DETAILED ACTION
The instant first office action is in response to communication filed on 07/24/2024.
Claims 22-41 are pending of which claims 22, 34 and 38 are the base independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/24/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22-29, 32-34 and 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dou et al (US 2024/0206012).
Regarding claim 22, Dou’012 discloses an apparatus in a wireless communication network (see fig.5A-B, which shows first terminal as apparatus), the apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry configured to perform operations(see fig.6, processing unit 620) comprising: instructing communication circuitry to receive, from the wireless communication network, user equipment (UE) route selection policy (URSP) rules for traffic of a personal Internet-of-things network (PIN)(see para.0493, which discusses the SMF sends a PIN URSP to the first terminal device, see table 4), the URSP rules comprising an identifier of the PIN (PIN ID)(see para.0493, which discusses a PIN descriptor is added compared with a URSP in a procedure in which no PIN creation is involved. An App descriptor and the PIN descriptor are used to determine a PDU parameter, see also para.0494, which discusses A group descriptor (or the PIN descriptor) is added to the URSP, see table 4, which shows PIN descriptor with PIN ID, thus comprising PIN ID);
instructing the communication circuitry to receive PIN traffic from at least one PIN device(see para.0488, which discusses the first session is used by the first terminal device to communicate with a second terminal device in the first PIN, and the route selection parameter includes at least one of a network slice, a service continuity mode, a data network name, a session type, and an access type, see para.0291, see table.4); and
determining, based on the URSP rules, (see para.0493, which discusses the SMF sends a PIN URSP to the first terminal device, see table 4) a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session for the PIN traffic(see para.0493, which discusses an App descriptor and the PIN descriptor are used to determine a PDU parameter, see para.0495, see table 1, thus determine PDU session).
Regarding claim 23, Dou’012 discloses wherein determining, based on the URSP rules, a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session for the PIN traffic comprises: evaluating the URSP rules(see table 4, which shows rules in the table to determine an order an URSP rule is enforced in UE); and based on the evaluation(see table 4, which shows rules in the table to determine an order an URSP rule is enforced in UE), instructing the communication circuitry to transmit a PDU session establishment request to the wireless communication network(see fig.5A, which discusses first terminal device transmit PIN establishment request message to the wireless network, see abs, which discusses sends, to a first network device, a first message requesting to establish a first session, …the first message includes the first parameter and a session establishment request message, see para.0289, which discusses session establishment request message (for example, a PDU session establishment request)).
Regarding claim 24, Dou’012 discloses the operations further comprising: based on the evaluation(see table 4, which shows rules in the table to determine an order an URSP rule is enforced in UE), selecting a Data Network Name (DNN) and a serving network slice selection assistant information (S-NSSAI) combination for the PDU session(see para.0495, which discusses The PIN rule includes parameters such as a DNN and a slice that are used to establish a PDU session for PIN communication, see para.0432, which discusses the information for inter-group communication of the first PIN includes information such as a DNN, S-NSSAI, and a session type (for example, a PDU type) for inter-group communication of the first PIN, see table 3).
Regarding claim 25, Dou’012 discloses wherein the PDU session is established to a specific DNN and associated with a network slice identified by the S-NSSAI(see para.0495, which discusses The PIN rule includes parameters such as a DNN and a slice that are used to establish a PDU session for PIN communication, see para.0432, which discusses the information for inter-group communication of the first PIN includes information such as a DNN, S-NSSAI, and a session type (for example, a PDU type) for inter-group communication of the first PIN, see table 3).
Regarding claim 26, Dou’012 discloses the operations further comprising: instructing the communication circuitry to receive a PDU session establishment acceptance from the wireless communication network(see para.0511, which discusses receive a second message from the first network device, where the second message indicates to accept a request for establishing the first session, see fig.4 & see para.0352); and in response to receiving the PDU session establishment acceptance(see para.0511, which discusses receive a second message from the first network device, where the second message indicates to accept a request for establishing the first session, see fig.4 & see para.0352), associating the PIN with the PDU session(see para.0352, which discusses the AMF needs to send the session establishment accept message to the first terminal device, so that the first terminal device learns that establishment of the first session is allowed, thus associating).
