DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 – 7, 10 and 14 - 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taherzadeh Boroujeni et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0024506; hereinafter Taherzadeh) in view of Wu (Pub. No.: US 2015/0117374; hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 1, Taherzadeh discloses a method for performing uplink transmissions by a User Equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1, UEs 115), the method comprising: receiving, from a Base Station (BS), at least one configuration indicating a first threshold (see abstract, para. 0107, 0120, The UE may receive, from the network entity, a system information message indicating a received power threshold…); initiating a Random Access (RA) procedure (see abstract, para. 0108, 0121, to perform random access procedure); determining whether to perform Multiple Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) (MP) transmissions based on, at least, a comparison between a measurement result and the first threshold (see abstract, para. 0108, 0111, 0118, 0120, … enable the UE 115-a to transmit multiple msgA preamble repetitions (e.g., PRACH repetitions) to the base station 105-a if, for example, the UE 115-a determines that an SS-RSRP measurement (e.g., of the synchronization signals 205 from the base station 105-a) is below a received power threshold); and selecting a PRACH resource configured for the MP transmissions in response to determining that the MP transmissions are to be performed (see para. 0121, 0134, If, for example, the SS-RSRP measurement is below the received power threshold, the UE may transmit multiple msgA preamble repetitions on PRACH resources 305-a, PRACH resources 305-b, PRACH resources 305-c, or any combination thereof).
Taherzadeh does not disclose the claimed features of: regarding claim 1, wherein performing the MP transmissions comprises transmitting, repeatedly, an RA preamble, on the PRACH resource configured for the MP transmissions, before the UE begins monitoring a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for receiving a Random Access Response (RAR) that corresponds to the RA preamble.
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses wherein performing the MP transmissions comprises transmitting, repeatedly, an RA preamble, on the PRACH resource configured for the MP transmissions, before the UE begins monitoring a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for receiving a Random Access Response (RAR) that corresponds to the RA preamble (see abstract, para. 0014, 0050, transmitting a plurality of repetitions of a random access preamble to a network…and monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a plurality of random access response windows for receiving a random access response…wherein each of the plurality of random access response windows is corresponding to one of the plurality of repetitions of the random access preamble).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Taherzadeh, and have the features, as taught by Wu, in order to provide a method of handling random access with coverage enhancement in a wireless communication system, as discussed by Wu (para. 0013).
Regarding claim 5, Taherzadeh discloses further comprising: performing the MP transmissions after determining that the measurement result is less than the first threshold (see para. 0118, enable the UE 115-a to transmit multiple msgA preamble repetitions (e.g., PRACH repetitions) to the base station 105-a if, for example, the UE 115-a determines that an SS-RSRP measurement (e.g., of the synchronization signals 205 from the base station 105-a) is below a received power threshold); and performing a Single-PRACH (SP) transmission after determining that the measurement result is equal to or greater than the first threshold (see para. 0121, If, however, the SS-RSRP measurement is above the received power threshold, the UE may refrain from triggering msgA preamble repetitions. Accordingly, the UE may transmit a single msgA preamble repetition on the PRACH resources 305-c, and may refrain from transmitting msgA preamble repetitions on the PRACH resources 305-a or the PRACH resources 305-b), performing the SP transmission comprising: transmitting the RA preamble for the RA procedure only once before the UE begins monitoring the PDCCH for receiving the RAR that corresponds to the RA preamble (see para. 0134, Alternatively, if the set of SS-RSRP measurements are above the received power threshold indicated by the system information message, the UE 115-b may transmit a single msgA preamble transmission over the set of PRACH resources).
Regarding claim 6, Taherzadeh discloses wherein selecting the PRACH resource configured for the MP transmissions comprises: selecting the PRACH resource by comparing the measurement result with the first threshold (see para. 0121, If, for example, the SS-RSRP measurement is below the received power threshold, the UE may transmit multiple msgA preamble repetitions on PRACH resources 305-a, PRACH resources 305-b, PRACH resources 305-c, or any combination thereof).
