DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 filed on 07/24/2024 have been examined.
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 03/05/2026. Claims 1 and 7-10 have been amended. Claim 6 has been canceled. Claims 11-18 are new claims added to the claim set. Claims 1-5 and 7-18 are currently pending and addressed below.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s accompanying amendments and arguments, on pages 8-12 of the Applicant Arguments/Remarks (hereinafter referred to as the “Remarks”), filed 03/05/2026, with respect to the rejection of independent claims 1, 9, and 10, and their corresponding dependent claims, under 35 U.S.C. 101 stating “… Without any admissions and solely in an effort to expedite prosecution of the present application, amended claim 1 recites … use map information to localize a real location of a section of the infrastructure based on the degree of similarity, wherein the map information indicates fiber layout of the optical fiber cable that corresponds to a physical position at each of sections of the infrastructure… This limitation requires using fiber layout map information that correlates optical fiber cable positions to physical infrastructure locations, a concrete, real-world application that goes beyond abstract data processing… These amendments reflect an improvement to infrastructure monitoring technology. As explained in paragraph [0053] of the specification, the length of the optical fiber cable laid along the road is longer than the real physical length of the road," and the "sensing application that utilizes the embedded optical fiber cable may require calibration of sensing points with a target object in order to ensure that the sensing point on the optical fiber cable is near to the target object. The claimed invention addresses this technical problem by using fiber layout map information to localize real locations of infrastructure sections despite the optical fiber cable being longer than the physical road length. This provides a concrete technological improvement to distributed fiber optic sensing systems for infrastructure monitoring. Under MPEP @ 2106.04(d), limitations that integrate a judicial exception into a practical application include "[a]pplying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment… The amended claims do precisely this, they apply the frequency density analysis and similarity estimation in a meaningful way by using fiber layout map information to localize real physical locations on infrastructure. This is not merely linking an abstract idea to a technological environment, but rather using the analysis to achieve a concrete result: accurate localization of infrastructure sections using distributed fiber optic sensing technology… independent claim 1. As a result, it is clear claim 1 provides an inventive concept, and does not simply append well-understood, routine or conventional activities. Accordingly, independent claim 1 recites significantly more than any allegedly abstract idea… independent claims 9 and 10 recite features similar to those discussed above with respect to independent claim 1… withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested…” have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, The Examiner has withdrawn the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Applicant’s accompanying amendments and arguments, on pages 12-15 of the Applicant Remarks, filed 03/05/2026, with respect to the rejection of independent claims 1, 9, and 10, and their corresponding dependent claims, under 35 U.S.C. 103 stating “… Applicant respectfully submits the cited references do not teach or suggest at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: obtain time-distance information of an oscillation signal for each distributed sensing portion of an optical fiber cable, while the oscillation signal is acquired by the plurality of distributed sensing portions for sensing an infrastructure and is induced by traffic of a moving object, wherein the optical fiber cable is attached to the infrastructure; ... and use map information to localize a real location of a section of the infrastructure based on the degree of similarity, wherein the map information indicates fiber layout of the optical fiber cable that corresponds to a physical position at each of sections of the infrastructure as claimed… As a result, independent claim 1 is patentable over the cited references… To the extent independent claims 9 and 10 recite features similar to those discussed above with respect to independent claim 1, Applicant respectfully submits independent claims 9 and 10 are patentable over the cited references for at least reasons similar to those discussed above with respect to independent claim 1…” have been considered but are moot due to the amendments and added limitations provided above. Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nagrodsky et al. US 20180156757 A1 (“Nagrodsky”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augst US 20180111623 A1 (“Augst”) in view of Eisenmann et al. US 20220212678 A1 (“Eisenmann”) and Nagrodsky et al. US 20180156757 A1 (“Nagrodsky”).
For claim 1, Augst discloses A sensing system (See at least [0007] of Augst – “…The invention is characterized … a corresponding apparatus for processing route profile data … depending on data that have been collected by means of a given sensor apparatus of a vehicle…”) comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions (See at least [0106] of Augst – “…FIG. 2 shows a flowchart of a program to process data of a route profile for the first vehicle 20. The program can, for example, be run using the first vehicle control apparatus SV1, that in particular has at least one processing device…”); and
at least one processor (See at least [0106] of Augst – “…The program can, for example, be run using the first vehicle control apparatus SV1, that in particular has at least one processing device…”) configured to execute the instructions to:
obtain time-distance information of an oscillation signal for a sensing portion, while the oscillation signal is acquired by a sensing portion for sensing an infrastructure and is induced by traffic of a moving object (See at least [0089] – “… the apparatus has a sensor system and is designed to determine the first set of route profile data for the predetermined route section. This can be a specially set up sensor system of the vehicle …to determine … time-related profile of one or a plurality of parameters of one or a plurality of local road characteristics, more particularly with relation to movement, for example depending on a route section being driven on with the vehicle…”, [0124] – “… FIG. 3 shows an exemplary first profile Data_1 of the first set of route profile data… in a time-discreet manner and … with a limited amplitude …”, and [0047]-[0048] of Augst – “… the first set of route profile data … determined depending on a course of route relief detected using means of the vehicle… more particularly one or a plurality of route inclinations … within the route section… the route relief is preferably understood as a variable portion of a vehicle height within a route section. Thereby, it has to do with height differences of preferably less than +/−5 cm or +/−10 cm. Thereby, the height differences which are, for example, represented by a location dependent course, can have a distance of less than +/−10 cm or +/−50 cm to each other…”);
estimate frequency densities of the oscillation signal sensed by the sensing portion based on the time- distance information (See at least [0071] of Augst – “… The degree of similarity … determined between the related spectral values … for example, a distribution of various frequencies, for example, with reference to a vibration or having a spatial or time-related reference. Hereby, one or a plurality of spectral distributions or a spectral distribution function can be determined from the first set of route profile data and a degree of similarity can be determined using the coded second set of route profile data...”);
estimate a degree of similarity between a pair of the sensing portions based on the estimated frequency densities (See at least [0116] of Augst – “… a degree of similarity between one or a plurality of profiles of at least one physical characteristic and/or spectral distribution function of at least once physical characteristic represented in the first set of route profile data and the second set of route profile data is determined...”); and
localize a section of the infrastructure based on the degree of similarity (See at least [0120] of Augst – “… depending on the degree of similarity, an assignment of the second set of route profile data is determined and/or to a time-dependent mapping function of the influences of the route on the vehicle…”).