Regarding claim 27, Dou’012 discloses wherein determining, based on the URSP rules, a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session for the PIN traffic (see para.0495, which discusses the PIN rule includes parameters such as a DNN and a slice that are used to establish a PDU session for PIN communication, see para.0432, which discusses the information for inter-group communication of the first PIN includes information such as a DNN, S-NSSAI, and a session type (for example, a PDU type) for inter-group communication of the first PIN, see table 3)comprises: selecting an existing PDU session for the PIN traffic(see para.0285, which discusses the first message may alternatively be a newly added or existing message, see para.0295, which discusses the first terminal device initiates a NAS message for establishing a PDU session, where the NAS message carries the PDU session ID, and the PDU session ID identifies the first session, thus selecting existing since the first message is an existing message that including PDU session).
Regarding claim 28, Dou’012 discloses wherein the apparatus is a UE, and wherein the UE is a gateway for the PIN to the wireless communication network(see para.0411, which discusses the function of the first terminal device in the first PIN includes: The first terminal device is used as a gateway device in the first PIN, the first terminal device is used as a management device in the first PIN, and/or the first terminal device is used as a common communication device in the first PIN).
Regarding claim 29, Dou’012 discloses wherein the apparatus is a baseband processor(see para.0186, which discusses another processing device connected to a wireless modem as baseband processor, see fig.6, communication processing unit 620 as baseband processor).
Regarding claim 32, Dou’012 discloses the operations further comprising: routing the PIN traffic on the PDU Session(see para.0041, which discusses data between the first terminal device and the second terminal device is forwarded/routed by using a data network, see para.0295, which discusses data between the first terminal device and the second terminal device is forwarded by using a data network).
Regarding claim 33, Dou’012 discloses wherein the PIN ID is generated by a PIN application function (AF) (see fig.5A, which shows PIN function creates a first pin).
Regarding claim 34, Dou’012 discloses One or more processors configured to perform operations comprising:
receiving, by a Policy Control Function (PCF), a notification(see fig.5, which shows notification message 594, see para.0484) indicating receipt of parameters for a personal Internet-of-things network (PIN)(see para.0485, which discusses the notification message includes the identifier of the first terminal device, the first PIN ID, and the information about the first PIN);
responsively generating, by the PCF and based on the PIN parameters(see fig.5B, 594 & see para.0485, which discusses the notification message includes the identifier of the first terminal device, the first PIN ID, and the information about the first PIN), user equipment (UE) route selection policy (URSP) rules for the PIN(see para.0486, which discusses the PCF determines a second parameter, see para.0487, which discusses he second parameter includes a parameter for describing an application, a parameter for describing the first PIN, and a route selection parameter as URSP rules for determining a first session, see para.0491-0496, table 4), the URSP rules comprising an identifier for the PIN (PIN ID)( (see para.0493, which discusses a PIN descriptor is added compared with a URSP in a procedure in which no PIN creation is involved. An App descriptor and the PIN descriptor are used to determine a PDU parameter, see also para.0494, which discusses A group descriptor (or the PIN descriptor) is added to the URSP, see table 4, which shows PIN descriptor with PIN ID, thus comprising PIN ID); and
provisioning, by the PCF, the URSP rules to a user equipment (UE)(see fig.5B, 596-597, see para.0491, which discusses PCF sends the second parameter to the first terminal device by using the AMF) registered as a gateway for the PIN(see para.0411, which discusses the function of the first terminal device in the first PIN includes: The first terminal device is used as a gateway device in the first PIN, the first terminal device is used as a management device in the first PIN, and/or the first terminal device is used as a common communication device in the first PIN).
Regarding claim 36, Dou’012 discloses the operations further comprising: storing the PIN parameters in a User Data Repository(see para.0206, which discusses The UDR is mainly configured for storage and retrieval of subscription data, policy data, application data, and other types of data, see para.0435, which discusses after obtaining the related parameter of the first PIN, the UDM may obtain subscription information of the first terminal device from a UDR, and determine whether the first PIN can be synchronously established for the first terminal device, see para.0443-0445, the UDR receives the message indicating to synchronously create the first PIN from the UDM, the message indicating to synchronously create the first PIN includes the identifier of the first terminal device, an internal identifier, and the information about the first PIN).
