DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-10, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Messner et al. (US PG Pub No. 2019/0343661 A1) in view of Hanson et al. (US PG Pub No. 2009/0216339 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Messner discloses an electrode connector (Fig. 1, lead electrode 10), comprising: an inner portion (Fig. 2, dome bolt 15) comprising a first head portion (Fig. 2, dome 152), the first head portion (152) comprising: an arcuate outer surface (see annotated Fig. 2 below) and a generally planar inner surface (see annotated Fig. 2 below), opposite the outer surface (see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Messner fails to disclose an annular recess formed in the inner surface and/or an annular protrusion extending from the inner surface. Hanson also discloses an electrode connector (Figs. 17-19, electrodes 310 and 320) comprising an inner portion (Figs. 17-19, inner portion 311), an inner surface (see annotated Fig. 17 below), a first head portion (see annotated Fig. 17 below), an annular recess (see annotated Fig. 18 below, grooves 314, 315), and an annular protrusion (see annotated Fig. 18 below).
Hanson teaches an annular recess (314, 315) formed in the inner surface (see annotated Fig. 17 below) and/or an annular protrusion (see annotated Fig. 18 below) extending from the inner surface (see annotated Fig. 17 below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Messner’s electrode connector wherein an annular recess formed in the inner surface and/or an annular protrusion extending from the inner surface, as taught by Hanson, in order for the electrode connector to have a tighter grip with the prosthesis (Paragraph [0092]).
Regarding claim 2, Messner modified by Hanson discloses wherein the first head portion (see annotated Fig. 17 above) includes the annular recess (see annotated Fig. 18 above, 314, 315) and the annular protrusion (see annotated Fig. 18 above) and the annular protrusion (see annotated Fig. 18 above) is positioned radially outward (Figs. 17-19) of the annular recess (314, 315).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Messner modified by Hanson discloses wherein the inner portion (Fig. 2, dome bolt 15) comprises a first body portion (Figs. 2-3, bolt 150) extending from the inner surface (see annotated Fig. 2 below) of the first head portion (Fig. 2, dome 152), a second head portion (14), and a second body portion (140). Messner modified by Hanson fails to disclose the first body portion comprising a bore formed into the first body portion, the bore having an internal surface that is at least partially threaded, and the second body portion having an external surface that is at least partially threaded and that is configured to engage the at least partially threaded surface of the bore. Instead, Messner teaches the second body portion (Figs. 2-3, shaft 140) comprising the bore (see annotated Fig. 2 below) formed into the second body portion (140), the bore (see annotated Fig. 2 below) having an internal surface that is at least partially threaded (Fig. 2, inner thread 141) to connect with a partially threaded external surface (151) of the first body portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the threaded bore into first body portion and the threaded external surface on the shaft of the second body portion such that the shaft of the second body portion is inserted into the first body portion for connection therebetween, as doing so would have yielded predictable results, namely provided a secure connection between the first and second body portions.
Regarding claim 5, Messner modified by Hanson discloses wherein the second head portion (Figs. 2-3, dome nut 14) is configured to receive a tightening device (Paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claim 8, Messner modified by Hanson discloses a prosthesis (Figs. 1-3, prosthesis socket 20), comprising: a wall including an inner surface (Figs. 1-3, inner side 22) and an outer surface (Figs. 1-3, outer side 21); and an electrode connector (Fig. 1, lead electrode 10), the electrode connector comprising: an inner portion (Fig.2, dome bolt 15) comprising a first head portion (Fig. 2, dome 152), the first head portion (152) comprising: an arcuate outer surface (see annotated Fig. 2 above) and a generally planar inner surface (see annotated Fig. 2 above), opposite the outer surface (see annotated Fig. 2 above); and engaging (Paragraphs [0050-0051], Fig. 3) the inner surface of the wall of the prosthesis (22) to provide a seal (Paragraphs [0050-0051]) between the first head portion (152) of the inner portion and the inner surface of the wall of the prosthesis (22). Messner fails to disclose at least one of an annular recess formed in the inner surface and/or an annular protrusion extending from the inner surface.