Augst fails to specifically disclose obtain time-distance information of an oscillation signal for each distributed sensing portion, while the oscillation signal is acquired by the plurality of distributed sensing portions;
estimate frequency densities of the oscillation signal sensed by the sensing portions based on the time- distance information.
However, Eisenmann, in the same field of endeavor teaches obtain time-distance information of an oscillation signal for each distributed sensing portion, while the oscillation signal is acquired by the plurality of distributed sensing portions (See at least [0094] of Eisenmann – “… The road profiles may be obtained by measuring vertical motion of a portion of a vehicle using one or more motion sensors attached to the vehicle as the vehicle traverses the road segment…”);
estimate frequency densities of the oscillation signal sensed by the sensing portions based on the time- distance information (See at least [0112] of Eisenmann – “…measured road profiles may have a wider valid frequency range than an individual measured road profile. According to such an embodiment, sensors of varying quality and frequency may be merged into a merged profile without distorting the merged road profile, as the most useable data from each measure profile may be combined…”). Thus, Augst discloses a system for detecting road data as a vehicle traverses a route and generating a road profile to identify physical characteristics of the route, while Eisenmann teaches a system for determining a road profile using a plurality of sensors when vehicles traverse a road segment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensing system, sensing method, and non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program as disclosed in Augst to include the feature of the oscillation signal is acquired by the plurality of distributed sensing portions as taught by Eisenmann, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to obtain road profiles as specified in at least [0094] of Eisenmann.
Furthermore, Augst also fails to specifically disclose obtain time-distance information of an oscillation signal for each distributed sensing portion of an optical fiber cable, while the oscillation signal is acquired by the plurality of distributed sensing portions for sensing an infrastructure and is induced by traffic of a moving object, wherein the optical fiber cable is attached to the infrastructure; and
use map information to localize a real location of a section of the infrastructure based on the degree of similarity, wherein the map information indicates fiber layout of the optical fiber cable that corresponds to a physical position at each of sections of the infrastructure.
However, Nagrodsky, in the same field of endeavor teaches obtain time-distance information of an oscillation signal for each distributed sensing portion of an optical fiber cable, while the oscillation signal is acquired by the plurality of distributed sensing portions for sensing an infrastructure and is induced by traffic of a moving object, wherein the optical fiber cable is attached to the infrastructure (See at least [0011] – “… the invention concerns a sensing system includes one or more sensors and one or more sensing processors. The one or more sensors are configured to examine light traveling through a fiber optic cable extending along and beneath a route traveled by vehicles. The one or more sensing processors are configured to monitor changes in baseline vibrations introduced into the fiber optic cable at designated times, and to determine information about environmental conditions outside of the fiber optic cable based at least in part on the changes in the baseline vibrations that are monitored…” and [0028] of Nagrodsky – “… the vibration monitoring systems and methods can detect vibrations caused by moving objects …can include peaks, waveforms, frequencies, amplitudes, or the like, in a frequency spectrum of the vibrations… This information can be used to identify the moving object, determine a location of the moving object, determine a speed of the object, identify a portion of a route being traveled on by the object that may be damaged…”); and
use map information to localize a real location of a section of the infrastructure based on the degree of similarity, wherein the map information indicates fiber layout of the optical fiber cable that corresponds to a physical position at each of sections of the infrastructure (See at least [0032]-[0034] – “sensing device 106 is disposed beneath a surface 108 of the ground (e.g., the surface of the earth or another surface)… is a fiber optic cable that communicates information between two or more locations by internally refracting light within the device 106. Alternatively, the sensing device 106 may be another type of cable that can be used to detect vibrations in the ground. The sensing system 104 includes several sensors 110 (e.g., sensors 110A-C) operably connected with the sensing device 106 at different locations… sensing processor 112 examines the data received from the sensors 110 to identify the vibrations … Based on these vibrations and/or changes in the vibrations, the sensing processor 112 can determine information about … the object of interest on the surface 108…”, [0038] – “…the signatures or waveforms may be defined as designated peaks in the vibrations of interest 300 that are located at designated frequencies and/or within a designated range of frequencies. If the vibrations of interest 300 have peaks in the designated frequencies and/or designated range of frequencies, then the vibrations of interest 300 may be identified as the object of interest …” and [0028] of Nagrodsky – “… the vibration monitoring systems and methods can detect vibrations caused by moving objects … This information can be used to identify the moving object, determine a location of the moving object, determine a speed of the object, identify a portion of a route being traveled on by the object that may be damaged…”). Thus, Augst discloses a system for detecting road data as a vehicle traverses a route and generating a road profile to identify physical characteristics of the route, while Nagrodsky teaches a system that obtains vibration information using sensors of an optical fiber cable installed underneath a road that is induced by a moving object and analyzes the vibration information to determine if the obtained data represents a signature or waveform indicative of a portion of a route being traveled on by the object that may be damaged.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensing system, sensing method, and non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program as disclosed in Augst to include the feature of obtaining time-distance information of an oscillation signal for each distributed sensing portion of an optical fiber cable as taught by Nagrodsky, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to identify the moving object, determine a location of the moving object, determine a speed of the object, or identify a portion of a route being traveled on by the object that may be damaged as specified in at least [0028] of Nagrodsky.
