides air to the valve.
Regarding Claim 2
Matsunaga and Suzuki teach the vehicle according to claim 1. Matsunaga further discloses that the air introduction member (53) includes:
a protruding portion (P, annotated Figure 5 of Matsunaga below) that protrudes to the upper side than the top surface of the turbocharger (23) in the vehicle height direction (Matsunaga, annotated Figure 5 below), and
a flat portion (F, annotated Figure 5 of Matsunaga below) provided on a lower side than the protruding portion (P, annotated Figure 5 of Matsunaga below) in the vehicle height direction and extended along the vehicle height direction (Matsunaga, annotated Figure 5 below).
Figure 1: Annotated Figure 5 of Matsunaga
Regarding Claim 3
Matsunaga and Suzuki teach the vehicle according to claim 2. Matsunaga further discloses that the protruding portion (P, annotated Figure 5 above) is tilted toward a front side in the vehicle length direction (Matsunaga, [0055], annotated Figure 5 above).
Regarding Claim 6
Matsunaga and Suzuki teach the vehicle according to claim 1. Matsunaga further discloses an air stop plate [vehicle body] provided on a rear side of the valve [taught by combination of Matsunaga and Suzuki] in the vehicle length direction and extended along the vehicle height direction [it is inherent to one of ordinary skill in the art that the internal combustion engine of Matsunaga is enclosed by a vehicle body] (Matsunaga, Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 7
Matsunaga discloses a cooling member comprising:
an internal combustion engine (2) (Matsunaga, Figures 1-2); and
a turbocharger (23) that compresses gas with a compressor on the same axis by rotating a turbine with exhaust gas from the internal combustion engine (2), and sends the gas into the internal combustion engine (2) (Matsunaga, [0036] and [0041], Figure 2), and
wherein the cooling member has a shape (53) that guides air flowing on an upper side of the turbocharger (23) from a front side toward a rear side in the vehicle length direction (Matsunaga, [0055]-[0056], Figure 5).
However, Matsunaga does not explicitly disclose that the internal combustion engine includes a variable valve timing mechanism configured to change an opening/closing timing of a suction valve or an exhaust valve by driving a valve, wherein the valve is provided on a rear side than the turbocharger in a vehicle length direction and on a lower side than a top surface of the turbocharger in a vehicle height direction.
Suzuki discloses a vehicle comprising: an internal combustion engine (E) including a variable valve timing mechanism (60) configured to change an opening/closing timing of a suction valve or an exhaust valve by driving a valve (62) (Suzuki, [0041] and [0048], Figure 2), wherein the valve (62) is provided at a rear location in the vehicle length direction (Suzuki, [0048], Figure 2).
At the time the claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the engine of Matsunaga to include a variable valve timing mechanism configured to change an opening/closing timing of a suction valve or an exhaust valve by driving a valve provided on a rear side of the internal combustion engine as is taught by Suzuki as well known in the art in order to improve fuel efficiency and reduce exhaust emissions. Therefore, the combination of Matsunaga and Suzuki teaches a vehicle in which the valve is provided at a rear location in the vehicle length direction and on a lower side than a top surface of the turbocharger in a vehicle height direction, wherein the introduction member is provided between the turbocharger and the valve in the vehicle length direction such that the introduction member guides air to the valve.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takashiba (US 2023/0250739) – Variable valve timing system
Ozeki (US 2001/0017120) – Installation structure of oil control valve
Takashiba (US 2023/0250740) – Variable valve timing system
Nakada et al. (US 2019/0101051) – Internal combustion engine
/K.L.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/PHUTTHIWAT WONGWIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741