Hanson also discloses an electrode connector (Figs. 17-19, electrodes 310 and 320) comprising an inner portion (Figs. 17-19, inner portion 311), an inner surface (see annotated Fig. 17 below), a first head portion (see annotated Fig. 17 below), an annular recess (see annotated Fig. 18 below, grooves 314, 315), an annular protrusion (see annotated Fig. 18 below), and a prosthesis (Figs. 17-19, prosthetic liner 330) with a wall (see annotated Fig. 17 below). Hanson teaches an annular recess (314, 315) formed in the inner surface (see annotated Fig. 17 below) and/or an annular protrusion (see annotated Fig. 18 below) extending from the inner surface (see annotated Fig. 17 below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Messner’s electrode connector wherein an annular recess formed in the inner surface and/or an annular protrusion extending from the inner surface, as taught by Hanson, in order for the electrode connector to have a tighter grip with the prosthesis (Paragraph [0092]).
Regarding claim 9, Messner modified by Hanson further discloses wherein the first head portion (see annotated Fig. 17 above) includes the annular recess (see annotated Fig. 18 above, grooves 314, 315) and the annular protrusion (see annotated Fig. 18 above) and the annular protrusion (see annotated Fig. 18 above) is positioned radially outward (Figs. 17-19) of the annular recess (314, 315).
Regarding claims 10 and 14, Messner modified by Hanson discloses wherein the inner portion (Fig. 2, dome bolt 15) comprises a first body portion (Figs. 2-3, bolt 150) extending from the inner surface (see annotated Fig. 2 above) of the first head portion (Fig. 2, dome 152), a second head portion (14) and a second body portion (140). Messner modified by Hanson fails to disclose the first body portion comprising a bore formed into the first body portion, the bore having an internal surface that is at least partially threaded, and the second body portion having an external surface that is at least partially threaded and that is configured to engage the at least partially threaded surface of the bore. Instead, Messner teaches the second body portion (Figs. 2-3, shaft 140) comprising the bore (see annotated Fig. 2 below) formed into the second body portion (140), the bore (see annotated Fig. 2 below) having an internal surface that is at least partially threaded (Fig. 2, inner thread 141) to connect with a partially threaded external surface (151) of the first body portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the threaded bore into first body portion and the threaded external surface on the shaft of the second body portion such that the shaft of the second body portion is inserted into the first body portion for connection therebetween, as doing so would have yielded predictable results, namely provided a secure connection between the first and second body portions.
Regarding claim 15, Messner modified by Hanson discloses wherein the second head portion (Figs. 2-3, dome nut 14) is configured to receive a tightening device (Paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claim 16, Messner modified by Hanson discloses comprising at least one of an o-ring (Paragraph [0049], sealing ring), a washer, and/or a nut (Paragraph [0020]) positioned between the second head portion (Figs. 2-3, dome nut 14) of the outer portion (Figs. 2-3, cap 11) of the electrode connector (10) and the outer surface of the wall (Figs. 1-3, outer side 21) of the prosthesis (Figs. 1-3, prosthesis socket 20), the o-ring (Paragraph [0049], sealing ring), the washer, and/or the nut (Paragraph [0020]) are configured to secure an electrode lead (Paragraph [0052], cable connected to contact tab 12) to the outer portion (11) of the electrode connector (Paragraphs [0049 and 0051], Figs. 2-3, discs 13).
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Messner et al. (US PG Pub No. 2019/0343661 A1) in view of Hanson et al. (US PG Pub No. 2009/0216339 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Klein (US Patent No. 7,670,385 B2) and Varley (US PG Pub No. 2013/0197669 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Messner modified by Hanson fails to disclose comprising an o-ring positioned in the annular recess (see annotated Fig. 18 above, grooves 314, 315) of the first head portion (see annotated Fig. 17 above).
Klein also discloses an electrode connector (Fig. 1, fitting 1) comprising an inner portion (see annotated Figs. 1-2 below), an inner surface (see annotated Figs. 1-2 below), a first head portion (Fig. 1, retention rim 11), and an annular recess (Fig. 1, groove 10). Klein teaches comprising a sealant (Col. 3, lines 33-37) positioned in the annular recess (10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Messner’s as modified by Hanson electrode connector comprising a sealant positioned in the annular recess of the first head portion, as taught by Klein, in order to improve the seal between the electrode connector and prosthesis (Col. 3, lines 33-37).