For claim 2, Augst discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
generate a time-distance matrix of the oscillation signal as the time-distance information by removing a bias component from the oscillation signal and standardizing an amplitude of the oscillation signal (See at least [0034] of Augst – “… In order to determine the degree or a plurality of degrees of similarity, the amplitudes, frequency responses or other parameters of the profiles of physical road characteristics can be changed, more particularly, being standardized or filtered into appropriate value ranges…”).
For claim 3, Augst discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
estimate the frequency densities of the oscillation signal of the sensing portions by applying Fast Fourier Transformation (FFT) to columns of the time-distance matrix (See at least [0069] of Augst – “… The spectral distribution is more particularly determined using a time-discrete Fourier analysis… the determination of the spectral distribution includes the formation of a spectral function, preferably using discrete forms of Fourier analysis, for example, using a quick Fourier transformation (FFT…”).
For claim 5, Augst fails to specifically disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
localize the section corresponding to the sensing portions with a similarity index exceeding a given threshold.
However, Eisenmann, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
localize the section corresponding to the sensing portions with a similarity index exceeding a given threshold (See at least [0124] of Eisenmann – “… The data representing the left wheel 104 and/or the right wheel 106 is said to match a single track of the multiple tracks when the correlation is above a threshold…”). Thus, Augst discloses a system for detecting road data as a vehicle travels traverses a route and generating a road profile to identify physical characteristics of the route based on a degree of similarity between road profiles, while Eisenmann teaches a system for determining a road profile using a plurality of sensors when vehicles traverse a road segment and matching wheel data with a track based on a correlation being above a threshold.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensing system, sensing method, and non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program as disclosed in Augst to include the feature of localize the section corresponding to the sensing portions with a similarity index exceeding a given threshold as taught by Eisenmann, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to match a track from multiple candidate tracks as the vehicle travels along the road segment as specified in at least [0124] of Eisenmann.
For claim 7, Augst discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
use the real location of the section and the frequency densities of the section to analyze structure properties at the section (See at least [0042] of Augst – “… the at least one first local physical road characteristic and/or the at least one second local physical road characteristic represents a profile of a local road height … that have an effect on the vehicle or another vehicle when driving on the route section …”).
For claim 9, Augst discloses a sensing method (See at least [0007] of Augst – “…The invention is characterized … a corresponding apparatus for processing route profile data … depending on data that have been collected by means of a given sensor apparatus of a vehicle…”) comprising:
obtaining time-distance information of an oscillation signal for a sensing portion, while the oscillation signal is acquired by a sensing portion for sensing an infrastructure and is induced by traffic of a moving object (See at least [0089] – “… the apparatus has a sensor system and is designed to determine the first set of route profile data for the predetermined route section. This can be a specially set up sensor system of the vehicle …to determine … time-related profile of one or a plurality of parameters of one or a plurality of local road characteristics, more particularly with relation to movement, for example depending on a route section being driven on with the vehicle…”, [0124] – “… FIG. 3 shows an exemplary first profile Data_1 of the first set of route profile data… in a time-discreet manner and … with a limited amplitude …”, and [0047]-[0048] of Augst – “… the first set of route profile data … determined depending on a course of route relief detected using means of the vehicle… more particularly one or a plurality of route inclinations … within the route section… the route relief is preferably understood as a variable portion of a vehicle height within a route section. Thereby, it has to do with height differences of preferably less than +/−5 cm or +/−10 cm. Thereby, the height differences which are, for example, represented by a location dependent course, can have a distance of less than +/−10 cm or +/−50 cm to each other…”);
estimating frequency densities of the oscillation signal sensed by the sensing portion based on the time-distance information (See at least [0071] of Augst – “… The degree of similarity … determined between the related spectral values … for example, a distribution of various frequencies, for example, with reference to a vibration or having a spatial or time-related reference. Hereby, one or a plurality of spectral distributions or a spectral distribution function can be determined from the first set of route profile data and a degree of similarity can be determined using the coded second set of route profile data...”);
estimating a degree of similarity between a pair of the sensing portions based on the estimated frequency densities (See at least [0116] of Augst – “… a degree of similarity between one or a plurality of profiles of at least one physical characteristic and/or spectral distribution function of at least once physical characteristic represented in the first set of route profile data and the second set of route profile data is determined...”); and
localizing a section of the infrastructure based on the degree of similarity (See at least [0120] of Augst – “… depending on the degree of similarity, an assignment of the second set of route profile data is determined and/or to a time-dependent mapping function of the influences of the route on the vehicle…”).
