DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 is rejected because it recites limitations “a roving belt that is positioned to be partially disposed within the distal gap and is adapted and configured to decouple the nanofiber from the first face and the second face while the majority of the fiber is flat and in contact with the roving belt” lacks support in the original specification which filed 07-24-2024; therefore such lack of detailed support in the original disclosure constitutes new matter.
Claim 10 is rejected because it recites limitations “disposing the nanofiber from the first face and the second face to a flat surface of a roving belt within the distal gap, such that a majority length of the nanofiber is in contact with the surface of the roving belt” lacks support in the original specification which filed 07-24-2024; therefore such lack of detailed support in the original disclosure constitutes new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being 4. unpatentable over Smit (WO 2015/075658) in view of Kim (2009/0189318).
Regarding claim 1, Smit teaches a system for producing nanofibers, the system comprising:
an automated track system (fig 1) comprising:
a first track having a first face; and a second track having a second face facing the first face of the first track (members B), wherein:
the first track and the second track are positioned to define a proximal gap and a distal gap (the two ends between members B); and
the first track and the second track are adapted and configured to transfer a nanofiber coupled to the first face and the second face from the proximal gap to the distal gap (page 1, lines 33-39 and page 2, lines 1-13); and
a collector that is positioned to be partially disposed within the distal gap and is adapted and configured to decouple the nanofiber from the first face and the second face (member D) while the majority of the fiber is flat and in contact with the roving belt .
It is noted that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). In this instant case, Smit teaches an apparatus, as presently claimed, that would be capable to use with flat fiber.
Smit does not teach a collector in form of a roving belt.
Kim teaches a nanofiber system device having a collector in form of a roving belt (fig 1, member 7, para 0086).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the system of Smit by using the roving belt of Kim since they both function equivalent to collect and transfer the fiber.
Regarding claim 2, the modified system Smit-Kim discloses the roving belt is configured and adapted to transfer the nanofiber external to the distal gap (Smit and Kim, fig 1).
Regarding claim 5, the modified system Smit-Kim discloses the roving belt is adapted and configured to intermittently actuate (page 11, lines 16-18).
Regarding claim 6, the modified system Smit-Kim discloses the portion of the roving belt disposed in the distal gap is parallel to a length of the nanofiber (Smit, fig 1).
Regarding claim 7, the modified system Smit-Kim discloses the roving belt is adapted and configured to collect a second nanofiber, wherein a length of the second nanofiber at least partially overlaps a length of the nanofiber when coupled to the roving belt (Smit, page 11, lines 20-25).
Regarding claim 8, the modified system Smit-Kim discloses the roving belt is adapted and configured to transfer the nanofiber to a yarn spinner (Smit, abstract).
Regarding claim 9, the modified system Smit-Kim discloses a portion of the roving belt disposed in the distal gap is perpendicular to a length of the nanofiber (Smit, page 11, lines 4-14).
Regarding claim 10, Smit teaches a method for producing nanofibers (fig 1), comprising: coupling a first end of a nanofiber to a first face of a first track and a second end of the nanofiber to a second face of a second track (members B),
wherein the first track and the second track are positioned to define a proximal gap and a distal gap, wherein the coupling occurs in the proximal gap (the two ends between members B);
translating the first face and the second face such that the nanofiber travels from the proximal to the distal gap (fig 1);
disposing the nanofiber from the first face and the second face to a surface of a collector within the distal gap, such that a majority length of the nanofiber is in contact with the surface of the collector (fig 1, all of the fiber will be in contact the collector); and
translating the roving belt such that the nanofiber travels out of the distal gap (page 11, col 4-25).
Kim teaches a method having a collector in form of a flat roving belt (fig 1, member 7, para 0086).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the method of Smit by using the flat roving belt of Kim since they both function equivalent to collect and transfer the fiber.
Regarding claim 11, the modified method Smit-Kim discloses the disposing includes heating a portion of the nanofiber (Kim, para 0102).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 5. Smit (WO 2015/075658) and Kim (2009/0189318) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rubenack (2005/0198783).
Regarding claims 3-4, the modified system Smit-Kim teaches all claims limitations except the roving belt is configured and adapted to actuate at a speed independent of a speed of the first track and the second track, wherein the speed of the roving belt is less than the speed of the first track and the second track.
Rubenack teaches a device having the roving belt is configured and adapted to actuate at a speed independent of a speed of the first track and the second track, wherein the speed of the roving belt is less than the speed of the first track and the second track (para 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the device of Smit by using the independent speeds for the tracks and belt, as taught by Rubenack, in order to improved delivery from the feed device, or improved takeover by the downstream transport device, and to allow trouble free operation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, date 12-16-2025, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C §102 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the amended limitations. However, this argument is not commensurate with the rejected claims, as the limitations have not been previously presented and they have been address as analyzed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732