Regarding claim 37, Dou’012 discloses wherein the PIN parameters comprises at least one of route selection information or(due to or alternative language, only one of them is being considered) location restrictions(see para.0011, which discusses the first terminal device receives a second parameter from the first network device, where the second parameter includes a parameter for describing an application, a parameter for describing the first communication group, and a route selection parameter for determining the first session).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dou et al (US 2024/0206012) and further in view of Shan et al (US 2019/0174449).
Regarding claim 30, Dou’012 discloses wherein the wireless communication network is a 5th Generation (5G) network(see fig.1 & para.0172, which discusses 5G system).
As discussed above, although Dou’012 discloses After the first session is established, the SMF may register related information of the first session with the UDM, and the SMF sends a tenth message to the UDM. The tenth message is used to register the related information of the first session with the UDM (see para.0354), Dou’012 does not explicitly show the use of “generating a registration request to register with the 5G network; and instructing communication circuitry to transmit the registration request to the 5G network” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “generating a registration request to register with the 5G network; and instructing communication circuitry to transmit the registration request to the 5G network” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Shan’449.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Shan’449 teaches the use of generating a registration request to register with the 5G network(see fig.10, 1005-1010 & see para.0249, which discusses baseband circuitry 610 of the UE 101 generates a registration request message); and instructing communication circuitry to transmit the registration request to the 5G network(see fig.10 & see para.0249, which discusses . At operation 1010, the baseband circuitry 610 of the UE 101 controls transmission of the registration request message, such as by controlling radiofrequency (RF) circuitry (e.g., RFEM 615) to transmit the RRC message including the NAS registration request message. The registration request message may be sent to a RAN node 111, and the RAN node 111 may select an appropriate AMF 321 using an AMF selection function, and then provide the NAS registration request message to the selected AMF 321. At operation 1015, the UE 101 (e.g., the RF circuitry or RFEM 615 of the UE 101) receives a registration accept message from the AMF 321, where the registration accept message includes or indicates LADN information. The LADN information may indicate one or more LADN DNN(s) to which the UE 101 is subscribed. After operation 1015, process 1000 may end or repeat as necessary).
In view of the above, having the system of Dou’012 and then given the well-established teaching of Shan’449, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Dou’012 to include “generating a registration request to register with the 5G network; and instructing communication circuitry to transmit the registration request to the 5G network” as taught by Shan’449, since Shan’449 stated in para.0003+ that such a modification would provide an efficient system, where the AMF knows whether the UE is authorized to use a Local Area Data Network (LADN) feature and knows the particular LADN Data Network Name (DNN) that will be used by the UE. Consequently, the AMF knows which of those configured LADN Information in the Registration Area can be provided to the UE during the registration procedure
Regarding claim 31, As discussed above, although Dou’012 discloses After the first session is established, the SMF may register related information of the first session with the UDM, and the SMF sends a tenth message to the UDM. The tenth message is used to register the related information of the first session with the UDM (see para.0354), Dou’012 does not explicitly show the use of “the registration request comprises a policy container” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “the registration request comprises a policy container” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Shan’449.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Shan’449 teaches the use of the registration request comprises a policy container(see para.0091, which discusses the Registration Request includes or indicates a Registration type; SUCI, 5G-GUTI, or PEI; last visited TAI (if available); security parameters; requested NSSAI; a mapping of requested NSSAI; default configured NSSAI indication; UE Radio Capability Update; UE MM core network capability; PDU session status; “List Of PDU Sessions To Be Activated”; follow-on request, MICO mode preference, requested DRX parameters, LADN DNN(s) or Indicator of Requesting LADN Information; and a UE policy container).
In view of the above, having the system of Dou’012 and then given the well-established teaching of Shan’449, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Dou’012 to include “the registration request comprises a policy container” as taught by Shan’449, since Shan’449 stated in para.0003+ that such a modification would provide an efficient system, where the AMF knows whether the UE is authorized to use a Local Area Data Network (LADN) feature and knows the particular LADN Data Network Name (DNN) that will be used by the UE. Consequently, the AMF knows which of those configured LADN Information in the Registration Area can be provided to the UE during the registration procedure
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dou et al (US 2024/0206012) and further in view of Wang (WO 2023143420 A1).
