DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the contact between the first and second conductive polymer layer at a first interface and the contact between the second and third conductive polymer layer at a second interface must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andoralov et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2017/0294273).
With respect to claim 1, Andoralov discloses an electrolytic capacitor (see abstract) comprising: a stacked body (see FIG. 3); and a liquid component with which the stacked body is impregnated (see paragraph [0027]), wherein the stacked body includes an anode foil having a dielectric layer formed on a surface thereof (see paragraph [0030]), a cathode foil (see paragraph [0028]), a separator disposed between the anode foil and the cathode foil (see paragraph [0028]), and conductive polymer layers (see paragraph [0028]), the conductive polymer layers include a first conductive polymer layer formed on the dielectric layer (see paragraph [0028], element 212), a second conductive polymer layer formed on the cathode foil (see paragraph [0028]), element 214), and a third conductive polymer layer formed on the separator (see paragraph [0027], element 18), the first conductive polymer layer and the third conductive polymer layer are in contact with each other at a first interface (see FIG. 3, noting that element 212 is in contact with element 18), the second conductive polymer layer and the third conductive polymer layer are in contact with each other at a second interface (see FIG. 3, noting that element 214 is in contact with element 18), and when an amount of the liquid component contained in the stacked body has decreased, a first electrical resistance between the first conductive polymer layer and the third conductive polymer layer and a second electrical resistance between the second conductive polymer layer and the third conductive polymer layer increase (see paragraph [0028], noting that the liquid electrolyte fills all the voids and vacancies between the polymer layers, increasing the electrical conductive pathway (see paragraph [0025]); thus, reducing liquid component would reduce the electrical conductive pathway, increasing resistances between the polymer layers).
With respect to claim 3, Andoralov is considered to disclose that, due to a reduction in the amount of the liquid component, an equivalent series resistance of the electrolytic capacitor becomes at least 1000 times an equivalent series resistance prior to the reduction in the amount of the liquid component. Although Andoralov does not specifically teach the increase in ESR, Andoralov clearly discloses each of the structures of claim 1, and as such, is considered to implicitly disclose any physical properties associated therewith, including ESR. See MPEP 2112.01(I), citing In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
With respect to claim 5, Andoralov discloses that the stacked body is a wound body, and the anode foil, the cathode foil, and the separator are wound such that the separator is disposed between the anode foil and the cathode foil. See FIG. 3, elements 12 and 14, with separator 16 in between.
With respect to claim 6, Andoralov discloses a method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor (see abstract) including an anode foil having a dielectric layer formed on a surface thereof (see paragraph [0030]), a cathode foil (see paragraph [0028]), and a separator (see paragraph [0028]), the method comprising, in the following order: a polymer layer formation step of forming a first conductive polymer layer on the dielectric layer (see paragraph [0012], element 212), a second conductive polymer layer on the cathode foil (see paragraph [0012], element 214), and a third conductive polymer layer on the separator (see paragraph [0027], element 18); a stacked body formation step of forming a stacked body by stacking the anode foil, the cathode foil, and the separator such that the separator is disposed between the anode foil and the cathode foil (see FIG. 3); and an impregnation step of impregnating the stacked body with a liquid component (see paragraph [0025]), wherein a first contact resistance between the first conductive polymer layer and the third conductive polymer layer and a second contact resistance between the second conductive polymer layer and the third conductive polymer layer are reduced through the impregnation step (see paragraphs [0025] and [0028]).
With respect to claim 9, Andoralov discloses that the stacked body is a wound body, and the anode foil, the cathode foil, and the separator are wound such that the separator is disposed between the anode foil and the cathode foil. See FIG. 3, elements 12 and 14, with separator 16 in between.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andoralov et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2017/0294273) in view of WO 2015/198546.
With respect to claim 2, Andoralov fails to explicitly teach that, when the amount of the liquid component contained in the stacked body has decreased, the first electrical resistance and the second electrical resistance increase due to shrinkage and/or oxidation of the first through third conductive polymer layers.
WO ‘546, on the other hand, teaches that, when the amount of the liquid component contained in the stacked body has decreased, the first electrical resistance and the second electrical resistance increase due to shrinkage and/or oxidation of the first through third conductive polymer layers. See paragraph [0041].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Andoralov, as taught by WO ‘546, knowing that reducing the liquid component in a hybrid capacitor will increase the electrical resistance of the first through third conductive polymer layers.
Claims 4, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andoralov et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2017/0294273) in view of Tsubaki et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2017/0148575).
With respect to claim 4, Andoralov teaches that the first conductive polymer layer, the second conductive polymer layer, and the third conductive polymer layer each contain poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) (see paragraph [0037]), but fails to teach the addition of polystyrene sulfonic acid.
Tsubaki, on the other hand, teaches the addition of polystyrene sulfonic acid to a conductive polymer including poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene). See paragraph [0037]. Such an arrangement results in uniform attachment of the conductive polymer to the surface of the dielectric layer. See paragraph [0038].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Andoralov, as taught by Tsubaki, in order to uniformly attach the conductive polymer to the dielectric layer.
With respect to claim 7, Andoralov teaches, before the impregnation step: a liquid application step of impregnating the first through third conductive polymer layers included in the stacked body with a liquid (see paragraph [0037], noting that the coating process includes and impregnation operation for each conductive polymer); and a removal step of removing at least a portion of the liquid with which the first through third conductive polymer layers have been impregnated (see paragraph [0037], noting a curing a washing operation).
Andoralov fails to teach that the liquid includes water.
Tsubaki, on the other hand, teaches the use of water as part of a liquid solvent for a conductive polymer. See paragraphs [0039]-[0041]. Such an arrangement results in improved dispersion of the conductive polymer. See paragraph [0044].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Andoralov, as taught by Tsubaki, in order to improve the dispersion of the conductive polymer.
With respect to claim 8, the combined teachings of Andoralov and Tsubaki teach that a first contact area in which the first conductive polymer layer and the third conductive polymer layer are in contact with each other and a second contact area in which the second conductive polymer layer and the third conductive polymer layer are in contact with each other are increased through the liquid application step. See Andoralov, paragraph [0028], noting that the liquid electrolyte fills all the voids and vacancies between the polymer layers, increasing the electrical conductive pathway (see also, paragraph [0025]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2012/132248, US 11,152,161, and US 8,7678,377 each discloses a hybrid capacitor having polymer layers with interface an between the anode and the separator and an interface between the cathode and the separator.
/DION R. FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848