Regarding claim 7, Taherzadeh discloses wherein selecting the PRACH resource configured for the MP transmissions comprises: selecting the PRACH resource by comparing the measurement result with a second threshold (see para. 0122, If, for example, the SS-RSRP measurement is below the second received power threshold, the UE may transmit multiple msgA payload repetitions on PUSCH resources 310-a, PUSCH resources 310-b, PUSCH resources 310-c, or any combination thereof), wherein the first threshold and the second threshold are independently indicated by the at least one configuration (see para. 0131, In some examples, the system information message may indicate the received power threshold with respect to another threshold).
Regarding claim 10, Taherzadeh discloses a User Equipment (UE) for performing uplink transmissions, the UE comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium coupled to the at least one processor and storing one or more computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE (see Fig. 8, para. 0172 – 0175, device 805 (ex: UE 115) includes a processor 840 and memory for storing computer executable code 835 to be executed by the processor 840) to: receive, from a Base Station (BS), at least one configuration indicating a first threshold (see abstract, para. 0107, 0120, The UE may receive, from the network entity, a system information message indicating a received power threshold…); initiate a Random Access (RA) procedure (see abstract, para. 0108, 0121, to perform random access procedure); determine whether to perform Multiple Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) (MP) transmissions based on, at least, a comparison between a measurement result and the first threshold (see abstract, para. 0108, 0111, 0118, 0120, … enable the UE 115-a to transmit multiple msgA preamble repetitions (e.g., PRACH repetitions) to the base station 105-a if, for example, the UE 115-a determines that an SS-RSRP measurement (e.g., of the synchronization signals 205 from the base station 105-a) is below a received power threshold); and select a PRACH resource configured for the MP transmissions in response to determining that the MP transmissions are to be performed (see para. 0121, 0134, If, for example, the SS-RSRP measurement is below the received power threshold, the UE may transmit multiple msgA preamble repetitions on PRACH resources 305-a, PRACH resources 305-b, PRACH resources 305-c, or any combination thereof).
Taherzadeh does not disclose the claimed features of: regarding claim 10, wherein performing the MP transmissions comprises transmitting, repeatedly, an RA preamble, on the PRACH resource configured for the MP transmissions, before the UE begins monitoring a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for receiving a Random Access Response (RAR) that corresponds to the RA preamble.
Regarding claim 10, Wu discloses wherein performing the MP transmissions comprises transmitting, repeatedly, an RA preamble, on the PRACH resource configured for the MP transmissions, before the UE begins monitoring a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for receiving a Random Access Response (RAR) that corresponds to the RA preamble (see abstract, para. 0014, 0050, transmitting a plurality of repetitions of a random access preamble to a network…and monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a plurality of random access response windows for receiving a random access response…wherein each of the plurality of random access response windows is corresponding to one of the plurality of repetitions of the random access preamble).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Taherzadeh, and have the features, as taught by Wu, in order to provide a method of handling random access with coverage enhancement in a wireless communication system, as discussed by Wu (para. 0013).
Regarding claim 14, Taherzadeh discloses wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the UE to: perform the MP transmissions after the UE determines that the measurement result is less than the first threshold (see para. 0118, enable the UE 115-a to transmit multiple msgA preamble repetitions (e.g., PRACH repetitions) to the base station 105-a if, for example, the UE 115-a determines that an SS-RSRP measurement (e.g., of the synchronization signals 205 from the base station 105-a) is below a received power threshold); and perform a Single-PRACH (SP) transmission after the UE determines that the measurement result is equal to or greater than the first threshold (see para. 0121, If, however, the SS-RSRP measurement is above the received power threshold, the UE may refrain from triggering msgA preamble repetitions. Accordingly, the UE may transmit a single msgA preamble repetition on the PRACH resources 305-c, and may refrain from transmitting msgA preamble repetitions on the PRACH resources 305-a or the PRACH resources 305-b), performing the SP transmission comprising: transmitting the RA preamble for the RA procedure only once before the UE begins monitoring the PDCCH for receiving the RAR that corresponds to the RA preamble (see para. 0134, Alternatively, if the set of SS-RSRP measurements are above the received power threshold indicated by the system information message, the UE 115-b may transmit a single msgA preamble transmission over the set of PRACH resources).
