Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-14, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. (US Pub. No: 2019/0123864 A1) in view of NAGARAJA et al. (US Pub. No: 2018/0103407 A1).
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG et al. teach a method (see Abstract and Figures 18A/18B/53B), comprising: determining, by a processor of an apparatus (see Fig.53B, processor of an apparatus & para [0271]), whether to trigger an on-demand reference signal (RS) request or an on-demand system information block (SIB) request (see Fig.18A and para [0128] wherein UE (device) obtains information from the reference signal & at 1810, in accordance with the illustrated embodiment, the UE2 triggers an event, such as beam changing (that includes RS request), is mentioned);
transmitting, by the processor, the on-demand RS or SIB request to a network node in an event that a trigger condition is satisfied (see para [0128] wherein in response to the trigger event, at 1812, the UE2 sending an on-demand request to the node 1802 & the request may include a request for a new RS configuration, is mentioned);
receiving, by the processor, a response of the on-demand RS or SIB request from the network node (see para [0128] wherein the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2 & at 1816, the new RS configuration being sent to be received by the UE2, in response to the on-demand request, is mentioned and also see para [0129]).
ZHANG et al. teach the above method comprising determining whether to trigger an on-demand reference signal (RS) request or an on-demand system information block (SIB) request as mentioned above, but ZHANG et al. is silent in teaching the above method comprising determining whether to trigger an on-demand reference signal (RS) request or an on-demand system information block (SIB) request according to a trigger condition and performing, by the processor, an on-demand RS or SIB measurement according to the response.
However, NAGARAJA et al. teach a method (see Abstract and Fig.9) comprising determining whether to trigger an on-demand reference signal (RS) request or an on-demand system information block (SIB) request according to a trigger condition (see para [0104] wherein the UE may receive information regarding one or more event triggers & an event trigger may be based on relative changes within in a set of measurements associated with the reference beams, is mentioned and also see para [0113] wherein a BS may configure a UE with event triggers, which include the reference beams that the UE may use to determine if the trigger condition is met, is mentioned and also see para [0115]) and performing, by the processor, an on-demand RS or SIB measurement according to the response (see para [0114] wherein the UE performing/transmitting a report (e.g., measurement report), is mentioned and also see para [0102] wherein the reference beam being configured on-demand, based on a reference signal, such as a measurement reference signal (MRS), is mentioned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method of ZHANG et al. to include both determining whether to trigger an on-demand reference signal (RS) request or an on-demand system information block (SIB) request according to a trigger condition and performing, by the processor, an on-demand RS or SIB measurement according to the response, disclosed by NAGARAJA et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently supporting its mobility management by employing one or more reference beams in a wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 2, ZHANG et al. and NAGARAJA et al. together teach the method of claim 1.
ZHANG et al. further teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the processor, an indication from the network node to indicate whether the on-demand RS or SIB request is allowed (see para [0128] wherein the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2 & at 1816, the new RS configuration being sent by the node to be received by the UE2, in response to the on-demand request (that includes receiving an indication from the network node to indicate whether the on-demand RS is allowed), is mentioned and also see para [0141]).
Regarding claim 3, ZHANG et al. and NAGARAJA et al. together teach the method of claim 1.
ZHANG et al. further teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the processor, at least one wide RS or SIB beam from the network node (see para [0128] wherein the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2 & at 1816, the new RS configuration being sent to be received by the UE2, in response to the on-demand request, is mentioned and also see para [0133] wherein a RS being configured as level 1 with wider beam RS, is mentioned); reporting, by the processor, at least one preferred wide RS or SIB beam to the network node (see para [0129] wherein the new RS configuration being sent to one or more of the UEs based on the feedback from UE, also see para [0133] wherein a RS being configured as level 1 with wider beam RS, is mentioned and also see para [0144] wherein the reconfigurations of the reference signals being based on, for example, a trigger or an event or a given UE's feedback from its measurements, is mentioned); receiving, by the processor, at least one fine RS or SIB beam from the network node (see para [0128] wherein the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2 & at 1816, the new RS configuration being sent to be received by the UE2, in response to the on-demand request, is mentioned and also see para [0133] wherein a RS being configured as level 2 with narrower/fine beam RS for data transmission beam, is mentioned) and reporting, by the processor, at least one preferred fine RS or SIB beam to the network node (see para [0129] wherein the new RS configuration being sent to one or more of the UEs based on the feedback from UE, also see para [0133] wherein a RS being configured as level 2 with narrower/fine beam RS for data transmission beam, is mentioned and also see para [0144]).
Regarding claim 5, ZHANG et al. and NAGARAJA et al. together teach the method of claim 1.
ZHANG et al. further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting the on-demand RS or SIB request via at least one of a random access preamble, a scheduling request, a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) and a radio resource control (RRC) message (see para [0128] wherein in response to the trigger event, at 1812, the UE2 sending an on-demand request to the node 1802 & the request may include a request for a new RS configuration, is mentioned and also see para [0146] wherein the reference signal configurations being received/transmitted: in system information via a broadcast channel, via radio resource control signaling, in a medium access control (MAC) control element, is mentioned and also see para [0148] wherein the RS configuration/reconfiguration being performed via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 6, ZHANG et al. and NAGARAJA et al. together teach the method of claim 1.
