DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohori (2019/0172606) in view of Esseghir et al. (10175439) and Yurkoski et al. (3687087) OR Kress (2023/0093106).
Kohori discloses a cable comprising: a plurality of coated electric wires (2); and a sheath (7) covering the plurality of coated electric wires, wherein the sheath includes a first sheath (9) and a second sheath (8) in order from an outer surface side of the sheath, wherein the second sheath has a smaller elastic modulus than the first sheath ([0090], the inner sheath 8 being foamed polyurethane and [0091], the outer sheath 9 being polyurethane; same materials disclosed by applicant, see [0097] and [0103] of application's publication), and wherein elastic modulus refers to tensile elastic modulus measured at 23 °C (room temp) (re-claim 1). Kohori also discloses that the second sheath is a foam ([0090]) (re-claim 4); the coated wires include coated wires having different conductor cross-sectional areas (Fig. 3) (re-claim 5); the coated wires include two coated wires having the same conductor cross-sectional areas, and the two coated wires are twisted together ([0081]) (re-claim 6); and in a cross-section perpendicular to a longitudinal direction, the roundness of the outer perimeter of the second sheath is 97% or more (Figs 1, 3, & 4, 100%) (re-claim 7).
Kohori does not disclose the elastic modulus of the first sheath and of the second sheath (re-claim 1).
Esseghir et al. discloses a cable. Esseghir et al. discloses that typical polyurethane has an elastic modulus (tensile modulus) of about 8000 psi (= 55 MPa, col. 22 lines 26-28). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the first sheath (polyurethane) of Kohori with a tensile modulus of 55 MPa to meet the specific use of the resulting cable since a typical polyurethane having a tensile modulus of 55 MPa is known in the art as taught by Esseghir et al.
Yurkoski et al. discloses an insulating structure comprising a foamed polyurethane sheath having a tensile modulus of elasticity about 4000 psi (= 27.6 MPa, col. 1 lines 50-53). Kress discloses an insulating structure (Fig. 1B) comprising a first sheath (2) and a second sheath (3), wherein the second sheath (comprised of foamed polyurethane) has an elastic modulus of 30 MPa ([0179]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the second sheath (foamed polyurethane) of Kohori with a tensile modulus of 27.6 MPa, as taught by Yurkoski et al. or of 30 MPa, as taught by Kress, such that it would act as a cushion layer as taught by Yurkoski et al. OR improved the flexibility of the sheath as taught by Kress.
It is noted that in the modified cable of Kohori, the elastic modulus of the second sheath (8) is 40% to 80% of the elastic modulus of the first sheath (9), 27.6/55 = 50.2% OR 30/55 = 54.5% (re-claim 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841