Messner modified by Hanson and Klein fails to disclose an o-ring. Varley also discloses an electrode connector (Figs. 1-6, electrode assembly 10) comprising an inner portion (Figs. 1-6, retention ring 12), an inner surface (Fig. 1, inside of retention ring 12), a first head portion (Fig. 1-6, side wall 20), and a recess (Figs. 1-6, groove 26). Varley teaches an o-ring (Paragraph [0028]) in a recess (26). The o-ring of Varley also functions as a sealing engagement (Paragraph [0028]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided Messner’s modified device with an o-ring in the annular recess of the first head portion as taught by Varley in order to provide a sealing engagement (Paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claim 11, Messner modified by Hanson fails to disclose comprising an o-ring positioned in the annular recess (see annotated Fig. 18 above, grooves 314, 315) of the first head portion (see annotated Fig. 17 above) and providing a seal between the first head portion (see annotated Fig. 17 above) of the inner portion (Figs. 17-19, inner portion 311) and the inner surface of the wall (see annotated Fig. 17 above) of the prosthesis (Figs. 17-19, prosthetic liner 330).
Klein also discloses an electrode connector (Fig. 1, fitting 1) comprising an inner portion (see annotated Figs. 1-2 above), an inner surface (see annotated Figs. 1-2 above), a first head portion (Fig. 1, retention rim 11), and an annular recess (Fig. 1, groove 10). Klein teaches comprising a sealant (Col. 3, lines 33-37) positioned in the annular recess (10) and providing a seal (Col. 3, lines 33-37) between the first head portion (Fig. 1, retention rim 11) of the inner portion (see annotated Figs. 1-2 above) and the inner surface of the wall of the prosthesis (Fig. 7, internal socket 30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Messner’s as modified by Hanson electrode connector comprising a sealant positioned in the annular recess of the first head portion and providing a seal between the first head portion of the inner portion and the inner surface of the wall of the prosthesis, as taught by Klein, in order to improve the seal between the electrode connector and prosthesis (Col. 3, lines 33-37).
Messner modified by Hanson and Klein fails to disclose an o-ring. Varley also discloses an electrode connector (Figs. 1-6, electrode assembly 10) comprising an inner portion (Figs. 1-6, retention ring 12), an inner surface (Fig. 1, inside of retention ring 12), a first head portion (Fig. 1-6, side wall 20), a recess (Figs. 1-6, groove 26), and a prosthesis (Fig. 6, prosthesis 64) with a wall (Fig. 6, wall 62). Varley teaches comprising an o-ring (Paragraph [0028]) in a recess (26). The o-ring of Varley also functions as a sealing engagement (Paragraph [0028]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided Messner’s modified device with an o-ring as taught by Varley in order to provide a sealing engagement (Paragraph [0028]).
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Messner et al. (US PG Pub No. 2019/0343661 A1) in view of Hanson et al. (US PG Pub No. 2009/0216339 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Varley (US PG Pub No. 2013/0197669 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Messner modified by Hanson discloses wherein the first head portion has a generally circular perimeter (Fig. 2, dome 152), but fails to disclose at least one planar surface formed on the perimeter. Varley also discloses an electrode connector (Figs. 1-6, electrode assembly 10) comprising an inner portion (Figs. 1-6, retention ring 12), an inner surface (Fig. 1, inside of retention ring 12), and a first head portion (Fig. 1-6, side wall 20). Varley teaches at least one planar surface formed on the perimeter (see annotated Fig. 3 below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided Messner’s modified device with at least one planar surface formed on the perimeter as taught by Varley in order to provide a flat smooth edge for effecting a seal (see paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 13, Messner modified by Hanson discloses wherein the first head portion has a generally circular perimeter (Fig. 2, dome 152), but fails to disclose at least one planar surface formed on the perimeter. Varley also discloses an electrode connector (Figs. 1-6, electrode assembly 10) comprising an inner portion (Figs. 1-6, retention ring 12), an inner surface (Fig. 1, inside of retention ring 12), a first head portion (Fig. 1-6, side wall 20), an annular recess (Figs. 1-6, groove 26), and an annular protrusion (Figs. 1-6, flange 14. Varley teaches at least one planar surface formed on the perimeter (see annotated Fig. 3 above). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided Messner’s modified device with at least one planar surface formed on the perimeter as taught by Varley in order to provide a flat smooth edge for effecting a seal (see paragraph [0004]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Messner et al. (US PG Pub No. 2019/0343661 A1) in view of Hanson et al. (US PG Pub No. 2009/0216339 A1), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Klein (US Patent No. 7,670,385 B2).