Augst fails to specifically disclose obtaining time-distance information of an oscillation signal for each distributed sensing portion, while the oscillation signal is acquired by the plurality of distributed sensing portions;
estimating frequency densities of the oscillation signal sensed by sensing portions based on the time-distance information.
However, Eisenmann, in the same field of endeavor teaches obtaining time-distance information of an oscillation signal for each distributed sensing portion, while the oscillation signal is acquired by the plurality of distributed sensing portions (See at least [0094] of Eisenmann – “… The road profiles may be obtained by measuring vertical motion of a portion of a vehicle using one or more motion sensors attached to the vehicle as the vehicle traverses the road segment…”);
estimating frequency densities of the oscillation signal sensed by sensing portions based on the time-distance information (See at least [0112] of Eisenmann – “…measured road profiles may have a wider valid frequency range than an individual measured road profile. According to such an embodiment, sensors of varying quality and frequency may be merged into a merged profile without distorting the merged road profile, as the most useable data from each measure profile may be combined…”). Thus, Augst discloses a system for detecting road data as a vehicle traverses a route and generating a road profile to identify physical characteristics of the route, while Eisenmann teaches a system for determining a road profile using a plurality of sensors when vehicles traverse a road segment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensing system, sensing method, and non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program as disclosed in Augst to include the feature of the oscillation signal is acquired by the plurality of distributed sensing portions as taught by Eisenmann, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to obtain road profiles as specified in at least [0094] of Eisenmann.
Furthermore, Augst also fails to specifically disclose obtaining time-distance information of an oscillation signal for each distributed sensing portion of an optical fiber cable, while the oscillation signal is acquired by the plurality of distributed sensing portions for sensing an infrastructure and is induced by traffic of a moving object, wherein the optical fiber cable is attached to the infrastructure; and
localizing using map information to localize a real location of a section of the infrastructure based on the degree of similarity, wherein the map information indicates fiber layout of the optical fiber cable that corresponds to a physical position at each of sections of the infrastructure.
However, Nagrodsky, in the same field of endeavor teaches obtaining time-distance information of an oscillation signal for each distributed sensing portion of an optical fiber cable, while the oscillation signal is acquired by the plurality of distributed sensing portions for sensing an infrastructure and is induced by traffic of a moving object, wherein the optical fiber cable is attached to the infrastructure (See at least [0011] – “… the invention concerns a sensing system includes one or more sensors and one or more sensing processors. The one or more sensors are configured to examine light traveling through a fiber optic cable extending along and beneath a route traveled by vehicles. The one or more sensing processors are configured to monitor changes in baseline vibrations introduced into the fiber optic cable at designated times, and to determine information about environmental conditions outside of the fiber optic cable based at least in part on the changes in the baseline vibrations that are monitored…” and [0028] of Nagrodsky – “… the vibration monitoring systems and methods can detect vibrations caused by moving objects …can include peaks, waveforms, frequencies, amplitudes, or the like, in a frequency spectrum of the vibrations… This information can be used to identify the moving object, determine a location of the moving object, determine a speed of the object, identify a portion of a route being traveled on by the object that may be damaged…”); and
localizing using map information to localize a real location of a section of the infrastructure based on the degree of similarity, wherein the map information indicates fiber layout of the optical fiber cable that corresponds to a physical position at each of sections of the infrastructure (See at least [0032]-[0034] – “sensing device 106 is disposed beneath a surface 108 of the ground (e.g., the surface of the earth or another surface)… is a fiber optic cable that communicates information between two or more locations by internally refracting light within the device 106. Alternatively, the sensing device 106 may be another type of cable that can be used to detect vibrations in the ground. The sensing system 104 includes several sensors 110 (e.g., sensors 110A-C) operably connected with the sensing device 106 at different locations… sensing processor 112 examines the data received from the sensors 110 to identify the vibrations … Based on these vibrations and/or changes in the vibrations, the sensing processor 112 can determine information about … the object of interest on the surface 108…”, [0038] – “…the signatures or waveforms may be defined as designated peaks in the vibrations of interest 300 that are located at designated frequencies and/or within a designated range of frequencies. If the vibrations of interest 300 have peaks in the designated frequencies and/or designated range of frequencies, then the vibrations of interest 300 may be identified as the object of interest …” and [0028] of Nagrodsky – “… the vibration monitoring systems and methods can detect vibrations caused by moving objects … This information can be used to identify the moving object, determine a location of the moving object, determine a speed of the object, identify a portion of a route being traveled on by the object that may be damaged…”). Thus, Augst discloses a system for detecting road data as a vehicle traverses a route and generating a road profile to identify physical characteristics of the route, while Nagrodsky teaches a system that obtains vibration information using sensors of an optical fiber cable installed underneath a road that is induced by a moving object and analyzes the vibration information to determine if the obtained data represents a signature or waveform indicative of a portion of a route being traveled on by the object that may be damaged.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensing system, sensing method, and non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program as disclosed in Augst to include the feature of obtaining time-distance information of an oscillation signal for each distributed sensing portion of an optical fiber cable as taught by Nagrodsky, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to identify the moving object, determine a location of the moving object, determine a speed of the object, or identify a portion of a route being traveled on by the object that may be damaged as specified in at least [0028] of Nagrodsky.
