DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weaver (US 20170215247) in view of Bowers et al. (US 20130221852).
As to claim 1, Weaver’s figures 4 and 7 show a method for output configuration of a network device (402A-402C, 406A) by means of a portable configurator (406B), wherein the network device has at least two outputs (provided by the lambs) connected to a respective output device (LED sets, ¶0072), wherein each output device has a characteristic output signal (colors or spectral profile), the method comprising: a) initiating communication (Bowers et al.’s step 405 teaches that the LEDs receive command to start calibration from external device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use Weaver 406B to start the process in its figure 7 for the purpose of ensuring optimum performance) between the network device and the portable configurator; b) activating at least one of the output devices with respective output of the network device (by providing driving current to the lamp in Weaver’s step 702); c) detecting each characteristic output signal (monitoring spectral profile) for each activation of the output devices (Weaver’s steps 704-706); d) transmitting information related to the detected output signal from the portable configurator to the network device (Weaver’s step 708); and e) storing the detected characteristic output signals in a memory to map different characteristic output signals (step 710: updating the lamps color space map; step 712: updating the color mixing plan) to respective outputs connected to different output devices (step 714 teaches that “the tunable light module can receive the updated color mixing plan back from the cloud server”. ¶0078 teaches that “[o]ne or more of the functionalities of the wired controller 406A or the wireless controller 406B can be assisted by the light control service, including … storage of light adjustment history, storage of lamp module groups, storage of user preference of light settings, storage of conditional rules associated with light settings”. Bowers et al.’s step 435 also teaches that the adjustments of each LED string are stored. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to storing the detected output signals mapping (updated color space map) to respective output of the network device for the purpose of ensure precise illumination. See further step 282 in figure 2B and step 512 in figure 5).
As to claim 2, the modified Weaver’s figures show the step of registering (receiving signals after step 708) the detected characteristic output signal in the portable configurator.
As to claim 3, the modified Weaver’s figures show the step of receiving information about the characteristic output signals at the portable configurator from the network device (step 714).
As to claim 4, the modified Weaver’s figures show the step of transmitting the stored detected characteristic output signals mapping to respective output to a network controller from the network device after step 714 (¶0072 teaches that “[t]he configurable lamp system 400 is able to produce a target light characteristic (e.g., CCT, hue, saturation, brightness, or any combination thereof) in response to receiving a light tuning command utilizing a color mixing plan”, further see Bower et al.’s ¶0084 and US 20110109445 which incorporated by Bowers et al.).
Claims 5-8 recite similar limitations in claims above. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
As to claim 9, Weaver’s figures disclose that the network device comprises at least one driver (318 in figure 3 that drives the LED sets of lamps) with the at least two outputs; and wherein the at least one driver is connected to a communication bus for communication with the communication circuit (306 in figure 3 or 406 in figure 4).
As to claims 10 and 11, analogue bus and a serial bus are well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select analog or serial bus for the communication bus for the purpose of ensuring optimum performance (see Weaver’s ¶0057).
As to claim 12, Weaver’s figures show that the at least one driver is a driver for a luminaire; and wherein the output devices are light sources of the luminaire (inherent).
As to claim 13, Weaver’s figures show that the light sources of the luminaire are LED devices (inherent).
As to claim 14, Weaver’s figures show that the characteristic output signal from the luminaire is light with different color for each LED device (¶0072).
As to claim 15, Bower et al.’s ¶0143 teaches that the aspect of invention is being embodied in a computer-readable medium. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to embody Weaver’s invention in a computer-readable storage medium storing computer program instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the claimed method for the purpose of saving cost and providing more precise calibration.
As to claim 16, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to implement computer program instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform a claimed method for the purpose of ensuring precise performance.
Conclusion
/QUAN TRA/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2843