Regarding claim 12, Messner modified by Hanson fails to disclose comprising an adhesive and/or sealant located within the annular recess of the first head portion, the adhesive and/or sealant securing the inner portion of the electrode connector to the inner surface of the prosthesis and providing a seal between the first head portion of the inner portion and the inner surface of the wall of the prosthesis.
Klein also discloses an electrode connector (Fig. 1, fitting 1) comprising an inner portion (see annotated Figs. 1-2 below), an inner surface (see annotated Figs. 1-2 below), a first head portion (Fig. 1, retention rim 11), and an annular recess (Fig. 1, groove 10). Klein teaches comprising an adhesive and/or sealant (Col. 3, lines 33-37) located within the annular recess (10) of the first head portion (11), the adhesive and/or sealant securing the inner portion (see annotated Figs. 1-2 below) of the electrode connector (1) to the inner surface of the prosthesis (Fig. 7, internal socket 30) and providing a seal between the first head portion (11) of the inner portion and the inner surface of the wall (Fig. 7, aperture 8) of the prosthesis (Col. 3, lines 33-37). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Messner’s as modified by Hanson electrode connector comprising an adhesive and/or sealant located within the annular recess of the first head portion, the adhesive and/or sealant securing the inner portion of the electrode connector to the inner surface of the prosthesis and providing a seal between the first head portion of the inner portion and the inner surface of the wall of the prosthesis, as taught by Klein, in order to improve the seal between the electrode connector and prosthesis (Col. 3, lines 33-37).
Claims 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Messner et al. (US PG Pub No. 2019/0343661 A1) in view of Hanson et al. (US PG Pub No. 2009/0216339 A1) and Klein (US Patent No. 7,670,385 B2).
Regarding claim 17, Messner discloses a method for sealing and securing (Paragraphs [0051-0052]) an electrode connector (Fig. 1, lead electrode 10) to a prosthesis (Figs. 1-3, prosthesis socket 20), comprising the steps of: positioning an inner surface (see annotated Fig. 2 below) of a first head portion (Fig. 2, dome 152) of an inner portion (Fig.2, dome bolt 15) of the electrode connector (10) adjacent an inner surface of a wall (Figs. 1-3, inner side 22) of the prosthesis (20); and providing a seal (Paragraphs [0050-0051]) between the first head portion (152) of the inner portion (15) of the electrode connector (10) and the inner surface of the wall (22) of the prosthesis (20).
Messner fails to disclose providing a seal via at least one of: an annular protrusion on the inner surface of the first head portion of the inner portion of the electrode connector engaging the inner surface of the wall of the prosthesis.
Hanson also discloses an electrode connector (Figs. 17-19, electrodes 310 and 320) comprising an inner portion (Figs. 17-19, inner portion 311), an inner surface (see annotated Fig. 17 below), a first head portion (see annotated Fig. 17 below), an annular recess (see annotated Fig. 18 below, grooves 314, 315), an annular protrusion (see annotated Fig. 18 below), and a prosthesis (Figs. 17-19, prosthetic liner 330) with a wall (see annotated Fig. 17 below). Hanson teaches providing a seal (Paragraph [0092]) via at least one of: an annular protrusion (see annotated Fig. 18 below) on the inner surface (see annotated Fig. 17 below) of the first head portion (see annotated Fig. 17 below) of the inner portion (11) of the electrode connector (310, 320) engaging the inner surface of the wall (see annotated Fig. 17 below) of the prosthesis (330). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Messner’s electrode connector providing a seal via at least one of: an annular protrusion on the inner surface of the first head portion of the inner portion of the electrode connector engaging the inner surface of the wall of the prosthesis, as taught by Hanson, in order for the electrode connector to have a tighter grip with the prosthesis (Paragraph [0092]).
Messner as modified by Hanson fails to disclose providing an adhesive or an o-ring in an annular recess in the inner surface of the first head portion of the inner portion of the electrode connector, the adhesive or o-ring engaging the inner portion of the electrode connector and the inner surface of the wall of the prosthesis.