Regarding claim 35, Dou’012 discloses the operations further comprising: receiving, (via a Network Exposure Function (NEF)) and from a PIN application function (AF)(see fig.5A, which shows PIN Application Function send PIN ID 560 to AMF), the PIN parameters for the PIN including the PIN ID(see fig.5A, which shows AMF forward first PIN ID to first terminal device, see fig.4A, which shows terminal device to receive second parameter including the route selection parameter for determining the first session from PIN function, see para.011, which discusses the first terminal device receives a second parameter from the first network device, where the second parameter includes a parameter for describing an application, a parameter for describing the first communication group, and a route selection parameter for determining the first session, see para.0012, thus parameters).
As discussed above, although Dou’012 discloses receiving, (via a Network Exposure Function (NEF)) and from a PIN application function (AF)(see fig.5A, which shows PIN Application Function send PIN ID 560 to AMF), Dou’012 does not explicitly show the use of “via a Network Exposure Function (NEF)” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “via a Network Exposure Function (NEF)” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Shan’449.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Shan’449 teaches the use of via a Network Exposure Function (NEF) (see fig.9, which shows transmit via NEF to UDR 4b, see para.0201, which discusses AF or PINMF sends a reply message to UDR. The reply message indicates that the first information from the reachable PIN device has been received, see para.0197, which discusses the first information includes the identifier of the unreachable PIN device, such as SUCI, SUPI, IMSI,5G-GUTI, 5G-S-TMSI, IP address, PIN device ID, and/or MAC address).
In view of the above, having the system of Dou’012 and then given the well-established teaching of Shan’449, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Dou’012 to include “via a Network Exposure Function (NEF)” as taught by Shan’449, since Shan’449 stated in para.0003+ that such a modification would provide an efficient system, where the AMF knows whether the UE is authorized to use a Local Area Data Network (LADN) feature and knows the particular LADN Data Network Name (DNN) that will be used by the UE. Consequently, the AMF knows which of those configured LADN Information in the Registration Area can be provided to the UE during the registration procedure.
Claim(s) 38-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan et al (US 2019/0174449) and further in view of Dou et al (US 2024/0206012).
Regarding claim 38, Shan’449 discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising: one or more processors(see fig.5 & see para.0149, which discusses The processors (or cores) of the application circuitry 505 may be coupled with or may include memory/storage element); and memory storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors, cause the UE to perform operations(see fig.5 & see para.0149, which discusses the processors (or cores) of the application circuitry 505 may be coupled with or may include memory/storage elements and may be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory/storage to enable various applications or operating systems to run on the system 500) comprising: generating a registration request comprising a capability of the UE(see fig.10, 1005 & see para.0249, which discusses the baseband circuitry 610 of the UE 101 generates a registration request message to include either the LADN DNN(s) configured for the UE 101 or an indication of requesting LADN information… the registration request message may be a NAS message, see para.0003& see para.0102, which discusses The UE provides the UE Radio Capability Update indication in the registration request message));
sending the registration request to the wireless communication network (see fig10, 1010 & see para.0249, which discusses the baseband circuitry 610 of the UE 101 controls transmission of the registration request message, such as by controlling radiofrequency (RF) circuitry (e.g., RFEM 615) to transmit the RRC message including the NAS registration request message. The registration request message may be sent to a RAN node 111 as wireless network); and
receiving, from the wireless communication network, a registration accept message(see fig.10, which shows 1015 & see para.0249, which discusses At operation 1015, the UE 101 (e.g., the RF circuitry or RFEM 615 of the UE 101) receives a registration accept message).