For claim 10, Augst discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program (See at least [0106] of Augst – “…The program and data storage system and the processing device of the first vehicle control apparatus SV1 can be designed in an assembly unit and/or be distributed across a plurality of assembly units …”) for causing a computer to execute:
obtaining time-distance information of an oscillation signal for a sensing portion, while the oscillation signal is acquired by a sensing portions for sensing an infrastructure and is induced by traffic of a moving object (See at least [0089] – “… the apparatus has a sensor system and is designed to determine the first set of route profile data for the predetermined route section. This can be a specially set up sensor system of the vehicle …to determine … time-related profile of one or a plurality of parameters of one or a plurality of local road characteristics, more particularly with relation to movement, for example depending on a route section being driven on with the vehicle…”, [0124] – “… FIG. 3 shows an exemplary first profile Data_1 of the first set of route profile data… in a time-discreet manner and … with a limited amplitude …”, and [0047]-[0048] of Augst – “… the first set of route profile data … determined depending on a course of route relief detected using means of the vehicle… more particularly one or a plurality of route inclinations … within the route section… the route relief is preferably understood as a variable portion of a vehicle height within a route section. Thereby, it has to do with height differences of preferably less than +/−5 cm or +/−10 cm. Thereby, the height differences which are, for example, represented by a location dependent course, can have a distance of less than +/−10 cm or +/−50 cm to each other…”);
estimating frequency densities of the oscillation signal sensed by the sensing portion based on the time-distance information (See at least [0071] of Augst – “… The degree of similarity … determined between the related spectral values … for example, a distribution of various frequencies, for example, with reference to a vibration or having a spatial or time-related reference. Hereby, one or a plurality of spectral distributions or a spectral distribution function can be determined from the first set of route profile data and a degree of similarity can be determined using the coded second set of route profile data...”);
estimating a degree of similarity between a pair of the sensing portions based on the estimated frequency densities (See at least [0116] of Augst – “… a degree of similarity between one or a plurality of profiles of at least one physical characteristic and/or spectral distribution function of at least once physical characteristic represented in the first set of route profile data and the second set of route profile data is determined...”); and
localizing a section of the infrastructure based on the degree of similarity (See at least [0120] of Augst – “… depending on the degree of similarity, an assignment of the second set of route profile data is determined and/or to a time-dependent mapping function of the influences of the route on the vehicle…”).
Augst fails to specifically disclose obtaining time-distance information of an oscillation signal for each distributed sensing portion, while the oscillation signal is acquired by the plurality of distributed sensing portions;
estimating frequency densities of the oscillation signal sensed by sensing portions based on the time-distance information.
However, Eisenmann, in the same field of endeavor teaches obtaining time-distance information of an oscillation signal for each distributed sensing portion, while the oscillation signal is acquired by the plurality of distributed sensing portions (See at least [0094] of Eisenmann – “… The road profiles may be obtained by measuring vertical motion of a portion of a vehicle using one or more motion sensors attached to the vehicle as the vehicle traverses the road segment…”);
estimating frequency densities of the oscillation signal sensed by sensing portions based on the time-distance information (See at least [0112] of Eisenmann – “…measured road profiles may have a wider valid frequency range than an individual measured road profile. According to such an embodiment, sensors of varying quality and frequency may be merged into a merged profile without distorting the merged road profile, as the most useable data from each measure profile may be combined…”). Thus, Augst discloses a system for detecting road data as a vehicle traverses a route and generating a road profile to identify physical characteristics of the route, while Eisenmann teaches a system for determining a road profile using a plurality of sensors when vehicles traverse a road segment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensing system, sensing method, and non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program as disclosed in Augst to include the feature of the oscillation signal is acquired by the plurality of distributed sensing portions as taught by Eisenmann, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to obtain road profiles as specified in at least [0094] of Eisenmann.