ZHANG et al. further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the receiving comprises receiving the response via at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) message, a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) and a downlink control information (DCI) (see para [0128] wherein the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2 & at 1816, the new RS configuration being sent to be received by the UE2, in response to the on-demand request, is mentioned and also see para [0146] wherein the reference signal configurations being received/transmitted: in system information via a broadcast channel, via radio resource control signaling, in a medium access control (MAC) control element, is mentioned and also see para [0148]).
Regarding claim 7, ZHANG et al. and NAGARAJA et al. together teach the method of claim 1.
ZHANG et al. further teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: reporting, by the processor, at least one preferred configuration or at least one preferred configuration identify (ID) of RS in the on-demand RS or SIB request (see para [0129] wherein the new RS configuration being sent to one or more of the UEs based on the feedback from UE and also see para [0144] wherein the reconfigurations of the reference signals being based on, for example, a trigger or an event or a given UE's feedback from its measurements, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 8, ZHANG et al. and NAGARAJA et al. together teach the method of claim 7.
ZHANG et al. further teach the method of claim 7, wherein the at least one preferred configuration comprises at least one of a beam direction, an RS period and offset, an RS subcarrier offset, an RS ID, an RS set, an RS subcarrier spacing, a number of RS, an RS position, an RS priority, an RS frequency and a synchronization signal block (SSB)-based measurement timing configuration (SMTC) duration (see para [0116] wherein RS/preferred configuration being a function of the number of symbols and the number of subcarriers per a given time interval X, is mentioned and also see paragraphs [0124] and [0129]).
Regarding claim 9, ZHANG et al. and NAGARAJA et al. together teach the method of claim 1.
ZHANG et al. further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the response of the on-demand RS or SIB request comprises at least one of an update of an on-demand RS or SIB configuration, an acceptance indication, an error indication and an unfulfilled parameter (see para [0128] wherein the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2 & at 1816, the new RS configuration being sent to be received by the UE2, in response to the on-demand request, is mentioned and also see para [0129]).
Regarding claim 10, ZHANG et al. and NAGARAJA et al. together teach the method of claim 1.
NAGARAJA et al. further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the trigger condition comprises at least one of a quality of service (QOS) requirement, a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold, a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) measurement and whether an RS or SIB can be measured within a configured synchronization signal block (SSB)-based measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window or pre-defined resources (see para [0111] wherein the event trigger being based on a number of reference beams associated with a cell exceeding a threshold signal value, is mentioned and also an event trigger occurring if the neighboring cell has 10 strong reference beams, as determined by RSRP, is mentioned) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, ZHANG et al. and NAGARAJA et al. together teach the method of claim 1.
NAGARAJA et al. further teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the processor, an updated synchronization signal block (SSB)-based measurement timing configuration (SMTC) (see para [0101] wherein the one or more reference beams/signals may be part of or transmitted in a synchronization subframe/SSB, is mentioned and also see para [0102] wherein the reference beam/signal being configured on-demand, based on a reference signal, such as a measurement reference signal (MRS), is mentioned) and performing, by the processor, the on-demand RS or SIB measurement according to the updated SMTC (see para [0102] wherein the reference beam/signal being configured on-demand, based on a reference signal, such as a measurement reference signal (MRS), is mentioned and also the UE may measure the RS and may transmit a report/measurement report indicating the signal strength of the RS to the serving BS, is mentioned) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claim 1).
Regarding claim 13, ZHANG et al. and NAGARAJA et al. together teach the method of claim 1.
ZHANG et al. further teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, by the processor, an assistant information to the network node (see para [0134] wherein an on-demand RS may be triggered by an explicit UE request (that includes an assistant information), is mentioned and also see para [0128]) and receiving, by the processor, an on-demand RS or SIB corresponding to the assistant information (see para [0134] wherein an on-demand RS may be triggered by an explicit UE request (that includes an assistant information), is mentioned and also see para [0140]).
Regarding claim 14, ZHANG et al. and NAGARAJA et al. together teach the method of claim 1.
ZHANG et al. further teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the processor, a conflict between an on-demand RS or SIB and a downlink reception (see para [0124] wherein for TDD systems with channel reciprocity of DL/downlink_reception and UL, the beam sweeping for uplink being skipped, is mentioned and also see para [0155]) and ignoring or skipping, by the processor, the on-demand RS or SIB (see para [0124] wherein for TDD systems with channel reciprocity of DL/downlink_reception and UL, the beam sweeping for uplink being skipped, is mentioned and also see para [0155]).
