DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “coupling mechanism” in claims 1, 3-5, 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Righini (20160346080) in view of Hariton (11793633) and Karapetian (20170209265)
With regards to claim 1, Righini discloses a prosthesis for a heart valve for implantation with a transcatheter procedure (FIG 14E), the prosthesis comprising an expansible central body (63, [0117]) and a containment portion (60) having at least one sub- component (FIG 14B), the central body (63) being provided with at least one elastically flexible arm (64) ending in a connecting block (64a, 64b) for connecting the at least one sub-component of the containment portion to the central body ([0113], FIG 14C), but fails to disclose the at least one arms being formed so as to be able to take up an expanded configuration, into which expanded configuration the at least one arm returns without any constraints, and a compact configuration suitable for allowing the positioning of the prosthesis with a transcatheter procedure, the connecting block being provided with a coupling mechanism configured for selectively maintaining the at least one arm in the compact configuration.
Hariton also discloses a prosthesis for a heart valve for implantation with a transcatheter procedure (FIG 5A), the prosthesis comprising an expansible central body (32), a containment portion (25), and flexible arms (46). Hariton teaches at least one arms (46) being formed so as to be able to take up an expanded configuration (FIG 5A), into which expanded configuration the at least one each arm returns without any constraints (FIG 5A), and a compact configuration suitable for allowing the positioning of the prosthesis with a transcatheter procedure (FIG 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Righini’s prosthesis for a heart valve to include that the at least one arms being formed so as to be able to take up an expanded configuration, into which expanded configuration the at least one each arm returns without any constraints, and a compact configuration suitable for allowing the positioning of the prosthesis with a transcatheter procedure, , as taught by Hariton, in order to allow the implant to be delivered in a compressed state (col 1, line 57).
Righini as modified by Hariton fails to disclose the connecting block being provided with a coupling mechanism configured for selectively maintaining the at least one arm in the compact configuration. Karapetian also discloses an apparatus for replacing native heart valves with arms (1606) that are biased towards one configuration (FIG 66B, [0290]) and a connecting block (1614). Karapetian teaches the connecting block (1614) being provided with a coupling mechanism configured for selectively maintaining the at least one arm in the compact configuration (141, 1614, [0290]; This element is interpreted under 112(f) as a set of block with coaxial through-holes that can receive a connecting element, see page 14 of the instant application, and equivalents thereof)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Righini’s prosthesis for a heart valve to include that the connecting block being provided with a coupling mechanism configured for selectively maintaining the at least one arm in the compact configuration, as taught by Karapetian, in order to restrain the arms while in the catheter and selectively release them to be in the appropriate position to engage ([0290], [0294]).
With regards to claim 2, Righini as modified by Hariton and Karapetian discloses the prosthesis for a heart valve according to claim 1, wherein the at least one arm is curved in the expanded configuration (Hariton FIG 5A) and is aligned approximately along an axis (A) of the prosthesis in the compact configuration (Hariton FIG 2).
With regards to claim 3, Righini as modified by Hariton and Karapetian discloses the prosthesis for a heart valve according to claim 1, further comprising an elongate element (Karapetian 141), the coupling mechanism (Karapetian 141, 1614, [0290]; This element is interpreted under 112(f) as a set of block with coaxial through-holes that can receive a connecting element, see page 14 of the instant application, and equivalents thereof) being configured for coupling the connecting block (Karapetian 1614) with the elongate element (Karapetian 141) (Karapetian FIG 66C), the elongate element being selectively slidable coaxially relative to the prosthesis (Karapetian [0294]). Note that the prior art does not need to disclose the limitation “the elongate element being selectively rotatable angularly” to meet the claimed invention since the claim recites the limitations in the alternative only using the term “or”.
With regards to claim 4, Righini as modified by Hariton and Karapetian discloses the prosthesis for a heart valve according to claim 1, wherein the at least one sub-component of the containment portion comprises at least two sub-components (Rignihi FIG 9A) and the at least one arm comprises at least two arms each ending in a connecting block (Rignihi FIG 9B), the coupling mechanisms of the connecting blocks (Karapetian 141, 1614, [0290]; This element is interpreted under 112(f) as a set of block with coaxial through-holes that can receive a connecting element, see page 14 of the instant application, and equivalents thereof) together forming a mutual coupling mechanism (Karapetian FIG 66C), configured for maintaining the connecting blocks coupled to one another (Karapetian FIG 66C).