Klein also discloses an electrode connector (Fig. 1, fitting 1) comprising an inner portion (see annotated Figs. 1-2 below), an inner surface (see annotated Figs. 1-2 below), a first head portion (Fig. 1, retention rim 11), and an annular recess (Fig. 1, groove 10). Klein teaches providing an adhesive (Col. 3, lines 33-37) or an o-ring in an annular recess (10) in the inner surface (see annotated Figs. 1-2 below) of the first head portion (11) of the inner portion (see annotated Figs. 1-2 below) of the electrode connector (1), the adhesive (Col. 3, lines 33-37) or o-ring engaging the inner portion (see annotated Figs. 1-2 below) of the electrode connector (1) and the inner surface of the wall (Fig. 7, aperture 8) of the prosthesis (Fig. 7, internal socket 30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Messner’s as modified by Hanson electrode connector providing an adhesive or an o-ring in an annular recess in the inner surface of the first head portion of the inner portion of the electrode connector, the adhesive or o-ring engaging the inner portion of the electrode connector and the inner surface of the wall of the prosthesis, as taught by Klein, in order to improve the seal between the electrode connector and prosthesis (Col. 3, lines 33-37).
Regarding claim 18, Messner as modified by Hanson and Klein discloses comprising the step of inserting a first body portion (Figs. 2-3, bolt 150) of the inner portion (Fig.2, dome bolt 15) of the electrode connector (10) through a hole (Figs. 2-3, passage opening 23) formed in a wall of the prosthesis (20).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Messner as modified by Hanson and Klein discloses comprising the step of threading (Paragraph [0050]) a second body portion (Figs. 2-3, shaft 140) of an outer portion (Figs. 2-3, cap 11) of the electrode connector (10) with the first body portion (150), applying a rotational force (Paragraph [0020], inner thread 141 and outer thread 151 require a rotational force to connect) to a second head portion (Figs. 2-3, dome nut 14) of the outer portion (Figs. 2-3, cap 11) of the electrode connector (10); and preventing rotational motion of the inner portion (Fig. 2, dome bolt 15) of the electrode connector (10). Messner as modified by Hanson fails to disclose a threaded bore formed in the first body portion of the inner portion of the electrode connector and preventing rotational motion of the inner portion of the electrode connector. Instead, Messner teaches the second body portion (Figs. 2-3, shaft 140) comprising the bore (see annotated Fig. 2 below) formed into the second body portion (140), the bore (see annotated Fig. 2 below) having an internal surface that is at least partially threaded (Fig. 2, inner thread 141) to connect with a partially threaded external surface (151) of the first body portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the threaded bore into first body portion and the threaded external surface on the shaft of the second body portion such that the shaft of the second body portion is inserted into the first body portion for connection therebetween, thereby preventing rotational motion of the inner portion of the electrode connector, as doing so would have yielded predictable results, namely provided a secure connection between the first and second body portions.
Regarding claim 21, Messner as modified by Hanson and Klein discloses wherein the second head portion (Figs. 2-3, dome nut 14) of the outer portion (11) of the electrode connector (10) is configured to receive a tightening device (Paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claim 22, Messner as modified by Hanson and Klein discloses comprising the step of positioning an electrode lead (Paragraph [0052], cable connected to contact tab 12) between the second head portion (Figs. 2-3, dome nut 14) of the outer portion (11) of the electrode connector (10) and the first body portion (150) of the inner portion (15) of the electrode connector (10).
Regarding claim 23, Messner as modified by Hanson and Klein discloses comprising the step (Paragraph [0020]) of positioning at least one of an o-ring (Paragraph [0049], sealing ring), a washer, and/or a nut (Paragraph [0020]) positioned between the second head portion (Figs. 2-3, dome nut 14) of the outer portion (Figs. 2-3, cap 11) of the electrode connector (10) and the outer surface of the wall (Figs. 1-3, outer side 21) of the prosthesis (Figs. 1-3, prosthesis socket 20) to secure the electrode lead (Paragraph [0052], cable connected to contact tab 12) to the outer portion (11) of the electrode connector (Paragraphs [0049 and 0051], Figs. 2-3, discs 13).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
De Buttet (Foreign Pub No. FR 2737107 A1) also discloses a connector (Fig. 1, assembly device for prosthetic elements having two parts) with an outer head (Fig. 1, part A), an inner portion (Fig. 1, other part B), and a washer (Fig. 1, washer 4).
Varley (US PG Pub No. 2021/0022890 A1) also discloses an electrode connector (Figs. 1-2, electrode assembly 100) comprising an inner portion (Figs. 1-2, electrode unit 102) comprising a first head portion (Figs. 1-2, upper body portion 112).
/K.L.C./ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/MELANIE R TYSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774