As discussed above, although Shan’449 discloses generating a registration request comprising a capability of the UE(see fig.10, 1005 & see para.0249, which discusses the baseband circuitry 610 of the UE 101 generates a registration request message to include either the LADN DNN(s) configured for the UE 101 or an indication of requesting LADN information… the registration request message may be a NAS message, see para.0003& see para.0102, which discusses The UE provides the UE Radio Capability Update indication in the registration request message), Shan’449 does not explicitly show the use of “to serve as a gateway for a personal Internet-of-things network (PIN) to a wireless communication network… a PIN gateway authorization” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “to serve as a gateway for a personal Internet-of-things network (PIN) to a wireless communication network… a PIN gateway authorization” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Dou’012.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Dou’012 teaches the use of to serve as a gateway for a personal Internet-of-things network (PIN) to a wireless communication network(see fig.5A, which shows first terminal device send third NAS message as registration, see para.0407, which discusses the NAS message includes the PIN establishment request message (for example, a PIN creation request), see para.0423, which discusses after receiving the PIN establishment request message, see para.0411-0412, which discusses the first terminal device is used as a gateway device in the first PIN, the first terminal device is used as a management device in the first PIN, and/or the first terminal device is used as a common communication device in the first PIN… the smart device gateway may be referred to as a smart device with a gateway capability (PIN element with gateway capability))… a PIN gateway authorization(see fig.5A-B, see para.0423, which discusses after receiving the PIN establishment request message, the PIN function may accept a request of the first terminal device for creating the first PIN, create the first PIN, and allocate a first PIN ID for identifying the first PIN to the first PIN, see para.0191, which discusses The (R)AN is used to provide a network access function for authorized user equipment in a specific area, see para.0190, which discusses the user equipment may be used as a base station, see para.0412, The smart device gateway may be referred to as a smart device with a gateway capability (PIN element with gateway capability).
In view of the above, having the system of Shan’449 and then given the well-established teaching of Dou’012, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of to include “to serve as a gateway for a personal Internet-of-things network (PIN) to a wireless communication network… a PIN gateway authorization” as taught by Shan’449, since Dou’012 stated in para.0005+ that such a modification would provide a method for inter-device communication, to optimize inter-device communication and improve user experience.
Regarding claim 39, as discussed above, although Shan’449 discloses generating a registration request (see fig.10, 1005 & see para.0249, which discusses the baseband circuitry 610 of the UE 101 generates a registration request message … the registration request message may be a NAS message, see para.0003& see para.0102, which discusses The UE provides the UE Radio Capability Update indication in the registration request message), Shan’449 does not explicitly show the use of “the registration request further comprises at least one of: a PIN identifier, a PIN class, a PIN traffic scope providing a location of PIN traffic, a PIN traffic class, or a PIN size” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “the registration request further comprises at least one of: a PIN identifier, a PIN class, a PIN traffic scope providing a location of PIN traffic, a PIN traffic class, or a PIN size” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Dou’012.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Dou’012 teaches the use of the registration request further comprises at least one(due to at least one language, only of them is being considered) of: a PIN identifier, a PIN class, a PIN traffic scope providing a location of PIN traffic, a PIN traffic class, or a PIN size (see fig.5A, which shows first terminal device send third NAS message as registration request, see para.0407, which discusses the NAS message includes the PIN establishment request message (for example, a PIN creation request), see para.0416-0417, which discusses that the third NAS message further includes an identifier of the first terminal device may be that the identifier of the first terminal device is located as location outside the PIN establishment request message… the third NAS message includes a temporary identifier as ID or a permanent identifier or another external identifier of the first terminal device.).
In view of the above, having the system of Shan’449 and then given the well-established teaching of Dou’012, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of to include “the registration request further comprises at least one of: a PIN identifier, a PIN class, a PIN traffic scope providing a location of PIN traffic, a PIN traffic class, or a PIN size” as taught by Shan’449, since Dou’012 stated in para.0005+ that such a modification would provide a method for inter-device communication, to optimize inter-device communication and improve user experience.