With regards to claim 5, Righini as modified by Hariton and Karapetian discloses the prosthesis for a heart valve according to claim 4, wherein the mutual coupling mechanism (Karapetian 141, 1614, [0290]; This element is interpreted under 112(f) as a set of block with coaxial through-holes that can receive a connecting element, see page 14 of the instant application, and equivalents thereof) comprises a housing seat for a slidable elongate element (Karapetian 1608), the housing seat being formed on each of the connecting blocks such that a presence of the slidable elongate element in the housing seat in each of the connecting blocks couples the connecting blocks to one another and arranges the at least two arms in the compact configuration (Karapetian FIG 66C).
With regards to claim 6, Righini as modified by Hariton and Karapetian discloses the prosthesis for a heart valve according to claim 4, wherein the connecting blocks are mutually identical (Karapetian FIG 66D).
With regards to claim 7, Righini as modified by Hariton and Karapetian discloses the prosthesis for a heart valve according to claim 5, wherein the housing seat for the slidable elongate element of each connecting block comprises a through-hole (Karapetian 1614).
With regards to claim 8, Righini as modified by Hariton and Karapetian discloses the prosthesis for a heart valve according to claim 5, wherein the housing seat for the slidable elongate element of each connecting block (Karapetian 1608) comprises a channel defining a longitudinal direction, the channel being formed such that the slidable elongate element is insertable in the channel of each connecting block only by sliding in the longitudinal direction (Karapetian FIG 66C, the channel defines the direction that the elongate element must be inserted in).
With regards to claim 9, Righini as modified by Hariton and Karapetian discloses wherein the respective housing seats of each connecting block each comprise a groove (Karapetian 1614), the grooves of the respective connecting blocks being formed such that, when the connecting blocks are mutually adjacent, the connecting blocks form a channel for the slidable elongate element (Karapetian FIG 66C), the slidable elongate element being insertable in the channel by sliding in a longitudinal direction of the channel (Karapetian FIG 66C).
With regards to claim 10, Righini discloses a method for arranging a prosthesis in an implantation device for a transcatheter procedure comprising the steps of: providing a containment portion (60) having at least one sub-component (FIG 14B), providing an expansible central body (63) having at least one elastically flexible arm (64) ending in a connecting block (64a, 64b) for connecting the at least one sub-component of the containment portion to the central body ([0113], FIG 14C), and crimping the expansible central body (FIG 4, [0069], but fails to disclose the at least one arm being formed so as to be able to take up an expanded configuration into which expanded configuration the at least one each arm returns without any constraints, and a compact configuration suitable for allowing the positioning of the prosthesis with a transcatheter procedure, providing the connecting block with a coupling mechanism configured for selectively maintaining the at least one arm in the compact configuration; arranging the at least two arms in the compact configuration; coupling the connecting block with the coupling mechanism to maintain the at least one arm in the compact configuration.
Hariton also discloses a prosthesis for a heart valve for implantation with a transcatheter procedure (FIG 5A), the prosthesis comprising an expansible central body (32), a containment portion (25), and flexible arms (46). Hariton teaches the at least one arm (46) being formed so as to be able to take up an expanded configuration into which expanded configuration (FIG 5A) the at least one each arm returns without any constraints (FIG 5A), and a compact configuration suitable for allowing the positioning of the prosthesis with a transcatheter procedure (FIG 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Righini’s prosthesis for a heart valve to include that the at least one arms being formed so as to be able to take up an expanded configuration, into which expanded configuration the at least one each arm returns without any constraints, and a compact configuration suitable for allowing the positioning of the prosthesis with a transcatheter procedure, as taught by Hariton, in order to allow the implant to be delivered in a compressed state (col 1, line 57).
Righini as modified by Hariton fails to disclose providing the connecting block with a coupling mechanism configured for selectively maintaining the at least one arm in the compact configuration. Karapetian also discloses an apparatus for replacing native heart valves with arms (1606) that are biased towards one configuration (FIG 66B, [0290]) and a connecting block (1614). Karapetian teaches the connecting block (1614) being provided with a coupling mechanism configured for selectively maintaining the at least one arm in the compact configuration (141, 1614, [0290]; This element is interpreted under 112(f) as a set of block with coaxial through-holes that can receive a connecting element, see page 14 of the instant application, and equivalents thereof). Karapetian also teaches arranging the at least two arms (16060) in the compact configuration (FIG 66C); coupling the connecting block (1604) with the coupling mechanism to maintain the at least one arm in the compact configuration (FIG 66C). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Righini’s prosthesis for a heart valve to include that the connecting block being provided with a coupling mechanism configured for selectively maintaining the at least one arm in the compact configuration; arranging the at least two arms in the compact configuration; and coupling the connecting block with the coupling mechanism to maintain the at least one arm in the compact configuration, as taught by Karapetian, in order to restrain the arms while in the catheter and selectively release them to be in the appropriate position to engage ([0290], [0294]).
Conclusion
/R.F.N./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/MELANIE R TYSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774