Regarding claim 16, ZHANG et al. teach a method (see Abstract and Figures 18A/18B/53B), comprising: receiving, by a processor of an apparatus (see Fig.53B, processor of an apparatus & para [0271]), an on-demand reference signal (RS) request or an on-demand system information block (SIB) request from a user equipment (UE) (see para [0128] wherein in response to the trigger event, at 1812, the UE2 sending an on-demand request to be received by the node 1802 & the request may include a request for a new RS configuration, is mentioned); transmitting, by the processor, a response to the UE (see para [0128] wherein the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2 & at 1816, the new RS configuration being sent to be received by the UE2, in response to the on-demand request, is mentioned and also see para [0129]); and transmitting, by the processor, an on-demand RS or SIB according to the response (see para [0128] wherein the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2 & at 1816, the new RS configuration being sent to be received by the UE2, in response to the on-demand request, is mentioned and also see para [0129]).
ZHANG et al. is silent in teaching the above method comprising determining, by the processor, a response according to the on-demand RS or SIB request.
However, NAGARAJA et al. teach a method (see Abstract and Fig.10) comprising determining, by the processor, a response according to the on-demand RS or SIB request (see para [0114] wherein in response to detecting an event trigger, the UE transmitting an indication of the trigger/RS to the BS and the event trigger being used for beam selection purposes by the BS (that includes determining, by the processor/BS, a response according to the on-demand RS), is mentioned).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method of ZHANG et al. to include determining, by the processor, a response according to the on-demand RS or SIB request, disclosed by NAGARAJA et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently supporting its mobility management by employing one or more reference beams in a wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 18, ZHANG et al. and NAGARAJA et al. together teach the method of claim 16.
ZHANG et al. further teach the method of claim 16, further comprising: determining, by the processor, whether the on-demand RS or SIB request can be fulfilled (see para [0128] wherein the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2 & at 1816, the new RS configuration being sent to be received by the UE2, in response to the on-demand request, is mentioned); transmitting, by the processor, an acceptance indication to the UE in an event that the on-demand RS or SIB request can be fulfilled or transmitting, by the processor, an error indication or an unfulfilled parameter to the UE in an event that the on-demand RS or SIB request cannot be fulfilled (see para [0128] wherein the node 1802 reconfigures or updates an RS for the UE2, based on the request from the UE2 & at 1816, the new RS configuration (that includes an acceptance indication) being sent to be received by the UE2, in response to the on-demand request, is mentioned and also see para [0129]).
Regarding claim 19, ZHANG et al. and NAGARAJA et al. together teach the method of claim 16.
ZHANG et al. further teach the method of claim 16, further comprising: broadcasting, by the processor, a plurality of on-demand RS or SIB configurations (see para [0128] wherein the node broadcasting an RS configuration to the UE, is mentioned and also see para [0129] wherein the node reconfiguring or updating one or more of the reference signal configurations, is mentioned) and receiving, by the processor, at least one preferred configuration or at least one preferred configuration identify (ID) from the UE (see para [0129] wherein the new RS configuration being sent to one or more of the UEs based on the feedback from UE and also see para [0144] wherein the reconfigurations of the reference signals being based on, for example, a trigger or an event or a given UE's feedback from its measurements, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 20, ZHANG et al. and NAGARAJA et al. together teach the method of claim 16.
ZHANG et al. further teach the method of claim 16, further comprising: receiving, by the processor, an assistant information from the UE (see para [0134] wherein an on-demand RS may be triggered by an explicit UE request (that includes an assistant information), is mentioned and also see para [0128]) and transmitting, by the processor, the on-demand RS or SIB according to the assistant information (see para [0134] wherein an on-demand RS may be triggered by an explicit UE request (that includes an assistant information), is mentioned and also see para [0140]).
5. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. (US Pub. No: 2019/0123864 A1) in view of NAGARAJA et al. (US Pub. No: 2018/0103407 A1) and further in view of MANOLAKOS et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0029763 A1).
Regarding claim 15, ZHANG et al. and NAGARAJA et al. together teach the method of claim 1.
ZHANG et al. and NAGARAJA et al. together yet are silent in teaching the method of claim 1, further comprising: reporting, by the processor, a capability information to the network node to indicate whether the on-demand RS or SIB request is supported.
However, MANOLAKOS et al. teach a method (see Abstract and Fig.7) further comprising: reporting, by the processor, a capability information to the network node to indicate whether the on-demand RS or SIB request is supported (see para [0112] wherein the UE 302 providing the network entity 306 with the requested list of capabilities and also network entity 306 providing PRS information, is mentioned and also see para [0110]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method of ZHANG et al. and NAGARAJA et al. to include reporting, by the processor, a capability information to the network node to indicate whether the on-demand RS or SIB request is supported, disclosed by MANOLAKOS et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently receiving, from a network entity, a positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration, determining one or more transmission properties of one or more resources and transmitting PRS modification information to the network entity based on the one or more transmission properties of one or more PRS resources in wireless communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 4, 11 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US Pub. No: 2019/0387552 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to an on-demand processing method performed in a communication system.
8. Any response to this office action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed
To:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/SRINIVASA R REDDIVALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 6/27/2026