Furthermore, Augst also fails to specifically disclose obtaining time-distance information of an oscillation signal for each distributed sensing portion of an optical fiber cable, while the oscillation signal is acquired by the plurality of distributed sensing portions for sensing an infrastructure and is induced by traffic of a moving object, wherein the optical fiber cable is attached to the infrastructure (See at least [0011] – “… the invention concerns a sensing system includes one or more sensors and one or more sensing processors. The one or more sensors are configured to examine light traveling through a fiber optic cable extending along and beneath a route traveled by vehicles. The one or more sensing processors are configured to monitor changes in baseline vibrations introduced into the fiber optic cable at designated times, and to determine information about environmental conditions outside of the fiber optic cable based at least in part on the changes in the baseline vibrations that are monitored…” and [0028] of Nagrodsky – “… the vibration monitoring systems and methods can detect vibrations caused by moving objects …can include peaks, waveforms, frequencies, amplitudes, or the like, in a frequency spectrum of the vibrations… This information can be used to identify the moving object, determine a location of the moving object, determine a speed of the object, identify a portion of a route being traveled on by the object that may be damaged…”); and
localizing using map information to localize a real location of a section of the infrastructure based on the degree of similarity, wherein the map information indicates fiber layout of the optical fiber cable that corresponds to a physical position at each of sections of the infrastructure (See at least [0032]-[0034] – “sensing device 106 is disposed beneath a surface 108 of the ground (e.g., the surface of the earth or another surface)… is a fiber optic cable that communicates information between two or more locations by internally refracting light within the device 106. Alternatively, the sensing device 106 may be another type of cable that can be used to detect vibrations in the ground. The sensing system 104 includes several sensors 110 (e.g., sensors 110A-C) operably connected with the sensing device 106 at different locations… sensing processor 112 examines the data received from the sensors 110 to identify the vibrations … Based on these vibrations and/or changes in the vibrations, the sensing processor 112 can determine information about … the object of interest on the surface 108…”, [0038] – “…the signatures or waveforms may be defined as designated peaks in the vibrations of interest 300 that are located at designated frequencies and/or within a designated range of frequencies. If the vibrations of interest 300 have peaks in the designated frequencies and/or designated range of frequencies, then the vibrations of interest 300 may be identified as the object of interest …” and [0028] of Nagrodsky – “… the vibration monitoring systems and methods can detect vibrations caused by moving objects … This information can be used to identify the moving object, determine a location of the moving object, determine a speed of the object, identify a portion of a route being traveled on by the object that may be damaged…”). Thus, Augst discloses a system for detecting road data as a vehicle traverses a route and generating a road profile to identify physical characteristics of the route, while Nagrodsky teaches a system that obtains vibration information using sensors of an optical fiber cable installed underneath a road that is induced by a moving object and analyzes the vibration information to determine if the obtained data represents a signature or waveform indicative of a portion of a route being traveled on by the object that may be damaged.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensing system, sensing method, and non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program as disclosed in Augst to include the feature of obtaining time-distance information of an oscillation signal for each distributed sensing portion of an optical fiber cable as taught by Nagrodsky, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to identify the moving object, determine a location of the moving object, determine a speed of the object, or identify a portion of a route being traveled on by the object that may be damaged as specified in at least [0028] of Nagrodsky.
For claim 11, Augst fails to specifically disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
localize the section to a section of the fiber layout.
However, Nagrodsky, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
localize the section to a section of the fiber layout (See at least [0027]-[0028] of Nagrodsky – “… These systems and methods can generate vibrations that propagate through a portion of the ground that includes one or more sensing cables… Based on the magnitude (e.g., amplitude), frequency, period, or the like, of the vibrations that are detected, the presence and/or location of one or more objects on the ground can be determined… to … identify a portion of a route being traveled on by the object that may be damaged…”). Thus, Augst discloses a system for detecting road data as a vehicle traverses a route and generating a road profile to identify physical characteristics of the route, while Nagrodsky teaches a system that obtains vibration information using sensors of an optical fiber cable installed underneath a road that is induced by a moving object and analyzes the vibration information to determine if the obtained data represents a signature or waveform indicative of a portion of a route being traveled on by the object that may be damaged.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensing system, sensing method, and non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program as disclosed in Augst to include the feature of localizing the section to a section of the fiber layout as taught by Nagrodsky, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to identify the moving object, determine a location of the moving object, determine a speed of the object, or identify a portion of a route being traveled on by the object that may be damaged as specified in at least [0028] of Nagrodsky.
For claim 17, Augst fails to specifically disclose further comprising a Distributed Acoustic Sensor configured to detect the oscillation signal at each of the plurality of distributed sensing portions of the optical fiber cable.
However, Nagrodsky, in the same field of endeavor teaches further comprising a Distributed Acoustic Sensor configured to detect the oscillation signal at each of the plurality of distributed sensing portions of the optical fiber cable (See at least [0070] of Nagrodsky – “… In one embodiment, a system includes an acoustic device that outputs an analog signal to a fiber cable for calibration and location verification… sensing processor is configured to detect the acoustic signal output by the acoustic device at a known location and verifies that the cable and device have not moved location by comparing the signal level received against a threshold stored in memory. When the threshold is exceeded, the sensing processor sends an alert that the fiber optic cable or acoustic device at the location have changed…”). Thus, Augst discloses a system for detecting road data as a vehicle traverses a route and generating a road profile to identify physical characteristics of the route, while Nagrodsky teaches a system that obtains vibration information using sensors of an optical fiber cable installed underneath a road that is induced by a moving object and analyzes the vibration information to determine if the obtained data represents a signature or waveform indicative of a portion of a route being traveled on by the object that may be damaged.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensing system, sensing method, and non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program as disclosed in Augst to include the feature of a Distributed Acoustic Sensor configured to detect the oscillation signal at each of the plurality of distributed sensing portions of the optical fiber cable as taught by Nagrodsky, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to perform calibration and location verification as specified in at least [0070] of Nagrodsky.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augst in view of Eisenmann and Nagrodsky, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Goncalves US 20190206240 A1 (“Goncalves”).
For claim 8, Augst fails to specifically disclose further comprising:
the optical fiber cable which is attached to a road.
However, Goncalves, in the same field of endeavor teaches further comprising:
the optical fiber cable which is attached to a road (See at least [0084]-[0085] of Goncalves – “… According to FIG. 1, the monitoring system of the present patent monitors the vehicle (V) on the runway (PI)… the monitoring system of the present patent is comprised of a sensor and signal transmission module (1) with weight and speed measurement sensors (1-A) having one optical fiber or an optical fiber network with diffractive, spectrometric, interferometric and optical scattering techniques in the time and/or frequency domain, pulsed or continuous, assembled in models I, II, III and IV configurations and bidirectionally connected to the signal communication channel (1-B) and installed on the pavement (PI…”). Thus, Augst discloses a system for detecting road data as a vehicle traverses a route and generating a road profile to identify physical characteristics of the route, while Goncalves teaches a monitoring system including measurement sensors connected to an optical fiber network on a road pavement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensing system, sensing method, and non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program as disclosed in Augst to include the feature of an optical fiber cable including the sensing portions and being attached to a road as taught by Goncalves, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to measure variation of vibration and deformation induced to the pavement with the passage of vehicles as specified in at least [0062] of Goncalves.