Regarding claim 40, as discussed above, although Shan’449 discloses generating a registration request (see fig.10, 1005 & see para.0249, which discusses the baseband circuitry 610 of the UE 101 generates a registration request message … the registration request message may be a NAS message, see para.0003& see para.0102, which discusses The UE provides the UE Radio Capability Update indication in the registration request message), Shan’449 does not explicitly show the use of “receiving, from the wireless communication network, one or more sets of UE route selection policy (URSP) rules for PIN traffic, each the set of URSP rules comprising a PIN identifier (PIN ID) of the PIN” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “receiving, from the wireless communication network, one or more sets of UE route selection policy (URSP) rules for PIN traffic, each the set of URSP rules comprising a PIN identifier (PIN ID) of the PIN” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Dou’012.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Dou’012 teaches the use of receiving, from the wireless communication network, one or (due to or alternative language, only one of them is being considered) more sets of UE route selection policy (URSP) rules for PIN traffic(see fig.5b, which shows the second parameter including the route selection as URSP rules, see table 4, see para.0487, see para.0493-04949, which discusses The SMF sends a PIN URSP to the first terminal device by using the AMF, where the PIN URSP is an enhanced URSP, and a PIN descriptor is added compared with a URSP in a procedure in which no PIN creation is involved. An App descriptor and the PIN descriptor are used to determine a PDU parameter.), each the set of URSP rules comprising a PIN identifier (PIN ID) of the PIN (see para.0493-0494, which discusses PIN descriptor is added compared with a URSP in a procedure in which no PIN creation is involve…A group descriptor (or the PIN descriptor) is added to the URSP. If the URSP includes the group descriptor, the application descriptor (the foregoing parameter for describing the application) and the group descriptor (the foregoing parameter for describing the first PIN) need to be matched at the same time, see table 4, which shows pin descriptor includes PIN IP).
In view of the above, having the system of Shan’449 and then given the well-established teaching of Dou’012, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of to include “receiving, from the wireless communication network, one or more sets of UE route selection policy (URSP) rules for PIN traffic, each the set of URSP rules comprising a PIN identifier (PIN ID) of the PIN” as taught by Shan’449, since Dou’012 stated in para.0005+ that such a modification would provide a method for inter-device communication, to optimize inter-device communication and improve user experience.
Regarding claim 41, as discussed above, although Shan’449 discloses generating a registration request (see fig.10, 1005 & see para.0249, which discusses the baseband circuitry 610 of the UE 101 generates a registration request message … the registration request message may be a NAS message, see para.0003& see para.0102, which discusses The UE provides the UE Radio Capability Update indication in the registration request message), Shan’449 does not explicitly show the use of “receiving application traffic from at least one other device in the PIN; determining a first set of URSP rules for the application traffic; and based on the first set of URSP rules, selecting a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session for the application traffic” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “receiving application traffic from at least one other device in the PIN; determining a first set of URSP rules for the application traffic; and based on the first set of URSP rules, selecting a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session for the application traffic” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Dou’012.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Dou’012 teaches the use of receiving application traffic from at least one other device in the PIN(see para.0041, which discusses data between the first terminal device and the second terminal device is transmitted by using a fifth network device; data between the first terminal device and the second terminal device is transmitted by using two fifth network devices, where the data is transmitted between the two fifth network devices through a communication interface; or data between the first terminal device and the second terminal device is forwarded by using a data network, see para.0117); determining a first set of URSP rules for the application traffic(see table 4, which shows rules related to traffic descriptor, application descriptor, IP descriptor, group descriptor, Pin descriptor and list of route selection descriptors); and based on the first set of URSP rules(see table 4, which shows rules related to traffic descriptor, application descriptor, IP descriptor, group descriptor, Pin descriptor and list of route selection descriptors), selecting a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session for the application traffic(see table 1 & see para.0316, which discusses Data of the UE #1 is sent by using a UPF #1, and an identifier of the UPF #1 is the UPF ID #1. A communication address of the UE #2 in the PIN is the IP address #2, and an identifier of an established PDU session #2 of the UE #2 is the UE2 PDU session ID. The PDU session #2 is established by an SMF #2, and an identifier of the SMF #2 is the SMF ID #2. Data of the UE #2 is sent by using a UPF #2, and an identifier of the UPF #2 is the UPF ID #2. For example, the SMF #1 and the SMF #2 may be a same SMF, and the UPF #1 and the UPF #2 may be a same UPF).
In view of the above, having the system of Shan’449 and then given the well-established teaching of Dou’012, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of to include “receiving application traffic from at least one other device in the PIN; determining a first set of URSP rules for the application traffic; and based on the first set of URSP rules, selecting a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session for the application traffic” as taught by Shan’449, since Dou’012 stated in para.0005+ that such a modification would provide a method for inter-device communication, to optimize inter-device communication and improve user experience.
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/VINNCELAS LOUIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474