Regarding claim 15, Taherzadeh discloses wherein selecting the PRACH resource configured for the MP transmissions comprises: selecting the PRACH resource by comparing the measurement result with the first threshold (see para. 0121, If, for example, the SS-RSRP measurement is below the received power threshold, the UE may transmit multiple msgA preamble repetitions on PRACH resources 305-a, PRACH resources 305-b, PRACH resources 305-c, or any combination thereof).
Regarding claim 16, Taherzadeh discloses wherein selecting the PRACH resource configured for the MP transmissions comprises: selecting the PRACH resource by comparing the measurement result with a second threshold (see para. 0122, If, for example, the SS-RSRP measurement is below the second received power threshold, the UE may transmit multiple msgA payload repetitions on PUSCH resources 310-a, PUSCH resources 310-b, PUSCH resources 310-c, or any combination thereof), wherein the first threshold and the second threshold are independently indicated by the at least one configuration (see para. 0131, In some examples, the system information message may indicate the received power threshold with respect to another threshold).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taherzadeh Boroujeni et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0024506; hereinafter Taherzadeh) in view of Wu (Pub. No.: US 2015/0117374; hereinafter Wu) and further in view of Bergquist et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0120709; hereinafter Bergquist).
Taherzadeh and Wu do not disclose the claimed features as recited in claims 9 and 18.
Regarding claim 9, Bergquist discloses further comprising: determining whether to indicate to the BS that the UE is capable of performing Message 3 (MSG3) repetitions according to the first threshold, performing the MSG3 repetitions comprising: transmitting repeatedly, an MSG3 for the RA procedure after receiving the RAR (see para. 0162, a Msg3 repetition may furthermore be coupled, e.g. associated, to the size of the UL grant, i.e. the Msg3 repetition is applicable if the UL grant is larger than a threshold, e.g. a threshold value, or to any other parameter in the UL grant. That is, if the size of the Msg3 is larger than a threshold, the Msg3 is repeated N times. The parameter N may be broadcasted by the network, e.g. by the radio network node 110, signaled in RAR).
Regarding claim 18, Bergquist discloses wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the UE to: determine whether to indicate to the BS that the UE is capable of performing multiple Message 3 (MSG3) repetitions according to the first threshold, performing the MSG3 repetitions comprising: transmitting, repeatedly, an MSG3 for the RA procedure after the UE receives the RAR (see para. 0162, a Msg3 repetition may furthermore be coupled, e.g. associated, to the size of the UL grant, i.e. the Msg3 repetition is applicable if the UL grant is larger than a threshold, e.g. a threshold value, or to any other parameter in the UL grant. That is, if the size of the Msg3 is larger than a threshold, the Msg3 is repeated N times. The parameter N may be broadcasted by the network, e.g. by the radio network node 110, signaled in RAR).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Taherzadeh and Wu, and have the features, as taught by Bergquist, in order to improve the performance of a wireless communications network for handling of RA messages, e.g. for handling of the message Msg3, as discussed by Bergquist (para. 0030).
Allowable Subject Matter
The cited prior arts, taken alone or in combination, do not disclose the claimed features of “transmit at least one pathloss Reference Signal (RS) to the UE, causing the UE to determine whether to perform Multiple Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) (MP) transmissions based on, at least, a comparison between a measurement result and the first threshold” as recited in claim 19 when considering the claim as a whole.
Claims 19 and 20 are allowed.
Claims 2 – 4, 8, 11 – 13 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANH NGOC M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473