Claims 12-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augst in view of Eisenmann and Nagrodsky, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Duron et al. US 20050125197 A1 (“Duron”).
For claim 12, Augst fails to specifically disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
use the estimated frequency densities to generate statistical distribution indicating mean and standard deviation of frequencies; and analyze the statistical distribution to monitor natural frequencies of the infrastructure.
However, Duron, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
use the estimated frequency densities to generate statistical distribution indicating mean and standard deviation of frequencies; and analyze the statistical distribution to monitor natural frequencies of the infrastructure (See at least [0136] of Duron – “… Also as shown in FIG. 15, The raw data signal RD is then passed through band-stop filters … locating frequencies whose magnitude is a greater than eight standard deviations above the mean frequency amplitude in the signal RD… Frequencies whose magnitude is greater than eight standard deviations above the mean frequency magnitude are out of the range of natural structural response…”). Thus, Augst discloses a system for detecting road data as a vehicle traverses a route and generating a road profile to identify physical characteristics of the route, while Duron teaches a system that monitors a structure to determine a likelihood of collapse.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensing system, sensing method, and non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program as disclosed in Augst to include the feature of using the estimated frequency densities to generate statistical distribution indicating mean and standard deviation of frequencies as taught by Duron, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine frequencies that are out of the range of natural structural response as specified in at least [0136] of Duron.
For claim 13, Augst fails to specifically disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: use the monitored natural frequencies to estimate a change in structure properties at a particular section of the infrastructure.
However, Duron, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: use the monitored natural frequencies to estimate a change in structure properties at a particular section of the infrastructure (See at least [0137] of Duron – “… FIG. 16(a) is an example of a display of filtered raw data signal RD.sub.f from multiple devices D (not shown). The data signal RD.sub.f indicates peaks corresponding to raw magnitude transients throughout the signal. The signal RD.sub.f increases in magnitude as the structure approaches collapse since magnitude is always indicative of collapse …”). Thus, Augst discloses a system for detecting road data as a vehicle traverses a route and generating a road profile to identify physical characteristics of the route, while Duron teaches a system that monitors a structure to determine a likelihood of collapse.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensing system, sensing method, and non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program as disclosed in Augst to include the feature of using the monitored natural frequencies to estimate a change in structure properties at a particular section of the infrastructure as taught by Duron, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine frequencies that are indicative of structural failure as specified in at least [0137] of Duron.
For claim 16, Augst fails to specifically disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: output, to a display apparatus, the real location of the section to enable monitoring of structure properties at the section, wherein the structure properties include natural frequencies of the infrastructure.
However, Duron, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: output, to a display apparatus, the real location of the section to enable monitoring of structure properties at the section, wherein the structure properties include natural frequencies of the infrastructure (See at least [0137] of Duron – “… FIG. 16(a) is an example of a display of filtered raw data signal RD.sub.f from multiple devices D (not shown). The data signal RD.sub.f indicates peaks corresponding to raw magnitude transients throughout the signal. The signal RD.sub.f increases in magnitude as the structure approaches collapse since magnitude is always indicative of collapse …”). Thus, Augst discloses a system for detecting road data as a vehicle traverses a route and generating a road profile to identify physical characteristics of the route, while Duron teaches a system that monitors a structure to determine a likelihood of collapse.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensing system, sensing method, and non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program as disclosed in Augst to include the feature of outputting, to a display apparatus, the real location of the section to enable monitoring of structure properties at the section, wherein the structure properties include natural frequencies of the infrastructure as taught by Duron, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine frequencies that are indicative of structural failure as specified in at least [0137] of Duron.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augst in view of Eisenmann and Nagrodsky, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wakao US 20110200199 A1 (“Wakao”).
For claim 14, Augst fails to specifically disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: automatically generate an alert identifying the real location of the section when the degree of similarity exceeds a threshold, wherein the alert enables monitoring of infrastructure properties at the identified real location.
However, Wakao, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: automatically generate an alert identifying the real location of the section when the degree of similarity exceeds a threshold, wherein the alert enables monitoring of infrastructure properties at the identified real location (See at least [0034] of Wakao – “… FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of a device for estimating a road surface state used in a method for estimating a road surface state … a computing unit 2 for estimating a road state on which a vehicle is running by calculating a wave profile of frequency dispersion from the sound detection signal from the sound detection unit 20 to obtain a measured wave profile and determining whether the measured wave profile satisfies predetermined determination conditions. In addition, the road-surface-state estimating device 10 may have an indicator 3 for notifying to the driver the road surface state on which the vehicle is running. Moreover, an alarm unit (not shown) may be provided for giving a warning to the driver when the road surface state is classified to a predetermined dangerous situation. Such an alarm unit may used sound, light or vibration…”). Thus, Augst discloses a system for detecting road data as a vehicle traverses a route and generating a road profile to identify physical characteristics of the route, while Wakao teaches a system that analyzes a wave profile of the road on which a vehicle drives to determine a road surface state and alarms a driver of an identified dangerous road state.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensing system, sensing method, and non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program as disclosed in Augst to include the feature of generating an alert enabling monitoring of infrastructure properties at the identified real location as taught by Wakao, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to notify a driver of the road surface state on which the vehicle is running as specified in at least [0034] of Wakao.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augst in view of Eisenmann and Nagrodsky, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kuzunishi et al. US 20130173208 A1 (“Kuzunishi”).
