Claim Status
Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 16 and 18 – 21 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 7, 10 – 11, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al (Prophylactic effect of IL-10 gene transfer on induced autoimmune dacryoadenitis. Invest Ophthalmol Vis Sci. 2004 May;45(5):1375-81; hereinafter Zhu).
Regarding claims 1 – 4, 6 – 7, 10 – 11, 18 and 20, Zhu discloses a method for modulating tear film composition, treating a corneal defect, and improving corneal reinnervation, in which an adenoviral (p. 1376, Vectors) vector carrying the Epstein-Barr viral IL-10 (vIL-10) gene (cDNA subcloned into the pACCMV vector) is administered into the lacrimal gland (p. 1375, Methods) of a subject in need thereof. Zhu further discloses that the presence of vIL-10 partially suppressed the appearance of Sjögren-syndrome-like features of: reduced tear production, accelerated tear breakup, ocular surface disease, and immunopathologic response (p. 1375, Conclusions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Pena et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0216857 A1; cited on IDS, hereinafter Pena), and Wang (Lipid Nanoparticles for Ocular Gene Delivery. Journal of Functional Biomaterials. 2015; 6(2):379-394; cited on IDS, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claims 8, 9 and 14, Zhu teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except the use of messenger ribonucleic acid (mRNA) for gene delivery. However, Pena teaches that mRNA (para. [0004]) can be administered to the lacrimal gland via vesicle bodies in order to overcome the blood-retinal barrier. Regarding claim 14, Wang (p. 386, Section 8) discloses a lipid nanoparticle-mediated method for the delivery of genes to the eye. Lipid nanoparticles can also be considered as a transfection reagent.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the mRNA of Pena, the transfection reagent of Wang with Zhu’s method for modulating tear film composition. The administration of a transfection reagent with the mRNA can serve several purposes such as: protection, cellular uptake facilitation, and targeting specific cell types.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Lai et al. (Aquaporin gene therapy corrects Sjögren's syndrome phenotype in mice. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2016 May 17;113(20):5694-9. doi: 10.1073/pnas.1601992113; hereinafter Lai) and Rocha (Transduction, Tropism, and Biodistribution, Investigative Opthalmology & Visual Science, vol. 52, no. 13, 2011; cited on IDS, hereinafter Rocha).
Regarding claim 12, Zhu teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except an AAV vector. However, Lai discloses an AAV2-Aquaporin vector for correcting Sjögren’s syndrome (Abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Rocha suggests that the AAV2/5 and AAV2/9 (p. 9568, Vector Preparation; AAV serotype 2 Rep, AAV Cap genes correspond to the strains) vector may be best suited for lacrimal gland therapy (p. 9567, Results; p. 9571, last paragraph).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the viral vector (AAV) and gene combination of Lai, with the AAV2/5 vector of Rocha to incorporate these elements into Zhu’s method for modulating tear film composition. Doing so would add a different embodiment for the delivery of genes to the eye and allow for the best suited vector to be utilized for the delivery, according to Rocha.
Claims 15 – 16, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Carlson et al. (Redefining the Therapeutic Approach to Address Opthalmic Diseases, 2021-07-15; cited on IDS, hereinafter Carlson)
Regarding claims 15 – 16, 19 and 21, Zhu does not explicitly disclose NGF as a protein of interest. However, Carlson discloses a method to treat diseases of the ocular surface and the anterior chamber. The treatment comprises administering an AAV harboring a nucleic acid encoding NGF into the lacrimal gland. The injection of the AAV results in tear film modulation (slides 58 – 73).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adopt the method of Carlson for using NGF as a method for modulating tear film composition, treating corneal defects, and improving corneal wound healing to incorporate that into Zhu’s method for modulating tear film composition. Doing so would be advantageous for treating ocular disorders/diseases, as NGF is implicated in epithelial proliferation, immune responses, tear secretion, and angiogenesis.
Conclusion
/WALTER JACKSON III/Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638