For claim 15, Augst fails to specifically disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: output, to a display apparatus, the real location of the section and the estimated frequency densities to enable real-time monitoring of infrastructure properties at the section.
However, Kuzunishi, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: output, to a display apparatus, the real location of the section and the estimated frequency densities to enable real-time monitoring of infrastructure properties at the section (See at least [0117] of Kuzunishi – “… FIG. 13 is a diagram illustrating an example of a screen transmitted to the subscriber terminal 70. As illustrated in FIG. 13, the deterioration position browsing screen 500 including a road image 510 of a deterioration position… occurrence frequency 520… By displaying the deterioration position browsing screen 500, the road inspector can understand visually, numerically, and geographically the road surface that is highly likely to be worth a repair and the road surface that is highly likely to be worth inspecting on the next patrol…”). Thus, Augst discloses a system for detecting road data as a vehicle traverses a route and generating a road profile to identify physical characteristics of the route, while Kuzunishi teaches a road surface monitoring system that displays measured frequencies and positions of a deteriorated road section to a road inspector.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensing system, sensing method, and non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program as disclosed in Augst to include the feature of outputting, to a display apparatus, the real location of the section and the estimated frequency densities to enable real-time monitoring of infrastructure properties at the section as taught by Kuzunishi, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to show a road inspector locations of a road that may require repair as specified in at least [0117] of Kuzunishi.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Augst in view of Eisenmann and Nagrodsky, as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Martin et al. US 20180342156 A1 (“Martin”).
For claim 18, Augst fails to specifically disclose wherein the Distributed Acoustic Sensor is further configured to acquire the oscillation signal by analyzing Rayleigh backscattered light of a pulse light transmitted in the optical fiber cable.
However, Martin, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the Distributed Acoustic Sensor is further configured to acquire the oscillation signal by analyzing Rayleigh backscattered light of a pulse light transmitted in the optical fiber cable (See at least [0133] of Martin – “… In operation the interrogator unit 103 launches interrogating electromagnetic radiation, which may for example comprise a series of optical pulses having a selected frequency pattern, into the sensing fibre… may have a frequency pattern …the phenomenon of Rayleigh backscattering results in some fraction of the light input into the fibre being reflected back to the interrogator, where it is detected to provide an output signal which is representative of acoustic disturbances in the vicinity of the fibre… The interrogator also comprises at least one photodetector 503 arranged to detect radiation which is Rayleigh backscattered from the intrinsic scattering sites within the fibre 102…”). Thus, Augst discloses a system for detecting road data as a vehicle traverses a route and generating a road profile to identify physical characteristics of the route, while Martin teaches a system for performing distributed acoustic sensing using a suitable interrogator unit to provide a measurement signal from each of a plurality of sensing portions of a first length of a sensing optical fibre.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sensing system, sensing method, and non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program as disclosed in Augst to include the feature of the Distributed Acoustic Sensor being configured to acquire the oscillation signal by analyzing Rayleigh backscattered light of a pulse light transmitted in the optical fiber cable as taught by Martin, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide an output signal which is representative of acoustic disturbances in the vicinity of the fibre as specified in at least [0133] of Martin.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art of record is Augst US 20180111623 A1 (“Augst”), Eisenmann et al. US 20220212678 A1 (“Eisenmann”), Nagrodsky et al. US 20180156757 A1 (“Nagrodsky”), Goncalves US 20190206240 A1 (“Goncalves”), Duron et al. US 20050125197 A1 (“Duron”), Wakao US 20110200199 A1 (“Wakao”), Kuzunishi et al. US 20130173208 A1 (“Kuzunishi”), and Martin et al. US 20180342156 A1 (“Martin”).
Augst discloses a system for detecting road data as a vehicle traverses a route and generating a road profile to identify physical characteristics of the route.
Eisenmann teaches a system for determining a road profile using a plurality of sensors when vehicles traverse a road segment.
Nagrodsky teaches a system that obtains vibration information using sensors of an optical fiber cable installed underneath a road that is induced by a moving object and analyzes the vibration information to determine if the obtained data represents a signature or waveform indicative of a portion of a route being traveled on by the object that may be damaged.
Goncalves teaches a monitoring system including measurement sensors connected to an optical fiber network on a road pavement.
Duron teaches a system that monitors a structure to determine a likelihood of collapse.
Wakao teaches a system that analyzes a wave profile of the road on which a vehicle drives to determine a road surface state and alarms a driver of an identified dangerous road state.
Kuzunishi teaches a road surface monitoring system that displays measured frequencies and positions of a deteriorated road section to a road inspector.
Martin teaches a system for performing distributed acoustic sensing using a suitable interrogator unit to provide a measurement signal from each of a plurality of sensing portions of a first length of a sensing optical fibre.
As to claim 4, the prior art of record, taken individually or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the following claimed subject matter:
“wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
calculate a cross-correlation matrix between the frequency densities of the sensing portions to estimate the degree of similarity”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668